Household inverter A/C - really works?, high electricity bills

TSdaryl.k
post May 13 2010, 12:44 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 12 2010, 09:42 PM)
You have many power sucker applicant. Buy your applicant according need and not bigger than you need. Check the watt usage and the star saving energy.

2) Fridge (LG side-by-side) --> Fridge suck power the most in your house. Don't set the temp max. Either medium or low if food not that much.
4) Cooker Hood ---> don't on all the way. The blower motor is high power and suck power alot.
6) A/C (2 x 1hp & 1 x 1.5hp Inverter type) --> set the temp 25c and set everything to auto. Trust me, you save a lot.
7) Water Pump x 1 --> What the hell you need a water pump in apartment. Ii is a power sucker machine.
8) Water Heater x 2 (storage type not instant type) --> You only have 2 person. Why need storage type? Imagine you need boil the water more than you need. ain't it waste? And if you keep on whole day, it will boil again if temp drop.
9) Bathroom Exhaust Fan x 1 --> power sucker too.
i cant believe bill to be RM100 or so...i originally tot that would be the case, but now, i'm paying more than RM250 per month for the past 3 months.

just to justify:

Fridge - i've set it to the lowest temp since i started using it. i cook almost on daily basis (breakfast & dinner) so the size is just about right for my stuffs.

Cooker Hood - only switched on when cooking..if not cooking will immediately switch it off cos its damn noisy

A/C - since last night, i set it at 24c & fan speed no.3. previously 18c at fan speed 5, pretty much the max...i will continue to maintain it at 24c from now on

water pump - i need a water pump becos i have a crazy big size shower rose. its 350mm x 350mm. without the water pump, cant really feel the effect of rain shower. that's why i need a water pump. the water pump has a device which will switch off when no water passes thru it. besides, i switch off the main switch after i use them.

water heater (storage tank type) - 2 or 4 or 8 person nothing to do with having storage tank or not. the main idea of getting a storage tank is becos i can conceal the tank above the plaster ceiling. my bathroom is about 38 sq ft. the actual shower area is 3x3 ft. if i were to use those instant water heater type means
i will have a huge enclosure inside the 3x3ft area not to mentioned those hose running from here to there.
i wont be able to use shower rose but have to live with the stock handheld shower head that comes with the water heater.

besides, having the water heater & all pipings concealed means i have a more surface area. and the entire bathroom looks cleaner, and bigger.

again, as i mentioned, the water heater is SWITCHED OFF whenever we're done with the shower. it's never kept switched on more than couple of hours a day. i know all about the high electricity consumption of the water heater, and i do think logically, the heater will try to maintain the temp so it will keep boiling. so i make it a point to switched it ON only when we need to take a shower & switched it OFF immediately after use.

btw, the 'tank' is only 35liter. just about enough for 2 person. its the 2nd smallest tank capacity in the range.

bathroom exhaust fan - this is only installed in Bathroom 2 which is not used 90% of the time. the only time it is used is when my baby kid is around and its probably switched on 30mins per day for 3 days a week.

now, just to highlight & update, i did a check immediately after i reach home from work yesterday. i left home for work at about 12pm yesterday, and reached home at 7pm. between then, no one was at home and nothing was switched on except for:

Fridge
Alarm
thermos water kettle

and the usage? 1KWH in 7hours. this kinda make me think that the fridge is not so bad after all.

last night was a pretty normal night for both of us, the usual cooking (1.5 hr of oven & hood), clothes washing, TV and A/C usage with the exception we were out for a movie between 830pm to 1130pm. this morning, when i left for work at about 11am, the total usage was 14KWH.

if this is my average usage, the meter should be reading less than 500KWH per month. so i honestly, don't know where the extra 300KWH is from.

i will check the meter again after work later. and then check again the next morning. and will monitor the usage over the weekends. the high usage could be from the weekends.

This post has been edited by daryl.k: May 13 2010, 12:46 PM
dvinez
post May 13 2010, 12:53 PM

Limited Edition
1,475 posts

Laptop - 3h
Desktop 1 - 3h
Desktop 2 - 24h
Desktop 3 - 12h
Aircond 1HP Non Inverter 18C - 10h
Fridge - 24h
Stand fan 1 & 2 - 12h
Stand fan 3 - 24h
Washing Machine - around 2h each wash, 7 times a week.
Water Heater - around 1/2h each wash, 56 times a week.
Iron - around 1/2h each iron, 6 times a week.

These have long usage time and high power consumption i assume.
Highest i paid around 190, average use is around 120-150.

TSdaryl.k
post May 13 2010, 01:19 PM

467 posts

QUOTE(dvinez @ May 13 2010, 12:53 PM)
Laptop - 3h
Desktop 1 - 3h
Desktop 2 - 24h
Desktop 3 - 12h
Aircond 1HP Non Inverter 18C - 10h
Fridge - 24h
Stand fan 1 & 2 - 12h
Stand fan 3 - 24h
Washing Machine - around 2h each wash, 7 times a week.
Water Heater - around 1/2h each wash, 56 times a week.
Iron - around 1/2h each iron, 6 times a week.
These have long usage time and high power consumption i assume.
Highest i paid around 190, average use is around 120-150.
wow...ur house like cybercafe...so many desktops....

but the thing is, ur running 1 non-inverter a/c at 18C for 10h per day...and yet, paying RM150 average...

if i substitute your desktops with rest of my appliances, shud be around the same...i wash clothes everyday, 1 wash per day, each wash is about 2+hrs...i iron probably 2-3 times a week for a couple of hours each time...

which puzzles me even more now...why are my bills so high while others with similar usage is on average...

eerrrrr...just to double confirm, none of yous with low electricity bills...u know...'messed' with the meter right?? cos i was recommended to do so but i did not take up the option...
ozak
post May 13 2010, 01:36 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ May 13 2010, 12:44 PM)
i cant believe bill to be RM100 or so...i originally tot that would be the case, but now, i'm paying more than RM250 per month for the past 3 months.

just to justify:

Fridge - i've set it to the lowest temp since i started using it.  i cook almost on daily basis (breakfast & dinner) so the size is just about right for my stuffs.

Cooker Hood - only switched on when cooking..if not cooking will immediately switch it off cos its damn noisy

A/C - since last night, i set it at 24c & fan speed no.3.  previously 18c at fan speed 5, pretty much the max...i will continue to maintain it at 24c from now on

water pump - i need a water pump becos i have a crazy big size shower rose.  its 350mm x 350mm.  without the water pump, cant really feel the effect of rain shower.  that's why i need a water pump.  the water pump has a device which will switch off when no water passes thru it.  besides, i switch off the main switch after i use them.

water heater (storage tank type) - 2 or 4 or 8 person nothing to do with having storage tank or not.  the main idea of getting a storage tank is becos i can conceal the tank above the plaster ceiling.  my bathroom is about 38 sq ft.  the actual shower area is 3x3 ft.  if i were to use those instant water heater type means
i will have a huge enclosure inside the 3x3ft area not to mentioned those hose running from here to there. 
i wont be able to use shower rose but have to live with the stock handheld shower head that comes with the water heater.

besides, having the water heater & all pipings concealed means i have a more surface area.  and the entire bathroom looks cleaner, and bigger.

again, as i mentioned, the water heater is SWITCHED OFF whenever we're done with the shower.  it's never kept switched on more than couple of hours a day.  i know all about the high electricity consumption of the water heater, and i do think logically, the heater will try to maintain the temp so it will keep boiling.  so i make it a point to switched it ON only when we need to take a shower & switched it OFF immediately after use.

btw, the 'tank' is only 35liter.  just about enough for 2 person.  its the 2nd smallest tank capacity in the range. 

bathroom exhaust fan - this is only installed in Bathroom 2 which is not used 90% of the time.  the only time it is used is when my baby kid is around and its probably switched on 30mins per day for 3 days a week.
now, just to highlight & update, i did a check immediately after i reach home from work yesterday.  i left home for work at about 12pm yesterday, and reached home at 7pm.  between then, no one was at home and nothing was switched on except for:

Fridge
Alarm
thermos water kettle

and the usage? 1KWH in 7hours.  this kinda make me think that the fridge is not so bad after all.

last night was a pretty normal night for both of us, the usual cooking (1.5 hr of oven & hood), clothes washing, TV and A/C usage with the exception we were out for a movie between 830pm to 1130pm.  this morning, when i left for work at about 11am, the total usage was 14KWH.

if this is my average usage, the meter should be reading less than 500KWH per month.  so i honestly, don't know where the extra 300KWH is from.

i will check the meter again after work later.  and then check again the next morning.  and will monitor the usage over the weekends.  the high usage could be from the weekends.
I guess your purpose for the heater tank and the pump is to have a rain shower type instal. The invent of rain shower type is for saving water. But not in your case I guess. sad.gif

Boiling a 35l of water is alot for 2person. You not use whole hot boiling water to bath but instead mix with cold water. How many liter of water you are using for bath? I use not more than 8liter of water for bath.

Anyway here is my example of usage:

1)A/C 1.5hp inverter --> Average 8hr with 25c and everything in auto to activate the inverter saving.
2)Combo washing machine 3000W --> 5x washing per month
3)Instant water heater with pump 3200W --> Average 10min-15min/person x2person = 30min with set at 1000W-1200W.
3)Induction cooker 1600W --> Average 30min usage everyday
4)Microwave 1000W--> Hardly
5)Mid size 12yrs old 2door fridge --> Mid setting.
6)TV&HT 200W--> Average 6hr/day
7)Server & modemrouter 70W--> 24hr whole yrs ON.
8)Laptop 90W--> 8hr min.
9)lighting--> 90% is energy saving. Std on hr everyday. Only car porch on 12hr everyday.
10)ceiling fan--> 10hr average

TNB bill usage average RM65 - RM75.

My main power sucker is old fridge, A/C and induction cooker.

This post has been edited by ozak: May 13 2010, 01:40 PM
art6969
post May 13 2010, 01:50 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ May 12 2010, 03:53 PM)
Some suggestions which may help:

2. Side by side fridge (280L -350L) is too big for a small family, I suggest you change to a smaller one. Fridge run 24/7, and our country does not implement energy labeling standard, so the one you have could be those low energy efficient type fridge that cannot be sold in advance country. Most fridge use its metal body to do heat exchange, cold inside so heat must be thrown outside; so do not cover up your fridge with plastic cover and make sure some room around the fridge.

i dont agree with you on no2

we have implement energy efficiency (EE) on fridge with star labelling

here my fridge

info

source: http://www.st.gov.my/index.php?option=com_...333&Itemid=1238
cherroy
post May 13 2010, 01:53 PM

25,802 posts

Water heater take a lot power. Typically, 1KW-1.5KW at least and above
So switch on half an hour per day, already cost you roughly 30 cents or we take 1.5KWH
1.5 x 30 days already cost you 45 KWH
If there are 2 unit, 90 KWH gone which translate about Rm35-40.

Oven also another one that power hungry, those generate heat a lot one generally is power hungry equipment.

Please do not buy inverter a/c if you are going to set the temp at 18C and room size is relative large.

An underpower A/C will consume a lot of electricity as well, because the comressor is running non-stop at all, which in this kind of situation, inverter or non-inverter make no difference.

ozak
post May 13 2010, 02:08 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ May 13 2010, 01:50 PM)

here my fridge

info

Can you focus clearly the second pic? I want to read your fridge power consump. My old fridge is same size as you and I intend to change my old fridge. It suck alot of power.
KLsooner
post May 13 2010, 02:21 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ May 12 2010, 04:39 PM)
thanks for your input & comments..really useful tips...yes my A/C is at 18deg most of the time  whistling.gif that's cos i feel hot all the time  sweat.gif i too was wondering if switching the A/C on at 18deg cud cos the inverter thingy no operating as it should.  i shall try to practice the habit of going 24deg from now on  nod.gif

the side-by-side fridge, yes i do admit is big.  but not too big.  even tho it takes up more space than i wanted, i've always wanted a side-by-side.  and my wife absolutely love the design. so nothing i can do about changing it.  and i do believe its not one of those energy efficient type fridge.  especially now that you mentioned non-energy eff fridge cant be sold to countries under EU..cos i couldn't even find the fridge i have in the LG website.
but the again, there's nothing i can do about the fridge.

like i mentioned, i've begun to switched all applicances (with exception of fridge & alarm) off when not using since last month.

just ran a check on TNB website..my charges are based on Domestic tariffs.

i have various types of lightings.  down lights with energy saving bulbs, florescent lights, spot lights and those hanging and ceiling mounted light fixtures.  most with energy saving bulbs, not all.  most of the time, i only switch on the down lights.  spot lights almost never switched on.  and i only switched on the lights when someone's there.  if there's no one in the kitchen, i dun switched the on. 

i like being in the dark.  especially when i watch tv at night.  light switched on during the night is quite minimal i would say.

shud i be switching off the electric thermos during the day? that is another appliances' switched 24x7.  and mine is 5l if not mistaken.  maybe i will switched them off from now on when not using.  microwave & oven is rarely used.  but when oven is used, its usually for 1-2 hours.

my wife need to sleep with a night light.  so we switched on the bathroom light but kept the door close.  i think that is not very energy efficient.  do you feel if i use those plug in to socket outlet type night light will conserve more energy than switching on the bathroom ceiling light (energy saving bulb)??
for your info, i didn't get to choose what type of electrical supply i want.  i don't think anyone get to choose when u buy property.  you can upgrade from 1-phase to 3-phase with proper application.  but not sure if you can downgrade.

it comes like that.  what can i do?
IF you are feeling hot when AC is set to 18 degree, meaning you have a undersized AC installed. 24 degree is the most comfortable level for human being, if the AC is undersized, setting 18 degree does not mean the room temperature will get to 18.

There are many inverter myth in the forum that I think some people are being misled by AC salesman and advertisement. Inverter air-cond operates all the time when turn on, its operating frequency (compressor motor rotation) range from 15Hz to 85Hz for cooling condition. Conventional AC runs at fixed frequency decided by the grid which in Malaysia is 50Hz, US/canada is 60Hz. Compressor is off when the room temeprature reach the target frequency and on again when temperature rise 1 degree above target temperature.

For inverter type, if you set your target temperature at 24 degree, first it will check the room temperature compare to the target temperature, let say room at enviroment temperature is 30 degree, so difference is 6 degree. The the AC will run at high frequency to cool the room, when the room temeprature reach 24, the inverter AC will reduce the speed to a point it could maintain the 24 degree target frequency. So depend on size of AC, wheather condition and room size, the actual speed that stay at 24 degree varies. If you choose the right AC HP for the right room size, normally the AC will run between 15 to 40 Hz at night time and 40-60 at day time. The energy saving comes when the AC is operating lower than 50Hz compare to conventional type, less speed means less power. If you set 18 degree all the time, the difference of enviroment and target is 12 degree, so the AC will run at max speed to cool it down, if the room temperature only cool down to 24 degree at full speed, the AC will keep running at max speed in order to reach 18, so in this case, it is running at 85 Hz all day. There is no energy saving at 85Hz, in fact you waste more energy because conventional AC at full speed all day only running at 50Hz.

So you need to be very careful when buying inverter products including fridge and AC. Inverter AC does save 50% energy (as advertised) if you set target frequency at 24 degree running at night time when enviroment temperature is 26 degree but if you run at full speed all day, it costs you more.

Set the temperature setting of fridge depend on the amount of food you store inside the fridge, it saves energy. put it in a ventilated room also help the heat discharge of the fridge and hence reduce the load apply to the compressor.

For TV, LCD type should be more energy efficient than CRT type.

You don't have to switch off the thermos during day time, just change to a smaller size, enough for your family use is enough. Change to 3L thermos could have save you enough money to buy a new one for 1 year of power waste on a 5L one. If you turn off at day time, then at night you need to reboil again, boiling also sucks a lot of energy.

Leave lights on all night long means 8hrs a day, check the wattage of the bulb you use, normally night light 2-3W is enough.
art6969
post May 13 2010, 02:21 PM

1,518 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 13 2010, 02:08 PM)
Can you focus clearly the second pic? I want to read your fridge power consump. My old fridge is same size as you and I intend to change my old fridge. It suck alot of power.
529kwh PER YEAR

which mean about RM100 per year, sound funny yeahhh

but it true, i just set my fridge half power (medium), and before im went to office (about 7.15am), just looking at TNB meter, show 2234kwh and at the night when im come back, just checking at meter (9.00pm) show 2234kwh.... so for conclusion my frigde just consume not more than 1kw per day
ozak
post May 13 2010, 02:30 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ May 13 2010, 02:21 PM)
529kwh PER YEAR

which mean about RM100 per year, sound funny yeahhh

but it true, i just set my fridge half power (medium), and before im went to office (about 7.15am), just looking at TNB meter, show 2234kwh and at the night when im come back, just checking at meter (9.00pm) show 2234kwh.... so for conclusion my frigde just consume not more than 1kw per day
Thanks. Your fridge is very power saving. Change my old fridge will help me save another few RM. biggrin.gif
KLsooner
post May 13 2010, 02:56 PM

737 posts

QUOTE(art6969 @ May 13 2010, 01:50 PM)

here my fridge

info

Good point. My mistake.

I am away from the country for almost 3 years, didn't know we did have energy labeling now. But I didn't notice it when I walked around Jusgo last time. Is it mandatory for all appliances or just for advertisement?

This post has been edited by KLsooner: May 13 2010, 02:57 PM
cherroy
post May 13 2010, 03:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(KLsooner @ May 13 2010, 02:56 PM)
Good point. My mistake.

I am away from the country for almost 3 years, didn't know we did have energy labeling now. But I didn't notice it when I walked around Jusgo last time. Is it mandatory for all appliances or just for advertisement?
Not mandatory, but as an advertising point.

With electricity cost escalating, those being labelled "energy saving", "green" can make you more sales.

Even HDD with label "green" sell well, although the saving is actually negligible biggrin.gif
Instead saying running at lower speed, label it as green when require lower power. <--- a nice marketing strategy.

b00n
post May 13 2010, 05:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

I still believe you should check your meter against your bill and make sure that the bill "Jenis Bacaan" is "N".
If it's not "N", meaning they are not doing actual reading but estimation. I still don't believe that your bill would go up to RM250.

If the bill is indeed "N", check whether the rate is the same as I posted. Like I mentioned, the rate could be more expensive for Condo and apartment. (Pls correct me if I'm wrong)
cyanide
post May 13 2010, 05:52 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 12 2010, 09:42 PM)
You have many power sucker applicant. Buy your applicant according need and not bigger than you need. Check the watt usage and the star saving energy.

2) Fridge (LG side-by-side) --> Fridge suck power the most in your house. Don't set the temp max. Either medium or low if food not that much.
4) Cooker Hood ---> don't on all the way. The blower motor is high power and suck power alot.
6) A/C (2 x 1hp & 1 x 1.5hp Inverter type) --> set the temp 25c and set everything to auto. Trust me, you save a lot.
7) Water Pump x 1 --> What the hell you need a water pump in apartment. Ii is a power sucker machine.
8) Water Heater x 2 (storage type not instant type) --> You only have 2 person. Why need storage type? Imagine you need boil the water more than you need. ain't it waste? And if you keep on whole day, it will boil again if temp drop.
9) Bathroom Exhaust Fan x 1 --> power sucker too.
Bathroom exhaust fan is power sucker ???

Cant believe this ...

Fan motor not really big watt. Unless, he leave it on for 24hrs
ozak
post May 13 2010, 06:08 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(cyanide @ May 13 2010, 05:52 PM)
Bathroom exhaust fan is power sucker ???

Cant believe this ...

Fan motor not really big watt. Unless, he leave it on for 24hrs
Exhaust fan generally are higher watt than those table fan. To suck air out fast, you need bigger watt motor.

Use your hand to feel it between two and you will know.

klang-valley
post May 13 2010, 11:13 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ May 13 2010, 06:08 PM)
Exhaust fan generally are higher watt than those table fan. To suck air out fast, you need bigger watt motor.

Use your hand to feel it between two and you will know.
There must be a sticker or label on the exhaust fan. Look for a number beside W.
cyanide
post May 14 2010, 08:47 AM

193 posts

Are we talking about the right exhaust fan???

I'm thinking its refer to those ventilation fan which mounted on wall.
I just check with KDK's website, the one that I've bought for my kitchen usage, it just rated 34W.
34W is consider not a power sucker, rite?
LCD TV nowaday 100+ ~ 200 W.

Real power sucker are those approaching 1000w
pilotHans
post May 14 2010, 03:05 PM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

nice read....its like everyone is in the middle of the an investigation biggrin.gif

btw, do you have a vacuum cleaner?
n how many pc's/laptops are on in the whole house cause u didn't mention in ur list.. smile.gif
Kantao
post Jul 15 2010, 04:15 AM

50 posts

1.) AC for living area 1.5hp normally not enough, but it depend how big the area, facing north or south, window, etc. If size of AC not enough cover the tempeture of the area, compresor will fully run, use more electricity.

2.) The AC better setting 23deg or below, cause the lower tempeture setting the cold can be maintain, if setting above 23deg the air will warm more easy then the compresor will fully running againt to keep the tempeture u setting it. This is bcos last time my AC has problemn after using 1 year+, the tecnical guy told me.
low yat 82
post Jul 15 2010, 06:58 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

http://www.st.gov.my/eest/eeguide/energysaving.htm

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0230sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:01 AM