As the discussion has gone beyond my original intention, I spoiler out my personal encounter of espresso
This post has been edited by kimhoong: Oct 4 2010, 12:23 AM
Best Coffee
Apr 7 2008, 04:11 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
5,154 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
How you have your espresso? Single shot? Double? Sugar? Milk? One shot till finish or take your sweet time drinking?
As the discussion has gone beyond my original intention, I spoiler out my personal encounter of espresso » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by kimhoong: Oct 4 2010, 12:23 AM |
Apr 7 2008, 04:28 PM
1,356 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: An Illuminati organization .. |
Espresso is just a fancy name for 'coffee' or "cafe" in Italian. It is usually taken after meals and should be consumed as a double shot, with or without milk, and definitely without sugar.
Italians never have a cafe latte or capuccino after meals. |
Apr 7 2008, 04:32 PM
92 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
drink it if you want to stay over night, too thick for me.
I like to drink it with mixing 1 shot espresso mix with latte. |
Apr 7 2008, 04:41 PM
QUOTE(laksamana @ Apr 7 2008, 04:28 PM) Espresso is just a fancy name for 'coffee' or "cafe" in Italian. It is usually taken after meals and should be consumed as a double shot, with or without milk, and definitely without sugar. Fancy name only? I believe it is more than that. At least it doesn't look like the typical "coffee" we have in Malaysia. Anyway, this small cup of concentrated coffee gives me good impression Italians never have a cafe latte or capuccino after meals. QUOTE(wctan83 @ Apr 7 2008, 04:32 PM) drink it if you want to stay over night, too thick for me. mixed with latte? me too I like to drink it with mixing 1 shot espresso mix with latte. No offence to your comment though. |
Apr 7 2008, 04:58 PM
1,356 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: An Illuminati organization .. |
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Apr 7 2008, 04:41 PM) Fancy name only? I believe it is more than that. At least it doesn't look like the typical "coffee" we have in Malaysia. Anyway, this small cup of concentrated coffee gives me good impression If you go to Milano, "cafe" = espresso i.e. coffee served in the small cup.mixed with latte? me too No offence to your comment though. The iced latte you get in Starbucks is 1 shot espresso + milk + ice. Enjoy! |
Apr 7 2008, 05:08 PM
Apr 7 2008, 06:16 PM
675 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Heaven |
wao so bitter also can drink ah o_O
i saw on travel and living (the coffee show, forgot what's it called) you take the whole espresso in one gulp, roll it with your tongue, and then after swallowing you clean your mouth with a cup of tea actually some of the pros don't even drink the kopi, they just roll it in their mouths and spit it out in a general basin |
Apr 7 2008, 06:41 PM
3,107 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sydney |
Unfortunately, good coffee is almost non-existent in Malaysia. Our baristas just don't have the necessary skill, especially in establishments like Starbucks and Coffee Bean. I reckon only the hotels have semi-decent baristas.
Adding sugar to espresso is acceptable practice. |
Apr 7 2008, 08:29 PM
5,227 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Anchorage, Alaska |
QUOTE(RBR @ Apr 7 2008, 06:41 PM) Unfortunately, good coffee is almost non-existent in Malaysia. Our baristas just don't have the necessary skill, especially in establishments like Starbucks and Coffee Bean. I reckon only the hotels have semi-decent baristas. i agree... hehehee... when i was in starbucks US... i had training like every week.. with other reviews like secret shopper and internal audit.. here tada... the staff face always as black as charcoal..Adding sugar to espresso is acceptable practice. neway... working in starbucks for 4 month... i never liked espresso... usually i just add 1 shot into my frap 2 keep me awake |
Apr 7 2008, 08:34 PM
4,398 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
The first time i had my espresso, it doesn't really work as a 'force me to stay awake drink' like what everyone told me.
The second time i ordered a double shot. I can't sleep for 2 days (seriously, i toss around my bed for few hours, then doze off for 2 hour and i am awake again) I swear to stay away from espresso, until last week where i was damn tired. Has another double shot, but it didn't work at all. I felt asleep shortly ... and coma for like 13 hours... |
Apr 7 2008, 08:37 PM
QUOTE(ed0gawa @ Apr 7 2008, 08:34 PM) The first time i had my espresso, it doesn't really work as a 'force me to stay awake drink' like what everyone told me. hahahhaa... there was one time i worked 14 hours a day... i took 8 shots in 1 cup... wooo hooo! bouncing around after that.... it is 1.80+usd a shot... but luckily i was working there... hahahaaThe second time i ordered a double shot. I can't sleep for 2 days (seriously, i toss around my bed for few hours, then doze off for 2 hour and i am awake again) I swear to stay away from espresso, until last week where i was damn tired. Has another double shot, but it didn't work at all. I felt asleep shortly ... and coma for like 13 hours... |
Apr 7 2008, 09:06 PM
4,060 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: クアラルンプール > 日本 |
Espresso very small and powerful.....After Drink make you so awake and make u more powerful...haiz not my type i want lazy in afternnon one
Apr 7 2008, 09:08 PM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Cheapo way of making a latte is to buy one shot of espresso and ask for a cup of hot milk. Pour in together and walla, you got your latte with the price of espresso. I heard this from a friend who worked in Starbucks.
On the other note, the only way to know espresso gone bad is when it is a lil sourish.. So they say.. |
Apr 7 2008, 09:55 PM
So, basically most of you guys here just get the espresso and dunk it down the throat?
Well, there is something I have learned from my first "encounter" with espresso: drink it while it's HOT! BTW, this is my first Espresso (before mixing with other stuffs): » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Apr 8 2008, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(goliath @ Apr 7 2008, 09:08 PM) Cheapo way of making a latte is to buy one shot of espresso and ask for a cup of hot milk. Pour in together and walla, you got your latte with the price of espresso. I heard this from a friend who worked in Starbucks. i think in msia they charge for milk... in the states it is free to get milk from the cordiment bar.. but most of the time the milk is not that fresh... On the other note, the only way to know espresso gone bad is when it is a lil sourish.. So they say.. ermm.. some beans are more acidic than others... a better indicator is the bubbles or the temperature QUOTE(kimhoong @ Apr 7 2008, 09:55 PM) So, basically most of you guys here just get the espresso and dunk it down the throat? ermm... espresso is good only for 10-20 secs... cant remember the exact time during my training... if it is not mixed by then... then the barrista is supposed to throw it awayWell, there is something I have learned from my first "encounter" with espresso: drink it while it's HOT! BTW, this is my first Espresso (before mixing with other stuffs): » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Apr 8 2008, 01:17 AM
4,152 posts Joined: May 2005 |
So much trouble just to drink coffee. Truthfully you should be asking recommendation here. You be be down in the shop trying out the different kinds of coffee. It all depends on your taste and what you are eating. Everyone has different tongues, they can decide for you. For me cheap coffe taste no worse than expensive ones. They just taste different and it is a matter on when I want a certain taste.
Apr 8 2008, 09:03 AM
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 8 2008, 01:17 AM) So much trouble just to drink coffee. Truthfully you should be asking recommendation here. You be be down in the shop trying out the different kinds of coffee. It all depends on your taste and what you are eating. Everyone has different tongues, they can decide for you. For me cheap coffe taste no worse than expensive ones. They just taste different and it is a matter on when I want a certain taste. Yes, I'm actually asking for recommendation here. I was clueless when I was served with an espresso. That's why I want to find out what are the "proper" ways (or recommendations) on how to enjoy it.I only used to enjoy Nescafe. |
Apr 8 2008, 09:09 AM
5,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Apr 8 2008, 12:54 AM) i think in msia they charge for milk... in the states it is free to get milk from the cordiment bar.. but most of the time the milk is not that fresh... Hhmm.. Come to think of it, yeah, certain coffee beans are more acidic. However, to one's tongue, coffee is supposed to be sweet and fragrant.ermm.. some beans are more acidic than others... a better indicator is the bubbles or the temperature ermm... espresso is good only for 10-20 secs... cant remember the exact time during my training... if it is not mixed by then... then the barrista is supposed to throw it away QUOTE(kimhoong @ Apr 8 2008, 09:03 AM) Old Town White Coffee for me.. |
Apr 8 2008, 09:32 AM
2,614 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(mumeichan @ Apr 8 2008, 01:17 AM) So much trouble just to drink coffee. Truthfully you should be asking recommendation here. You be be down in the shop trying out the different kinds of coffee. It all depends on your taste and what you are eating. Everyone has different tongues, they can decide for you. For me cheap coffe taste no worse than expensive ones. They just taste different and it is a matter on when I want a certain taste. Agreed.. I can never understand why would people pay extra (2-3x) for a cup of coffee, which sometimes taste worse than those 3-in-1 |
Apr 8 2008, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(kimhoong @ Apr 8 2008, 09:03 AM) Yes, I'm actually asking for recommendation here. I was clueless when I was served with an espresso. That's why I want to find out what are the "proper" ways (or recommendations) on how to enjoy it. wait ar... i go dig out my starbucks manuals and post all 4 u I only used to enjoy Nescafe. QUOTE(goliath @ Apr 8 2008, 09:09 AM) Hhmm.. Come to think of it, yeah, certain coffee beans are more acidic. However, to one's tongue, coffee is supposed to be sweet and fragrant. no no.. coffee is not described by those terms.. we usually use acidity, bold/less bold, aroma (dirt/fruity/nutty) .. cant remember all ... there's 5 terms to describe itOld Town White Coffee for me.. QUOTE(vkeong @ Apr 8 2008, 09:32 AM) Agreed.. I can never understand why would people pay extra (2-3x) for a cup of coffee, which sometimes taste worse than those 3-in-1 some ppl too rich mar... neway there's no 3-1 espresso right? in the states the sell canned double espresso shots but in msia they dont have yet.. |
| Change to: | 0.0453sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:57 PM |