Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

jae
post May 12 2010, 10:28 PM

359 posts

Hi guys,

I'm currently looking for a third flatmate (male or female acceptable; 2 persons sharing a room is fine but both of you should be willing to take the master room) while me and my other friend (both guys) are looking for a 3-bedroom apartment, plan to move in by end of June but that can be negotiated. Our budget is about $600+/- per person without bills (so that's about $1,800+/- for the whole apartment unit).

A lil bit of background info, we had 3 ppl initially but one of our friends couldn't make it so we are now looking for 1 more person to take that empty spot. Both of us are professionals and would be working ( I have already started working while he'll be starting in July) in Raffles Place, so we plan to look for a place not more than 30minutes away from Raffles Place mrt if possible.

Anyone interested please PM me asap. Alternatively, if you happen to have 2 empty rooms to let out please do contact me too.

Cheers.

Edited: removed the room-sharing info

This post has been edited by jae: May 12 2010, 11:21 PM
jae
post May 12 2010, 11:18 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 12 2010, 11:04 PM)
jae... dun think with that budget u can get a place near raffles place
Nah I said I'm working at raffles, planning to look for a place not more than 30minutes in travel time(mrt) away from raffles mrt station haha..

QUOTE(-SaSa- @ May 12 2010, 11:05 PM)
no sharing of room except for couples --> means cannot 2gals/2guys sharing d room? which area are u looking for? too bad i cant afford to rent a single room by myself, budget <S$500 only  tongue.gif
Hmm if you have 2 persons (meaning I don't need to find the other room mate for you) then I guess it should be fine but 4 is definitely the maximum. dont want it to be too crowded. However I would prefer you 2 to take the master room then if that's the case. Location wise, nothing particular in preference, anywhere will do as long as it's within walking distance to MRT station and hopefully not more than 30minutes away from raffles place. Are you interested? Everything can be negotiated smile.gif

This post has been edited by jae: May 12 2010, 11:23 PM
jae
post May 12 2010, 11:26 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 12 2010, 11:20 PM)
my budget is not more than 650 but seem like no chance for me to get it...
If you could extend your move-in date to end of June, then we can probably work things out from there. End of May is too early for my friend as he'll only start work end of July.
jae
post May 13 2010, 12:30 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ May 13 2010, 12:03 AM)
1.8k 3 room near  MRT? lol better b lucky to get 1

sean bz gua mid year liao bz period
Yeah i know, just keeping my fingers crossed haha
jae
post May 25 2010, 03:52 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ May 25 2010, 02:27 PM)
which bank account should i open/..i ask my company hr they say they will not provide any letter for the application. i saw alot of bank need to deposit sgd500 to open an account ..
The $500 deposit is the lowest initial deposit you can find if I am not mistaken, some banks might require more. I know for DBS/POSB, you just need to bring your EP/Approval-in-Principle letter, passport and $500 to open a savings account. Anyway, DBS/POSB has the most number of ATMs as mentioned, but they also have the longest queue for their ATMs and branches based on my experience. In terms of interest rate, they are pretty much similar with insignificant difference (not like the interest rate is good to begin with).

For the minimum balance requirement, I know DBS do penalize you too if your balance drops below $500.
jae
post Jun 10 2010, 11:55 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(LemonBraders @ Jun 10 2010, 11:41 PM)
anyone?
Is it tough? Not really, but not really because of your citizenship, more of the qualification itself (no offence) and timing. I can't speak for all the Big 4s, but the impression I get based on what I gathered is the Big 4s in Sg tend to place more value on degree holders. I know for one of the Big4 if you are an ACCA grad, they will place you in their SME audit department. Whereas for timing issue, the major intake (July to Sept) for this year I believe have already been filled up long time ago, so if you are only gonna apply now I kinda doubt you will make it in this year.

As for the looking of a job when you are physically here, I can't really give much comment on this, probably others could give better advice. But I know for big companies it doesn't really make much of a difference since you are most likely able to apply online (for Big4s you can definitely apply online).
jae
post Jul 28 2010, 11:24 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(semivalue @ Jul 28 2010, 10:44 AM)
Hi. I'm new to here.
It seems that you are in the accounting line in Singapore. Wanna ask whether is Big4 SG hiring Malaysians too? How much does typical Malaysian stand a chance over there, say after getting an ACCA? Thanks.
Yes they do, in fact Malaysian stand a pretty fair chance in getting employed in one of the Big4s over here, be it in a fresh graduate position or experienced hire. However, one thing to note though, they do place quite a lot of emphasis on the candidate being a uni graduate.

On a side note, you most likely won't make it into their main intake for this year (July - Sept), but I think there will be a smaller intake around Dec, just keep a look out on the firms' recruitment website.
jae
post Sep 6 2010, 12:28 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(siren @ Sep 6 2010, 10:43 AM)
With only one remaining paper but with nil experience, you can try to ask for approx $2.0K to $2.2K in a medium size firm.
Are you sure about this? Or you just simply quote using information in KL and put a $ sign instead of RM. As I know ACCA grad only get like $2.3k in one of the bigger mid-tier firm here, and mind you that's a full ACCA grad with no pending results or anything. With one remaining paper and nil experience, I highly doubt you can join as Audit Assistant or Associate, most likely one level below (executive or whatever name they put it), which means even lower salary, most likely less than $2k.
jae
post Sep 7 2010, 01:48 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(ji_en @ Sep 6 2010, 11:02 PM)
thx for your replies..

what are the medium accounting firms in SG? i found RSM. any other firms?
Other mid tier firms would include BDO, Moore Stephens and Grant Thornton, just to name a few.
jae
post Oct 30 2010, 10:22 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Oct 30 2010, 10:09 PM)
No kopi money, I got my letter from JPJ padang Jawa, Klang / shah Alam. They only took the copies of IC and driving license. Give back all originals.

Just some info for those taking basic theory test. The fastest centre you can get is www.ssdcl.com.sg . Previously I've booked on early Oct and got the test date on 30th Nov. Some you have to allocate time of around 2 months to actually get your license test..
Does that mean that when you need to renew your Msian driving license later on there won't be any issue, seeing that they actually took copies of IC and driving license? I always thought the standard practice by JPJ is to always cut the tip of the license off, no?

Upon passing the basic theory test, would it be necessary for us to further take a practical test or we would be able to get a full driving license straight?

0.0502sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:23 AM