Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...
Supreme Allied Commander
May 14 2010, 04:44 AM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ May 13 2010, 03:25 PM) never drove in to SG before. but if we come in by bus, we need to pass through the gate and let our bags pass through the machine to be scan. do u need to scan ur car when u drove in? For SG cars usually they just ask u to open boot and have a look at it thats all. If you notice on the board ur car number will be displayed there i guess it means that they have some kind of scanner to say that u pass the test , maybe ? QUOTE(fbjkl @ May 14 2010, 01:04 AM) thanks for the effort, dokidoki... pls add me in, fbjkl...working in IBP Jurong East, staying in Toh Guan. thanks. So many ppl working in the west , i think we should start our own group for those in the EAST. haha
Supreme Allied Commander
Jun 5 2010, 01:06 AM
QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jun 5 2010, 01:07 AM)  "tarp trapping tarp" Wah, so many buaya around , I think we should organiZe a drinking session soon . Anybody up for drinks tomrw?
Supreme Allied Commander
Jun 5 2010, 01:16 AM
QUOTE(bloggerblue @ Jun 5 2010, 02:06 AM) yeap, Rm800-Rm1000  am staying at Service Apartment.. lol  well, am taking bus... but if got 4 ppl working at the same place, the toll charges and petrol will look worthwhile because share with 4-5 ppl  unfortunately.. if u share, then might get $300.. if not.. $400-$500 I have a 3 bedroom apartment in jb that's 15min from causeway and the monthly payment is bout 1.1k RM. And my litttle room in sengkang already cost 550 SGD. If you don't mind the traveling and the early morning waking up then it's really worth the sacrifice for the cheap gas and food
Supreme Allied Commander
Jun 28 2010, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(reign226 @ Jun 28 2010, 07:17 PM) I am having problems with this as well. So far I use Roomsdb.net, Easyroommate.sg, Share Accomodation and Flathub...its been very hard to find also. Previously I used Sg-house managed to find quite a few non-agent ads but nowadays through sheer volume, agent ads have flooded most of these sites that it's become virtually impossible to find and connect with people who are renting out directly. If possible I would also like to find houses...preferbly ones that don't have to stay with owners. Blessed when are you going over to Sg to work? I am also looking for a place now . I found my previous place using the newspaper classifieds and even went to craigslist to scout for plces. Like u mention a lot of these guys are agents and manyare co-broke which makes it worse. I m thinking of staying put in SK but a 2+1 unit already cost about 1.4k, cant imagine places like Tampines and Paris Ris.
Supreme Allied Commander
Jul 2 2010, 06:24 PM
I want to ask if anybody got their tax assessment for the Year 2010 ? I m asked to pay like 500 bucks so is that suppose to be the normal rate for PR ?. Anyway whats the tax rate like for foreigners and PR ?
Supreme Allied Commander
Jul 5 2010, 12:03 AM
Just wondering if anybody still looking for a place to stay ? I'm thinking of taking the whole unit and renting out to others. I will be moving out from my current place end of the month. Looking at places like SK , hougang or maybe the east side.
Supreme Allied Commander
Jul 6 2010, 01:15 AM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Jul 5 2010, 09:30 AM) Power sial, only allowed to bath 2 times a day? Just to show how "ngiau" singaporeans can get. They give scrooge mcduck a run for his money. Added on July 5, 2010, 8:32 amWhat rooms do you have available and cost? i havent really go look yet but from my survey the cheapest i could get is 1.8k for a 3+1 room hdb and i am assuming its not very convenient using public transportation. i will only need one room and i will definitely rent out one common room and master bedroom. From that i think u can figure out what the cost going to be like for each room .
Supreme Allied Commander
Sep 5 2010, 05:06 PM
QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 5 2010, 11:13 AM) hiya, just purchase and put parents name. I disposed of my Msia property before I got my HDB last time coz Msia property market is a bit slow to pick up. so not worth keeping. now thinking of getting a studio apartment in JB. I think it's ok bcoz there is no way they would find out. Even if they do u could always say that it's for ur parents to stay not for investment. Anyway u mention about studio apartment are u talking bout the new project in Jalan Kebun Teh near the CIQ ?
Supreme Allied Commander
Sep 26 2010, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(rickysim84 @ Sep 26 2010, 04:31 PM) but who gonna organize a gaythering? @@ This friday drinking session , no need to organize
Supreme Allied Commander
Sep 29 2010, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ Sep 29 2010, 10:12 AM) lets go St James, havent been there for sometimes anyway this week i also not ard haha Sounds good to me . So confirm St James ? i dont wanna come back to SG if nobody's coming .
Supreme Allied Commander
Oct 1 2010, 01:43 PM
how tonight anybody want to go drinking ?
Supreme Allied Commander
Oct 11 2010, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(MPIK @ Oct 11 2010, 02:16 PM) do u know what is the approx cost of a common room is this area. I do not need aircond but the room must have window. I have moved 3 places for the pass 3 years and all in Sengkang the price is about 500-600 SGD for a common room. Recently i just moved in to this place also in sengkang and i got it for 450 with aircond.
Supreme Allied Commander
Oct 11 2010, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(MPIK @ Oct 11 2010, 05:45 PM) Wow good find, may i know how are you able to get this cheap? via online search or your fren's recommendations? Any good recommendations for me too??  Actually its my fren's aunty place. Its actually a good deal considering the amount of nights i sleep there haha. Anyway I paid 550 for the last place ,only thing was the owner was a bit on the weird side so i wouldn't recommend it to u. I suggest u look at the newspapers u should be able to find some thing decent only problem is u do not know the 'real' owner until u actually stay with them. U can also try Hougang area since it belongs to the opposition party price should be lower as well
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 2 2010, 11:40 PM
QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Nov 2 2010, 11:49 PM) the problem is TP can't answer my question as well as they refer me to some licensing department where nobody will pick up the dam phone. since mackiddo says he tried it personally. i will trust him  if i encounter any issue when i bring my bike in in the future, i'll update u guys. Can la i tried b4 i drove malaysian car and when i got my singapore car in to SG and thats b4 i got my PR. Of course i have 2 licenses just in case they wanted to see but i paid like 300 bucks to retain my MY license. So far havent tried renewing yet i hope i can do it in the future. Anyway theres like thousands of malaysian vehicles cross the border everyday i'm pretty sure alot of them are on work passes. Only thing for sure is when u enter the checkpoint they have a big sign saying that PR and singaporeans not allowed to drive foreign vehicles thats it.
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 11 2010, 01:02 AM
QUOTE(shchiam1978 @ Nov 11 2010, 12:48 AM) Mamak with friends, Outing as Malaysia is super huge compare to SG, weekend can visit friends house. Most of friends in Singapore don't visit each other as they are too tired after work and want to spend quiet time by themselves. QUOTE(Jurlique @ Nov 11 2010, 12:56 AM) Play some sports with frens. Go kayaking at Kallang river with frens and so on.. Watch movies.. Soon we will be kayakng at ochard rd as well lol . Seriously go out and have a drink during weekends. Good thing is u dont have to drive there hav so many cabs around.
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 15 2010, 06:55 PM
Just read from the news today that malaysians with SG car can buy RON95 now. SourceThis post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Nov 15 2010, 06:57 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 24 2010, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(r1v3r @ Nov 22 2010, 11:17 PM) move back a 42" TV ahh.... prepare some stories just in case the malaysian custom don't like your face and check your car. Haha remember no matter what always use the middle lane as it will lead u to the green channel
Supreme Allied Commander
Nov 24 2010, 07:16 PM
QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 24 2010, 01:11 PM) U mean Tuas or Woodlands checkpoint? woodlands. Never used tuas b4 going into my but i believe they are more strict since there are less cars. This post has been edited by Supreme Allied Commander: Nov 24 2010, 07:16 PM