Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

J(o)y
post Aug 9 2010, 10:25 PM

250 posts

Is it very common for HDB units to be taken up so fast in a couple of days after they advertised?
I called many agents and all said their units are taken up, some even on the same day they advertised!!.
I suspect they just advertised with low prices to lure people to call, then recomend other less desirable units.
Does any of you encountered the same problem?
J(o)y
post Sep 30 2010, 07:48 AM

250 posts

Dear fellow forumer,
Anybody here (or any of your friends) left msia and go to SG to work without clearing Msia IRB taxes?
Has the Msia kastam block you/ur friends from leaving b4?
J(o)y
post Sep 30 2010, 03:37 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 30 2010, 10:06 AM)
I don't think they will go for those mid/low working class. it's the corporate and high income defaulters they are after. the answer is no, I personally have never heard of such a case.
hi mackiddo,
u meant u never heard kastam block ppl from leaving or u never heard ppl not clearing their taxes b4 they leaves msia?

J(o)y
post Oct 1 2010, 08:21 AM

250 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Sep 30 2010, 03:40 PM)
nah...customs dun block u unless u r smuggling sumthing its the immigration who might.even then i doubt they will even though u owe them cos there issint a case against u saying tat u r not going to pay
unlike those who have not paid their ptptn loans n purposely dont even though court letters r sent to them then there is a case against them where by they ignore the law
oh my mistake, shd be imigration , not custom.
anyway, thanks. lets wait and see if anything happens.

This post has been edited by J(o)y: Oct 1 2010, 08:26 AM
J(o)y
post Oct 23 2010, 03:47 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Oct 23 2010, 03:13 PM)
I think the government is just giving an excuse for them to withhold the poor fellas cpf since thats the governments piggy bank.

From what i heard, its coz the fella stay with the same company and there doesnt seem to be much improvement from the guy (donno if its salary wise or career, but then again why would the government need to meddle anyway).

Its likely the governments way of safeguarding themselves when the next election is coming to show their doing something about the high PR numbers, start voting them off the island, so to speak.
That doesn't sound like a reasonable reason. if he's not good, the coy would have fired him.
was he one of the unlucky ones that kena "offerred citizenship" and he didn't take it?

actually i was thinking, why would forcing PR to take up citizen any hep for the country?
wouldnt that increase the ageing of the country, which is not good? the ratio of retired ppl: working ppl would increase burdeing the tax payer in the future. correct me if im wrong.

J(o)y
post Nov 2 2010, 08:55 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(kl87 @ Oct 31 2010, 10:39 AM)
Almost forgot about this forum....

hi, newbie here, finally got a job in Sg, fresh graduate. Applying the EP/S Pass. Should start working after 2 weeks. Nice to meet you all.

Been busy searching for room on internet but the results came out ....you knw -,-''

i will be going to Sg tmr, 1st Nov, to find a room. Hopefully can get some help from this forum.

Hopefully a utility room around Surbana One, Jalan Bukit Merah. No nid air-con, n of coz PUB should be included. Budget around 350-450. Izit possible ?

Anyone here knows any agent ?

Thank you.

Do contact me : wkl1987@gmail.com or 016-3408332
if u come on saturday, but the straits times. full list of rental availale.
the problem with internet is if the price is reasonably good, it will b taken up within 1-2 days. (from my experiences)

J(o)y
post Nov 7 2010, 07:28 PM

250 posts

actually there is ALOT of work that is notstress such as cleaners, clerical, secretaries, etc... depends on your income expectation.

For kian 26, 1k for a room is more than sufficient, unless u intend to stay near business district, of which 1k u may still be able to get.
J(o)y
post Nov 8 2010, 09:02 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Nov 7 2010, 10:04 PM)
Any idea is Public Bank be available as most places in Singapore?
Thinking of opening or linking account.
other choice is Maybank, CIMB and RHB. Maybank more atm, the 2 other i havent seen any.

Added on November 8, 2010, 9:06 pm
QUOTE(elie3173 @ Nov 8 2010, 03:04 PM)
Just curious. For those who have found a job in Singapore. How long it took for you to get an offer?
What do u mean "found a job"?
I found a lot of jobs that i wan, but they dun wan me, hence it takes me almost 3yrs to get offer letter..

This post has been edited by J(o)y: Nov 8 2010, 09:06 PM
J(o)y
post Nov 10 2010, 09:59 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 10 2010, 12:41 AM)
dont have la...y not withdraw and go money change change?

Added on November 10, 2010, 12:50 amhi guys,

im in dilemma...

been offer a job same company different position...
current job

good environment
no politics
we can "abuse" company phone...use make idd call
take annual leave 4 days for 5 working days
not much change of getting promoted in this couple of years unless sum1 resign...
the pyramid is very high/narrow
odd working hours...weekend...night...or maybe urgent need to work anytime during midnight
low basic...but plus OT can hit quite high
team needed me alot...
direct supervisor love me a lot...
she feel heavy to let me go...but still ask me to go coz there higher ranking
no increament till April...those ang moh dont know wat they doing...comp earn billions of usd a year still so kiam siap
job offered

slightly higher post
more technical stuff
of coz higher basic...
not much position/level
mon to friday job office hour
unknown working environment...
direct supervisor not in SG

still got many things that can put in consideration...
sigh...
help me...
this is the first time i heard a company suddenly offerred u for another job. SUmore for diff role
Since u bos like u i dun think she recomended the companyto offer u rite?
Did u urself applied or ask for the position?

Anyway, i will take it cos higher pay, no bos, steepen ur learning curve, good for ur career., if ur looking to improve ur career.
but if u dun like to work hard, wan good work life balance, etc stay in ur own position lor.

J(o)y
post Nov 10 2010, 10:07 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Nov 10 2010, 09:30 AM)
Hi Seantang

I have a maybank account nominated in Ringgit, but i am not sure whether i can withdraw SGD? for the activation, is that possible to do it online? also, if i successfully activate it? can i withdraw SGD using my maybank ATM card in other banks ATM such as OCBC, UOB? because it is quite difficult to find Maybank ATM machine here.

I do not have a credit card. Do money changer in Singapore allow Malaysia debit card swipe? Mean i get SGD and i pay my ringgit using debit card swipe.?
let me clarified cos i used before.
First, u cannot withdraw MYR/RM in Singapore (pls read ppl's reply to ur answer properly).

Secondly to withdraw SGD u can just call Maybank Malaysia (expensive call charges lar) and activate it ur atm card (not debit card). Wihtin one day (btw i activate on Saturday and withdrawn on Sunday, so non-working day oso can).
WIthdraw from Maybank atm cheaper charges (i think SGD2) compare to other atm (SGD12).
J(o)y
post Nov 11 2010, 09:53 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Nov 11 2010, 12:18 AM)
Yup, 5 figure salaries are more common here.
Actually for me, dolar to dollar wise, it wpould be easir to earn 5 figure in Msia.
I was in IB back in Msia. Basically if u have the no. of yrs and u dun screw up big time (until the market knows who) it would be easy to move up above 5figures
Whereas in SG for the sameno. of yrs u also need and actually more importantly outperfromance over peers to move up.
The questioin is, U wan 5 figure, what u have to give other than ur yrs of experience?
Its probably more coomon here because of the no. of competent ppl and of course u have ppl with overseas experiences, (including ang mohs). But u also have much more ppl without 5figures with the same yrs of experience.

Added on November 11, 2010, 9:58 pm
QUOTE(mercury8400 @ Nov 10 2010, 10:29 PM)
SG is boring. What do you guys do during weekends? I got nothing to do...too tired of window shopping.....
i think it's not so much of the activities, but the ppl to do it with.
the prob is u dun have very close frens / childhood frens / long term frens like back in KL.
It's always harder to make close frens when ur older, as opposed to wen ur younger back then.
Even if u get some frens here it will not be the same.

This post has been edited by J(o)y: Nov 11 2010, 09:58 PM
J(o)y
post Nov 12 2010, 09:25 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(bellion @ Nov 11 2010, 11:39 PM)
SGD150K is actually rather low for a mid to upper-middle manager in foreign banks in Singapore, except for maybe administrative, HR and PR departments.

Try SGD200K+ per annum for a start.
per annum as in include bonus or not?
ur talking about high perfromer or mediocre. performance makes a HUGE difference, especially in SG.

Added on November 12, 2010, 9:29 pm
QUOTE(elie3173 @ Nov 12 2010, 10:36 AM)
Hi. A headhunter was asking me whether I am interested to apply for a contract based job in singapore bank. I am not sure whether I should give it a try as I am quite concerned about the job security. Currently I have a permanent post in malaysian bank. of course, I would love to work in singapore. Wanna gather more comments before I make up my mind. Any comments? Tq
How long is ur contract?
If it's 6months only u can start looking for job after 3 months. Also ask ur bos to give recomendation lor.
its would be easier to look for SG jobs in SG than in Msia.

This post has been edited by J(o)y: Nov 12 2010, 09:29 PM

0.0354sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:36 PM