12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V3a, new version...

crapp0
post Nov 15 2010, 03:38 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 14 2010, 10:21 PM)
some said its because of the coming election...
not sure how true it is...
anyway...
if u cant get EP...u still can get S pass...
S pass also cant get...still can get those basic work permit...
not much different also with those passes...
S Pass is way harder since you need 3 singaporeans to apply for 1 S Pass.

Thats why most small companies tend to have ghost employees or list down their extended family aka uncle, aunts, grandma/grandpa as employees of the company without them actually working in the company itself.

I know a couple of clients who practice this.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 15 2010, 03:39 PM
crapp0
post Nov 17 2010, 11:17 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(darkages @ Nov 16 2010, 07:02 PM)
Can I bring raw meat into Singapore? (i.e chicken and/or ba kwa)
Not sure on the raw meat, but bak kwa yes.
crapp0
post Nov 18 2010, 11:20 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 17 2010, 04:23 PM)
no. bak kwa is not allowed
I brought in bak kwa without any problems. Just last week i saw a bus load of people bringing in dried fish "maw". 2 large bags per person no less and there werent detained.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 18 2010, 11:25 AM
crapp0
post Nov 18 2010, 07:41 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 18 2010, 06:00 PM)
Looks like i was right after all

Added on November 18, 2010, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(darkages @ Nov 18 2010, 05:07 PM)
Ok. I brought in bak kwa.  biggrin.gif
Singapore roasted meat not good enough?

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 18 2010, 07:42 PM
crapp0
post Nov 18 2010, 11:22 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 18 2010, 09:52 PM)
nope, you are not
And yet darkages is now eating his bak kwa....

and singaporeans are making fish maw soup.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 18 2010, 11:25 PM
crapp0
post Nov 18 2010, 11:29 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 18 2010, 11:25 PM)
For IT related job in SG, which area are high in demand?
Application development using java is still sought after. Since its OS independent. plus it'll run on legacy machines since a large majority prefer "old is gold".

You wont believe how many businesses wont bury windows xp or programs that only support a win xp environment. Im talking to you lloyds register.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 18 2010, 11:30 PM
crapp0
post Nov 18 2010, 11:45 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 18 2010, 11:41 PM)
Im still running good ol Windows XP too. Which is good because my workstation is still using Pentium 4. Single. Core.
yeah, most businesses are resistant to change since they dont want to disrupt their operations or force themselves to learn how to use an OS again.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 18 2010, 11:46 PM
crapp0
post Nov 19 2010, 08:42 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wseng @ Nov 19 2010, 03:57 AM)
haha.. is Lloyds giving u much problem with them not upgrading ?
Well, i get better performance out of windows 7 compared to windows xp so im all for upgrading it, but unfortunately llyods is one of my clients and their the only ones who are still using legacy programs in the ms-dos era/windows 98 timeline. Oddly enough lloyds competitors such as the germans, koreans and japanese have all futureproof their software, only the british are behind the curve.

I've talked to their IT helpdesk and they told me they dont have a definitive timeline and when or if they are gonna upgrade their software.

Added on November 19, 2010, 8:47 am
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Nov 19 2010, 12:09 AM)
Thanks bro smile.gif
I'll need to brush up my programming skills first... I'm thinking to venture into Android and iPhone programming...
Ya, I noticed this among my co-workers too... I'm using win7+Office2010 now but some of them still using XP+Office2003... but at least my current company is literally forcing all employees to migrate to Windows 7 and Office 2010 by phase...
My company just bought the office 2007 suite in late 2008 so it wont be anytime soon that we will be upgrading to office 2010. Plus i have some programs which utilize MS excel and the latest that their compatible is with ms office 2007.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 19 2010, 08:47 AM
crapp0
post Nov 19 2010, 11:05 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Nov 19 2010, 10:11 AM)
Tallking about PC and laptops...

Anyone here working in the office still using lousy spec PC/lappie?

I am abit lucky here, still using Centrino Duo with 2GB Ram.

But my staff is still using Pentium 3 with only 512MB Ram, damn pity them bcos always their system auto-restart.. LOL
Thats normal in kaisu land. Countless times i've seen staff working with equipment which is past its due date but management wants the most out of their ROI.
crapp0
post Nov 19 2010, 10:35 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Nov 19 2010, 10:11 PM)
hmmzzzz... i got 1 question...

i juz work for a bout 2 month with ep...

if i wanna hop job, wat is the procedure... my ep pass how??
quit yer company, then get out of singapore and do the process all over again. Rinse and repeat.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 19 2010, 10:35 PM
crapp0
post Nov 20 2010, 08:27 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Nov 20 2010, 07:56 AM)
u mean i have to quit and get out from singapore 1st?? i cant like work wit the current company 1st while searchin for job?? hmmzzz... anybody hop job b4 wit ep pass... mind to share share?? very confuse bout dis... becoz the ep we hav is only can work wit the current employer...
You can find a job while your in singapore, getting a new job means you have to cancel your current permit, get out of singapore, and then do the whole thing with your new employer as you have done with your current one.
crapp0
post Nov 20 2010, 09:22 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Nov 20 2010, 09:15 AM)
cancel yes, get out of sg? unless u hav an intention to go back home yes else u can jus cont
Arent you supposed to leave the country since your permit is canceled. If im not mistaken alot of china people do this whereby their permit is canceled by the employer but they never leave the country.
crapp0
post Nov 20 2010, 10:32 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 20 2010, 10:28 AM)
not sure bout other work passes...
last time when i'm holding work permit (now S pass)
i need to leave Singapore to get the white card to apply for S pass...
so any1 wanna have breakfast with me???
eating breakfast in singapore very boring. I prefer lunch or dinner for bigger meals.

Singapore doesnt have american or british style breakfast, as large as a lunch meal.

The only place in singapore i can get a real american breakfast is on a jackup rig or drilling ship stationed in singapore waters.

Anybody got any lubang to buy cheap ps3 games? Just won a ps3 console.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 20 2010, 10:39 AM
crapp0
post Nov 20 2010, 11:15 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(ba5tard @ Nov 20 2010, 11:12 AM)
hmmzzzz... dis mean dat i hav to be jobless 1st b4 i can sign up for new job... is dat rite?? if really den its kinda headache to me... hmmzzz...
Bingo, thats what plagues permit holders. Its singaporean governments way of telling you not to take job hopping so lightly.
crapp0
post Nov 20 2010, 03:19 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 20 2010, 02:53 PM)
I prefer late night TT sessions but it seems hard to find a place with good roti canai or naan here.

PS3Break FTW. Only drawback is cannot go on PSN.
You have the ps3break dongle? I guess piracy is like smoking, bad habits are hard to die.

I'm only buying ps3 exclusive titles or triple a titles.

Going to get mgs4, uncharted 2 and heavy rain pre-owned titles. but i'll most probably be buying GT5 brand new.

Still looking for red dead redemption 2nd hand.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 20 2010, 03:24 PM
crapp0
post Nov 20 2010, 05:20 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 20 2010, 04:15 PM)
Dont forget FF13, Infamous, Killzone, Ratchet & Clank, Resistance, Bayonetta. Uncharted is freaking awesome.
I stop playing ff since its starting at downward spiral, dont like infamous, dont like killzone coz im more of a halo guy, hate kiddy games like r&c.

Im getting uncharted 2 tomorrow, not sure if gonna get unc 1 though since uncharted 2 has a better rating.
crapp0
post Nov 21 2010, 09:42 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Nov 20 2010, 05:58 PM)
Yeah after FF10 it was pretty much all downhill. Ratchet & Clank Future Crack in Time is one of the best platforming games on the PS3 and have consistently provide a solid platforming experience during the PS2 times, along with Jak & Daxter, although the graphics may be a bit cute. Unc 1 wasn't that nice to be honest, but Unc 2 blew me away.

Added on November 20, 2010, 5:59 pm

Go for interview then compare the offer see which one better pay, career progress, personal development, etc. Unless the other company rushing for you to sign up.
Do you buy all your games brand new? Donno if want to fork out the money to get the brand new gran turismo 5 since i am a big fan of the franchise. But i heard its around 90 dollar srp.
crapp0
post Nov 22 2010, 11:32 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Nov 22 2010, 11:00 AM)
M1?
let me quote something n u judge it urself...

"Dear Mr Lai

Thank you for your e-mail of 10 November 2010. 

We acknowledge your feedback on the connectivity issue that you are
experiencing with your mobile broadband service. We apologise for the
frustration and inconvenience.

We would like to advise you that we have sent you letter on 03 November
2010 based on engineering's reply regarding the signal issue that you
are experiencing.  Based on the investigation, the 2G and 3G signal in
your area is satisfactory and that the possible cause of problem is due
to large number of handset user in the area.

While we realised that the connectivity / speed of our Mobile Broadband
service has fallen short of your expectations, we seek your
understanding that we will not be able to confirm on the expected
completion date for any enhancements. We appreciate your patience and
understanding in this matter.

If you have other queries, please contact our 24-hour Customer Service
Hotline at 1627 or +6596801627 when calling from overseas.  Or you may
write to us via the link below.  Please do not reply to this mailbox as
this e-mail address is used for outgoing e-mails only. "

the case was reported last month...many times...till now not yet resolve...
I also kena this thing recently whereby i cant bit torrent anymore while using a M1 mobile broadband connection. Its usually the same prob all mobile broadband users face which is over-saturation of 3g devices in a particular area. Just guess hdb flat may have 2 fellas using MBB. Now multiply that in 5 block area and you'll realize due to singapores densely populated housing areas that MBB services will be a major prob.
crapp0
post Nov 24 2010, 04:42 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2010, 04:28 PM)
why not ? No Singaporean can cover that job ?

Added on November 24, 2010, 4:28 pmanyone going SITEX @ Singapore Expo tomorrow ? smile.gif
Im going this sat to check for a 24 inch lcd. Not sure which one to get. But then again singapores choices for computer parts is disappointing.
crapp0
post Nov 24 2010, 06:24 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Nov 24 2010, 04:52 PM)
why 24" ? get a 32" LCD better, value for money, price can drop as low as SGD500. I'm looking for a LED below SGd$1k, dunno can get how many inch.
over here, not many ppl assemble their own pc, most would rather go for pre-assembled set. well, i'm on Mac anyway.
Im getting a pc monitor, not a tv. dells 30" monitor cost around 2k. If i were a singaporean looking for a basic computer, i too would go for pre-assembled since the monetary savings isnt that great and the choices for available hardware isnt that abundant that it would affect performance by a long shot. Once you go shopping on newegg, everything else seems so expensive or the variety is sorely lacking.

This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 24 2010, 06:29 PM

12 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 >Top

0.0626sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:31 PM