No 50% stamp duty discount for 2nd hand condo?

TSCyberKewl
post May 10 2010, 07:46 AM, updated 16y ago

2,900 posts

I've been told by my lawyer that even though I am a first time buyer, i wont get the 50% stamp duty discount as i am buying a 2nd hand condo, not a new property. is that true? can anyone verify?
TSCyberKewl
post May 10 2010, 10:59 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ May 10 2010, 10:47 AM)
you can, if the value of the condo is less than rm 250k
but my lawyer said its only applicable for new property ? my property is 2nd hand and below 250k
TSCyberKewl
post May 10 2010, 12:31 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(walle @ May 10 2010, 11:40 AM)
u can..i can confirm that..coz i jz did mine..
i jz bought a serviced apartment subsale below 250k
oh ok, then i need to confirm with my lawyer on this. thanks.
TSCyberKewl
post May 10 2010, 02:01 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ May 10 2010, 12:42 PM)
ya me too...i bought sub sale n below rm250k
I called up the HBA (House Buyer's Association), Mr Chang Kim Loong (The secretary general) says that I have to check with my lawyer whether I am entitled for the 50% discount or not. So I guess my lawyer could be right. Appears to have some condition other than being the 1st house buyer.
TSCyberKewl
post May 10 2010, 02:47 PM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ May 10 2010, 02:45 PM)
i read the tax book:
1. one house per individual
2. applies to s&p signed between sept 2007 and dec 2010
3. purchase of houses not exceed rm 250,000

why not try ask another lawyer?
hmm not so nice to ask other lawyer plus i dun know other lawyers