Science BIotech is not really good as government said?, Biotechnology graduate is hard to find?

rach_
post May 19 2010, 08:18 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bravo Fashion Trends @ May 18 2010, 10:24 PM)

Any biotech people out there who really involve themself in r and d or other fields, pls send respond to let other biotech grad to know what else industry they can be involved in ......i really run out of idea.

Ok, I am a biotech graduate (BSc Hons.), my work is about bioinformatics! smile.gif
rach_
post May 21 2010, 08:28 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bravo Fashion Trends @ May 20 2010, 08:32 PM)
hi, i want to go into bioinfo too, but they say i dont know java, perl........

Added on May 20, 2010, 8:36 pm
not regret. cause i gt mine in oversea. i think i am lucky at least i experience different things b4. i actually working in UK before i decided to come back. I didn't realized that it is so hard to find a biotech in Malaysia, i thought after a few years, government should have set up many companies. but end up same things. Now still looking for ideal job.  wondering is there any biotech grad face the same things like me.

(actually i enjoy doing the course very much).
Yes, there is a learning curve. My degree and honours year did not teach me programming langauges and IT skills too, i'm more to biochemistry research and lab work, not to the biotech side and not to the bioinfo side too.
But it is good enough if you have the cell biology basic, just have to learn the IT part (thats what im doing now everyday, and to be honest, its tough!)

Have you been to interview anyway? Do you mean the interviewers said that you are not eligible because you don't know java and perl?
rach_
post May 21 2010, 09:52 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bravo Fashion Trends @ May 21 2010, 09:13 AM)
Yes, they say i didn't have any programming or operating skills. They say they prefer candidate that have those skills. I just thinking i need to learn those myself. how you learn them? need to register any course or can download the program myself and do self-learning?
Hmm, Im pretty surprised that they will say that. Well its true that they prefer people with real bioinfo background, but the fact is this type of expertise is too limited in msia. So most of the companies will take in biotech/biochem/genetics graduates. (and you have a masters! that should be an add point) May I know which company you went for interview, if you dont mind smile.gif

For me, my seniors in the company are guiding me but since they are really busy, lots of self learning too. I guess you can start with good bioinfo books, and follow the steps and do it on your own computer (softwares needed by the way). And google is your best friend too, always google!

I am a beginner in bioinfo too, cant give you much advice, sorry. But back to the biotech graduates' fate in msia, in my humble opinion, there are jobs available when you really look and do your homework. Many companies don't advertise, so you need to google a lot, go to their website, email them....etc. just try your best, thats what I think.

This post has been edited by rach_: May 21 2010, 09:54 AM
rach_
post May 22 2010, 11:35 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bravo Fashion Trends @ May 22 2010, 02:13 AM)
to rach_: there is a month where i was in Singapore doing a visit to my sister. The company is in Singapore, but i am not so convenient to tell the name of the company so clearly here. There is also one company that is not main in Bioinfo, but doing other research in Selangor. I actually having an interview for other position, and thepeople say they also have vacancy in Bioinfo. But they say i lack of that skills.

I was busy depositing resume nowadays to any related company that i found on website. Hope that they suddenly have a vacancy offer to me, if i am lucky.
to minnymin: my friends all went into insurance, and sales.
Yes good idea. Just send in your resume to anywhere. Good Luck smile.gif
rach_
post May 24 2010, 10:07 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(cherlynIN @ May 23 2010, 10:42 PM)
oppsss sorry i mean i still the one that did undergraduate but my friend the one that did the postgraduate but not yet graduate. Sorry sorry sorry sorry ...
Haha, I was about to say: you did not check the job opportunities in the market before you decided to do postgraduate??
rach_
post May 24 2010, 02:13 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(Bravo Fashion Trends @ May 24 2010, 01:58 PM)
of course i do check it. It can be a good opportunity to find the job in overseas. but, since the economic is not good at this moment, no country will open so much opportunity for foreigner. i would say may be the job opportunity is not as fast as people doing marketing, engineer or accounting. but, pls don't look down on people graduate from biotechnology cause they are a group of skills people who can be train in many sciences field.  I have certain job offer too from vaccines,pattern,plant company, cancer. but just depend is it the field that i really want myself to be train. i am still looking for the field that i really want.
Hi, sorry if I made you misunderstand. I am referring to cherlynIN's post:

"hey well i m the postgraduate of the biotech, so it is true that it damn hard to get a job in biotech relate field after those biotech postgraduate student graduate. I thought they say that our government are encourage the develop of biotech industry in m'sia? Frankly i m kinda of scared after c what u guy said"

I just wanna say it is a need to survey for the job market before you decide something, for example furthering your studies. There is no point in going to phd just because "most of my friends did it". And then got scared after realizing there are limited job offers.
I did life science because I love it, without checking out its job opportunities, job scope,.....etc. I regretted for not thinking thorough enough before I took my degree. But at the end of the day, I never regret taking my course because I found my passion and love in science. The dream of changing the world into a better place, environmental-wise or medical-wise, is still in us science graduates, no matter how stupid it sounds to others.

I think we all life science graduates should have more confidence in ourselves and all the knowledge we have, even if we have to do sales or pathology lab assistants to feed ourselves for the time being, we shouldn't let our dreams die. We should keep learning and updating ourselves, read journals and science news even if you've left the university, the passion is very important!
rach_
post May 25 2010, 08:43 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(cherlynIN @ May 25 2010, 03:32 AM)
Ummm u said it right, but i never regret with what the choice i had made and i never follow my friend path. All the time, i think that biotech are the one that always play the noble role in life science field. Even when sometime u don't even care what other think while other look at biotech as if like a crap, u still cont on ur  dream. But u do scare when all other are ready to look at how u going to fail while u do really had all the passion and convince in doing all the hardwork u had work on all this time but in the end u find out the result going to be zero, frankly u do freak out.
I guess I can tell you how much I understand the feeling. My father kept hinting me to go for medicine or engineering since I finished STPM. Until the day I completed my honours project, he was still saying I was too ignorant and stubborn to go choose something so "useless". For 3 months I was depressed, I sent out nearly hundred of emails for job applications and got nothing, providing that I got my degree in Aus, it was even more stressful to have spend so much money and not getting a job. Now I am working, and my dad finally shuts up and stops worrying and let me do what I wanna do.

So the hard times won't last long, so don't worry, but stay alert with the job market all over the world. All the best.
rach_
post May 25 2010, 09:36 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Fenris Wolf @ May 25 2010, 09:30 AM)
what is SiLC?
Google - wikipedia
"Southern Industrial and Logistics Clusters (SiLC) - SiLC is a 1,372 acre (5.6 km²) industrial park with close proximity to two international airports and cargo hubs as well as four seaports both in Johor and Singapore is a value-adding advantage. As an international gateway, this key logistical factor adds soaring value to the business activities of industry players."
rach_
post May 27 2010, 08:32 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 26 2010, 11:08 PM)
work at germany?? wah.. nt bad ma.. ermm.. i biotech also but specialize at plant tissue culture, will start work at mnc (japanese plant tissue culture company) at sg jawi.. bioinfo.. i tink if nt mistaken, kl gt two companies onli.. one is MGRC another i forgot da name ady.. hmm.. a friend of mine also work at MGRC.. during interview, my friend told me tht gt iq quiz de.. i dun knw wat is ur friend company name??
sg jawi in penang u mean? they have plant tissue culture company? oh i never knew......hmm. There r more bioinfo companies in msia than u think smile.gif Many really don't advertise even they have vacancies, so research about jobs are really needed.

Regarding what a biotech company wants....I once went to interview in a biotech company in penang, they are producing antibodies and other secondary proteins. They need people with experience in cloning. But the pay is too low with 1 year contract (under government program), so I turned it down even it is near to my house. N now im in kl! For bioinfo, hmm.....programming not necessarily, u always pick up over time. But I think the most important thing is the biology background. Cell biology, biochemistry, genetics or microbiology-basics will be useful.

Your friend working in mgrc? hmm, i might know him/her then smile.gif yes, iq test or logic test included.

This post has been edited by rach_: May 27 2010, 08:33 AM
rach_
post May 27 2010, 10:15 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 09:23 AM)
da company u mentioned in penang izzit at penang science park de us company?? rach, wich company r u working at kl?? btw, u mentioned low salary ah?? izzit below 2k?? if like tht, thn i can hav zero income ady??  n yes it is da sg jawi at penang mainland.. mine new job salary is near reach 2k..
Is in penang biotech park, bukit minyak. That job is quite interesting too, because it involves protocol designing too, not only routine lab work. The contract is under government's plan, 1500 for 1 year, can't leave unless u reach 12 months. So, i tried my luck in KL. Have to be far from home thats the only drawback. Other than that, I love my current job biggrin.gif

There is another company in Kulim. Pay not bad too. Is a US company if im not wrong.

Your pay should be not too bad, its ok to start with lower pay, experience is more worthy, right? So what your job scope covers? You love it?

rach_
post May 27 2010, 12:06 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 10:32 AM)
hmm.. actually wat i did for my final year project is relate wif plant tissue culture de.. so i hav the interest in tht field.. wat is my job scope ah?? hmm.. i still nt sure becoz it is my new job.. haven't start yet.. will start work on 1st of june.. for wat i knw during interview is prepare medium, culture n doing r&d if the company hav profit.. da company produce mericlones for orchids n sum ornamental plants.. so can i knw wat is ur current job scope?? o u also work in MGRC?? btw, previously i work in engineering field de.. after hav sum savings, thn i quit da job n wait for 3 months ++ be4 secure dis ptc job.. haha..
Oh wow, u insisted to be in biotech field then? bravo, good for u, our field needs more people like you.
I am a bioinformatician. my job scope includes all the bioinformatics stuff but mainly in genomic area only (not touching on proteomic currently), like analyzing sequenced data, optimizing pipeline, ..... etc. but the main thing im doing now is learning programming script, because I had no experience in this at all during my uni days.
rach_
post May 27 2010, 02:08 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 12:25 PM)
hmm.. nw i m wondering if u work at MGRC, thn ur result suld b excellent n also during da iq / logic test.. becoz MGRC is veli hard to enter want.. haha.. becoz tht of friend is a first class degree for biotech.. n da pay is nt bad among all biotech companies n also da medical underwriter.. haha.. btw.. da benefit at MGRC also nt bad.. haiz.. too bad tht i can't enter.. haha..

Added on May 27, 2010, 12:29 pm

ya.. i would like to work at da job i passion for.. hmm.. of coz salary also play an important role in it.. n thn da company background.. if too low, i also can't survive.. haha.. thn u rach, u work for hw long ady as a bioinfomatician?? u grad fr wich uni?? biotech also??
Aha, I guess I know who is your friend tongue.gif
Medical underwriter needs to be experienced in writing scientific or medical articles right? I don't realize that getting in MGRC is tough, I have no friends applying to this company too, but MGRC do need more staffs, did you try your luck?
I graduated in Uni of Adelaide, degree in biotech, honours in biochemistry.
rach_
post May 27 2010, 02:26 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 02:16 PM)
huh?? u can guess?? ru sure of it?? o u wan to play a fool of me.. hmm.. nid many staffs?? no wo.. for wat i heard fr my friend, most of da staffs r bumiputeras n sum of them even r relatives.. swt.. dun knw eh.. i gt send my resume to them be4.. haha.. mayb my result do nt satisfy da upper management..
Yes is a guy right. Not playing la.
Hmm....the ratio of race here is quite balance, its a mix. MGRC has many subsidiaries, the composition of race is slightly different for each subsidiary.
Good luck in your new job then smile.gif
rach_
post May 27 2010, 02:32 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(happy_pink @ May 27 2010, 02:18 PM)
i saw overseas  need many biotech ppl
but the requirements is phd or master

so actually biotech not that bad is it?
y u all don wan further your studies
maybe can become lecturer
Well, be lecturer is not a bad choice. Even degree graduates can be lecturer nowadays, depending on universities.
Further studies take a long way, u have to be sure u want to commit and spend time and money and go down the research path, before u can take phd. I thought of phd last year, but I cant see myself in the research path forever yet, I prefer to have some working experience earn some money. Being a poor scientist is a very tough life.
There are a lot of things to consider. One problem with malaysians is that we have too much of misconceptions and wrong mindsets. We think being a lecturer/doctor/lawyer/engineer is awesome, but those terms are so general. Doctor, what kind of doctor, ethical doctor or money-oriented doctor? We generalize and group people according to their career, which doesnt make sense. One person can be brilliant and wise but lack a bit of luck, or the other way round. (ok maybe a bit off topic here...sorry)

Added on May 27, 2010, 2:34 pm
QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 02:30 PM)
oo.. okok.. i try ask my friend n c whether he knw u o nt.. haha.. i knw it is a mix.. hmm.. mayb next time i will try to send my resume to MGRC.. i won't give up so easily in order to achieve my dream.. hmm.. if nt mistaken ur name is racheal am i rite?? nice to meet u by the way..
Dont ask la!! keep it this way okie blush.gif

This post has been edited by rach_: May 27 2010, 02:34 PM
rach_
post May 27 2010, 03:56 PM

52 posts

@OMG!
I agree with you. The spirit of curiosity and urge to find out is too low. (Not only in science, generally, msians grew up to be ignorant)
To add, not only in lab experiments, many science students do not know the real biotech society, they do not know whats the most recent journal in their field, they do not know new upcoming techniques, they do not even bother to find out the reason of doing something. Text books are forever outdated. I don't know how the education system in public universities work, but reading journals is really how u get in touch with the real science. Same goes to the job market. (and they complain about being jobless, sigh)

@xaviereo
I don't think its hard. there are heaps of housing areas there. by the way u have not get accomodation yet? it'll be june soon!

rach_
post May 27 2010, 04:15 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 04:06 PM)
hmm.. haiyo.. nt every people afford to access to da journal site to do readings.. normally dey use it during their fyp, master n so on.. google search is da best n yahoo answers (but lately gt alot of spammer thr).. bbc website lo.. by the way, thr will b an exhibition in klcc earlier of june ..http://www.faconex.com/..

for my accommodation, i actually found one at nibong tebal.. juz ask for future rental.. in case anyting happen.. sediakan payung sebelum hujan.. hehe..
i understand about the accessibility of journals nowadays (thats another issue which pisses me off), but there are still many websites out there regarding science news, we just have to stay interested in this field to keep up the fast developing pace, else we will be outdated very soon! going to exhibitions and talks is another great way too.
hmm, im not too sure about renting a place in sg jawi, but i doubt that its tough. (u r so lucky to get to work in penang, i love penang!!! biggrin.gif )
rach_
post May 27 2010, 04:31 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(xaviereo @ May 27 2010, 04:25 PM)
hmm.. actually penang hav 3 ptc companies.. n u can c yesterday the star newspaper business section 2nd page, thr will b alot of us companies will expand o establish at pg..  pharmaceutical de companies.. hmm.. penang science park also hav like transgenix and usa de alpha biologics if nt mistaken.. i gt applied both place be4.. but din get.. sigh.. hmm.. i admit tht standard living of kl veli high in terms of rental.. food wise, thr r places tht quite cheap de in kl (midvalley)..
I been to alpha biologics for interview. thats the company i mentioned just now 1500 1 yr contract. Nevermind, Im just whining because I just miss penang, kl is just....not a great city (for me).
At least I love my current job, and my aim is to gain experience, there is no big problem.Tell us about your job once you've started working ok?
rach_
post May 27 2010, 04:45 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(happy_pink @ May 27 2010, 04:39 PM)
that would be after 4 years haha
er.....im replying xaviereo....he/she is starting work in june.
Its good that u did research before u decide what course to take. research more, ask more, all the best
rach_
post Jun 8 2010, 03:50 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 8 2010, 03:20 PM)
1.3 to 1.5 are total prank.

at least the starting should be 1.8k plus plus.

don't worry about the prospects i believe somehow, those who are keen on this field would stand out the best.

Added on June 8, 2010, 3:22 pm

that u have to reask this question: what are the differences between working in the lab with that of working at the factory?
Factory? I thought sime darby group has independent research lab. smile.gif
rach_
post Jun 8 2010, 04:14 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 8 2010, 03:57 PM)
yes it does have labs. but u got to bear in mind that how does the plantation raw materials being produced to bear the final products? it got to go to factory for the manufacturing stuffs and so.
hmm...im not sure about sime darby, but for genting group which is also dealing with crops, their lab work is pretty much in the lab, even involve some bioinformatics work. Probably you are right too, don't think we gonna be sure about how they run their lab unless we are working inside.

Anyway, 2200 actually is not too bad for entry-level, isn't it? Working in university or research institute labs always get relatively low pay because obviously academic labs have lesser financial power than corporate companies. It is not an issue of working in a "factory", really. Also, by working in a "factory" do you mean you are concern about uncomfortable or unhealthy work environment?

Added on June 8, 2010, 4:16 pm
QUOTE(highwind85 @ May 29 2010, 10:03 PM)
Lol...usually lecturers are forgetful...at least for my case..got 1 professor..i asked him to be my referee and he said ok..so i passed him my CV, transcript and everything so that he can write for me..after a few days, i went to see him again and he was like "who are you?" i ROTFLOL...he's just being forgetful..he did write for me..
at least you referee chose not to do anything and that's not too bad...i heard cases where the supervisor agree to write, but wrote badly for a senior...that cost him his scholarship..as the content of the letter is confidential, you wont know unless the author or the correspondent tell you..
You are doing phd in ANU? very cool! I graduated in australia too, but i stopped at honours, came back msia and working now. Miss the lab days, though. smile.gif
What is your phd project about?

This post has been edited by rach_: Jun 8 2010, 04:16 PM

0.0304sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:43 PM