Science BIotech is not really good as government said?, Biotechnology graduate is hard to find?

highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:01 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 27 2010, 10:45 PM)
Not really score well.. Im just an average student didnt get first class or wat.

Become lecturer need phd, i dont know if i want to continue phd. Im in dilemma now whether i should stop at masters or continue.

Going for phd is not easy and i need spend 3 more yrs sad.gif

Problem dunno masters will have future in malaysia or not. Sometimes i feel like masters and degree have not much difference.
AAA.. susah make decision la
Correction: at least 3 years...and it's near impossible to grad in 3 years for Bio-related PhD...you'll finish your labwork in 3 years if you're lucky enough..
highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:11 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 27 2010, 11:06 PM)
yes 3 yrs. Thats why i have doubt whether to continue or not sad.gif

hope someone will shed the light on me... if masters if good enuff i really 1 stop and start working liao..
You're doing Masters (reseach) ?
highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:17 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 27 2010, 11:13 PM)
ya masters research. Got such thing as masters no need research in this field? if got i oso 1 liao. study 1 yr can get master tongue.gif
Got...1 year Master in biotechnology...but whether you can take PhD after that would subject to the university...I have a few friends who have BSc (Honours) in Biotech from UKM..But Australian National University doesn't recognize the "honours"...They did their Master in biotech and couldn't apply for PhD..They are doing their Honours year now..
highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:25 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 27 2010, 11:20 PM)
yalo.. in this field masters/phd without research is not recognise by anyone.. even employer will doubt u if u say finish masters 1 yr. thats what my ex employet did.. a candidate finidh masters in 1 yr and he know its a fake.. the masters degreee in the end didnt carry any merit to the applicant
Well..it's a different route for those without 1st class or 2nd upper class honours (not malaysian degree) can opt for masters in coursework en route to PhD...
those who got 1st class and 2nd upper class honours don't have to go through Masters..
highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:32 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 27 2010, 11:27 PM)
bachelor jump to phd is only malasia system.. i oso jealous the ppl who can jump.. not fair la.. i work 2 yrs so hard to get masters only can phd u straight jump mad.gif
Australia also adopt such system...like i said their system is 3 years BSc + 1 year Honours where the final honours years is optional and only for elites..after that you could apply for PhD straight provided you have 1st class/ 2nd upper honours..

For Malaysian system, you have 2 ways to do so...1st class honours -> PhD
and non-1st class -> MSc (fulfil all of the objectives in 2 sems) -> convert to PhD with further study..

Of course, for option 2, you need to present your MSc findings and propose what you plan to do after that before the panel approves the conversion..

US would take a longer time...3 yrs Masters, 5 yrs PhD...
highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:46 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

@f4te
by the way, out of curiosity, what biochemistry research are you doing for your Masters?
highwind85
post May 27 2010, 11:52 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 27 2010, 11:49 PM)
oic.. omnitofo..

i not bioorganic chemistry... product isolation and identificaton something like dat la.. i oso noob chemistry 1 cuz no basic
Oo..natural product isolation and LC/MS identification?
highwind85
post May 28 2010, 03:22 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

In malaysia, BSc with honours means that your will have a final year project which would result in a production of a dissertation (mini thesis) and a viva..You will know whether the degree has an honours component when you enrol..
In some countries, BSc is 3 year program. After that, they can apply to do honours year..which is a full year research intensive program..not all BSc students will apply for honours and not all are qualified..They are chosen based on the BSc results..
Did you have a final year research project at the end of your BSc?
BSc without honours doesn't mean that your degree is not recognized..It would imply inferiority if you intend to apply for related stuffs...such as postgraduate degree or job related to research (in bio context)..
An honours year is placed more importance than MSc (coursework)..at least this is what happen at my university..
highwind85
post May 28 2010, 10:54 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

I did my BSc in UKM and i am in Australian National University for my PhD..
And you?
highwind85
post May 28 2010, 11:08 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 28 2010, 11:05 PM)
y u can jump to phd without masters in australia? Not fair. Like dat everyone oso 1 go australia la
Well, i have a 1st class honours and 1.5 years of experience as Research assistant...
With only the 1st class honours, i would not be able to enter ANU...my supervisor used my working experience to push my application thru..
highwind85
post May 28 2010, 11:26 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 28 2010, 11:20 PM)
i c.. 1.5yrs of experience is it quality experience? or just a wasted expewrience?
Gave me some exposure...In my BSc i work on E. coli recombinant protein expression system...
In my RA-ship i work on yeast and fungal expression system..and it widen my horizon on what options i have..how systems here work and etc..
If i weren't able to secure scholarship to Aus, the RA project would become my PhD project..

highwind85
post May 28 2010, 11:40 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 28 2010, 11:29 PM)
how to secure scholarship to Aus? How many yrs for phd in Aus? Got publish any paper during RA?
There are ample scholarships available for international students...universities itself do offer scholarships to qualified applicants..
No one is going to do a PhD in Aus without a scholarship..the fees are very high..
3 years...but no one usually could finish in 3 years..usually 3-4 years..
Nope..no publications...i have to work from scratch as the previous masters student left a pile of mess for me to follow up...the more i work on it, the more error i found..and i have to back track to previous stages..and for bio-related project, you can't publish much...if you break up you projects to publish in a few papers, the papers would have lesser quality than you publish them in one as a whole..

PS: if you look around, there are a lot of countries which accept BSc (1st class honours) holders to their PhD program..1st class honours is the minimum for such admission..
highwind85
post May 28 2010, 11:47 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 28 2010, 11:43 PM)
then what are the process for the scholaship? Like do u have to go to the university for interview or something? like dat i oso wanna go phd there
Nope...the scholarships i heard of doesn't require interviews..such as Endeavor scholarship for Aus and Commonwealth scholarship for UK..
There purely based on merit...results, awards, publications, reference letter and etc..
They judge your application based on several essays...and it wont be easy..For endeavour scholarship, there were over 2000+ applicant all over the world...only the selected few would be granted scholarship..
The essays are of general type...such as statement of purpose..
highwind85
post May 29 2010, 12:02 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 28 2010, 11:51 PM)
so everything is online? Just sent application and they will select? So ma send as many as i can more chances to get lo.

By the way the stipend enough for living in australia? how much do u estimate needed per month to live in australia?
Of course...it's like job application..you can't expect to get a scholarship with just 1 application..you have to send in as much as possible...
but it doesn't mean that the more you send, the higher the chances...as all scholarships are competitive..everyone wants a scholarship..but there isn't enough for everyone..
the sum given differs from scholarship to scholarship...but as a rule of thumb, these scholarship are enough..if you know how to manage and cook a lot, you could save..for my city, i would say at least A$1000 per month for essential needs..The ANU website estimates a person needs $20,000 annually..that's a generous estimation of course..
So for your Masters, do your best, publish in high impact publications rather than multiple lower impact ones...you'll need good reference letter for scholarship..
highwind85
post May 29 2010, 12:53 AM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

I am doing my PhD now..
Doing a PhD doesn't really correlated to getting a job easier..you have to understand that 1st..
Certain jobs need PhD qualification, certain jobs need Masters and certain need only BSc..They have different niche...like you can't work as a lecturer with BSc and it's insane for a PhD holder to work as a medical lab technologist..
I do PhD because i want to do something related to what i studied..and i don't want to do repetitive stuffs day in day out..With a BSc in bio-related course, i'll end up with jobs like technician if you insist on working on something related to what I studied...and it is kind of a personal satisfaction to get a PhD..
highwind85
post May 29 2010, 02:48 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 29 2010, 11:58 AM)
oic.. cuz for my scholarship need 2 recommendation letter, attend test, interview and stuff so i thought all scholarship will be this tough. I only applied to one because not easy to get so many recommendation letter.

I see one of the criteria is proof of english ability. Did u take the toefl or watever english test for this scholarship? Can we just just watever malaysian english test we have? Because i used that for current scholarship. Well japan doesnt really need english anyway lol
My application for PhD requires 3 recommendation letters and the scholarship requires another 3...So i am glad that i did my RA-ship...and i feel very paiseh when i keep on bugging lecturers for recommendation letters..I took IELTS...the PhD application requires that..the scholarship application requires IELTS, Offer letter, and etc...lack of anyone of those would prohibit you from submitting an application..
Haha...do not underestimate scholarship applications without interview...It's not as easy as you think..for one you miss the chance to prove your worth in front of the scholarship selection panel...and writing an attractive statement of purpose which would stand out among the 2000+ applicants is no easy task..and academic excellence is nothing as most of the applicants have 1st class honours anyway...it would really depend on the essays, letters and credentials you have to pull it through..track record can't be built in a day..

which university are you in now?

This post has been edited by highwind85: May 29 2010, 02:49 PM
highwind85
post May 29 2010, 10:03 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 29 2010, 03:42 PM)
oh so difficult. I guess i will skip la. Hate troublesome stuff. Somemore 3 letter. My previous experience made me hate asking lecturers for recommendation letter. Before this i was also doing RA then ask my supervisor for recommendation letter. That idiot say ok ok but in the end didnt do anything and just kept quiet and disappeared. Damn f***er. Luckily i got other contacts.

Added on May 29, 2010, 3:46 pmthink also angry.. this is 1 lecturer which i will never respect in my whole f***ing life.. if he think im not worthy then at least reject me dont say ok ok then disaappear
Lol...usually lecturers are forgetful...at least for my case..got 1 professor..i asked him to be my referee and he said ok..so i passed him my CV, transcript and everything so that he can write for me..after a few days, i went to see him again and he was like "who are you?" i ROTFLOL...he's just being forgetful..he did write for me..
at least you referee chose not to do anything and that's not too bad...i heard cases where the supervisor agree to write, but wrote badly for a senior...that cost him his scholarship..as the content of the letter is confidential, you wont know unless the author or the correspondent tell you..
highwind85
post May 29 2010, 10:50 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(JJKTP @ May 29 2010, 10:27 PM)
Would love to know the real picture behind the so-called biotech.
what kind of real picture you want to know?
highwind85
post May 29 2010, 10:56 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(f4tE @ May 29 2010, 10:52 PM)
+1
Picture speaks a thousand words...biotech relies on molecular biological technique for DNA manipulation..
highwind85
post Jun 12 2010, 02:37 PM

~Lone Ranger~
948 posts

QUOTE(rach_ @ Jun 11 2010, 08:17 AM)
@happypink
Even my ex-classmates who are singaporeans can't get a job with 1st class honours from Australia. smile.gif U can always try your luck when u graduated, u could be luckier.
To be honest, I personally don't regret taking my course and my knowledge is in use now in my job. You can choose your course according to your interest, but don't forget to take the reality into account when u decide.

Frankly, degree level can't get you far in Biotech...if you only have a degree, you will have to compete with diploma holders in singapore...and sometimes they favour diploma holders due to lower salaries..

To make long story short...if you're thinking about earning rm10k by the time you are 30 with biotech and bioscience, it's not very likely.. you'll have to look else where..

Added on June 12, 2010, 2:49 pm
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 11 2010, 11:33 AM)
Somehow , the arguments may go long and long and it would be a never ending argument.

Let's see facts that gov will be promoting a fairly good budget for biotech fields. i remember our PM says that biotech is a field that can lure more foreign investors into our country. So i am quite sure this field would be booming in future, i am not talking about the present situation, but IN FUTURE as we all hope it would be.=)

Well, Putting aside biotech graduates,on a personal  note, i noticed that chemistry graduates often have a more brighter prospects compared to life sciences fields.
Perhaps,Anyone mind to clarify that?
chemistry is a more established field...a lot of chemistry applications are used in the industry..but they produce a lot of hazardous by products...or required high operation cost due to high temperature and high pressure conditions..this is where biotech comes in...
some of the chemical reactions can be substituted with enzymatic reactions...which are more environmental friendly..
but the thing is biotech application is still very new especially in malaysia...and investors are not will to spend time to research to make it viable...because this is business...they are more into commercial research...most of the time, the will get universities to do the fundamental research...when there is encouraging findings, only they take over and continue from there...if the findings is not encouraging, the will not pursue the research...that explains why only big companies do research..small companies simply do not have the resources to undertake research...

Added on June 12, 2010, 2:59 pm
QUOTE(rach_ @ Jun 8 2010, 04:14 PM)
hmm...im not sure about sime darby, but for genting group which is also dealing with crops, their lab work is pretty much in the lab, even involve some bioinformatics work. Probably you are right too, don't think we gonna be sure about how they run their lab unless we are working inside.

Anyway, 2200 actually is not too bad for entry-level, isn't it? Working in university or research institute labs always get relatively low pay because obviously academic labs have lesser financial power than corporate companies. It is not an issue of working in a "factory", really. Also, by working in a "factory" do you mean you are concern about uncomfortable or unhealthy work environment?

Added on June 8, 2010, 4:16 pm
You are doing phd in ANU? very cool! I graduated in australia too, but i stopped at honours, came back msia and working now. Miss the lab days, though.  smile.gif
What is your phd project about?
Yup..PhD at ANU...My PhD project is Protein Engineering and Crytallography...
Protein engineering is not very established in malaysia..There's only a handful of people working on it in Malaysia..
Protein engineering is to improve desired properties of protein...such as increase thermostability so that it could by used in the industry or shift the pH of the enzyme so that it can function in a certain pH..Mine is to predict the uprising of bacterial antibiotic resistance toward beta-lactam antibiotics through protein evolution...

This post has been edited by highwind85: Jun 12 2010, 02:59 PM

0.0234sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:58 AM