Science BIotech is not really good as government said?, Biotechnology graduate is hard to find?

Patrick Star
post Jun 10 2010, 11:08 AM

124 posts

hi

biotech grad here.. now end up in bank..

those who still study biotech wish dem good luck..quite hard find job in msia.

me n some my frens regret study tis course.
lab job got but salary low.
sales nt everyone like.
go singapore their own ppl oso enuf ledi..

tis course shud be abolish..cause jus study general..nt reali into chemistry nt reali into genetic engineering etc..all jus little knowledge.
ppl wan hire oso hard.beter hire a person major in that field.

Patrick Star
post Jun 10 2010, 04:53 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 10 2010, 03:13 PM)
I feel sorry for your rather pessimistic conditions. besides feeling pity over your conditions , i think it is time for you to learn to pick up skills which are deemed neccesary in biotech industry.
Your statements might discouraged those who may have interest on biotech for going to pick up the course. So please don't spunk out all those unnecessary negative comments on biotech. People who love and have deep interest on biotech would not end up in banking , insurance or whatsoever unrelated fields just like you. They will strike hard from the base , working as an RA for perhaps and end up doing their Phd and make a greater contributions on the fields concerned.

There are lots more to be learnt , friend.Don't lose hope yet, for one day u might be regretting for not joining biotech industry.

Cheers,
Raymond

Added on June 10, 2010, 3:22 pm

Yup i am not in any position of comenting about the working conditions as i am not really into the working setting yet.

But from what i know, lab is a place for them to do the research and development like testing, diagnosing and analysis.

Unhealthy environment? No, unless you are careless and not abide the rules and regulations concerned.
if u r not in the working society yet..wait til u in onli say..

or if u from rich family o gt family support den u no need say..

go ask those ex-biotech grad what dey say..most of dem oso say same thing as mine..
Patrick Star
post Jun 10 2010, 05:57 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(rach_ @ Jun 10 2010, 05:28 PM)
If not about the environment, what is the problem of working in a factory? U mentioned " that u have to reask this question: what are the differences between working in the lab with that of working at the factory? " What is your answer and point to this then?

I hav to say I agree with Patrick. When you start hunting for job, then you will know whats the reality. People who love and have deep interest on biotech WILL STILL end up in non-science area. Because like what patrick said lab low pay, sales not for everyone, singapore not for malaysians. With all these conditions, msians biotech grads are pretty much stuck, until the day the msian science field mature.

Moreover, not every biotech graduate has to have that burning passion for science, it is not wrong to take this degree as a cert - stepping stone to go on in any field which can feed you/satisfy you.
phd is not the ending for everyone, there are lots of factors and sometimes personal reasons to think of, that is why dream and reality is rarely equal. smile.gif
yeah..fully agree..give me five rach_..haha..

before this i oso full of passion for science..my course mates as well..but see know whr r we..most oso end up in non-science area..

reality always cruel..when u have no money to survive wt's more to talk bout passion..tat time u wil jus tak up any jobs available..no money eat oso prob.

i interview alot science jobs in msia..i admit no 2 nobody dare admit no.1.. go spore can get lab jobs but sales thr mostly for grads in SG university.. go thr u wil end up in office jobs, retail sales,labs..

Good opportunity of cos government wil giv their own citizens.foreigner slowly wait..go thr u wil work for ppl forever.. want to open own business slowly dreams..
Patrick Star
post Jun 11 2010, 10:31 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(happy_pink @ Jun 11 2010, 12:11 AM)
anywhere i will be studying biotech also
actually very sad when i heard almost no one talk good about biotech

well actually
if u check us website 60% of biotech graduates are phd
for bio field, degree won make u go very far
u really need a phd
that is my hope too

i know someone thru internet telling me go singapore really need good results
they will take malaysians because we are cheaper in terms of salary
haha..if u study for knowledge sake go ahead..

if u study hope to get job in biotech field wish u good luck..

in msia biotech is vy outdated.. if u further study til phd u can be lecturer..but lecturer salary nowadays nt tat good anymore..our government con us saying biotech vy good here bla bla bla..

if u go spore u can work in lab thr..but bear in mind if gt promotion dey wil promote their own ppl first..sales in biotech field is for grads thr..

reality always reality..don cheat urself..

good luck..

0.0239sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:15 AM