126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Bottom

V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

mois
post Jul 28 2010, 08:17 PM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

how to prevent bird nest's getting dried after we harvest it? At here normally we harvest 1-2days before the collector comes.
West Wing
post Jul 29 2010, 11:32 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 28 2010, 08:17 PM)
how to prevent bird nest's getting dried after we harvest it? At here normally we harvest 1-2days before the collector comes.
Here, me and my friends collect nests when it's time to collect and that's when the birds fledged and leave its nests. So, during these time, we may collect afew time over a few weeks period to harvest all the nests to ensure that only the birds the left their nests are collected. We never harvest like many do just because the buyers are coming and paying good monies for the nests as there are shortage of nests in the market. The buyers need to match our collection schedule and not at the buyers pleasure.

We are not concerned about the high price nor the persuasion or the temptation of the buyers but what we want is a fair price for our nests. Buyers do come with a promise to pay me commission of Rm50 per KG for every Kilo just by persuading my friends to collect nests to sell to them but even for a million, I won't do it unless it's time but maybe, just maybe many millions will persuade me to do it ...hahaha......

This way, we can ensure the increment of nests in our BHs and to ensure that all our nests are Halal. We have no regret as we fulfilled our part of our bargain by providing the swiftlets with the best and safest sanctuaries, therefore we are entitled to collect our rental (10 Star Accommodation) in the form of nests. So far, none of my friends that follow my principles and guidances in these area fail to satisfied all need and we are very pleased with our results and collection or rental from the swiftlets and swiftlets have their peace....a win win agreement.

Now, here it's almost collection time and we will expect this time harvest be much better than the last as we are very confidence that our kindness will be repaid in bountiful nests.

Wet or dry, it really doesn't matter as wetness will be deducted anyway by the buyers as they are no fool and are expert in determine the wetness and the quality and the mixture and all. Buyers don't get fool easily and only sellers do as we are not expert in the field. The buyer may offer a lower price and will increase and increase when necessary and so it's always better to arm yourself with so information and knowledge of the present market situation and price for your products least you being cheated. Keep the nests dried as it will prevent your nests from becoming moldy and brown.

Above is our story of success and experiences to share among friends. Others may have their stories to tell us ......

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 29 2010, 12:08 PM
Tweeter
post Jul 29 2010, 01:25 PM

57 posts

Sifus,

Please advise on how to arrange the internal and external speakers within the nesting room of 20* 70 ' size.
Should it be all facing in one direction towards the entrance hole or should it be all facing towards the middle of the room?

Thank you.
ykltpm
post Jul 29 2010, 02:50 PM

61 posts

I have been trying to call the telephones (0163225819 and 32417612) of Selangor Birdnests Association for days, but with no answer. Anyone knows what is happening ?
Lucas 1
post Jul 29 2010, 03:25 PM

236 posts

Think the committee closed down the office as they are rushing in disposing all their own BHs................ biggrin.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif
penpower
post Jul 29 2010, 10:24 PM

15 posts

About This Talk :

Shaffi Mather explains why he left his first career to become a social entrepreneur, providing life-saving transportation with his company 1298 for Ambulance. Now, he has a new idea and plans to begin a company to fight the booming business of corruption in public service, eliminating it one bribe at a time.

(CLICK HERE : A NEW WAY TO FIGHT CORRUPTION

This could be Malaysians and keepers only lifeline left.

there is a saying that " We need better politicians and govt dept officers,

NO, What we need is a better citizen."

Watch the above video, over and over again. Your kids need you to do something.

This post has been edited by penpower: Jul 30 2010, 09:06 AM
Bobby C
post Jul 30 2010, 06:54 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(penpower @ Jul 29 2010, 10:24 PM)
About This Talk :

Shaffi Mather explains why he left his first career to become a social entrepreneur, providing life-saving transportation with his company 1298 for Ambulance. Now, he has a new idea and plans to begin a company to fight the booming business of corruption in public service, eliminating it one bribe at a time.
(CLICK HERE  : A NEW WAY TO FIGHT CORRUPTION

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif nod.gif nod.gif
Cergau
post Jul 30 2010, 10:01 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(penpower @ Jul 29 2010, 10:24 PM)

Please elaborate....
I dont see it biggrin.gif
May work in a country where bribery is endemic and almost cultural as in India...but with the democratic institutions still intact.
Please elaborate how you see this working in M'sia.
West Wing
post Jul 31 2010, 08:53 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Jul 29 2010, 03:25 PM)
Think the committee closed down the office as they are rushing in disposing all their own BHs................ biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
I think the problem is that Selangor Committee now is in serious trouble for requesting for 5 years to move BHs out of town which is never the objective of the Federal Committee. The Fed is not happy with the suggestion of the Selangor Association which asked for 5 years instate of 3 years by the state govt. What the Fed want is for the BHs to stay and only will discuss how the best to be allowed to stay and not when to move...........which is what the Selangor State Govt. want.

Support the Fed Association to ensure that your BHs stay put and kick out those Selangor Association head that support the moving out of the BHs.......which is our dream and our future plus all our investment...
Lucas 1
post Jul 31 2010, 05:36 PM

236 posts

Insiders tipped that the Selangor representatives also voluntarily secretly counter-suggested to Selangor State Govt during a recent dialogue to allow only BHs already registered to stay put and be granted premise license and those new or not registered yet whether belonged to its members or not, should not be allowed to apply for license and must be demolished. If this is true, then the representatives are not living up to the expectation and their moral obligation to defend the interest of the industry. They are in fact having selfish hidden agenda and trying to practise monopoly for their own existing BHs. Think all the other BH owners whether members or not should expose their evil intention and condemn them. Understand the Kedah association president is also doing that. vmad.gif vmad.gif

This is the trouble of having corrupted or ill-reputed either present or former politicians from infamous political party to lead the association. The leaders and the committee should not be elected from people whether presently or formerly active in political party. The associations should be very neutral and above politics and led by leaders strictly with no political party background. How could the STATE GOVTS entertain the requests or favours from the NGOs led by their political rivals or enemies and thus helping the enemies to claim credit? Just use our common sense and wisdom to think. This applies to all states whether under the BN or PR. Therefore, it is wise for the members for their own interest to call for EGM to re-elect new leaders strictly with no political party background and thus at least deemed neutral to lead. Or maybe another new association should be formed immediately with leaders and committee with no political party background to lead in the negotiation. They should do it soonest for most State Govt are now in the mid of reviewing and making decision on the final status of the BH industry in their respective state. Those states that are considered facing high risk of expecting of getting not FRIENDLY decision are the Penang, Kedah and Selangor states for the moment.

If the Federal Association is really sincere in wanting to unite all to have true representation and support from the industry, then its members should advise a few of its controversial committee in particularly the President, the treasurer etc to gracefully step down totally. They are the tumbling blocks with hidden agenda that are dictating, marginalizing, sidelining and creating enmity with the rest of hundred of similar associations across the country who are not their members and not supporting them. Only with their disappearance from the Federal Association, will there be a true unity and support given considered. Remember. This type of bird’s nest association is not like the professional association of Engineer, doctors, architect, accountant, surveyor, pharmacist, lawyer etc where there is a law passed that all qualified professionals before permitted to practise must be assessed and registered with only one professional association or body that would responsible to govern and monitor their conduct.

It is very unlawful for any authority to mislead anybody that he must join in an association solely recognized by it before his application for a license is considered. By doing so, the Authority concerned is illegally practising monopoly and thus infringing on the basic constitutional right of an individual. Remember, a guideline is never a law. It is merely an advice with no legal binding and thus not necessary to be recognized or obeyed.

Cergau
post Jul 31 2010, 07:09 PM

416 posts

For those who prefer words AND actions
Abolish ISA Candle light vigil at these times on 1st Aug (Sun)
Light a candle for the love of our country Malaysia

Dataran MBPJ, Padang Timur in Petaling Jaya at 8pm
Speaker's Square, Penang (9pm)
Dataran Bandaraya Ipoh (8pm)
Dataran Zero KM, Sungai Petani (8pm)
Taman Hijau, Jalan Sultanah Zainab, Kota Bharu (8pm)
Pusat Tanah Wang, Jalan Perdada, Sibu (8pm)
Bangunan Al Idrus Commercial Centre, Kuching (8pm)
Front Entrance of 1 Borneo Hypermall, Kota Kinabalu (1pm)
London Abolish ISA Solidarity Watch - Sunday 1st August, 12-2pm, Trafalgar Square,
Australia - (still too Barossa Valley wine pissed to work out, SteadyAku? )

http://www.malaysia-today.net/index.php?op...t&Itemid=100129

http://www.malaysia-today.net/index.php?op...s&Itemid=100132
tuckfook
post Jul 31 2010, 08:51 PM

360 posts

and it is so very quiet on the Penang front !

I wonder if ASNI and other similar associations are aware of what is happening right now ? Wakey wakey !
West Wing
post Aug 1 2010, 01:34 PM

1,397 posts

The following are only my personal comments on the matter concerning Swiftlets Association

1. The reason why that those VIPs and those in power or previously very influential are given the top positions are because they have the power and the abilities to seek redress for us. They do have the influence and the connection to see those in power and have an understanding or meeting with the authorities concerned. That's why datos and TanSri and better if Tun are involved.
2. Those who are in the Committee should be the ones that provide the information and knowledge to the President ( if the President does not know alot about the industry) to ensure that the VIPs do the right thing and really understand what we want and try to negotiate for us at the best of his abilities.
3. We must understand that the VIP that represent us do so at his free will and time to help us and so the least we can do is to give him due face and recognition as he surely need them as he is a VIP or someone of importance and we are making use of him to get our leverage and to ensure that our protest or complaints do get heard and fair results.
4. The most importance of all are the members themselves. Are they committed to the struggle or are they just sitting there and demand to be served. Many BHs owners only wait and see and do not even concerned with the welfare of the industry.
5. Let me give you a recent story about a BH owner who just got a letter from the majlis demanding him to remove all the renovation done. He seeks the help on the Association and came with an filled up membership application to be a member. This is what happened in most of the areas and many are just waiting there and see and refuse to join in the battle unless the fire is at his own backyard, then he cry for help and what should the Association do at this point.. Should the Association help or not and either way, members will protest!!!!!

7. If the Association help him, then members will ask why and for what reason that the Association help a non member who will be a member just because he is in trouble and that most members have been paying dues for the past few years and now, we have to help a person who is not interested in joining then and now seeking help??? Then, many members wll just refuse to pay membership dues and inform the association that they will wait till fire reaches them before they pay up their membership dues and then, what happen???

8. The Secretary asked for my opinion on the matter and I replied that I am not in favour of offering service to him and it is not because he is a non member before but because he refused to listen then to others' advice not to build BH in residential area and not to do an open window type which faces the residential houses behind his BH...........Well knowing that he may have problems later and willing to gamble on it and now, he wants us to help him out.

9. There are really so many questions and problems that are created by BHs owners themselves and when in trouble, will seek help without even considering giving support when ask for or refrain from causing hardship and inconvenience to the neighbors not to mentioned the Local Association which has no power to enforce discipline in BHs owners.

Lastly, before you blame on other, take a good look at yourself in the mirror and ask yourself the following questions.

1. Is this your own doing?
2. Do you deserve it?
3. Do you expect others to help you if you didn't help yourself?

If your answer is Yes to any one of the above, then you deserve what coming? Only God may help you cos anyone that help you will be silly as then will only give you another chance to smear us in another round of your sinful doings. ... then, next time, we may all drown because of you..

Sorry for my straight writing as I am concerned for the safety of the swiftlets @ towns and because of those ungrateful people, we all including the swiftlets need to suffer....why???????

Above are my own felling on the matter and other do have their own feelings and comments???

Added on August 1, 2010, 4:26 pm@ Pekan on Friday.

Pekan has issued Permit for BHs on temporary basis as there are no GP yet. The Pekan Majlis guy told me that the new regulations should be in the middle of next years after the local government ministry has their meeting to approve the GP which all MBs will be attending.......that's what I got from the guy @ counter concerned but don't know if it's the truth.

The fee is rather too high @ Rm600 per floor and I have a talk with one of the BOD member of the Pekan Association and he told me that they are having a discussion over the amount with the authorities. High or Low, I have to pay as others are paying and the deadline is 31/07/2010. Late comers will not be entertained and I don't know if the authorities in Pekan will take action against those not paying or demolish their renovation.

Only time will tell but I am not in Pekan BOD and so, I don't really know much about the matter.

According to the Pekan Association and confirmed by the pejabat officer at the counter, only those submitted their application for permit and must be member of the Pekan Association be allow to pay.

So, for those who are not members yet, best that you check with the authorities @ your area on whether or not that you require to be a member of the Local swifltet Association before you be allow to register your BH with the local Authorities.

Remember that above message is my sincere concern for you and your BH @ town only and never treat it like if I am selling something. Better be safe than sorry later...................you still got time to protest and make recommendation to the local authorities if you are not happy with their requirements and conditions.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 1 2010, 04:26 PM
penpower
post Aug 1 2010, 09:09 PM

15 posts

i see no point arguing whether this or that associations are doing good or bad to keepers. why not just set up another local association and set up another federal association?

nothing wrong in setting up another association? and nothing wrong for some to support any of his association and there is nothing wrong too if someone is not supporting certain association.

if the GP is not ready yet, why Vet Dept gives deadline till end of year to register with the dept?

Personally i think having VVIP as the head of association is really not wise.We should have professionals or highly caliber keeper as the head of the association. having someone with political background is just not suitable.

and furthermore, VVIP means what? they are caliber? they are connected? if they are so connected and caliber, why till today you all are still arguing whether that president is good or bad?

i think any of us can becomes a politician, can becomes a VVIP. There is no requirement, no qualification or IQ test that VVIP need to meet in order to becomes a VVIP. So, even someone who sell roti canai on the street can becomes a VVIP, a gangster with enough money and brothers can becomes a VVIP.

This post has been edited by penpower: Aug 1 2010, 09:20 PM
CWG
post Aug 1 2010, 11:46 PM

71 posts

Anyone has a copy of Final GP that approved by cabinet?
Lucas 1
post Aug 2 2010, 03:11 AM

236 posts

Pekan Association is not in any way associated to the Federal Association at all. It is an independent localised association under very good, sincere and committed committee and leadership. There is another Merchant Association there but has very limited membership and command no respect from the local BH owners.

Understand in Alor Star, the local council is in the process to issue BH licenses at only RM180 per BH operation across the board to all BH owners. There is no necessity for any applicant to be member of any association or must have certificate of GAHP. It is a good job well done by the PAKATAN RAKYAT COUNCILLORS with the full cooperation and support from the Council Mayor. In fact, they decided and started the process even well before the announcement of the 1GP. Understand the Alor Star Council is not prepared to follow the 1GP if the guidelines are too stringent and bureaucratic with red tapes. It is hope that the other local councils in Kedah will follow suit soon. But it seems there are Little Napoleons in certain councils dictated by the UMNO with hidden agenda trying to give problems to the local BH owners so to invite hatred for the Kedah PR State Govt.

Anyway, it is always good to join or form another association under leadership you trust and have confidence into. But please be prepared to participate and contribute in any way you could in unity to protect the common interest of all the BH owners in your area. Never be selfish. In unity under a true association, you have strength to bargain and negotiate with the Authority for justified terms. The Govt officials always very scare of dealing with representatives from known well supported association under truly respectable leadership. Even the most corrupted officials would have to behave themselves and act professional and be reasonable in the negotiation with such association.

Maybe someone can help pass the following info to the Chairman of the Pekan Association to help him in convincing the Pekan Council to be realistic and reasonable. If not, we can bet that by next General Election, the Pahang State will definitely be lost to PAKATAN RAKYAT.

KADAR LESEN PREMIS YANG SEDIA DI LAKSANAKAN OLEH NEGERI NEGERI LAIN:-
1) TELOK INTAN----------RM200/OPERATION
2) SRI MANJUNG---------RM240/OPERATION
3) PULAU PINANG-------RM240/OPERATION
4) TAIPING-----------------RM250/OPERATION
5) PARIT BUNTAR--------RM200(2400K.P KE BAWAH), RM360(2401-4200K.P), RM500(4201K.P KEATAS)
6) KUANTAN---------------RM240(1600 K.P KEBAWAH), RM400(1601 K.P KEATAS)
7) ALOR STAR--------------RM180/OPERATION

KADAR LESEN PREMIS UNTUK BISNES LAIN YANG SEDIA ADA DAPATI DI ALOR STAR:-
1) PET SHOP---------------------------------RM240/OPERATION
2) KEDAI KOPI-------------------------------RM120/OPERATION UTK 120 M KE BAWAH
3) KEDAI KOPI-------------------------------RM240/OPERATION UTK 121 M KE ATAS
4) RUMAH TUMPANGAN (BUDGET HOTEL)---RM240/OPERATION UTK 16,800 K.P KELUASAN.
5) KEDAI EMAS------------------------------RM150/-
6) KEDAI PERNIAGAAN BIASA-----------RM120/-
7) PEJABAT PEJABAT-----------------------RM120/-
8) KEDAI PERBAIKI KERETA---------------RM120/-
9) KEDAI RUNCIT----------------------------RM120/-

This post has been edited by Lucas 1: Aug 2 2010, 03:30 AM
penpower
post Aug 2 2010, 08:30 AM

15 posts

reading through all the posts in this forum, federal association is the one that forumers here are complaining all the time.
since Mr west wing is so close to the federal association, why not you suggest to the committee members and president there to resign and make way for the sake of the benefit of all keepers?
i think they will resign and make way as they are there to help keepers. lets place some younger and more energetic professionals in the federal association and build from there to unite all local association in malaysia.

we need unity to survive.
Cergau
post Aug 2 2010, 09:38 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Aug 2 2010, 03:11 AM)

Lucas 1,
That's a very good sharing.
The suggested rates are a good benchmark for other local councils.

A suggestion would be if the rates are annual rates, the license should perpetual until infringements of local guidelines, non payment or terminated mutually.
That should free the council enforcement/renewal staff to do their job of enforcements of either BHs or other enforcement duties.
Also BHs owners need not be present on an annual basis just to receive a piece of paper...preferably like TNB, TELEKOM, JABATAN AIR etc...
Removal of any NON VALUE ADDITION action on any party will help with efficiency.

I am so glad, Malaysians finally have an alternative for comparison.
What a relief and a hope for an option.
Nothing like competition between the 2 parties to keep the minions on their toes.
Change is uncomfortable and tough for some, we need to plough on.

coolandy
post Aug 3 2010, 08:28 AM

314 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Aug 2 2010, 03:11 AM)
Pekan Association is not in any way associated to the Federal Association at all. It is an independent localised association under very good, sincere and committed committee and leadership. There is another Merchant Association there but has very limited membership and command no respect from the local BH owners.
Understand in Alor Star, the local council is in the process to issue BH licenses at only RM180 per BH operation across the board to all BH owners. There is no necessity for any applicant to be member of any association or must have certificate of GAHP. It is a good job well done by the PAKATAN RAKYAT COUNCILLORS with the full cooperation and support from the Council Mayor. In fact, they decided and started the process even well before the announcement of the 1GP. Understand the Alor Star Council is not prepared to follow the 1GP if the guidelines are too stringent and bureaucratic with red tapes. It is hope that the other local councils in Kedah will follow suit soon. But it seems there are Little Napoleons in certain councils dictated by the UMNO with hidden agenda trying to give problems to the local BH owners so to invite hatred for the Kedah PR State Govt. 
Anyway, it is always good to join or form another association under leadership you trust and have confidence into. But please be prepared to participate and contribute in any way you could in unity to protect the common interest of all the BH owners in your area. Never be selfish. In unity under a true association, you have strength to bargain and negotiate with the Authority for justified terms. The Govt officials always very scare of dealing with representatives from known well supported association under truly respectable leadership. Even the most corrupted officials would have to behave themselves and act professional and be reasonable in the negotiation with such association.
Maybe someone can help pass the following info to the Chairman of the Pekan Association to help him in convincing the Pekan Council to be realistic and reasonable. If not, we can bet that by next General Election, the Pahang State will definitely be lost to PAKATAN RAKYAT.

KADAR LESEN PREMIS YANG SEDIA DI LAKSANAKAN OLEH NEGERI NEGERI LAIN:-
1) TELOK INTAN----------RM200/OPERATION
2) SRI MANJUNG---------RM240/OPERATION
3) PULAU PINANG-------RM240/OPERATION
4) TAIPING-----------------RM250/OPERATION
5) PARIT BUNTAR--------RM200(2400K.P KE BAWAH), RM360(2401-4200K.P), RM500(4201K.P KEATAS)
6) KUANTAN---------------RM240(1600 K.P KEBAWAH), RM400(1601 K.P KEATAS)
7) ALOR STAR--------------RM180/OPERATION
KADAR LESEN PREMIS UNTUK BISNES LAIN YANG SEDIA ADA DAPATI DI ALOR STAR:-
1) PET SHOP---------------------------------RM240/OPERATION
2) KEDAI KOPI-------------------------------RM120/OPERATION UTK 120 M KE BAWAH
3) KEDAI KOPI-------------------------------RM240/OPERATION UTK 121 M KE ATAS
4) RUMAH TUMPANGAN (BUDGET HOTEL)---RM240/OPERATION UTK 16,800 K.P KELUASAN.
5) KEDAI EMAS------------------------------RM150/-
6) KEDAI PERNIAGAAN BIASA-----------RM120/-
7) PEJABAT PEJABAT-----------------------RM120/-
8) KEDAI PERBAIKI KERETA---------------RM120/-
9) KEDAI RUNCIT----------------------------RM120/-
How come White Gold Lesen sangat mahal? Any idea chicken farming lesen berapa?
West Wing
post Aug 3 2010, 11:33 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Aug 3 2010, 08:28 AM)
How come White Gold Lesen sangat mahal? Any idea chicken farming lesen berapa?
I truly agreed with you on the matter. Why is that the Lesen for BH differ from other buz? I really don't mind if they give us the same rate as the Kedia Emas........... and why base on number of floors? Even my 20 by 20 in Pekan need to pay Rm600 lah.......................................We need to really convince the Majlis on the absurd Lesen rate.....gila kah?

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 3 2010, 12:41 PM

126 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:37 PM