YAWN. Boring |
Jul 13 2010, 10:17 AM
5,867 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
Jul 13 2010, 10:50 AM
1,419 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Jul 13 2010, 12:28 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(dragon's nest @ Jul 13 2010, 08:20 AM) Dear West Wing, Dear friend,Could you please advise how to prevent or get rid of owl that had invaded a swiftlet house on agricultural land ? Thank you. The most successful method of getting rid of OWL that they used it here which I never will approved and will not discuss and you know what, so please will someone pls. give him a better alternative way of getting rid of the OWL.................. Also, you may have notice that the forum did have mentioned some way of solving OWL problems....pls. read past postings........by our Sifus here. Added on July 13, 2010, 12:31 pm QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 13 2010, 10:17 AM) Yah, my friends and I were supposedly to be there but can't make it at the last minute.......so, how's the discussion or meeting? Update us if possible.This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 13 2010, 12:31 PM |
Jul 13 2010, 12:44 PM
8 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
Yes, I've read the messages, but just wanted to know if there is any preventing method without having to destroy it . How can I deter them from coming into the house ? It's heart breaking to see our birds got chased and killed in the house at night, and when we tried to get inside to help, the swiftlets flied out from their nests and the owl was more aggressive at the killing.
This post has been edited by dragon's nest: Jul 13 2010, 04:18 PM |
Jul 13 2010, 02:28 PM
81 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
from forunm Cari,these have some question, hope anyone can give answer,thanks 我們將會派人巡視該地區是否適合養殖燕子,才批准業者的申請。」那些人会不会专门给我们难做???如果不批准,是不是刚起好的燕屋要撤掉???不可靠近 神庙,住宅区和飞机场而已??学校,邮政局,医院,消防局呢?要多远才算不靠近??? 有没有听说过如果在12月尾2009年注册公会会员,政府将维持原状,至于2010年的,就很麻烦了,有酱紫的事情吗?今早听公会的人说的。。。至于正确与否,有待大大们给答案了。。 那有这样的事,如果这样,那不是不公平?认识公会的主席,叫他帮人写文件是2009年进会员的,不就可以? |
Jul 13 2010, 04:37 PM
114 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Gambang, 3.3 km along dirt-road in from caltex station located at the junction of jalan gambang and jalan segamat. The place is a swiftlet feeding area. Many bird houses in the area. 1.8 acre land for sale at RM100 K per acre. Land is cleared by owner and owner will pull electricity to the land.
A few kilometers from pekan in sungai miang is a flat 2 acre piece of land. Land is located alongside the pekan bypass for the kuantan-rompin highway. The road is already marked. Sungai miang is a newly discovered swiftlet haunt. Price of land is RM 140,000/= per acre. Interested please call or sms to 016 3789692. ----- Thought of the day : "We hate because we think we know but in truth we do not understand. Actions based on hatred is hate ripened and will ripple through the collective unconscious." |
Jul 13 2010, 04:48 PM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(dragon's nest @ Jul 13 2010, 12:44 PM) Yes, I've read the messages, but just wanted to know if there is any preventing method without having to destroy it . How can I deter them from coming into the house ? It's heart breaking to see our birds got chased and killed in the house at night, and when we tried to get inside to help, the swiftlets flied out from their nests and the owl was more aggressive at the killing. If you have an open roof type opening, it will always be easy for such predatory birds to enter. because the owl is a heavy bird, it will need to fly low, near to the floor. Set up fine fishing nets to capture them and release into a padi field far away. If your house is near a padi field, then it'll be tough as owls are introduced into padi fields to help keep the rat population down.If you have a window type entrance, owls always need to perch before entering. You can electrify the opening with a high voltage source from a fly zapper. The fly zapper has about 4000volts and very low amps which will NOT kill the owl but give it a very bad experience enough to deter it from coming again. Spikes and motion activated lights will also work but they do get smart. Horizontal bars about 8 ins. apart will also prevent them from coming into the house. Electric gates also work but sometimes they fail and swiftlets get trapped inside the house if they are not opened by sunrise. External lights all night long also help keep the owls at bay. |
Jul 13 2010, 07:32 PM
1,397 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(tuckfook @ Jul 13 2010, 04:48 PM) If you have an open roof type opening, it will always be easy for such predatory birds to enter. because the owl is a heavy bird, it will need to fly low, near to the floor. Set up fine fishing nets to capture them and release into a padi field far away. If your house is near a padi field, then it'll be tough as owls are introduced into padi fields to help keep the rat population down. With so much problems with BH @ Agri, I believe that BH @ town is still D best with only thieves and the authorities to take care of. These, we can solve but then @ agri, solve one then come another. Let see what we have beside the thieves, we have the owls, the bats, the reptiles, practically all predators that you can think of and all are protected species and one even saw a king cobra. If you have a window type entrance, owls always need to perch before entering. You can electrify the opening with a high voltage source from a fly zapper. The fly zapper has about 4000volts and very low amps which will NOT kill the owl but give it a very bad experience enough to deter it from coming again. Spikes and motion activated lights will also work but they do get smart. Horizontal bars about 8 ins. apart will also prevent them from coming into the house. Electric gates also work but sometimes they fail and swiftlets get trapped inside the house if they are not opened by sunrise. External lights all night long also help keep the owls at bay. I think that I will solve my problem in agriculture land with reptiles by placing a few feets of mosaic tiles on the wall to prevent the lizards from crawling up. Mind you, they are good climber. Using aluminum or zinc look very ugly....and electrical live wire sound dangerous and will kill the reptiles like my friends who used to find dead snakes and lizards electrocuted even at 45 feets high. |
Jul 13 2010, 08:46 PM
8 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(tuckfook @ Jul 13 2010, 05:48 PM) If you have an open roof type opening, it will always be easy for such predatory birds to enter. because the owl is a heavy bird, it will need to fly low, near to the floor. Set up fine fishing nets to capture them and release into a padi field far away. If your house is near a padi field, then it'll be tough as owls are introduced into padi fields to help keep the rat population down. Can owl enter BH with open roof type? My BH in an area with lot of owl but they never enter my open roof entrance... If you have a window type entrance, owls always need to perch before entering. You can electrify the opening with a high voltage source from a fly zapper. The fly zapper has about 4000volts and very low amps which will NOT kill the owl but give it a very bad experience enough to deter it from coming again. Spikes and motion activated lights will also work but they do get smart. Horizontal bars about 8 ins. apart will also prevent them from coming into the house. Electric gates also work but sometimes they fail and swiftlets get trapped inside the house if they are not opened by sunrise. External lights all night long also help keep the owls at bay. Horizontal bars 8" apart at the open roof entrance, will this make the swiftlets more difficult to enter? Need sifu-sifu views. Thank you... |
Jul 13 2010, 09:56 PM
451 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
This post has been edited by ChanK: Jul 14 2010, 10:56 PM |
Jul 13 2010, 10:24 PM
416 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Sad...but the Wildlife Bill has been approved by Parliament.
Debated only by the lone MP who agreed to raise matters on our behalf. Since the Parliament Hansard (minutes) will probably be ready tomorrow, we will then see what was said in her speech. My guess it's passed w/o amendments. :: Approved D.R.15/2010 Road Transport (Amendment) Bill 2010 D.R.18/2010 Hire-Purchase (Amendment) Bill 2010 D.R.22/2010 Anti-Trafficking in Persons (Amendment) Bill 2010 D.R.37/2009 Goods and Services Tax Bill 2009 D.R.16/2010 Wildlive Conservation Bill 2010-DR D.R.19/2010 Consumer Protection (Amendment) Bill 2010-DR D.R.20/2010 Judicial Appointments Commission (Amendment) Bill 2010-DR D.R.21/2010 Subordinate Courts (Amendment) Bill 2010-DR D.R.13/2010 Direct Sales (Amendment) Bill 2010-DR D.R.14/2010 Stamp (Amendment) Bill 2010-DR Though unforseen then, as WW reported, we will not be alone in feeling the impact of licensing for purchase and sale.. Your neighbourhood Chinese medicine hall will soon feel the heat too. What next? restaurants? This post has been edited by Cergau: Jul 13 2010, 10:34 PM |
Jul 14 2010, 04:03 AM
236 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(sosos @ Jul 13 2010, 02:28 PM) from forunm Cari,these have some question, hope anyone can give answer,thanks THIS MAN IS BULLSHITTING AGAIN. HE IS UP TO SOMETHING. 我們將會派人巡視該地區是否適合養殖燕子,才批准業者的申請。」那些人会不会专门给我们难做???如果不批准,是不是刚起好的燕屋要撤掉???不可靠近 神庙,住宅区和飞机场而已??学校,邮政局,医院,消防局呢?要多远才算不靠近??? 有没有听说过如果在12月尾2009年注册公会会员,政府将维持原状,至于2010年的,就很麻烦了,有酱紫的事情吗?今早听公会的人说的。。。至于正确与否,有待大大们给答案了。。 那有这样的事,如果这样,那不是不公平?认识公会的主席,叫他帮人写文件是2009年进会员的,不就可以? Don’t be misled by this man from the Kedah Merchants Association Sdn Bhd. According to the many enraged Kedah BH owners who felt being cheated that in last October, he misled many owners to attend a GAHP conducted by his Sdn Bhd at a fee of RM500 for a half day course promising them that with only the certificate of attendance, the Majlis would surely approve their BH license without question. More than 200+ innocent and ignorant owners attended. In that seminar, he offered associated membership with no voting right at RM100 to the owners telling them the Majlis in Kedah would only entertain and accept application of BH license from his Association Sdn Bhd members only together with the GAHP cert. The Association Sdn Bhd made more than a hundred thousand in these seminars. In November 2009, he again appealed in the Chinese news papers to ask all owners to submit applications to the Majlis latest by 31.12.2009 together with the GAHP cert. failing which; all late applicants after this date would not be entertained by the authority. Hundreds of innocent owners hurried and applied. During the submission of document, the Majlis Perbandaran Sg Petani Kedah (MPSPK) staff threw away all the GAHP cert. saying that has got nothing to do with the application. By April 2010, all applicants received reply from the Majlis stating that their applications are not successful. On top of this, 100% applicants are slammed with a notice of penalty ranging from few thousands to thirty thousand ringgits each. The few hundred misled owners who trusted him are so furious now like ants on hot pan cursing and swearing on him. Whereas the few thousand more local owners who know this man’s past too well and thus not trusting him and did not respond to his calls are now safe and are still awaiting for the details of the official 1GP in black and white before deciding next course of action collectively under a separate umbrella. So far there is only one lope sided suggested unprofessionally prepared guidelines from the Federal controlled State Town Planner which has yet to be agreed by the owners. Today, again, this man is bullshitting in the papers saying that only those submitted or registered on or before 31.12.2009 would be permitted to apply for license which is totally contradicting to the Minister of Agriculture’s statement of registering with the DEPARTMENT OF VERINARY SERVICE (DVS) by end of 2010. So, who is telling liar? Who is to be trusted? Sometimes, many locals are wondering and puzzled that this man is considered a filthy rich billionaire, but why does he still want to do such nonsense to suck money and mislead others into troubles again? Many owners predict he has alot of surprises to expect in his JUDGEMENT DAY. For those who have doubts of the above, please don't hesistate to confirm with your friends or relatives who own BH in Kedah if the above are true. Always bear in mind, 1GP is only a guidelines or ‘ADVICE’ and not law. It is not a compulsion. It can be amended or improved from time to time to fit in the situation. Every state and Majlis has its own jurisdiction to decide. In the whole of Malaysia, it is estimated there has already no less than 200,000 BHs existing across the country from city to town to rural to jungle. There is no way a good and sincere government would want to kill this golden goose industry which has become unwittingly an enormous economic pillar involving the lifelines of millions and amounting to Billions of ringgits. If the government is not wise and not careful, this cannot be overlook political force can definitely turn into another giant political tsunami to further change the political landscape in next election. There is also no valid reason why the present Federal Govt not supporting this industry. If the Govt not supporting, then why did Najib approve the allocation of Billions to encourage more people especially the kampong folks to go into this industry last year? Let us not to panic or jump the gun yet but to wait for the details to be revealed soon. We can assure you to have a good six storey jump as we expect there would be a lot of controversial and unrealistic and impractical issues and crazy recommendations which most would curse and swear. PENANG HERITAGE CORE ZONE We have extreme worry and feel sorry now for those BHs in heritage core zone in particularly to the George Town of Penang that they may not be able to be saved. It seems that the committee of the Penang new association has failed in total in performing its initial prime objective that is to initiate a sincere and amicable dialogue with the PENANG HERITAGE TRUST (PHT) to clear up their misunderstanding of facts on this industry agreed unanimously by the founder members of this new association since 2 years ago. There are so many good and valid and convincing reasons discovered that this living heritage and the historical heritage can definitely coexist for a win-win. The PHT is the main objecting party due to being misled with wrong facts provided by certain people with personal hidden agenda. The committee in the PHT are all very high calibre, professional and experienced with wise wisdom elite volunteers from the society. They are not unreasonable people. Once, the correct facts put in front of them, we believe the issue would definitely and naturally be dissolved amicably. Instead, the new association led by the inexperienced committee barked at the wrong tree by putting all the blames on the State Govt for not supporting them. How could the State Govt support one party while there are strong and deemed valid objections from others? We think the committee of the new association should reset their priority right. They should immediately extent an invitation to the PHT for a fact clearing dialogue before it is too late. Once the issue is dissolved with PHT no reason why State Govt not supporting this industry in the heritage zone? Why can't the committee be humble enough to do that at least once? The golden opportunity is slipping through fast. We can only sympathise those ignorant BH owner members in Penang core zone but they have themselves to be blamed for stupidly putting the trust into the wrong representatives. For self rescue before time runs out soon, it is advisable the members to call for an EGM to elect the right representatives to protect their interest in the right direction fast. If nothing is done now, all of you are confirmed sitting ducks. Hoping to get the LADY QUEEN'S COUNCIL to rescue you? God would never able to help you if you don't help yourself first. For those BH owners from across the country, if you have doubt or distrust on the sincerity and the leadership of the existing associations in your area or townships, you could always call for an EGM to re-elect the right committee to lead if you are already a member or you could just round up seven or more owners, friends or relatives to register another similar association to fight for your own interest and cause. There is no law prohibiting you to do that. There is no law saying cannot have more than one similar nature association in the same township or state or nationally. The moment you send in your application to the REGISTRAR OF SOCIETIES, immediately you can function as an association under PROTEM pending official approval. It takes only seven or ten Malaysian adults to do that. You can either submit it yourself or engage the professional service of any Company Secretary to do it at the initial stage. The professional fee incurred is within a few hundred to a thousand only. No Govt official dares to say that he only recognizes and entertains only one association. For your personal benefit and interest, you better do that now. As for those owners who do not wish to join in any association, you too can register and apply for your BH license by going to the local DVS to do that. Again, there is no law to say you must be a member of an association to apply for any license. It is just like you need not to be a member of any PERSATUAN KEDAI KOPI to apply for a license to operate a coffee shop. But, our advice is it is better to be united under an association. UNITY IS STRENGTH. Can somebody have this posted up in Forum Cari to help clarify situation and ease the fear of many who don’t surf here. Also somebody help translate the Chinese news cutting into English here. Attached thumbnail(s) |
Jul 14 2010, 07:55 AM
451 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
This post has been edited by ChanK: Jul 14 2010, 10:56 PM |
Jul 14 2010, 09:35 AM
Thank you very much, tuckfook and west wing for your answers.
I want to report the result. My birdhouse has window-type entrance with metal spikes installed and I've installed the mercurial vapor floodlight yesterday and the result is : failure. The spikes can prevent only pigeons. The owl did NOT have to perch on anything, it just glided through the entrance, into the roving room, then to the nesting room, tried to grab the birds from their nests, scared them and chased them to the roving room and caught them there and, out , it went. So, the myths about perching before entering, the fear of bright light, the formidable electric zapper are just myths. Also, it did not fly low. It can go to the ceiling for the birds in their nests. So, now our options are fishing net on the entrance after it went in (in this case our own birds are also at risk, and we have to be careful not to fall down too), or the automatic gate. Does anybody have other methods? Thank you. This post has been edited by dragon's nest: Jul 14 2010, 10:54 AM |
Jul 14 2010, 10:07 AM
416 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(ChanK @ Jul 13 2010, 09:56 PM) 15) THAT DVS HAS COME OUT WITH ONE METHOD WHEREBY THEY CAN MONITOR WHAT KEEPERS ARE DOING IN THEIR FARMS...IF THE KEEPERS DARE TO THROW EGGS AND HARVEST THE NESTS...THEY WILL KNOW!!!....USING THE RFID TECHNOLOGY. Until and unless DVs intend to implement some of the nonsense in the GAHP ....abt tagging every bird, egg, chicks and nest.This is utter stupidity. RFID technology, she knows not. It's best she talks abt things she know about and not going off and sounding strange. Please invite me when you start tagging your birds. Get yourself a RFID reader and see if your birds are in your neighbour's house and your neighbour's in yours. Since all are tagging their birds and traumatising their birds, they may just fly to mine cos' I will not be silly enuff to adhere to stupid guidelines. Added on July 14, 2010, 10:53 am QUOTE(dragon's nest @ Jul 14 2010, 09:35 AM) Thank you very much, tuckfook and west wing for your answers. If owls attack only at night, then drape the mist net over the entrance at night.I want to report the result. My birdhouse has window-type entrance with metal spikes installed and I've installed the mercurial vapor floodlight yesterday and the result is : failure. The spikes can prevent only pigeons. The owl did NOT have to perch on anything, it just glided through the entrance, into the roving room, then to the nesting room, tried to grab the birds from their nests, scared them and chased them to the roving room and caught them there and, out , it went. So, the myths about perching before entering, the fear of bright light, the formidable electric zapper are just myths. Also, it did not fly low. It can go to the ceiling for the birds in their nests. So, now our options are fishing nest on the entrance after it went in (in this case our own birds are also at risk, and we have to be careful not to fall down too), or the automatic gate. Does anybody have other methods? Thank you. Dun wait until it has gone in, prevent it from getting in. You can get fish jaring from fishing tackle shops for abt RM15 each of maybe 10m length. Remove any anchor weights if the jaring comes with them. Anchor 1 end of it from the roof and let it drop on it's own weight over the entrance else it will not collapse upon owl impact. Cut it to app length , dun thik u will need the whole 10m. Use 2 sticks to anchor it from the roof so it will be away from the entrance to prevent getting caught on anything that will prevent collapse The holes comes in inches so you need to ask for the appropriate size, IMO 4in is a good overall size unless your owl is turkey size, the go for 6in. They are very fine, even bats can't detect them. Manually drop it to the ground upon catching owl. I would thk your birds dun fly out at night to have a good time in town, so shd be bird safe. For safety, get yourself a safety harness from any hardware store, cost less then RM100 for an elaborate set. Get a good strong rope (also less than RM100) to anchor the harness. If you do slip and hanging by your rope and harness, how? Make sure you dun drop yr hp when hanging over your BH wall If you are fit, you can rig the rope to rappell down the sides (that I dun know, may someone else can help with the rope catches for rappelling) Good luck. This post has been edited by Cergau: Jul 14 2010, 10:53 AM |
Jul 14 2010, 10:56 AM
81 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
from forunm cari
what is the RFID??what is the purpose use it? below is some question ,can anyone explain it? 我反而对兽医局强制性要所有燕屋进行注册,(她的老爷网站www.burungwalit.com.my也不知在干什么?)而且燕屋都会被分发“身份證”和獲得「無線射頻辨識系統」(RFID)以方便鑑定工作的这个举动感到困扰。以下是关于RFID的解说。 无线电频率识别 RFID 是英文“RADIO FREQUENCY IDENTIFICATION”的缩写 http://www.20ok.com/blog/post/48.html http://www.enpot.com.cn/rfid.htm 政府的这项目的肯定是为了追踪我们的燕窝去了那里。到时每一项燕窝交易可能都会被监视。官员也肯定的不时会来敲门,点算我们的燕窝数目。这些燕窝好像是政府的资产了。 最直接参与这项伟大工程的燕窝联合会不但没有第一时间出来解释,反而觉得所有燕屋都必须成为工会会员的这一条款而感到沾沾自喜。联合会的署理会长不是和农长拍了很多照片吗?大家打电话问问他因该是最清楚了。 Por Lee Tee Executive Secretary Persekutuan Persatuan Pedagang Sarang Burung Malaysia C/O Por Ooi & Co. Chartered Accountants 140, Jalan Kelah Cinta Sayang, Taman Ria Jaya, 08000 Sungei Petani, Kedah. Tel:04-7335759/04-4414033 Fax: 04-7331592/04-4416676 Email: sp@porooi.com.my 请问它的运作,功用是怎样的?目的是做什么要放在燕屋? 每一只燕子可以装着这科技吗?是不是要知道燕子飞去哪?来自哪家燕屋主的?是不是想知道A燕屋主的燕和B燕屋主的燕有交情吗? 请问 FRID的无线电波与音频信息会不会影响燕子的成长????对燕子有害吗? |
Jul 14 2010, 10:57 AM
49 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
[quote=West Wing,Jul 13 2010, 12:28 PM]
Dear friend, The most successful method of getting rid of OWL that they used it here which I never will approved and will not discuss and you know what, so please will someone pls. give him a better alternative way of getting rid of the OWL.................. Also, you may have notice that the forum did have mentioned some way of solving OWL problems....pls. read past postings........by our Sifus here. pls understand and distinguish the behavior of the owl and the difference between. Work it out from the onwards. |
Jul 14 2010, 11:02 AM
Thank you, Cergau. Will try to do that.
Jul 14 2010, 12:00 PM
110 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
some of my views/ notes from the Seminar Pembiayaan Burung Walit can be found at http://htatt.com
| Change to: | 0.0357sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:27 PM |