V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

West Wing
post Jul 7 2010, 06:18 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mkosung @ Jul 7 2010, 04:31 PM)
since you attended a seminar b4, mind sharing with us what they taught you on exporting to china? is it the hassle of the packaging and licensing?
if what I learned can truly and really be used...wouldn't I want share with you guys????? More exporting EBN, better will be our price for EBN. Wait for Veterinary Department to come up with a easier way to export EBN legally and not underwater thru HK.
West Wing
post Jul 8 2010, 09:23 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mkosung @ Jul 7 2010, 06:28 PM)
Is it just me or do I feel that u r just shooting at me. Pls be more considerate when replying. If u think u r wasting ur time replying, pls don't reply then. I am just seeking for info. There is no need to flame ppl for asking. Jeeezzzz.
My friend, if you feel that I am shooting at you, then I will apologies to you. Really and truly, I just mean you well and all here, too and as honest as I am, I write straight from my heart and never meant to hurt anyone here but to help if possible.

So, let begone be begone and kindly accept my apologies if feel hurt. Drop in at my place anytime to talk about my favorite subject i.e swiftlet and I can talk for days on it. No hard feeling, OK?

Added on July 8, 2010, 10:12 am
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 7 2010, 06:49 PM)
My bad experience for BH@agri land is BATS !! Six of them stayed in during the mating season in April and resulted birds population dropped to 20% and many chicks starved to death. I managed to kill 4 bats and the chased the other two away. Now only 70% of the birds return.
Also, the Tupai likes to visit the BH via the power cable. Not sure they will disturb the birds or not.
Thanks, I will try to make sure the power cable is not near to any opening and to buy Batman gears to beware of Bats, hahaha.

Here, my friends have owls and reptiles to take care off. If one owl take 6 swiftlets a day, a family of 4 will consume approximate 720 swiftlets in just one month. So, a BH with a thousand birds will be wipe clean in one month only. Oyes, the land I just bought has a wooden house in it and inside, there are trace of owls shits and lot of swiftlets feathers. I have informed BH owners around the area about it and now, it 's up to them to solve the problem with the owls cos it has to be owls as lizards don't bring their food back to consume.

Checking with a BH next to my land, the owner told me that he has afew hundred nests after 2 years and many nests remain unfinished and that's conclude my findings to be true. But the good thing is that I must have bought a good swiftlet area as even with the owls and other predators, my friend's BH still have alot of nests.

Another factor which also scare me about the area is that just a week ago, someone did try to break in but couldn't as the BH has concreted ground floor 15 feet high, a few concrete doors and has auto gate with lorry's drive shafts for the entrance hole. Triggered Alarm bought him with a few police men to his BH only to find traces of trying to force entry. This time, my friend was lucky but next time, the thieves may be careful not to trigger off the alarm and may bring in heavy equipments.........yes, what were missing are all the CCTV installed around the building.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 8 2010, 10:12 AM
West Wing
post Jul 8 2010, 05:44 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 8 2010, 12:59 PM)
This question is best reserved for WW to answer  tongue.gif  So your average price is RM4,647 per KG ?
You see, the buyers here insist totally dry nests and will deduct wetness..............but after paying you for your dried nests, they will spray your nest with distilled water on the pretext of preventing damage to the nests during transportation and handling.

Oversea buyer do allow a certain percentage of wetness in nests and will also deduct if too wet. So, don't worry as buyers differ and it's like the pasar market where sellers and buyers negotiate for the better price as there are no fix price for the EBN. If the buyers like what they see and may offer more so when we deal with buyers, we have to pull and release just like fishing otherwise, we lose the fish. Got what I mean and that's why buyers hate when I am around helping my friends getting better price for their nests.

How to solve your worry is to have more buyers and better acquittance with other BH owners and compare prices of different grades and who is paying higher and what's the latest news like is the market short of nests or any Chinaman coming in big way or Indo buyers having a disagreement on pricing which all can affect your nest price.

Again, my little experience to share with all and others please do share, too.

Added on July 8, 2010, 5:49 pmLatest news that I found out from a Chinese Medicine Shop is that Perhilitan Officers are going around to fine them for selling Birdnest without permit.

A fine of Rm20 and a annual fee of Rm100 are needed for selling Birdnests and also record of purchases and sales must be kept on EBN.

Very susah lah................cannot get BirdHouse owners, now, Medical Shop pun kena ...then what??? I heard that Pahang has start checking on Chinese Medical Shops on Birdnests products, any news for elsewhere?

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 8 2010, 05:49 PM
West Wing
post Jul 10 2010, 10:47 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 8 2010, 07:33 PM)

WW, can u share ur experience using humidifier? Currently im using 2units chicken soup with hornhat. Now im gonna need another humidifier. I plan to try ultrasonic humidifier like the one James and Pak Harry are selling. But then a friend of mine suggest Fujibin which is more pricey and realible.
Have been using the Taiwanese humidifiers with success as in most of my friends for years. Recently, I have tried and still in the process of trying and initial result is OK. I bought them from Fucibin and got distributor's price for it as I told them that I am a retailer for BH products and would like evaluate their products. Fucibin's Ultrasonic Humidifier produce alot of water molecules (smoke) and has excellent backup for their products and I love their keen interest in listening to your complaints unlike many sellers.

If you are buying from Fucibin, get the cheaper version and ask if they provide you with additional hose to divert the smoke into the BH. Presently as busy as I am, I am experimenting with self made ultrasonic humidifier as I just got hold of the set of disk and power supply from China and hope that my few hundreds water container system work as well.

Since what I was scare that the ultra sound created by the oscillator of the vibrating discs may have adverse results on the swiftlets, I place the ultrasonic humidifier outside the BH and blow it into the BH using a small blower fan and long piping and it's OK......although, I still think that the Taiwanese humidifier is the best so far as it's cheap and easily maintained plus that it's proven to be successful with the birds.

The only disadvantage of the Taiwanese humidifier as I see it is that they wet the floor although this shouldn't be a problem with agriculture land but certainly a big problem with town as the lower floor's tenant may complaint. Recently, this has been solve by placing a 4 horned helmet over the humidifier and no more water on the floor. With the cover, you basically can run the Taiwanese humidifier for hours without worrying that you may flood the floor of your BH.

What's say the forum??
West Wing
post Jul 10 2010, 03:56 PM

1,397 posts

I have received the following PM and since I am not in Penang and I did advice him to forward the request to this forum. Hoping those swiftlets sanctuaries providers @ Penang may help him in anyway possible.

"Hi there! I'm a British journalist in Penang at the moment, and I'm writing a story for the UK newspaper Guardian Weekly about the swiftlet farming industry in Penang and Malaysia and beyond. You seem to know quite a lot about the issue, so I was wondering if you might have time to meet me for a chat early next week? What do you reckon?"

Cheers.

Added on July 10, 2010, 4:20 pm
QUOTE(mois @ Jul 10 2010, 03:07 PM)
What BH products else are u selling? I saw fujibin UH in action on youtube and personally im interested with it. However, the price for 1 unit around rm1200. With RM1200, i can buy 4 units taiwanese humi. For taiwan humi, what happen if the bird shits drop inside the water? It will kills the motor? The other disadvantage of tawain humi is that it's loud. Currently im using 3 units and only one of them is attached with hornhat. Without hydrostat, how many times and how many hours should i operate the humidifier each day? Today i am operating at 10am, 12pm, 2pm,3pm,4pm..35minutes each session. Before today, i operate 12pm, 2pm, 4pm only. And i dont plan to operate it in midnight later the swiflet got heart attack lo.  laugh.gif   . I know it is better to use hydrostat but im broke because i bought 3 units taiwanese humidifiers. For sure i will upgrade it in the future anyways.

WW, personally how do you consider a 'successful' BH? What is your benchmark? 2 years 1k-1.2k nests?
I am not trying to selling anything here @ forum and if you have read my last posting, I did mentioned the helmet sort of cover for the Taiwanese Humidifier and that will prevent the shits dropping into the hole and as for the side, you may want to install a round piece of hard plastic sheet over the part but make sure that it is place high up and doesn't block the air flow. The Taiwanese humidifier can be easily service by DIY and never need to operate any humidifier at night just for the hot day only and here, even during monsoon season, we shut down the humidifier. Too cold will kill your birds.

The new Taiwanese Humidifier has improved alot since then and the lastest one seem to be more quiet and has longer cable plus it's cheaper now. Here, we buy it @ Rm360 but I heard some place are cheaper, right?

Successful all depend on location and in good location, we can even get 2 Kilo during the first year and 5 kilo after 2 years. It's all depend so I never give myself a benchmark but just a target to achieve base on surrounding BHs records. Again, above are my personal opinion on the matter and others may want to give their views.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 10 2010, 05:33 PM
West Wing
post Jul 12 2010, 06:51 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(htc @ Jul 12 2010, 03:50 PM)
a website for my birds @ www.burungwalit.com.my

http://www.mmail.com.my/content/42809-govt...wiftlet-farmers
How or where to get PW for the www.burungwalit.com.my???

And Tuckfook, show our British Press around the Penang, and maybe, he will also write about how beautiful is our Penang Island and promote our beautiful country in England and also our peace loving swiftlets plus friendly people of Malaysia.

TO KNOW MALAYSIA IS TO LOVE MALAYSIA

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 12 2010, 06:59 PM
West Wing
post Jul 13 2010, 12:28 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(dragon's nest @ Jul 13 2010, 08:20 AM)
Dear West Wing,
Could you please advise how to prevent or get rid of owl that had invaded a swiftlet house on agricultural land ?
Thank you.
Dear friend,

The most successful method of getting rid of OWL that they used it here which I never will approved and will not discuss and you know what, so please will someone pls. give him a better alternative way of getting rid of the OWL..................

Also, you may have notice that the forum did have mentioned some way of solving OWL problems....pls. read past postings........by our Sifus here.

Added on July 13, 2010, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 13 2010, 10:17 AM)
htc,

Anything new ?
pls update us
Yah, my friends and I were supposedly to be there but can't make it at the last minute.......so, how's the discussion or meeting? Update us if possible.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 13 2010, 12:31 PM
West Wing
post Jul 13 2010, 07:32 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Jul 13 2010, 04:48 PM)
If you have an open roof type opening, it will always be easy for such predatory birds to enter.  because the owl is a heavy bird, it will need to fly low, near to the floor. Set up fine fishing nets to capture them and release into a padi field far away.  If your house is near a padi field, then it'll be tough as owls are introduced into padi fields to help keep the rat population down.

If you have a window type entrance, owls always need to perch before entering. You can electrify the opening with a high voltage source from a fly zapper. The fly zapper has about 4000volts and very low amps which will NOT kill the owl but give it a very bad experience enough to deter it from coming again.

Spikes and motion activated lights will also work but they do get smart. Horizontal bars about 8 ins. apart will also prevent them from coming into the house.

Electric gates also work but sometimes they fail and swiftlets get trapped inside the house if they are not opened by sunrise.  External lights all night long also help keep the owls at bay.
With so much problems with BH @ Agri, I believe that BH @ town is still D best with only thieves and the authorities to take care of. These, we can solve but then @ agri, solve one then come another. Let see what we have beside the thieves, we have the owls, the bats, the reptiles, practically all predators that you can think of and all are protected species and one even saw a king cobra.

I think that I will solve my problem in agriculture land with reptiles by placing a few feets of mosaic tiles on the wall to prevent the lizards from crawling up. Mind you, they are good climber. Using aluminum or zinc look very ugly....and electrical live wire sound dangerous and will kill the reptiles like my friends who used to find dead snakes and lizards electrocuted even at 45 feets high.
West Wing
post Jul 14 2010, 12:42 PM

1,397 posts

Just went to the JV or local DVS and the officer there didn't have any information on what to do yet but promised to inform us if any news on the matter. He told us that the DVS is going to your BHs and mark it in GPS so that DVS could trace your BHs with satellite. As for export, DVS is incharge but the new procedure isn't out yet

That's what he told me and I really don't know if he knows.
West Wing
post Jul 14 2010, 03:06 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Jul 14 2010, 01:08 PM)
To quote the Malay Mail report by the Minister
"The DVS will provide each swiftlet farm with a Radio Frequency Indentification (RFID) to assist in identifying the location of the farms which are required to be far from residential areas."
LOL,
I was wondering how they manage to jump from RFID to GPS!!!!
Now it's clearer. They will go visit your farm and take the GPS coordinates.
And how are they to decide if that particular location is far enough from residential dwellings?
Even JUPEM (Jabatan Ukur) doesnt have ready to use s'ware to identify that right away.

Go there physically and take the GPS cood.
Then enter the cood into Google Earth...you will find that you are tens to hundreds of metres OFF.
One good thing that I got from DVS is that DVS is very supportive of the industry and to them, swiftlets are safe in any place unlike dogs and cats and they don't carry any diseases. The only problem is with the local authorities and other departments........they are the ones that object.

The problem now is that DVS doesn't know how to start as there are really too many groups to please and everyone has his own view. As I said before, be united and have only one voice. We need to compromise or otherwise, if we just leave them to the authorities to decide on the matter, we will all suffer.

With too many advisers, DVS really have problems like the one that told them Ultrasound is the best cos that's doesn't affect human but will the birds understand and also the one that told them we can move the birds to agriculture land, we can move but the birds don't ....talking as if we are having chicken farm...........

DVS should start off with the minimum requirements and expand it when necessary or as proven correct and effective later after research and testing have been done by reliable experts and not CON sultants. DVS and the players both have the same ambition and that is to make this industry a success and prosperous for the nation and raayat but never be too ambitious ang too many guildlines and requirements ......as these may kill the whole industry or slow down the development of the industry.

Added on July 14, 2010, 3:47 pm
QUOTE(dragon's nest @ Jul 14 2010, 01:41 PM)
Thanks, Bobby C. Have already tried that. Even with 200 mm. spacing, some birds died from crashing into the bars, so had to take them all out.
Swiftlets are just like we human and take things for granted like we crashing into a hole in the middle of the road and then blame that there wasn't a hole there before.

Swiftlets also do that and if you don't believe me, you just try partially block your inlet hole with plywood and you may hear swiftlets banging on to the wooden plywood although the swiftlet have very good eyesight and also superb hearing.........the swiftlets just bang on to the plywood as they too take for granted that there were nothing there before...........and this may injured or killed the swiftlets. That's the reason that I always suggest to friends never to block or partially obstruct the opening as it may injure the swiftlets unintentionally.

My little experience with swiftlets to share.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 14 2010, 03:47 PM
West Wing
post Jul 15 2010, 10:30 AM

1,397 posts

Once upon a time, there was this minister who went to the Emperor and report that the people have no rice to eat. The Emperor replied, no rice then eat meat.

It's the same situation here, the Law makers that make the regulations and guidelines and Laws don't even know anything about swiftlets and the difficulties suffered by the farmers but pass regulations and laws on the matter without consulting the farmers.

If they really care and concerned, start with the least requirements and restrictions and then proceed from there...............advancement as you learn and improve. We have to start someway.........somehow and sometime.
West Wing
post Jul 17 2010, 10:51 AM

1,397 posts

Good external sound ...that's everybody want esp. if it's new....as that may attract alot of birds into your BH but then, possible try and buy cos many pay so much and not get any real value for it. Beware..........

One of my friends boosted that his latest sound addition is the best at present for the whole of Terengganu and Kelantan and he's not selling but willing to correct unsuccessful BH on profit sharing............30 new Nests per month assurance and what better deal can you get.

Don't ask me cos it wasn't me telling you but just sharing what I have heard. Interested, let me know and I will arrange a meeting between you two and according to him, an agreeement need tobe signed. So, soon there will be no more unsuccessful BHs Hahahaha.......even hearing it but I still don't believe him but will help out if any of the readers here need his services.
West Wing
post Jul 27 2010, 03:31 PM

1,397 posts

1. Hope what I heard is incorrect as there are news around that Selangor state Government (opposition lah) may force BHs to move in 5 years time.....any truth in this? Hope what I heard is incorrect and correct me if I am wrong!!

2. I heard that Pahang is issuing permit for BHs under the new GP and I will try to go to Pekan to check it out this coming Friday. Anyone here has news on this?

West Wing
post Jul 29 2010, 11:32 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 28 2010, 08:17 PM)
how to prevent bird nest's getting dried after we harvest it? At here normally we harvest 1-2days before the collector comes.
Here, me and my friends collect nests when it's time to collect and that's when the birds fledged and leave its nests. So, during these time, we may collect afew time over a few weeks period to harvest all the nests to ensure that only the birds the left their nests are collected. We never harvest like many do just because the buyers are coming and paying good monies for the nests as there are shortage of nests in the market. The buyers need to match our collection schedule and not at the buyers pleasure.

We are not concerned about the high price nor the persuasion or the temptation of the buyers but what we want is a fair price for our nests. Buyers do come with a promise to pay me commission of Rm50 per KG for every Kilo just by persuading my friends to collect nests to sell to them but even for a million, I won't do it unless it's time but maybe, just maybe many millions will persuade me to do it ...hahaha......

This way, we can ensure the increment of nests in our BHs and to ensure that all our nests are Halal. We have no regret as we fulfilled our part of our bargain by providing the swiftlets with the best and safest sanctuaries, therefore we are entitled to collect our rental (10 Star Accommodation) in the form of nests. So far, none of my friends that follow my principles and guidances in these area fail to satisfied all need and we are very pleased with our results and collection or rental from the swiftlets and swiftlets have their peace....a win win agreement.

Now, here it's almost collection time and we will expect this time harvest be much better than the last as we are very confidence that our kindness will be repaid in bountiful nests.

Wet or dry, it really doesn't matter as wetness will be deducted anyway by the buyers as they are no fool and are expert in determine the wetness and the quality and the mixture and all. Buyers don't get fool easily and only sellers do as we are not expert in the field. The buyer may offer a lower price and will increase and increase when necessary and so it's always better to arm yourself with so information and knowledge of the present market situation and price for your products least you being cheated. Keep the nests dried as it will prevent your nests from becoming moldy and brown.

Above is our story of success and experiences to share among friends. Others may have their stories to tell us ......

This post has been edited by West Wing: Jul 29 2010, 12:08 PM
West Wing
post Jul 31 2010, 08:53 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(Lucas 1 @ Jul 29 2010, 03:25 PM)
Think the committee closed down the office as they are rushing in disposing all their own BHs................ biggrin.gif  thumbup.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxms.gif
I think the problem is that Selangor Committee now is in serious trouble for requesting for 5 years to move BHs out of town which is never the objective of the Federal Committee. The Fed is not happy with the suggestion of the Selangor Association which asked for 5 years instate of 3 years by the state govt. What the Fed want is for the BHs to stay and only will discuss how the best to be allowed to stay and not when to move...........which is what the Selangor State Govt. want.

Support the Fed Association to ensure that your BHs stay put and kick out those Selangor Association head that support the moving out of the BHs.......which is our dream and our future plus all our investment...
West Wing
post Aug 1 2010, 01:34 PM

1,397 posts

The following are only my personal comments on the matter concerning Swiftlets Association

1. The reason why that those VIPs and those in power or previously very influential are given the top positions are because they have the power and the abilities to seek redress for us. They do have the influence and the connection to see those in power and have an understanding or meeting with the authorities concerned. That's why datos and TanSri and better if Tun are involved.
2. Those who are in the Committee should be the ones that provide the information and knowledge to the President ( if the President does not know alot about the industry) to ensure that the VIPs do the right thing and really understand what we want and try to negotiate for us at the best of his abilities.
3. We must understand that the VIP that represent us do so at his free will and time to help us and so the least we can do is to give him due face and recognition as he surely need them as he is a VIP or someone of importance and we are making use of him to get our leverage and to ensure that our protest or complaints do get heard and fair results.
4. The most importance of all are the members themselves. Are they committed to the struggle or are they just sitting there and demand to be served. Many BHs owners only wait and see and do not even concerned with the welfare of the industry.
5. Let me give you a recent story about a BH owner who just got a letter from the majlis demanding him to remove all the renovation done. He seeks the help on the Association and came with an filled up membership application to be a member. This is what happened in most of the areas and many are just waiting there and see and refuse to join in the battle unless the fire is at his own backyard, then he cry for help and what should the Association do at this point.. Should the Association help or not and either way, members will protest!!!!!

7. If the Association help him, then members will ask why and for what reason that the Association help a non member who will be a member just because he is in trouble and that most members have been paying dues for the past few years and now, we have to help a person who is not interested in joining then and now seeking help??? Then, many members wll just refuse to pay membership dues and inform the association that they will wait till fire reaches them before they pay up their membership dues and then, what happen???

8. The Secretary asked for my opinion on the matter and I replied that I am not in favour of offering service to him and it is not because he is a non member before but because he refused to listen then to others' advice not to build BH in residential area and not to do an open window type which faces the residential houses behind his BH...........Well knowing that he may have problems later and willing to gamble on it and now, he wants us to help him out.

9. There are really so many questions and problems that are created by BHs owners themselves and when in trouble, will seek help without even considering giving support when ask for or refrain from causing hardship and inconvenience to the neighbors not to mentioned the Local Association which has no power to enforce discipline in BHs owners.

Lastly, before you blame on other, take a good look at yourself in the mirror and ask yourself the following questions.

1. Is this your own doing?
2. Do you deserve it?
3. Do you expect others to help you if you didn't help yourself?

If your answer is Yes to any one of the above, then you deserve what coming? Only God may help you cos anyone that help you will be silly as then will only give you another chance to smear us in another round of your sinful doings. ... then, next time, we may all drown because of you..

Sorry for my straight writing as I am concerned for the safety of the swiftlets @ towns and because of those ungrateful people, we all including the swiftlets need to suffer....why???????

Above are my own felling on the matter and other do have their own feelings and comments???

Added on August 1, 2010, 4:26 pm@ Pekan on Friday.

Pekan has issued Permit for BHs on temporary basis as there are no GP yet. The Pekan Majlis guy told me that the new regulations should be in the middle of next years after the local government ministry has their meeting to approve the GP which all MBs will be attending.......that's what I got from the guy @ counter concerned but don't know if it's the truth.

The fee is rather too high @ Rm600 per floor and I have a talk with one of the BOD member of the Pekan Association and he told me that they are having a discussion over the amount with the authorities. High or Low, I have to pay as others are paying and the deadline is 31/07/2010. Late comers will not be entertained and I don't know if the authorities in Pekan will take action against those not paying or demolish their renovation.

Only time will tell but I am not in Pekan BOD and so, I don't really know much about the matter.

According to the Pekan Association and confirmed by the pejabat officer at the counter, only those submitted their application for permit and must be member of the Pekan Association be allow to pay.

So, for those who are not members yet, best that you check with the authorities @ your area on whether or not that you require to be a member of the Local swifltet Association before you be allow to register your BH with the local Authorities.

Remember that above message is my sincere concern for you and your BH @ town only and never treat it like if I am selling something. Better be safe than sorry later...................you still got time to protest and make recommendation to the local authorities if you are not happy with their requirements and conditions.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 1 2010, 04:26 PM
West Wing
post Aug 3 2010, 11:33 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Aug 3 2010, 08:28 AM)
How come White Gold Lesen sangat mahal? Any idea chicken farming lesen berapa?
I truly agreed with you on the matter. Why is that the Lesen for BH differ from other buz? I really don't mind if they give us the same rate as the Kedia Emas........... and why base on number of floors? Even my 20 by 20 in Pekan need to pay Rm600 lah.......................................We need to really convince the Majlis on the absurd Lesen rate.....gila kah?

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 3 2010, 12:41 PM
West Wing
post Aug 3 2010, 06:40 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 3 2010, 05:14 PM)
Mind to share how u determine the birds leave it nests? Atm me and my mother harvest once a month. That is 27th for each month. Some suggest we harvest 2weeks. Because the first time we harvest, there are plenty of new birds that doesnt have the guts to fly outside yet. But after 2 weeks, probably the birds got guts to fly out already.
Let me tell you what we just did these few days..........me and my Friends. Went up to the BH and checked out the nests and collected nests that the birds have fledged and at the same time marking on those nests which the birds are almost going to fly out. This way, we will not wrongly remove nests. These marked nest will be harvested in a week or two.......so, during this period, we shall be quite busy in the birdhouse harvesting the right nests and although, a few kilo a time and the remaining next round. It may take afew round of harvesting to harvest all but then, we will be sure that the new birds if any will stay as we didn't harvest their nests.

Long ago, we can proudly proclaim that once our birds, always our birds but then, time is different now as there are too many choices around and the birds do have a choice.......... Glad to understand that the swiftlets still faithful to us because we have been kind to them and they return with their new found friends and mates. If only my male swiftlets can have 4 wives ....and the last phase is a joke, hahaha

Selective Monthly Harvesting is good, too as you should have nests all year round but then make sure that you only harvest nests that bird fledged. By looking at the floor may help you to know if the above a new or used nest and also, the reflection from the mirror on the nest do help. I did selective harvesting in one of my nearby BH as I do have the time to do it and even during the monsoon time, I still have chicks and eggs in the BH while others BHs around seem to be empty. Sometime, this is a wasteful method as you may missed some nests that will be bird fledge and reused before you have the opportunity to harvest. Anyway, this is a good way for the increment of birds staying and for my religion..............unless you share the same feeling.

Like always, above are only my own way of providing sanctuary for swiftlets to share.

West Wing
post Aug 4 2010, 11:05 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(titbin @ Aug 3 2010, 11:48 PM)
Dear Sifus,
Many sifus recommend starting BH in hot swiftlet areas.  However, as hot swiftlet areas have many BHs, what are the major disadvantages in starting a BH in hot swiftlet areas.  Is food supply ever a problem in our country's hot swiftlet areas?  I know in Indonesia, food supply is a major problem.

Really appreciate  sifus' kind advice as I'm hunting for a good place for my first BH.  Many thanks.
To my understanding of swiftlets, swiftlets can and do fly far away in search of food and only return to breed or to feed chicks. So, don't worry about too many successful BHs in the area but rather if those around do allow the swiftlets to breed or not. Never build in area where there are many Bhs, all mostly unsuccessful BHs and that will tell you that the area is not a core area nor a good location to build BH.

Just assuming that there are 10 BHs in the area and each over 10K nests and can you imagine the number of young birds fledgling each round and should be around 200K new birds and should be sufficient to supply over 10K BH.

I never believe that the problem in Indo is due to the fact of shortage of food supply but rather human factors. For one, the way they do their harvesting and secondly, the environment there is so polluted and unhealthy unlike Malaysia, Thailand and others which still consider a healthy countries for the swiftlets.

As I did mentioned before, the swiftlets now do have choices and they can choose unlike before............so beware on how you manage your BH. If we treat the swiftlets badly, one day the swiftlets may just decide to abandon Malaysia for a neighboring better country. In making a BH in Hot Area is that you need to have a better sanctuary to ensure best result unlike in agriculture area which normally build in swiftlet food hunting area, any BH of any dimension or type will atract swiftlet to stay if the conditions are suitable but the increment will not be as good as the one mentioned earlier.
This, you don't need a MBA will tell you so.

Above is my own understanding of swiftlets from my own views only.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 4 2010, 11:44 AM
West Wing
post Aug 5 2010, 10:35 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Aug 4 2010, 12:42 PM)
URGENT TO ALL SWIFTLET RANCHERS IN THE STATE OF PULAU PINANG
    KURSUS         PERUSAHAAN SARANG BURUNG WALIT

ANJURAN:
KELAB SUKAN DAN KEBAJIKAN        
JABATAN PERKHIDMATAN VETERINAR
NEGERI PULAU PINANG

Added on August 4, 2010, 12:52 pmThe various Swiftlet Associations were informed several days ago.

I am a fully paid member of a local association but to date I have not received any notification on the seminar. I believe some other members have not received any notification either. Is the seminar being boycotted?

Whatever action the associations are planning, it's rather late is it not ?

So now, I had to 'kay po' to inform all of you.
since the KURSUS PERUSAHAAN SARANG BURUNG WALIT is from JABATAN PERKHIDMATAN VETERINAR and all those who didn't have the certificate should attend as it maybe a requirement for the lesen later.

Even if it is not require for the application but the cert will proved that you know what you are doing as required by the Law and Regulations governing the trade. It's also good to support the Jabatan's Club, the department that will provide you with the approval of your BHs and have fellowship with them during tea break. There, you can forward your questions and suggestions to the Vet. for their consideration and assurance.

Here, we attended many of the Kursus even though we don't agree with most of the speakers but we are there to render our support and for fellowship.....and discussion with the heads of the V. V support us and we support the V............when possible.....

As for your local association like most of them, they rarely forward anything or organize any seminar or update news for the members.........I wonder why they are elected and why they are still there. Blame it on the members themselves as they also have the similar "tidak apa" attitude..

So, you are no Kaypo but a concerned friend who do care and if your association isn't doing anything; why don't you and your friends go for the top posts of your local association and make it a better world for all BH owners there........ Better now or regret later because the top guys didn't do the right thing and all of you need to suffer..... It is own rice bowl..... I do talk too much most of the time...sorry.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 5 2010, 02:39 PM

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:32 AM