126 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Bottom

V3. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

athlic
post Aug 5 2011, 11:35 AM

57 posts

that's why we have this forum to ensure farmer's interest are protected in some way right? at least someone won't go n sell at 1k/2k price which is like panic selling in the market today.
yscagro
post Aug 5 2011, 05:44 PM

427 posts

Hi guyz, been sometime never comment and posting..

If you all are using facebook, maybe you can add me or like my pages..
Prices of raw bird's nest are update from time to time (at least once a month)
You can take it as a reference, might be higher or lower from the market price sometime.. But at least something you can refer to...

Look for YSC Agro or YSCagro

highcut28
post Aug 8 2011, 08:52 AM

36 posts

Hi All
I have been trying to decide whether to put up a standalone BH in Sungei Buloh/Kuang area, near Rahman Putra (agri land).
Couple weeks ago i did a bird test at about 10 am that was quite successful and positive.
there is a standalone BH on neighbours plot, and most of 4 storey shoplots at the commercial area on Pesiaran Rahman Putra about 1.5 km away are all BHs.
So i went last evening to see what the returning bird population was like in the area.
Overall i thought there were rather few birds around the general area at 6:30 to 7:00. The neighbour's BH difficult to see but there were not many birds in the area.
Family members urged me to do the bird test distress call again - i was not keen cause i thought it should be done about 10am to 2pm- but tried it anyway. Hey soon there were 120 + birds swirling above to our delight. this was about 7:00pm
What does this mean?
Overall i was disppointed at the number of birds in area.
i thot there would be many birds returning 'home' in evening to those many shoplot BHs and maybe to my neighbours standalone BH.
Opinion of sifu most appreciated.
Also if any of u are Rahman Putra shoplot BH owners - how are u doing?
Many thanks

northface
post Aug 8 2011, 10:41 AM

359 posts

If you really wanna have a 'count' of birds around an area, normally they start going back starting from 7:15pm to 7:45pm.

That means no playing/circling around the BH you will just see them diving straight into the entrance hole, if you have a good view of the entrance hole you can count and have an idea how successful BHs in that area are.
tuckfook
post Aug 8 2011, 02:25 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(northface @ Aug 8 2011, 10:41 AM)
If you really wanna have a 'count' of birds around an area, normally they start going back starting from 7:15pm to 7:45pm.

Has it not been made known that the AF is probably Muslim ?

Listen for the Azan in the evenings at sunset, and within 5 minutes the birds will start returning to roost.

Playing distress sound near somebody's BH is not ethical. If you did it near my BH I might shoot your tweeters out ; (

If distress is played near a BH in the evenings about 1 hour before Azan and there are few birds circling, maybe repeat again when the skies are gloomy or after rain. If same results, I would suspect any new BH built nearby might have similar results. Then try again after a year or so or never.

megawong
post Aug 8 2011, 09:34 PM

6 units swiftlet farming house for sell
location; daro sarawak
tel 0172221336(mr wong)
highcut28
post Aug 9 2011, 07:49 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Aug 8 2011, 02:25 PM)
Has it not been made known that the AF is probably Muslim ?

Listen for the Azan in the evenings at sunset, and within 5 minutes the birds will start returning to roost.

Playing distress sound near somebody's BH is not ethical. If you did it near my BH I might shoot your tweeters out ; (

If distress is played near a BH in the evenings about 1 hour before Azan and there are few birds circling, maybe repeat again when the skies are gloomy or after rain. If same results, I would suspect any new BH built nearby might have similar results.  Then try again after a year or so or never.
thanks Northfce and Tuck fook
i guess i was causing some birds to deviate from their intended path home.
Hey its my land so i can play it wink.gif

My issue with that area is that it has been described by one forumer as 'mature' and i am wondering if it may not be 'saturated ' with BHs
Northface has kindly shared with me that the region(Sungeibuloh/Kuang/Raahman Putra) is getting too built up, with a reduction in the support ecosystem for FA.
Thanks again
aeiou228
post Aug 9 2011, 01:48 PM

5,867 posts

Aiyo.... weapon of mass destruction leaked liau... cry.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 9 2011, 01:51 PM
mois
post Aug 9 2011, 04:51 PM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

China has not banned bird nests from M’sia

PUTRAJAYA: China has not banned bird nests from Malaysia, Deputy Agriculture Minister Chua Tee Yong said Tuesday, refuting rumours.

Speaking at a press conference at his office, he said the General Administration of Quality Supervision, Inspection and Quarantine (AQSIQ) in China had confirmed this to the Malaysia agriculture counsellor's office in Beijing.

“There are some quarters who had been spreading rumours that China had banned the import. This is not true,” he said.

He said AQSIQ would routinely conduct sampling tests on the imported bird nests at the entry point of China and reject the importation of any bird's nests if the products do not comply with local set standards.

“The recent result of sampling tests on Malaysia imported birds' nest showed that some samples did not comply with the local standard level of nitrite in China which is zero and these samples were rejected by China,” he said.

He said the ministry would have a meeting with the Chinese trade counsellor in Malaysia to discuss and find an amicable solution to the issue
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=...3921&sec=nation
Look like the government take this case a little bit serious. I wonder who spread the rumors. Indonesians or middleman?
West Wing
post Aug 9 2011, 08:36 PM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 9 2011, 04:51 PM)
Look like the government take this case a little bit serious. I wonder who spread the rumors. Indonesians or middleman?
So, don't sell your birdnests cheap as the 15th. of 8th.month near.......never panic selling as in share market cos your costing is null and only lesser profit which you can afford.

Doing so ( not panic) will help to push the price up and stabilize the market price. Panic selling will only worsen the price and remember what happened before when the price drop to RM1200 per Kg cos many are selling as if there is no tomorrow But I was smart by holding back and even make some good money then.
mois
post Aug 9 2011, 09:04 PM

Enemy Territory
3,625 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 9 2011, 08:36 PM)
So, don't sell your birdnests cheap as the 15th. of 8th.month near.......never panic selling as in share market cos your costing is null and only lesser profit which you can afford.

Doing so ( not panic) will help to push the price up and stabilize the market price.  Panic selling will only worsen the price and remember what happened before when the price drop to RM1200 per Kg cos many are selling as if there is no tomorrow But  I was smart by holding back and even make some good money then.
It is ok to keep the bird nests for long? Some said it might turn yellowish. How true is that? What is the price range we should sell? Rm4.2k-rm4.5k? My area here Rm4k at the moment. Some of my friends are making living out of this EBN. Those guys are the guys who got a lot of stocks every month. Ranging 4kgs-15kgs. I am not so sure from their 8 years old BH. Sometime they got no choice except to sell at cheaper price.

This post has been edited by mois: Aug 10 2011, 12:17 AM
West Wing
post Aug 10 2011, 11:51 AM

1,397 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Aug 9 2011, 09:04 PM)
It is ok to keep the bird nests for long? Some said it might turn yellowish. How true is that? What is the price range we should sell? Rm4.2k-rm4.5k? My area here Rm4k at the moment. Some of my friends are making living out of this EBN. Those guys are the guys who got a lot of stocks every month. Ranging 4kgs-15kgs. I am not so sure from their 8 years old BH. Sometime they got no choice except to sell at cheaper price.
I can tell you that you really don't need to keep long as if buyers don't get nests to fulfill their commitment to their bosses ( one that I know need 200K nests to fulfilled his order), they will offer higher price to the sellers. This does not need a MBA to tell you that the shortage of supply will force the price up and if there are supply for nests even if buyers offer lower price, which buyer will want ot pay high if they can buy at lower price and make more profit.

Remember that I did mentioned that the price in China remain stable and the wind only blow here and it is up to us either to stop the wind or be wet and wetter as the wind bring in more and heavier rain. Alas, most owners will sell like the stock market but the situation should be different as in stock market cos in SM, it's to cut losses and many are forced Selling on T time due or need to pay up. Here, our last harvest can afford to pay for the next few installments.

What if the price goes down but if you sell, the price will surely go down. Even if you don't sell, the price may go down cos many others may sell but at least, you can pray that others do share your sentiment. If you think that you alone isn't important, talk to a politician and they will tell you that your one support is very important. If all think the same, blame yourself for contributing to the fall of the nests.

Same like the case of breeding swiftlets; one friend told me that he can harvest all he want cos others will provide the new birds for his BH. Remember that his BH has over 10K nests and each time, more than 20K new birds should fledged and fly out and immagine the number of new BHs that may survive with just this BH.........but this greedy friend of mine has only money in his mind, one extra harvest can get him, a new car......even the fear of GOD cannot deter him from doing so.

In any swiftlet core area, you only need one over 10K BH to support all of you, newly built BHs and may it be 10 new BHs, each of the BHs will be satisfied with the increment of nests if you have done it correctly.

Just my view.
tuckfook
post Aug 10 2011, 12:18 PM

360 posts

Well said WW.

Unfortunately us Chinese are prone to undercut. I was in the photo processing business and at association level, we all agreed to maintain prices but one idiot reduced prices and from there sparked a price war until it wasn't viable to own the business.

If this happens with EBN all the newcomers will suffer, the newer you are the worse it will be.
highcut28
post Aug 11 2011, 08:31 AM

36 posts

Same like the case of breeding swiftlets; one friend told me that he can harvest all he want cos others will provide the new birds for his BH. Remember that his BH has over 10K nests and each time, more than 20K new birds should fledged and fly out and immagine the number of new BHs that may survive with just this BH.........but this greedy friend of mine has only money in his mind, one extra harvest can get him, a new car......even the fear of GOD cannot deter him from doing so.

In any swiftlet core area, you only need one over 10K BH to support all of you, newly built BHs and may it be 10 new BHs, each of the BHs will be satisfied with the increment of nests if you have done it correctly.

Just my view.

[/quote]

dear WW
could u kindly explain/expand on what u wrote, esp the last paragraph.
Thanks a mill
West Wing
post Aug 11 2011, 03:00 PM

1,397 posts

[quote=highcut28,Aug 11 2011, 08:31 AM]

Just my view.

[/quote]

dear WW
Thanks a mill

[/quote]

In swiftlets area, one 10K BH will produce over 20K newly fledged swiftlets enough to sustain more than 10 new BHs as 20,000 birds divided by 10 will give each BH 200 birds, right? Although not all will stay at the area and part of them will fly away but then other birds will come to the area. Even 50% will make all happy.

Remember that 20K is just for a season and not a year supply and if you missed the first time due to wrong doing or mistakes in the construction/setup of BH, there is always a second time coming; not and none if no one is breeding.

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 11 2011, 03:04 PM
megawong
post Aug 11 2011, 03:46 PM

[quote=West Wing,Aug 11 2011, 04:00 PM]
dear WW
Thanks a mill

[/quote]

In swiftlets area, one 10K BH will produce over 20K newly fledged swiftlets enough to sustain more than 10 new BHs as 20,000 birds divided by 10 will give each BH 200 birds, right? Although not all will stay at the area and part of them will fly away but then other birds will come to the area. Even 50% will make all happy.

Remember that 20K is just for a season and not a year supply and if you missed the first time due to wrong doing or mistakes in the construction/setup of BH, there is always a second time coming; not and none if no one is breeding.

[/quote]

correction 20k birds divided by 10 is 2000
thank you rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
West Wing
post Aug 11 2011, 04:07 PM

1,397 posts

correction 20k birds divided by 10 is 2000
thank you rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

[/quote]

So, you are reading attentively, and even 200 is more than enough.

welcome

This post has been edited by West Wing: Aug 11 2011, 04:08 PM
tuckfook
post Aug 11 2011, 07:18 PM

360 posts

The figures might look good but in nature, if 50% of offsprings make it to adulthood, that will be very very good for the species. I am not sure but I would think the survival rate is probably about 25% or less, which is much better than most other animals.

Deaths are from predators, sickness and weakness, accidents and other natural causes.

Nobody has been able to make any count or research on this as there are too many factors involved especially as these birds are free flying.

Forced harvesting certainly reduces the numbers, as proven in the case of cave birds.

Our Gov must engage China to educate them that nests are naturally not pure white. The consumption of pure white nests means that the nests have been treated with chemicals. This will hopefully take the load off trying to produce whiter nests and save the young birds or eggs from being destroyed.

swift4ever
post Aug 12 2011, 10:58 PM

263 posts

While Govt to unveil new plan on tracking the source of birds nest using GPS, I do hope Govt or privately-funded research group to study the possibilities of deploying tracking devices/geolocators on these birds, to let us gain better understanding of these species; provide us with a clue about the survival rate of these species when they are free flying from the farm source.

We have a lot of education to do with the population of China so huge. Govt and industry groups must help us...

This post has been edited by swift4ever: Aug 12 2011, 11:21 PM
northface
post Aug 13 2011, 12:08 AM

359 posts

Is it even possible to track swiftlets with GPS?

Anyone that watches Animal Planet/Discovery knows that to track an animal you need to first tag it. So the question is,

1. How do you tag something as small as a swiftlet as the GPS tracking device itself can be larger than the swiftlet.

2. Even if there is a tracking device that small, good luck trying to attach to an adult swiftlet.

Another think-with-their-ass suggestion by our vet department.

126 Pages « < 100 101 102 103 104 > » Top

0.2925sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:39 PM