127 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Bottom

The Watches Thread V2

fongzai92
post Oct 8 2010, 05:35 PM

kuli
1,311 posts

any idea compare between seiko and orients ? with only rm500 budget. i'm more into automatic movement watch.
any recommended watch shop in petaling jaya?

here are some extra info. i have a small wrist ( only 6inches parameter ), i went to CITY CHAIN at tropicana city mall and the sales girl recommended me seiko chronograph snd513, i tried to wear and found quite suit my wrist, as the case only 40mm.

and the city chain quoted me the price is 60bucks higher than Lyn member's price. of cause i know shop must higher price, but 60 bucks... hmm.gif .......
TSpatryn33
post Oct 8 2010, 07:42 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(edwardng86 @ Oct 8 2010, 05:10 PM)
can ask if oris and louis erard,with 1 better ?
brand wise? same same.
actual watch, please give specific models
edwardng86
post Oct 9 2010, 06:02 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 8 2010, 07:42 PM)
brand wise? same same.
actual watch, please give specific models
then brand same right ?Oris BC3 Advanced BC3 good or not ?how much now ?
thx
TSpatryn33
post Oct 9 2010, 09:20 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(edwardng86 @ Oct 9 2010, 06:02 AM)
then brand same right ?Oris BC3 Advanced BC3 good or not ?how much now ?
iirc its on SW 220 (some view as a cheaper replacement of ETA 2836), nothing special about it.
after discount maybe ~3.7k

some model of Louis Erard are better, its mod by Soprod (used to mod the famous Panerai)

anyway, I would rather pay for for a Guinand series 20 chrono or Stowa.
maybe a Damasko, ice harden case that resist scratch and a soft iron core that protect against magnetism.
http://www.damasko.de/eng/index.html
diver watch www.mkiiwatches.com also better deal

Added on October 9, 2010, 9:45 amLooking for a German watch, look like I can only afford nomos. From the AD here their production is very low watches that AD does not carry often has a wait of 3mths.

In Glashuttle, germany only has these 4 major watch makers.
the rest like Union, Muhle seem to use only ETA.
soehnle uhren seem to make their own movements but I believe production is very small.
http://www.soehnle-uhren-shop.de/Shop/

NOMOS Press Release
Made in Glashütte, Germany

Protected designation of origin, quality characteristic - and why a judgement is important for the watchmaking town.

Glashütte, April 2007. Glashütte is a small city in eastern Germany in which some of the world’s best watches have been built for over 160 years. Germany is the home of the Volkswagen and the Werkbund, of Leitz and Leica, Bosch and Bauhaus. Germany, the country that is known for outstanding quality, design and engineering. Made in Glashütte, Made in Germany – both are protected designations of origin with an international reputation. And both are protected, a mark of quality such as "Cognac“, "Swiss Watches“ or "Parma Ham“. It is therefore only watches in which over 50 percent of their movements’ value has been created on location that may be sold as "Glashütte Watches“.
NOMOS Glashütte was the first brand, which was able to build a mechanical watch with the protected designation of origin “Glashütte“ after 1990. Because the designation “Glashütte“ is so prized, NOMOS carries, as do the city’s other manufactories, the city’s name on its letter head: Lange’s official name is “A. Lange & Söhne Glashütte i/SA“; the watches of Glashütte Original are made in the "Glashütter Uhrenbetrieb” (Glashütte watch factory – abbreviation: GUB) and NOMOS is called "NOMOS Glashütte/SA“. Even Germany’s largest watch and jewellery dealer, the Hamburg firm Wempe, now makes watches in Glashütte together with NOMOS and is represented on site with its own company: the “Wempe Chronometerwerke Glashütte/SA“.
The Munich District Court I has just given an extra boost to Glashütte as a protected designation of origin. With its final judgment of 02.27.2007 – not yet legally binding as of early April – a competitor was prosecuted for advertising his watches with the protected designation of origin, “Glashütte“, and this because the majority of the watches’ parts were not, as required, produced in Glashütte.

The convicted manufacturer may continue to sell his watches. The protected and value increasing “Glashütte“ may not, however, be written on his watches or used to advertise them as long as the majority of the calibres’ valuable parts are not made in Glashütte. NOMOS Glashütte believes that this judgment is fair and just, for it is in the watchmaking city’s interest, as well as that of consumers who trust in quality from Glashütte, to protect the high quality standard. And in the interest of each and every watchmaker who invests in the small Saxon city’s watchmaking and precisions mechanics.
In this way the judgement has helped to create jobs, because soon everybody and anybody who works in Glashütte will be “in the watch,“ as the saying goes. And the more parts that are built on location, the more work people have to do. Everything that is built somewhere else, produced abroad for less, destroys jobs and hurts the reputation of “Made in Glashütte“ and “Made in Germany”.
(Glashütte 2007, April)

anyone saw this stunning German watch!
http://forums.watchuseek.com/f8/well-my-dr...day-455857.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 9 2010, 10:23 AM
beau
post Oct 9 2010, 10:16 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 9 2010, 09:20 AM)
iirc its on SW 220 (some view as a cheaper replacement of ETA 2836), nothing special about it.

some model of Louis Erard are better, its mod by Soprod (used to mod the famous Panerai)

maybe a Damasko, ice harden case that resist scratch and a soft iron core that protect against magnetism.

Added on October 9, 2010, 9:45 amLooking for a German watch, look like I can only afford nomos. From the AD here their production is very low watches that AD does not carry often has a wait of 3mths.

soehnle uhren seem to make their own movements but I believe production is very small.
Nice-What prices do they go for & where can one buy them?
TSpatryn33
post Oct 9 2010, 10:26 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(beau @ Oct 9 2010, 10:16 AM)
Nice-What prices do they go for & where can one buy them?
online? directly thru them @ http://www.dornblueth.com
they only have 4 AD listed.

Added on October 10, 2010, 1:40 amto those that love Wolfgang watches, Sothis sister brand Genius 1953! online order only, iirc price includes regular german tax.
http://www.sothis.de/en/info/the-brand-sothis/
http://www.genius1953.de/en/index11.html

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 10 2010, 01:41 AM
romeolee
post Oct 10 2010, 02:43 PM

115 posts

Hi sifus. My Tag quartz batt just died. How much if I wanna change the batt and any place that I can get it cheap? This is my first time going to change batt.
TSpatryn33
post Oct 10 2010, 08:25 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(romeolee @ Oct 10 2010, 02:43 PM)
Hi sifus.  My Tag quartz batt just died. How much if I wanna change the batt and any place that I can get it cheap? This is my first time going to change batt.
U waited till the watch stopped moving?
U should get it change when the second hand is skipping (low bat indicator)
anyway, any watch maker can change it.
if U are going diving with it go back to Tag to get it done.
romeolee
post Oct 10 2010, 08:46 PM

115 posts

Haha. I didn't know. But its just around 5 days. Will the alcaline thingy flow out it such a short time? Damn getting scared. I just got it changed at wata time. RM45. Not sure whether got kena con onot with that price. Cause I duno what is the market price. I tried to nego but they said can't cause its a swiss batt. Sounds like bullshit to me. But I'm being desperate
TSpatryn33
post Oct 10 2010, 08:57 PM

3,940 posts

even at tag they use those normal watch batteries.
I had it done in Singapore at TAG and it cost me SG$30, and recently had it done in USA thru a watchmaker it cost me US$7.
yijzen
post Oct 10 2010, 09:53 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 9 2010, 09:20 AM)

diver watch www.mkiiwatches.com also better deal

thats one beautiful watch man. how much does it cost? and how long does it take to be shipped?

btw i'm now looking for a rectangle watch. budget below 3k if possible. looking for one to wear everyday. any suggestions? thanks guys.

This post has been edited by yijzen: Oct 10 2010, 10:03 PM
cloner
post Oct 10 2010, 10:13 PM

1,101 posts

thank you all sifu & taiko on recommendation.. stowa really suites my budget & needs... but the lay back is the shipping time...

btw i have a friend in HK now and im asking her to check out Tissot price for me there as they have newer models & option compared to M'sia...

if all else fails.. will be going for Stowa Marine Auto with Blue Hands ^^ love it a lot !!!

TSpatryn33
post Oct 10 2010, 11:26 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 10 2010, 09:53 PM)
thats one beautiful watch man. how much does it cost? and how long does it take to be shipped?
btw i'm now looking for a rectangle watch. budget below 3k if possible. looking for one to wear everyday. any suggestions? thanks guys.
their watches starts at around 3.5k but in USD.
U can get them directly thru http://www.dornblueth.com
or at http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/home.asp

Added on October 10, 2010, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(cloner @ Oct 10 2010, 10:13 PM)
thank you all sifu & taiko on recommendation.. stowa really suites my budget & needs... but the lay back is the shipping time...

btw i have a friend in HK now and im asking her to check out Tissot price for me there as they have newer models & option compared to M'sia...

if all else fails.. will be going for Stowa Marine Auto with Blue Hands ^^ love it a lot !!!
stowa fit and finish is miles ahead of tissot.
with only a handful of watch makers its production is low.
U got to oder b4 the delivery date. don't do it, U will be waiting for next delivery date.
as they do go out of stock soon.
many ppl are willing to wait for it.

This post has been edited by patryn33: Oct 10 2010, 11:29 PM
blasto
post Oct 11 2010, 10:14 AM

1,139 posts

Hi WIS drool.gif

How much is daytona SS in AD vs. pre-owned ?
Is it worth buy new or pre-owned ?
Buy in Malaysia or SG cheaper ?

lastly is daytona SS worth buying ? thx icon_rolleyes.gif

yijzen
post Oct 11 2010, 11:13 AM

288 posts

[quote=patryn33,Oct 10 2010, 11:26 PM]
their watches starts at around 3.5k but in USD.
U can get them directly thru http://www.dornblueth.com
or at [url=http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/home.asp]http://www.watchbuys.com/store/pc/home.asp[/url

thanks man. will check it out. btw bro do you recommend any rectangular watches for below 3k?
Leon||
post Oct 11 2010, 07:31 PM

347 posts

got CW magazine today, wanna buy their C6/C60 but too bad lack of $

currently my watch date will turn at 12pm instead of 12am, anyone know the way to adjust it?

This post has been edited by Leon||: Oct 11 2010, 07:36 PM
ck77
post Oct 11 2010, 08:12 PM

2,592 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Oct 11 2010, 07:31 PM)
got CW magazine today, wanna buy their C6/C60 but too bad lack of $

currently my watch date will turn at 12pm instead of 12am, anyone know the way to adjust it?
Your mechanical watch doesn't know when is AM or PM.
Turn the hour hand pass 12, if the date changes, meaning is AM, if it doesn't, is PM.

Added - Caution: do not change the date during 9pm to 3am. It might damage the mechanism.

This post has been edited by ck77: Oct 11 2010, 08:13 PM
beau
post Oct 11 2010, 09:03 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Oct 11 2010, 10:14 AM)
Hi WIS  drool.gif

How much is daytona SS in AD vs. pre-owned ?
Is it worth buy new or pre-owned ?
Buy in Malaysia or SG cheaper ?

lastly is daytona SS worth buying ? thx  icon_rolleyes.gif
If you can lay your hands on the Zenith movement Daytona, yes.

It's one of the great sports watches & very collectable, especially the black face SS version
TSpatryn33
post Oct 11 2010, 10:37 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(yijzen @ Oct 11 2010, 11:13 AM)
thanks man. will check it out. btw bro do you recommend any rectangular watches for below 3k?
dress watch? leather?
date?
cloner
post Oct 11 2010, 10:52 PM

1,101 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Oct 10 2010, 11:26 PM)

stowa fit and finish is miles ahead of tissot.
with only a handful of watch makers its production is low.
U got to oder b4 the delivery date. don't do it, U will be waiting for next delivery date.
as they do go out of stock soon.
many ppl are willing to wait for it.
miles ahead huuh ?? hmm... with additional 700 MYR... hmmm.... hmm.gif

eying on the Marine Auto White Dial with Blue hands... seems a very decent piece of watch... blush.gif

127 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:33 AM