Fighting Spider Hunting Adventures Part 2, Share ur Exp in catching Fighting Spider

faizmost
post Aug 5 2010, 04:20 PM

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 5 2010, 02:19 AM)
at the moment i'm keeping a pair of hyllus semi.
Got them to mate 2 days ago.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_xodh0M_fg

Today was one of the most disheartening day for me. In the evening at about 6, i went looking for hyllus in a nearby park and unexpectedly found another hyllus male...large one too. i saw its head just jutting out of a dried leave attached to the underside of a green leaf, pretty close to the ground. but damn, its nest was situated in such a way that it was difficult to encircle it with a large plastic bag which i had due to the leaf branches. and the ground was filled with large leaf litter and also it was situated just beside a slope, with even deeper leaf litter below. it took me half an hour to slowly cut away the leaves blocking my view with scissors and when i tried to slowly put a large plastic bag beneath the nest, it jumped and i lost it in the leaf litter. it was 7.30pm then and i waited almost until dark and still tried to search the litter but in vain. i can attest that the hyllus Semicupreus male is the most difficult jumper i ever tried to find and catch.
All my gear and experience came to nil.

Finding itself is almost an imposibility. I found the one i'm having now by chance when i saw it walking up a lily leaf when i was going to my car at my workplace. other than that, i have only seen it only 3 other times.
1) once as a boy(while still in mps, primary school, i remember) on a tree trunk stump in my grandma's garden. i ran to the kitchen to get a bag, but came back and can't find it again.
2) caught one small one. the one that drank milk in one of my clips
3) i saw one hanging on a tread from a tree at my workplace carpark. a large one. but when it dropped to the ground, it very rapidly jumped towards a very thick hedge and dissappear into it. but because there were people walking up and down that place, sitting nearby, and i was wearing office wear, i didn't want to pursue it.

Catching it is very difficult because

1. it is highly sensitive, just a slight movement of its nest and i saw it gearing to pounch out.
There was no way i could have just cut the leave of its nest and just lift it up like wat we do for fs.
2. it is a master of eluding... going out of view or the other side of a leaf/branch rapidly whenever it sense a movement/shadow
3. its color makes it a master of camouflage among dried leaves/branches
4. it has a powerful jump and would jump consecutively till out of sight/reach(and probably jumping and quickly crawling under the leaf litter to other parts from where it landed)
5. it doesn't appear soon after it jumps into leaf litter, staying put of a long period of time probably due to its sensitive nature.

if only i have a bottle of water then, maybe it could have helped. Damn. otherwise we would be able to see a hyllus semicupreus male vs male square off.
hi, im new here...i love this hobby since childhood....dunno what is name...we call it spider king (black n green)...but mostly i love jumping spider veryyy much...

last wekend i go to tioman....n found 1 jumping spider...but this guy have diffrent colour...more to yellow n black.....

if im not wrong normal jumpng spider got brown colour....

later i upload pic ok...

bro can tell me how to care n how to mate jumping spider..ur thread very long la... whistling.gif

TQ rolleyes.gif
faizmost
post Aug 6 2010, 11:29 AM

this is my jumping spider tongue.gif ...please tell me what kind of species is this

should i feed it daily...

can tell me basic care

tq

blush.gif
faizmost
post Aug 9 2010, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(mindstorm @ Aug 7 2010, 02:10 AM)
try to take pics under outdoor light...will be better. ur pics here  a bit dark leh..

Added on August 7, 2010, 2:18 am
haha! i don't think Vortex will travel 400km to challenge ur Durian la...
Viper57 is from Kepong area, in malaysia. I think the closest kaki here to our new friend here is Viper88.
i have no idea actually. he is staying in another town from me. my hometown. besides i don't know him.
he is one of the younger ones from a murai fighting group. most of them quite senior, but every weekend without fail, sure got grouping and sure got murai fights. To them, any fight must involve $$, otherwise no point fighting, including fs. Maybe we got kaki here also got place bets but secretive ler...hehe. but its ok with me.
Anyway, i haven't been back to my hometown for quite a while now, so i have no idea of wat's happening there now. but if i have the time, i'll be happy to go check them out.

Added on August 7, 2010, 2:32 am

halo faiz, u have a beautiful hyllus diardi female there! where are u from and where did u manage to find her?

yeah, u can feed ur jumping spider daily or minimum once every 2 days.
i find my hyllus semi will eat flies, small crickets and they seem to love moths.

Make sure u let them drink water EVERYDAY. U can use a spray to mist its enclosure.

And most importantly, make sure ants can't get to its enclosure.
In the beginning of keeping a jumping spider, even if u have ants around, the ants seems not bothered to disturb ur spider but as time goes by when dead insects accumulate in the spider's cage, there's where the danger will come, suddenly the ants start to get attracted to the dead insects and when they start to swarm the cage to try to carry off the dead insects, that's it... ur spider will also become their food. So take heed.
i'm from batu pahat johor n curenctly live at skudai jb
blush.gif owh this one is female ekh....hmph....
Thanks for the info man..realy helpfull and about the ant already noted as my chilhood hylulus also died because of ant..last time using matches box to keep with daun pandan inside it.... whistling.gif
faizmost
post Aug 21 2010, 11:53 AM

hi all sifu2...i wanna ask something....
why my jumping spider go a very2 little tiny look alike dust ball?
n the spider not feeling very well n not so active...please advice TQ

0.1273sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:30 PM