Credit Card v10

sexy_linda
post Jun 8 2010, 01:15 AM

13 posts

hi there,

wanna ask about complimentary cards

for example we open current account with rm 200k, we can apply for credit card at some banks for example, hsbc

my question is: how long can we bring out all the money after we got the card?

pls advise biggrin.gif
ghoss
post Jun 8 2010, 03:15 AM

975 posts

Need help regarding balance transfer ~~~

Can someone explain regarding balance transfer ??

Can I transfer my outstanding to bill to another bank that I don't have a credit card with ?? blink.gif blink.gif
SUSDavid83
post Jun 8 2010, 05:28 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Jun 8 2010, 03:15 AM)
Need help regarding balance transfer ~~~

Can someone explain regarding balance transfer ??

Can I transfer my outstanding to bill to another bank that I don't have a credit card with ??  blink.gif  blink.gif
Balance transfer is a facility offered by credit card company/bank to transfer outstanding amount from one card of one bank to another credit card of another bank. Usually, the charged interest rate is nearly to 0% depending on the bank.

Take CIMB for example, their ongoing balance transfer campaign is 0% interest for 6-month with minimum amount of RM 1k. Of course, you need to have credit card from the bank that you wanted to transfer the outstanding amount to.
alexwsk
post Jun 8 2010, 09:02 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(sexy_linda @ Jun 8 2010, 01:15 AM)
hi there,

for example we open current account with rm 200k, we can apply for credit card at some banks for example, hsbc

pls advise  biggrin.gif
i thk they'll cancel the card once ur balance drops below the level
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 8 2010, 09:59 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(x3oNv3 @ Jun 7 2010, 08:49 PM)
really?! so my choice is only limited to HSBC and citibank if i want to use my card in aussie?

uhh, could some body enlighten this? unsure.gif
Credit card from banks that are big here but basically unknown to the Aussies such as Maybank and CIMB Bank can be used there. Even credit cards small banks such Hong Leong Bank and EON Bank are accepted. What important is your credit card carries either the VISA or MasterCard logo.

QUOTE(sexy_linda @ Jun 8 2010, 01:15 AM)

pls advise  biggrin.gif
You can bring the money out anytime you want. All other facilities that come with the banking package you signed up for (HSBC Premier for instance) will be canceled right away too.

Using HSBC Premier as an example. You have to keep at least RM200,000 in your HSBC account at all times or else you will be charged RM150 account maintenance fee per month. Please note that this fee cannot be waived. You must make some deposits back into your account so that your account balance will at least meet the HSBC Premier eligibility criteria within the next 3-month or else they will downgrade your account to any account they deem fit for you (in most cases it is PowerVantage).

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 8 2010, 09:02 AM)
i thk they'll cancel the card once ur balance drops below the level
No. They won't. Remember the 3-month grace period they grant you and each month comes with a RM150 fee. The card will only be canceled either when you voluntarily close your account or when they bump your account into a regular account.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Jun 8 2010, 10:04 AM
Wonka
post Jun 8 2010, 10:08 AM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

1 question, do u guys think CIMB is good enough to use internationally?
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 8 2010, 10:45 AM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Jun 8 2010, 10:08 AM)
Yes

alexwsk
post Jun 8 2010, 11:19 AM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Jun 8 2010, 10:08 AM)
i thk all should stop asking whether tha cards are gd enough to use internationally

all cards bearing the Visa or Master logo can be use internationally

you just need to inform the bank earlier to avoid trouble overseas, else make sure you will pick up their calls
cute_boboi
post Jun 8 2010, 04:26 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jun 8 2010, 11:19 AM)
i thk all should stop asking whether tha cards are gd enough to use internationally

all cards bearing the Visa or Master logo can be use internationally

you just need to inform the bank earlier to avoid trouble overseas, else make sure you will pick up their calls
+1

It is a >20 years old mentality about global recognition CC. There is no point using global recognition or what-not if the transaction cannot get through. It is just a feel good factor for your ownself.

The point is the features/services/facilities offered. e.g. For frequent business traveller, airport lounge entry is good. Immediate increase in credit limit with single phone call is good, if you need it. CC replacement, customer service for certain things, etc. if you always need to call up to request help/concierge.

Other than that, all global/local banks CC have the same acceptance overseas/local, as long as it is standard visa/master/amex/diners/JCB/etc. and the merchant accepts it.

Hotel/retailer/etc. have both local & overseas clients, and they have seen more unknown card/banks globally. It is nothing to them whether it is plastic/gold/plat/blue/black/etc card, as long as the transaction goes through. Again, it is your own feel good factor to swipe a plat rather than a classic.

winner
post Jun 8 2010, 09:29 PM

2,221 posts

I also received an official offer from SCB today. SCB will grant me 11,000 choice points if I use my SCB JustOne cc at least 3 times by end of this month. This offer is for SCB CCs due for renewal in July. That's very generous!
Itori
post Jun 8 2010, 09:49 PM

181 posts

Hi all Sifus! I would like to hear your sage advice!

I'm a 23 yo working adult seeking which CC to apply.

What I'm looking for is:

1) Flexi payment plans.
2) Secure with no hassle booking things
3) Good services. (Maybank is out of the question)
4) My salary per annum is 18000 range.
5) May use autopay for bills

Currently my eye is on Citibank and also CIMB. I still feel Citibank is my first choice.

Any thoughts on that?

Aeon_Clock
post Jun 8 2010, 10:11 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

what's wrong with Maybank? Their services are very good and got branches almost everywhere.
Itori
post Jun 8 2010, 10:24 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Jun 8 2010, 10:11 PM)
what's wrong with Maybank? Their services are very good and got branches almost everywhere.
not sure oh... some people complain about their service to me before. Some okay la... Like payment and stuff. Plus, with my salary cannot apply maybank lah... their requirement high.
ck_tonny
post Jun 8 2010, 10:26 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(Itori @ Jun 8 2010, 09:49 PM)

What I'm looking for is:

1) Flexi payment plans.

Currently my eye is on Citibank and also CIMB. I still feel Citibank is my first choice.

Any thoughts on that?
What makes you feel citibank is your first choice? For me i will go for CIMB, good flexi payment plans, benefits and privileges are suitable for your income range, services also not bad.
TSMilesAndMore
post Jun 8 2010, 10:28 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(Itori @ Jun 8 2010, 09:49 PM)

What I'm looking for is:

1) Flexi payment plans.

Any thoughts on that?
CIMB Bank is probably more suitable for you.

Itori
post Jun 8 2010, 10:32 PM

181 posts

CIMB's ipay plan i hear only limited time? Till the end of this year... But all documents that I provide to them will not be returned right? Meaning If I give them my original payslips, sure they take it from me...

I like CIMB because used their online services for quite some time already.

Any other options that CIMB and Citibank?
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 8 2010, 10:33 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

I actually hear more complaints on CIMB. Calls can never go through. I've been using Maybank all my life. My first card until now...no problems at all and they're VERY efficient. Any request I make will be done within 3 days. I told them I'll be back in a week laugh.gif
JJBerry
post Jun 8 2010, 10:38 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Itori @ Jun 8 2010, 10:32 PM)
CIMB's ipay plan i hear only limited time? Till the end of this year... But all documents that I provide to them will not be returned right? Meaning If I give them my original payslips, sure they take it from me...

I like CIMB because used their online services for quite some time already.

Any other options that CIMB and Citibank?
Why should you give them the original payslip at the first place?
Photocopy will do for any CC application with any issuer I think.
Itori
post Jun 8 2010, 10:57 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(JJBerry @ Jun 8 2010, 10:38 PM)
Why should you give them the original payslip at the first place?
Photocopy will do for any CC application with any issuer I think.
First time apply mah... I donno the documents needed to be provide or what.
Aeon_Clock
post Jun 8 2010, 10:58 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

everything photocopy...even your IC and always remember to cross your IC.

129 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:59 PM