Credit Card v10

aeiou228
post Jul 8 2010, 11:28 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 8 2010, 08:31 AM)
On JustOne ...

No point elaborating about the card because the bank stopped issuing the card for new applicants for 1 year +. Existing card holders have confirmed the rebate has been reset (including myself) means the bank is still continuing the program. However, SCB in the past have terminated the "Character" cards program means there's always a possibility the bank will terminate the JustOne program too.

Likely the bank did not want to continue the tie-up with Warner Bros because they have to pay royalties for the use of the Warner Bros character. (e.g Batman, Tweety Bird) It was this program that finally SCB had grew their card base significantly.

@ jack2 .... I understand what you meant but it is not the card no longer in issue but the bank stopped issuing the card to new applicants.
What a pity. anyway just for my info, the friday 5% rebates have any capping ? Will card member gets RM150 rebate if he pays a RM3,000 TNB bill on Friday ?
aeiou228
post Jul 8 2010, 11:54 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 8 2010, 11:39 AM)
no capping, you can even swipe RM12000 at one go on Friday to finish the whole year allocation
Oh ! No monthly capping but annual capping at RM600.
aeiou228
post Jul 9 2010, 11:59 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(orzpengy @ Jul 9 2010, 12:32 AM)
I have question about installment plan.
If my cc credit limit is 5k, the item that i want to purchase costs 6k, i'll buy it under installment plan provided by the retail shop, can I call the bank to increase my credit limit temporarily to make this purchase?
Hye was right. Temporary credit increase is not LOC (line of credit). you have to settle it upon next statement. For your situation, very easy, you can ask the shop to charge only RM5000 (assuming RM5000 LOC unutilised at the point of purchase) for the installment plan and settle the remaining RM1000 by other means. The shop will be more than happy to do this for you because they will incur less bank charges.
aeiou228
post Jul 10 2010, 12:42 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jul 10 2010, 11:59 AM)
same with me bro...

they send me on 26th...until yesterday didn't received...give HSBC a call, then they give me Poslaju Consignment Note Number...

check online, they tried to deliver to me on the next day, but nobody ale to collect..so they just take it back to poslaju office..

summore, no info left to me ooooo sweat.gif

have to manually go and collect... vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
So it was not HSBC fault. It was the incompetency of Pos Laju.
aeiou228
post Jul 10 2010, 11:01 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(gastacopz @ Jul 10 2010, 08:34 PM)
just canceled my hsbc GC visa via phone... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

but really dunno how to verify whether really canceled or not... hmm.gif
You have to give HSBC a second reconfirmation call 1 week after the 1st call. My experience with EON bank was that they accept phone in cancellation and can even confirm the cancellation on the spot but somehow my CC was never canceled. I only realized when EON billed me the RM50 tax.
aeiou228
post Jul 11 2010, 01:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 11 2010, 04:51 AM)
Hi guys, I'm only having a Public Bank supplementary card supplied by my sister few years ago when I was in university.

Since I have started to work this year and would like to apply a credit card on my own and return back the supplementary card to her. smile.gif

I'm looking for a card that offers me good rates for easy payment. I read from this thread that CIMB has the best offer when it comes to this feature? unsure.gif

Tried browsing through its website and it seems with my current salary, I can only apply for Petronas or Touch N Go Classic? My current salary per annum is about RM 36,000. I don't drive at the moment because LRT still serves me well. I'm using TnG card every day but I have to pay RM 1.50 fees for my RM 100 reload if I were to apply TnG Classic? Now I do not need to pay anything when I reload it manually...

Can someone help to clear my doubts? It is my first time and I'm sorry if my questions are too childish. How does the bank determines one's credit limit? Is there any way I could refer to? For CIMB, how long does it need for an application to get through?

Added on July 11, 2010, 4:58 amSorry again, it seems only Petronas card allows i.Plan but not the TnG card. Is that alright if I don't use it at all for petrol?

If you guys think CIMB card is not suitable for me, kindly recommend me something for a new timer like me. I tried looking at Citibank card and it is 9.88% interest p.a.! sweat.gif
Mmm...You don't drive and no weekly grocery shopping, then Petrol or grocery co branded card is not suitable for you. PBB's cards will be mine choice if I were you.
aeiou228
post Jul 11 2010, 02:47 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 11 2010, 02:02 PM)
I already have a Public Bank Visa at the moment. Sister suggested not to go back for PB because they did not auto-upgrade her CL but all her other banks did! laugh.gif
She suggested Citibank to me but it seems CIMB DA is just nice for me. hmm.gif
I don't have CIMB CC, can't comment on it. Nevertheless, from the past experiences of using MBF, Citibank, OCBC, UOB, EON CC, Citibank gives the most perks, activities and privileges. Their online banking is pretty good. Can pay almost all my billers except Indah water only.
aeiou228
post Jul 12 2010, 09:41 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 12 2010, 08:42 PM)
No guarantee. 1st-come, 1st-served basis.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 12 2010, 09:42 PM
aeiou228
post Jul 19 2010, 11:36 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 5 2010, 05:39 PM)
Yesterday registered my contact number at Citibank website for Cash Back Platinum Visa.
Today afternoon at 2.40pm Citibank called me and email me the application form.
At 5.30pm I faxed the completed application form ( just the form. No other documents needed) back to the Internet Sales Executive who emailed me the form earlier.

Let's see how fast Citibank can process my application.
Today I just saw a an additional card number appeared in my Citibank online account. I guess this is my application for the Cash Back Platinum Visa. A total of RM75 (RM50+RM25) government tax was debited to my account on the 16th July.
The approval turn around time was 11 days. Not bad at all. But the problem is.... I have yet to receive the cards till today.
aeiou228
post Jul 20 2010, 12:31 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 19 2010, 11:36 PM)
Today I just saw a an additional card number appeared in my Citibank online account. I guess this is my application for the Cash Back Platinum Visa. A total of RM75 (RM50+RM25) government tax  was debited to my account on the 16th July.
The approval turn around time was 11 days. Not bad at all. But the problem is.... I have yet to receive the cards till today.
Received both principal and supp cards for Citibank Cash Back Platinum Visa today. So the turn around time are as follows:

Submitted: 6th July
Approved: 16th July
Delivered: 20th July

Note: There are 4 non working days in between submission and final delivery.

Very efficient indeed.

Now I need to use at least 3 times for each card within 60 days to enjoy first year annual fee waiver.
aeiou228
post Jul 20 2010, 01:31 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(maru @ Jul 20 2010, 12:45 PM)
Swipe 6 times for 2 year waiver :-)
No, 1 year waiver only for Cash Back Plat. But who cares ? They will waive it if you have a decent spending record with them.
2 years waiver valid for Gold, Cash back gold, Cash back, CitiBusiness or Clear credit cards only.
aeiou228
post Jul 20 2010, 02:04 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(rockdaman @ Jul 20 2010, 01:55 PM)
i have a CC with 30k limit means i m eligible to apply the citi cash back platinum without providing my payslip?
If your CC is with Citibank, just need to fax in the application form. Nothing else.... not even NRIC. You will get your card within 14 days.
aeiou228
post Jul 21 2010, 12:15 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(static @ Jul 20 2010, 11:18 PM)
I have an issue with HSBC. Last month I got slapped with RM7.10 of late charges fee (finance charges). After rectifying the issue due to installment payments being paid off earlier than expected and outstanding purchases are not paid instead. So the bank reversed back the RM7.10 and i made full payment as stated in the statement, amounting to RM539.60 (inclusive the RM7.10). The next day RM7.10 was credited back to me.

Today, after checking my statement, to my horror RM74.03 charged?! Apparently they charged me RM80 annual fee, but the figure doesn't tally and after much dilly dally with the customer service that speaks good England, it was additional RM1.13 finance charges again?!

So basically RM80 + RM1.13 charged to me. And since i have Rm7.10 in my CC, it is now RM74.03.

May i know where the heck they get RM1.13 from?
Instead of arguing the finance chargers with HSBC, why can't you just ask them to waive the annual fee and finance charges ? Is either they wanna save RM74.03 or risk losing your account. I'm sure HSBC paid more than RM74 to the credit card agent or other form of incentives to recruit a card member.
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2010, 11:17 AM

5,867 posts

Just for your info. Using credit card to pay online in foreign currently is more expensive than bank TT.
I was charged by Citibank Visa for RM5017 for £1000. It would have been cheaper if I TT using maybank, the rate was RM4.93 + RM25 cable fee only.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 22 2010, 11:21 AM
aeiou228
post Jul 23 2010, 10:36 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jul 23 2010, 09:23 AM)
But you can only buy max RM300(Classic)/RM400(Gold)/RM600(Platinum) to get the 25% rebate and reach the max cap (RM100) for the week....  cool2.gif
Is only a total of RM41K cash back per week and based on "first-come, first-served basis" and also odd and complicated timing to remember and spend. I doubt card member can get the full cash rebate as advertised.

(f) For each of the participating weeks, as set out in Table 1 below, there
will be a total of RM40,909.00 HSBC Mega Sale cash back to be given
out, on a ‘first-come, first-served’ basis and subject to availability.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jul 23 2010, 10:40 AM
aeiou228
post Jul 23 2010, 11:47 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 23 2010, 10:43 AM)
Agreed. Even if the statement that Citibank downgrades the status of this card was true, I'll still go for this card. Card design is one of the best in the market and if not the best. Caution on the VIP lounge because the access level is limited if you were to compare it to SCB's Infinite lounge access privilege. CS level would certainly be better than MBB anytime of the day.

I don't really blame the bank staff not knowing the product well coz sometimes (or often) the product is launched and the info to the CS is not done properly yet. Added to the complexity that Citibank has so many card variants.

Added on July 23, 2010, 10:46 am

I hate these complicated programs and added to the complexity is where there is a probability the rebate is not even going to be there after you qualify.
Yupe ! So marfan. I would rather stick to guaranteed cash back card albeit at lower rates with simple anuual capping limit TnC.
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2010, 08:45 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 24 2010, 03:48 AM)
hmm.gif , the conversion rates is determined by Master or Visa, the banks just add the admin fees, wasn't that the case?
too bad I did not have another Mastercard with me currently to test it out
Citibank Visa charged me 1 pound sterling @ RM5.02 last week. But the visa online currency converter was around RM4.90. I called CTbank and CTBank said they never impose any fee on currency exchange.
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2010, 01:00 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jul 24 2010, 11:36 AM)
They do actually. It's 1% for Citibank credit cards.
Really ? I spoke to 3 different CS staff and all of them said no fee imposed.
aeiou228
post Jul 24 2010, 10:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Jul 24 2010, 01:53 PM)
nothing beats b&w, look here
Thanks ! The bloody Citibank CS have misleaded me. TT is the cheaper way or any sifu here can suggest me other cheaper alternative to transfer money to UK?
aeiou228
post Jul 25 2010, 12:28 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Jul 25 2010, 11:16 AM)
anyone find hsbc 25% cash back is sort of "misleading"?

upon checking the t&c. the following has to be met:-
1. min spent rm500
2. only after that entitle for certain % of rebate at different time
3. only certain items entitle for rebate.

i am fine with all the above, except when you read the last few lines, it is even mentioned :-

From the Eligible Spend made within the Promotion Period, only spend on
dining, grocery and shopping that are made in Malaysia will stand to
receive the HSBC Mega Sale cash back as per clause 5© above on a
‘first-come, first-served’ basis and subject to availability.

MADE IN MALAYSIA???
No need Made in Malaysia ! When TnC says rebates is 1st come 1st served which literally means NO Guaranteed rebates, that condition alone enough to turn me off already.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0505sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:27 PM