14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Why CPA (Aust) exam is so easy & low standard?

TSSelecao
post May 5 2010, 01:49 PM, updated 15y ago

Validating
34 posts

I have already completed all the 6 CPA segments & I m soon to become a full CPA. However there're so many unpleasant comments in the accounting job market that the CPA Program is relatively easy to pass & its quality is of a very low standard. There're also some negative comments that all the CPA graduates do not even have the basic accounting knowledge.

What are your views?

kingkhong2008
post May 5 2010, 02:40 PM

123 posts

what do you expect??? All multiple choice....
scribdutd
post May 5 2010, 03:21 PM

59 posts

YOU HAVE COMPLETED CPA AUSTRALIA PLEASE AT LEAST STATE YOUR OPINION ON YOUR OWN QUESTION
faceless
post May 5 2010, 04:09 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(scribdutd @ May 5 2010, 03:21 PM)
YOU HAVE COMPLETED CPA AUSTRALIA PLEASE AT LEAST STATE YOUR OPINION ON YOUR OWN QUESTION
+1

Easy, as compared to what? It is a relative questio. Did you find it easy? Do not have basic knowledge? You mean to say other professional bodies have different standard?
bliss85
post May 5 2010, 05:01 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 5 2010, 04:09 PM)
+1

Easy, as compared to what? It is a relative questio. Did you find it easy? Do not have basic knowledge? You mean to say other professional bodies have different standard?
Very true. Probably you should try to give some points from the view of a CPA student.

In my opinion though, it's more of a recognition issue. Some qualification might have better recognition at certain countries and vice-versa.
Sesshoumaru
post May 5 2010, 06:55 PM

1,190 posts

I do not disagree. In fact, I hate the cheap advertising/marketing it does. I do not see any other professional bodies doing this. They let the qualification do the talking instead. Even the syllabus seems rubbish to me, badly constructed and hardly gets straight to the point. Let's not forget even as a student member, you're paying 700++ AUD every year.

If you are pursuing an accountancy related job, the chartered bodies are my recommendations. Otherwise, if you are forced to (read: audit firms) and/or have other ulterior careers in mind CPA is alright. We have limited amount of time, so study what you want and how much you want.

PS: Try not to rely too much on these structured syllabus for learning. Self-research is way more effective at times to differentiate self.

This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: May 5 2010, 07:00 PM
Itu_Dia_Man
post May 5 2010, 07:20 PM

218 posts

Don't worry, if you join my audit department, when you need to explain on certain issues, my director will ask you to bring along your text book and sit down explain slowly to him tongue.gif
Topace111
post May 5 2010, 07:55 PM

2,102 posts

I like case study which requires you to read few pages of story and write something out of it. This is where examiners can filter out those who use "brute force" or "photocopy" technique cos its too general that you need to be specific. Every mark needs to be earned. This build the skill of breaking down it to pieces and reconstruct it to suit examiner's requirement. I heard from a senior taking icaew. The last few papers (case study) is 4 hours. The story is near hundred pages (like a book) but its an "open book" which you can bring whole trolley of books to exam hall (which everyone did). Not sure how you can read, refer, digest and answer in such a short period though.
Murusundram
post May 6 2010, 07:26 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Selecao @ May 5 2010, 01:49 PM)
I have already completed all the 6 CPA segments & I m soon to become a full CPA. However there're so many unpleasant comments in the accounting job market that the CPA Program is relatively easy to pass & its quality is of a very low standard. There're also some negative comments that all the CPA graduates do not even have the basic accounting knowledge.

What are your views?
Selecao,
What can you expect???...CPA only test you on all the easy MCQs. Even me myself is a CPA & sorry to say that this whole CPA Program is a real kid stuff & it's even easier than PMR exam.

freedom2912
post May 6 2010, 08:49 AM

Cool Like Fire
802 posts

if its so easy u should be thankful lor
faceless
post May 6 2010, 09:59 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Murusundram @ May 6 2010, 07:26 AM)
Selecao,
What can you expect???...CPA only test you on all the easy MCQs. Even me myself is a CPA & sorry to say that this whole CPA Program is a real kid stuff & it's even easier than PMR exam.
That being the case we should advise form one students to study this course. It is after all a professional body in Australia.
Murusundram
post May 6 2010, 11:52 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 6 2010, 09:59 AM)
That being the case we should advise form one students to study this course. It is after all a professional body in Australia.
The entire CPA Program is a joke & has already become a laughing stock in the employment market. True enough, form 1 students should be able to pass it easily.

faceless
post May 6 2010, 12:01 PM

4,515 posts

Murusundram,
I am skeptical about what you say. I am not saying your are lying. I hope more forumers will support your view. That being the case, I wondered how forumers had taken the course and found it difficult. If there are I guess they will not admit. After what you said, who would admit that they are less than PMR level.
Murusundram
post May 6 2010, 12:52 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 6 2010, 12:01 PM)
Murusundram,
I am skeptical about what you say. I am not saying your are lying. I hope more forumers will support your view. That being the case, I wondered how forumers had taken the course and found it difficult. If there are I guess they will not admit. After what you said, who would admit that they are less than PMR level.
Faceless,
I know very well from A-Z about this whole CPA Program. I m very open & direct & always speak the truth eventhough the truth can sometimes offend the other parties. I can understand that most accountants like to champion their own prof bodies regardless whether it's CPA, ICAA, CIMA, ICAEW, ACCA, MICPA etc. For CPA, there's nothing to shout about, just look at the exam...the whole CPA Program is a joke. Unlike ICAA whereby it tests the candidates on 4 main skills/criterias required of an accountant: technically sound, analysis, judgemental & application. So what CPA tests?....the answer is NOTHING, the main aim is to pass as many candidates as possible in order to become the largest & biggest in order to generate more revenue.

On the forumers, I m pretty sure deep inside their heart they would agree with me but they would not admit it openly.....they just want to champion their own prof body, CPA regardless how easy the exam is. If they are honest & direct, they will fully support my statement.

Topace111
post May 6 2010, 01:31 PM

2,102 posts

QUOTE(Murusundram @ May 6 2010, 12:52 PM)
Faceless,
I know very well from A-Z about this whole CPA Program. I m very open & direct & always speak the truth eventhough the truth can sometimes offend the other parties. I can understand that most accountants like to champion their own prof bodies regardless whether it's CPA, ICAA, CIMA, ICAEW, ACCA, MICPA etc. For CPA, there's nothing to shout about, just look at the exam...the whole CPA Program is a joke. Unlike ICAA whereby it tests the candidates on 4 main skills/criterias required of an accountant: technically sound, analysis, judgemental & application. So what CPA tests?....the answer is NOTHING, the main aim is to pass as many candidates as possible in order to become the largest & biggest in order to generate more revenue.

On the forumers, I m pretty sure deep inside their heart they would agree with me but they would not admit it openly.....they just want to champion their own prof body, CPA regardless how easy the exam is. If they are honest & direct, they will fully support my statement.
Technically learning should be continuous and one should not be content with just one affiliation. Looks like your way to overcome the CPA thingy by taking another one. Is that the proper way to go ?
Murusundram
post May 6 2010, 01:53 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Topace111 @ May 6 2010, 01:31 PM)
Technically learning should be continuous and one should not be content with just one affiliation. Looks like your way to overcome the CPA thingy by taking another one. Is that the proper way to go ?
The whole matter here is down to 1 main issue which is career progression & advancement.....ask yourself why the Big 4 & other MNCs in Aust do not recognise CPA? There must be a reason why.

seantang
post May 6 2010, 02:06 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Murusundram @ May 6 2010, 01:53 PM)
The whole matter here is down to 1 main issue which is career progression & advancement.....ask yourself why the Big 4 & other MNCs in Aust do not recognise CPA? There must be a reason why.
Same as the other thread, this statement is rubbish. The professional recognition is there. For American MNCs with offices in Australia (they outnumber Aussie MNCs btw), CPA is preferable to CA as it's much easier to convert to US CPA.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 6 2010, 02:09 PM
Murusundram
post May 6 2010, 02:36 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 6 2010, 02:06 PM)
Same as the other thread, this statement is rubbish. The professional recognition is there. For American MNCs with offices in Australia (they outnumber Aussie MNCs btw), CPA is preferable to CA as it's much easier to convert to US CPA.
Seantang,
You're making yourself a fool by saying CPA (Aust) is preferable to CA...it shows that you don't have any knowledge in regards to recognition. The US CPA is equivalent in standard with other CAs (ICAEW, ICAI, ICAS, ICAA, CICA) and also HK CPA.

The CPA (Aust) stands for Certified Practising Accountants & NOT Certified Public Accountants. The word Practising doesn't mean anything but the word Public is a highly respected designation.

So how can u justify that the CPA (Aust) can convert to US CPA easily? even there's a MRA...what a joke!

faceless
post May 6 2010, 03:37 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(Murusundram @ May 6 2010, 12:52 PM)
Faceless,
Murusundram, don't you are not offending me. I am not in the accounting profession. Considering the TS had hear negative sentiments about it. I am sure there would be people who will share your feelings.
seantang
post May 6 2010, 06:18 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(Murusundram @ May 6 2010, 02:36 PM)
So how can u justify that the CPA (Aust) can convert to US CPA easily? even there's a MRA...what a joke!

Let me put it this way. Australian CPA is the only CPA qualification eligible for the American IQEX exam. Not HKICPA, ICPAS or MICPA etc. And the Americans put it on par with a selected clutch of CAs. Even your beloved ACCA or ICAEW is not eligible.

"Currently, only members of the following professional bodies are eligible for the IQEX:

Certified Practicing Accountants of Australia
Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia
Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants
Instituto Mexican de Contadores Publicos
Chartered Accountants in Ireland
New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants

Candidates who are not members of one of these organizations and want to be licensed as a CPA in the U.S., must pass the Uniform CPA Examination."

NABSA

QUOTE(Murusundram @ May 6 2010, 02:36 PM)
Seantang,
You're making yourself a fool by saying CPA (Aust) is preferable to CA...it shows that you don't have any knowledge in regards to recognition.

Perhaps it's you who doesn't have much knowledge with regards to American MNCs. I however, am in the fortunate position to be involved in hiring accountants into one.

All in all, in terms of professional recognition on the other side of the Atlantic, you are talking rubbish.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 6 2010, 06:56 PM

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:29 PM