Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL

hlyh1230
post Jun 8 2014, 09:23 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ May 27 2014, 03:06 AM)
hi guys, I've a question how should I mentioned in my CV / resume if I am still waiting for the final year's result. In my current CV, I stated as below:

GPA: 3.5 (second year), awaiting for final year's result
Honors: Awaiting for final year's result

is it looks non sense? but I think it is better than I just leave it blank. What can I write in my CV / resume if I am still waiting for the final result?
u just put yr current pointer result.
while for the hons. , just dont mention it.

yr pointer will say it for you.
hlyh1230
post Jun 8 2014, 09:37 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ May 19 2014, 04:18 PM)
Hi, any sample of CV and resume?

I only have ones from jobstreet, not sure if its format widely accepted or i just need to follow 1 general format.. Is there such thing called "general format-resume"?
resume is just like a namecard.

you dun have specific format in order to introduce yrself.

generally, u have to make sure yr resume reflects yr skills best.

so as long as the contents are well arranged, with emphasizing keywords, u will attract the eyes of the interviewer~~

go google for multiple formats of resume; some of them are usable, but never decorate yr resume to be over-creative..
hlyh1230
post Jun 8 2014, 09:44 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(wokies @ Oct 4 2013, 10:07 PM)
finished reading 57 pages, done my resume, can someone help me...give a view about my resume, good or end up in trash bin?..haha
i could give you someadvice on yr resume~
hlyh1230
post Jun 8 2014, 10:02 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Apr 21 2014, 07:30 PM)
I have a few questions here..

Since graduated.. I have been working. Offered job with the similar line of industry that I was previously worked in. I have been getting these silent treatment after I send in my application.

Currently I am working in a not bad company, but the problem is that there's a high position person which is my close relative. The news actually spread like wild fire in the whole company and I seems to be given special treatment by everyone. I don't think I would want such environment where I am still new and able to take some bashing.

It's annoying when people would just mentioned your who and who is your who and who, the manager post is after yours.

I would like to know for Malaysian CV standard,
Is less more? I would like a very simple CV style, using point form instead of elaborated paragraphs. Max 2 pages, leave out irrelevant stuff.
No photo? Maybe it's a good thing for HR to screen who they want
No expected salary, I guess most company already have a standard salary range when they are hiring for freshie.

I seems to have done a lousy CV, out of 30 jobs I applied, maybe only 2 respond, and no further interviews.
i think, for any resume writing norms, its ALWAYS less is better.
here it means, u get to deliver yr skills in a compact way.
no bombastic jargon, just straight to the point~

no-photo rule is actually originated in US, where they have this policy to forbade the employers to have a biased selection towards employment.
so i'd say it depends on culture. in msia, i think most employers would still like to have a first look at candidates' face.
(unless u look like criminal,no offence bro~)

there are few things that most ppl put; where in actual these sections are just a waste of space.
1.objective-
generally speaking, all objectives lead to ultimate goal:hire me. so why waste few sentences just to point it out?
instead,write a summary, a summary of yr skills n yr strengths( i mean the honest strengths, not like standard keywords eg: team player,blablabla)

2.personal particulars-
only contact info is needed. who bothers about your religion,race,gender,IC no, age?
a contactable phone number plus email should already do well.

3.hobby-
actually i think its okay to include it;but only include hobbies that could indirectly relates u to the job or shows that you are suitable for the job. some ppl even wrote watching movies,music,etc.
Which brings you no advantage.

in short, write yr resume like an attractive namecard; bear in mind that a resume is not necessarily an application form.

always remember that.
hlyh1230
post Jun 9 2014, 02:48 AM

348 posts

QUOTE(heavensea @ Jun 9 2014, 02:21 AM)
thanks for the reply, do you mind if I ask 1 more question? What can I do if the online application for a job that required to attach the academic result (I guess I need to "scan" it with scanner, but I do not have scanner.. thus I just open the university's website and print screen all of my academic results)

I knew this sounds kind of silly, but would this work? (perhaps the HR would rejected my application immediately after they see those pictures..)
usually the online application will only recognize the following formats: doc,pdf
jpg,gif,tiff format i'm not so sure....

its best to attach doc or pdf, do u have transcript in those formats?
hlyh1230
post Sep 23 2014, 10:19 PM

348 posts

i can help to improve resume, jz PM me for details,thx yo~
hlyh1230
post Sep 23 2014, 10:23 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(cvee @ Sep 17 2014, 10:08 PM)
hello, do i need to include a passport photo on my resume? and why? lol
it depends on locational culture. bcoz in other countries(eg.:US), there is policy which governs the job discrimination by looks,ethnicity,bla bla bla..

that's y they usually dont recommend the use of photos in resume,unless the applicant applies job related to photography,fashion,etc..

in msia, it is our norm to have the look of applicants,perhaps they want the good first impression before they call candidates for interview..
hlyh1230
post Oct 11 2014, 11:41 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Rapidknight @ Sep 28 2014, 11:10 PM)
Hi, I was wondering where does tutoring go in a resume? Does it count as employment?
if it's on full-time basis, yea sure why not?
hlyh1230
post Oct 11 2014, 11:51 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(StArk @ Oct 8 2014, 07:41 PM)
Eventhough I read a lot of tips on how to write a good cover letter, its still difficult for me to truely understand how a good cover letter looks like.

Can anyone please gives me a good example of cover letter, of course it should be relevent to msia job application?
i think it's the particular content that u dont quite get it?

generally, a CL can only give so brief info of yrself, but in a series of attractive arrangement of sentences.

as usual, the sequence follows as shwon below:
1.education background
2.statement of keen interest for employment
3.previous work experience
4.strengths & achievements
5.statement of consideration for interview

the essence is important in CL. u cant really mention all yr best stuffs in a page of sentences. so some opt for flowery words/glorified achievements.
but i think most important point is how u show yr intention to get further opportunity of interview. keep it in one page lor.
since u hv seen many CLs, u shud get the gist on how to mimic yr CL at least. dun be afraid to copy first, u will gt yr satisfied version of yr CL once u amend fr yr very 1st version of copied CL.

gd luck yo~
hlyh1230
post Oct 18 2014, 07:33 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Oct 15 2014, 05:01 PM)
At the end of my resume, I wrote :

If you think that I am suitable, please do not hesitate to email me at xxx or contact me at 012-xxx. Thank you.

Does it sound arrogant? I have used it for the resume during internship with no problem. However, my friend saw it and said that it is arrogant to do so.
you might want to sound casual, looking at yr sentence there.

i agree with yr friend, it does give this impression to some of the viewers.

but this is the first time i see ppl put post script at the end of their resume. haah~

do bear in mind that internship does not reflect real-time job-seeking environment. it's different stage already.
hlyh1230
post Oct 22 2014, 05:34 AM

348 posts

i think it's perfectly okay to put it, as long as yr resume impress the recruiter =]
hlyh1230
post Feb 19 2015, 11:37 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(iskorotul @ Feb 17 2015, 11:48 PM)
what if my resume got address that is far away from the workplace that i have applied e.g applied kl but from terengganu, would that affect the possibility of me getting a reply call and making me go down the pecking order? any hr here?
there is possibility that employers might think twice before contacting you, but if u state in yr resume youre willing to relocate elsewhere, that shouldnt be a problem.
hlyh1230
post Mar 11 2017, 08:17 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Ken.B @ Feb 23 2017, 09:02 AM)
Dear all, appreciate your kind advise.

I'm in marketing for a manufacturer. I managed to increase my sales by 2-3% yoy only despite one of the key account has reduce their order drastically, which is something out of our control they are our ODM customer. Would it be wise to put everything in the resume? My intention is to show that although our key account reduce orders, I'm able to find new sales via sound marketing tactics & plan.
as long as you can showcase yr ability, include them in the resume. if you are asking whether putting everything in the resume is wise, I'd say put relevant information based on the job that you apply.
hlyh1230
post Mar 11 2017, 08:25 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(86Aries @ Feb 9 2017, 06:44 PM)
Hi all, I've been working in this company for 9 years and started from the bottom. When writing for resume, should I list down my job scope since the beginning? I've stopped doing some of the task for years (mostly ad hoc tasks), is it still necessary/relevant? Also should I mention my timeline...as in which year I got promoted?

One more, if i want to include my picture, can I just use the picture I took using my mobile?

Thank you for the feedback.
ya you could write it in your timeline.
if the picture is clear n looks professional enough, why not?
hlyh1230
post May 13 2017, 08:48 PM

348 posts

QUOTE(Financier @ Mar 15 2017, 11:04 AM)
Anyone care to review my CV? Thx. Will PM
I care, kindly pm me.

0.0461sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:09 PM