Cover Letters / Resume (CVs), One Stop For ALL

dreamer101
post Jun 20 2006, 08:48 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Jun 20 2006, 06:34 PM)
Got a question

If i know a particular technical skill because i play/use it at home but not at work, can i still list it in my resume?

For example at work i have no chance to set up DNS servers on Linux, but i have done it at home.
Yes. List it.. As long as you know how to do it. It does not matter where you learn it and do it.

Dreamer
Mavik
post Jun 23 2006, 02:34 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(socratesman @ Jun 20 2006, 06:34 PM)
Got a question

If i know a particular technical skill because i play/use it at home but not at work, can i still list it in my resume?

For example at work i have no chance to set up DNS servers on Linux, but i have done it at home.
Hey mate, it goes the same for almost any skill you might have. For example, in the recording industry, you have the skills to operate a video camera but not inside a studio. Or another example, as an engineering student, you know the circuits but you haven't worked in a factory before.

Most skills are obtained somewhere and it is the skills itself that counts, list them all out on the resume. flex.gif
jaswwp
post Jun 23 2006, 03:05 PM

Life is but a dream ~
3,782 posts

QUOTE(legolego @ Jun 10 2006, 03:27 PM)
Any resume sample that we can view?
Theres even some software that helps you generate resumes after you fill in your information. If not mistaken, jobs db or jobstreet(one of them, can't remember which) helps you to generate a resume too.
Mavik
post Jun 23 2006, 04:47 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Jun 23 2006, 03:05 PM)
Theres even some software that helps you generate resumes after you fill in your information. If not mistaken, jobs db or jobstreet(one of them, can't remember which) helps you to generate a resume too.
To be totally honest, why do you want a resume that looks like the thousand other resumes generated by the same software? shocking.gif

Where has all that creativity gone? rolleyes.gif
one.good.guy
post Jun 25 2006, 10:23 PM

Observer
856 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jun 23 2006, 04:47 PM)
To be totally honest, why do you want a resume that looks like the thousand other resumes generated by the same software?  shocking.gif

Where has all that creativity gone?  rolleyes.gif
down the drain!
Mavik
post Jun 26 2006, 02:32 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

Unfortunately that is the case nowadays. I think everyone should be willing to put in a little elbow grease to give their resumes a facelift.
bibi_dar
post Jul 7 2006, 11:33 AM

27 posts

So what are the basic steps starting with writing a resume, cover letter to mailing? Do we include copies of academic transcript inside the mail? certificates of achievements? Please be specific. Thanks! smile.gif
Mavik
post Jul 7 2006, 11:51 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(bibi_dar @ Jul 7 2006, 11:33 AM)
So what are the basic steps starting with writing a resume, cover letter to mailing? Do we include copies of academic transcript inside the mail? certificates of achievements? Please be specific. Thanks!  smile.gif
Usually when sending in your application you would only need your resume and cover letter. It is when you get the interview that they will ask for copies of your certificates.

But that may not be the case all the time. There are certain companies who require you to print a copy of scan a copy of your university results while sending in your application.

You want to know the basic steps in writing a great resume and cover letter? Start doing it yourself and do some self research. Don't come and ask someone to babyfeed you.

When you start taking your own initiative, that is when you learn and grow. After you've tried your first resume, you can come here and I can bet the forumers would be more than happy to provide their input.
bibi_dar
post Jul 7 2006, 02:07 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 7 2006, 11:51 AM)
Usually when sending in your application you would only need your resume and cover letter. It is when you get the interview that they will ask for copies of your certificates.

But that may not be the case all the time. There are certain companies who require you to print a copy of scan a copy of your university results while sending in your application.

You want to know the basic steps in writing a great resume and cover letter? Start doing it yourself and do some self research. Don't come and ask someone to babyfeed you.

When you start taking your own initiative, that is when you learn and grow. After you've tried your first resume, you can come here and I can bet the forumers would be more than happy to provide their input.
Maybe you have misunderstood me. I'm just confused on whether to include copies of academic results together with resume and cover letter in the mail. Also, do we send through e-mail or snail mail is more effective?
wadud
post Jul 7 2006, 03:07 PM

377 posts

what is a good format for resume and cover letter?
Mavik
post Jul 7 2006, 03:24 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(bibi_dar @ Jul 7 2006, 02:07 PM)
Maybe you have misunderstood me. I'm just confused on whether to include copies of academic results together with resume and cover letter in the mail. Also, do we send through e-mail or snail mail is more effective?
What are the requirements of the application you are applying for? Does the company require you to send in those details?

How about giving the HR department a call?

If you are unsure about sending an email, drop them a hard copy as well.
bibi_dar
post Jul 8 2006, 10:46 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jul 7 2006, 03:24 PM)
What are the requirements of the application you are applying for? Does the company require you to send in those details?

How about giving the HR department a call?

If you are unsure about sending an email, drop them a hard copy as well.
There are no advertised vacancies for the position as this is one of the Big 4 audit firms. They usually take in freshies during certain periods. In their websites, applying online is available. Not sure which method to use, maybe will try both.

This post has been edited by bibi_dar: Jul 8 2006, 10:47 AM
hans.excel
post Jul 18 2006, 03:38 PM

401 posts

what is a good format for resume and cover letter?[QUOTE]

try to google it. there is no universal format that suits everybody. choose the one format that represents you best.

This post has been edited by hans.excel: Jul 18 2006, 03:39 PM
jacky
post Jul 22 2006, 09:54 PM

Freak kiasu
1,271 posts

hi, can i ask that is it okay if I put my final year project and main assignments handled during college in the resume?
olman
post Jul 22 2006, 10:08 PM

1,998 posts

QUOTE(jacky @ Jul 22 2006, 09:54 PM)
hi, can i ask that is it okay if I put my final year project and main assignments handled during college in the resume?
Yes you should, thats about everything a freshie can show.
jenhuei
post Jul 27 2006, 03:02 PM

92 posts

good afternoon to all senior member. I m here to ask for some comment about my resume. hope someone can enlighten me.

thanx in advance. notworthy.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  sample.pdf ( 54.97k ) Number of downloads: 581
hans.excel
post Jul 28 2006, 02:21 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(jenhuei @ Jul 27 2006, 03:02 PM)
good afternoon to all senior member. I m here to ask for some comment about my resume. hope someone can enlighten me.

thanx in advance. notworthy.gif
IMHO, you should list down a few of your personal traits as the information that you provide only state your working skills and not very much your character.
jenhuei
post Aug 1 2006, 03:46 PM

92 posts

I was wondering does school assigment n project done using a specific programing technique count as hands on experience?

ie. Hands on experience in object oriented programing technique.

I was thinking of putting that in my resume while trying not to bullshit my way in.

thanx in advance
jenhuei
post Aug 1 2006, 03:53 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(hans.excel @ Jul 28 2006, 02:21 PM)
IMHO, you should list down a few of your personal traits as the information that you provide only state your working skills and not very much your character.
thanx for the comment.

by the way is it fine to include some personal traits such as independent, fast learner....without much prove?

coz I rarely join any clubs or societies.
hans.excel
post Aug 1 2006, 05:45 PM

401 posts

QUOTE(jenhuei @ Aug 1 2006, 03:53 PM)
thanx for the comment.

by the way is it fine to include some personal traits such as independent, fast learner....without much prove?

coz I rarely join any clubs or societies.
always state traits that you have examples to back-up during the interview. talk to somebody else 1st before writing it. there's no use of going for an interview that you can't even defend your own traits.

71 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:21 AM