BMW Owner's League v1

tishaban
post May 7 2010, 04:52 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 6 2010, 10:30 AM)
haha, i bought another vehicle, inline 6, but not bmw, lately no bmw out there can inspire me. too bad already bought the c200k when they released the 320d, damnnn!
KeV it's not too late to turn back from the dark side haha. I went to test drive the 320d and 325i, great cars but a bit on the expensive side. Still looking for a 4-door 330i somewhere.

tishaban
post May 8 2010, 12:26 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(KeV @ May 8 2010, 12:12 AM)
wacha, the rempit banging machine biggrin.gif
Nice XC90. I'll get one eventually although probably the D5 not the T6.

tishaban
post Aug 3 2010, 03:10 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Aug 3 2010, 02:56 PM)
i personally love the old e46 m3 more than the new e90...duno why laugh.gif  how about u guys? blush.gif
Before the 335 came out I agree with you, now I'd rather skip the whole M3 E46 or E90 and go for the 335

tishaban
post Aug 5 2010, 03:21 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Aug 5 2010, 12:13 PM)
driver of old bimmers, any preferable petrol station?

i heard people say Petronas petrol drain thru your tank like hell  sweat.gif
Personally I rank Petronas higher than Shell, and this coming from someone who worked for Shell for many years and used Shell for many years biggrin.gif

Note though I don't drive an old bimmer though.

tishaban
post Aug 10 2010, 11:05 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Aug 10 2010, 03:38 PM)
weird....... the AB guy said 320d top speed is lower than 320i sleep.gif" biar btol lol
sah salesguy trying to pull wool over your eyes. 320d top speed is higher than 320i. I have driven the E90 320i, 320d, 323i, 325i and 330i. The 320i, 320d and 325i were back to back, the 323i and 330i were loaner cars that I used for roughly a day each. The 320d acceleration is fantastic, even better than the 325i until you're beyond 150km/h. The 330i is even better but for the price, the 320d combination of torque and fuel consumption is hard to beat. Hard for me to imagine why people are still buying the 320i, Malaysian buyers are lemmings sometimes biggrin.gif

I'll introduce you to a better AB salesguy and we can go for a spin if you're serious. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tishaban: Aug 10 2010, 11:07 PM
tishaban
post Aug 11 2010, 12:58 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(chezzball @ Aug 10 2010, 11:59 PM)
323i vs 320d.. iDrive brows.gif
I've used the iDrive on the 323i, screen is smaller than the one on the 325i. The GPS is to be honest is not as good as the newer Garmins, POIs are there but the display is dated compared to the junction view/3D buildings on newer GPS now. I guess I don't miss it biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Sep 7 2010, 11:11 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Sep 6 2010, 02:30 PM)
oh izzit?? not advisable to get diesel huh? I tested a x5D yesterday and was tempted to trade in my e60..... torque was great... but as you said, high speed run abit disappointing..... car runs out of breath at about 180km/h....
I can understand why you'd get an inline-6 over a 320d but I don't understand why anyone would even consider a 320i over a 320d if driveability is your objective. The 4-pot in the 320i is painfully underpowered, the 320d is far more responsive in day to day use. Both are breathless at high speed but you get to 180km/h way faster on the 320d. Only comfort might a factor, the 320i comes in non M-Sport edition while the 320d is M-Sport only which can be hard on your ass.

I test drove all btw, including the 325i back to back, was most impressed with the 320d overall for its driveability.

tishaban
post Sep 7 2010, 12:29 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DrBarbarian @ Sep 7 2010, 11:27 AM)
the x5D I tested was a 3liter diesel.... it's way way more torquey compare to the 320D.....

I'm considering diesel for my next car.... smile.gif
Good job, exactly my point. I think most people who criticize the BMW diesels never even drive one.

btw guys do sign up for the BMW Innovation Days, you get to drive lots of fun cars really fast biggrin.gif

tishaban
post Sep 7 2010, 09:53 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ Sep 7 2010, 01:13 PM)
I still dont know how! I thought of just showing up there!  hmm.gif
There's a website form that you can fill up, I did that weeks ago but didn't hear anything. Google up BMW Innovatino Days to get the form and phone number. Or you might just call up the branch.

tishaban
post Sep 8 2010, 08:41 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Sep 8 2010, 05:06 PM)
The car costs you RM1k only?  Expensive??? shocking.gif
The guy said 1k, he didn't say RM 1k.

Also notice that it's left hand drive and it has km/h not mph in the speedo so it's in Europe most likely. It's an E36 (if I remember) based on the auto transmission gear stick so it's at least 11-12 years old.

So 1k euros while cheap by Malaysian standards is about right (UK prices I think around 500-1500 pounds?)

tishaban
post Sep 13 2010, 12:36 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(hansapkuay @ Sep 12 2010, 08:56 PM)
hi everyone.
im jus startin my career.
currently i had interest in m3.
roughly how much is road tax and insurance?
any possibility to downgrade the engine?
Don't be a typical Malaysian who can only afford the car but not the maintenance. If you can't afford it then don't buy it. Road tax and insurance are just one small part of the equation, think of the engine oil (RM600-800+ per 10k km change), tires (~RM6k every 20k km) and other stuff you have to pay.

tishaban
post Oct 4 2010, 08:35 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(r3kahsttub @ Oct 4 2010, 08:27 PM)
i personally don't own any beemers; but i'd like to someday have one to my name smile.gif

went for an innovation day session yesterday and thought i'd share some pics:
Nice pics, too bad you missed out on the 340hp BMW Z4 35is which some idiot crashed on Saturday...

tishaban
post Nov 26 2010, 09:23 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Nov 26 2010, 08:53 PM)
Nice, but why parking on yellow line?  Is it legal in UK to park like that?

Anyway, my car is showing 20000 km more to the next oil change while previous oil change was 10000 km ago.  Is the CBS trustworthy?  Or should I go do an oil change at least once a year (some people say advisable)?

Car runs fine, oil levels are fine etc, and I don't drive much so not too sure about this fancy algorithms.  But then again, I do agree with the system in allowing less service according to driving conditions, saves cost and the environment in the long run.

Any experience to share?
kelvin the onboard computer is reasonably reliable but sometimes a bit optimistic. I wouldn't go more than a year without an oil change. btw I suggest the BMW club forums, way more info there.

tishaban
post Apr 21 2011, 03:33 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(k-bkeat @ Apr 20 2011, 06:34 PM)
wat does skd means? i c SKD version bmw
SKD = semi knocked down
CKD = completely knocked down

SKD is supposedly assembled parts that are just screwed together in Malaysia
CKD would be unassembled parts that are assembled then screwed together in Malaysia

My layman knowledge of stuff biggrin.gif

Added on April 21, 2011, 3:38 pm
QUOTE(primuslim @ Apr 21 2011, 02:04 PM)
Hi Guys,

I've been recently looking to get a second hand / recond E60. When i was working in Australia, they have alot of useful car inspection services, where if you want to buy a car you can engage their services to inspect the car, take it out for some tests and they will give you a report with recommendations and the overall condition of the car including if needed any immediate repairs that might be needed.

Very useful service. Unfortunately i have been trying to find this service in Malaysia but i can't find it. I guess what my questions is, I've found the particular BMW E60 model, and the dealer and owner (so far two potential sale) has agreed to let me take it out for diagnostic or testing. What is the best place i can bring in the Kuala Lumpur region / Selangor region to check up / inspect the vehicle, prefably experienced in BMW and can let me know the general condition and wear and tear.

I've done some searching on the bmw forums and this forums but so far ppl have recommended workshops for servicing, haven't found any for inspection.

Your help would be greatly appreciated guys
Best to still talk to the owners in the BMW forums. 2nd hand local units are easier since you can (usually) get complete service history which on newer models like the E60 is stored on the key fob. This includes actual mileage and not the one you see on the odometer which could've been tampered.

The authorized service centers (AB, Quill, etc) can check the car and recommend parts that need to be changed. This does include stuff like alignment but I don't think they go to the level of checking emissions for example. You could probably pay them to check for stuff like engine sludge as well although I'm not sure the owner would like what he sees biggrin.gif

Good luck

This post has been edited by tishaban: Apr 21 2011, 03:38 PM
tishaban
post Jul 9 2011, 10:24 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 9 2011, 09:27 PM)
So in terms of save fuel, N52 vs M54 which one is better?
I don't get it, you plan to buy a 3.0l engine and you want to save fuel? Unfortunately 3.0l engine with big heavy BMWs will mean expensive fuel bills no matter what biggrin.gif

Also don't forget that the M54 is an older engine so again you're automatically looking at higher maintenance (although not necessarily higher cost).
tishaban
post Jul 13 2011, 10:16 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(kelvinlym @ Jul 13 2011, 04:23 AM)
Even though it's just for track use and not registered for road use?
If you have a racing license and the car is purely for track use you technically don't have to pay for taxes. However I believe this applies only for teams and not individuals and I strongly suggest you contact MAM for more info

http://www.mam.org.my/dutytax.php

Added on July 13, 2011, 10:16 am
QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jul 13 2011, 07:10 AM)
why would u want it to be track use car bro?
Track use car is exempt from duty. Ever drove a BMW E90 on the track? It's fun although I'd probably bring in a Lotus for track use biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tishaban: Jul 13 2011, 10:16 AM
tishaban
post Jul 13 2011, 10:29 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jul 13 2011, 10:22 AM)
you wanna bring me in for an experience on the track? in your lovely car?  laugh.gif
Wakakaka I didn't drive my car in Sepang, used the dealer's 325 and it was fun. I suggest you go lurk in the BMW forums, there's a good possibility you'll hear about the next track day although my guess is the next one will be sometime later in 2011.

tishaban
post Jul 13 2011, 01:39 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(DaBestOne @ Jul 13 2011, 01:03 PM)
and for that i need to pay few k for the experience? haha
Nope, all free, part of the BMW marketing experience. You don't have to be a BMW owner either. All you have to do is keep an eye open for the events and sign up. I didn't have to pay a single sen to drive the car several laps around Sepang.

I think in the past 12 months alone there were the BMW Innovation Days, Driving Dynamics Weekend, the BMW ConnectedDrive event, some ZF technical sessions and several track days. Most are in Klang Valley although some are in other parts of the country. A 2-hour drive to Melaka to blast around Batu Berendam Melaka airport in a BMW? Why not biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by tishaban: Jul 13 2011, 01:44 PM
tishaban
post Jul 26 2011, 10:16 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(mark001 @ Jul 26 2011, 06:21 PM)
What I meant is continuous repairs. Like electronics parts for the e46
Hard to generalize. I think it's fair to say that a well maintained car is what you should be looking for but an E46 is going to be at least 7+ years old and mechanical and electrical parts are going to fail eventually.

tishaban
post Aug 29 2011, 05:40 PM

3,615 posts

So again from what I read everything will be turbocharged with the F30 3-series from the start.

320i = inline-4 turbo, 184hp/270Nm, 0-100 in 7.4 seconds
328i = inline-4 turbo at higher tune 245hp/350Nm, 0-100 in ~6 seconds
335i = inline-6 turbo 300hp/400Nm 0-100 in ~5 seconds

There will probably no longer be a 323i or 330i. The higher end will be turbo V8 and the lower end below the 320i like the 316i and 318i will be turbo inline-3 (Kancil's cousin? biggrin.gif )

The F10 5-series will probably follow very quickly, abandoning the non-turbo inline-6 for turbo inline-4 engines.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_N20

This post has been edited by tishaban: Aug 29 2011, 05:47 PM

0.0569sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:20 AM