BMW Owner's League v1

taitianhin
post Sep 20 2013, 04:52 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,521 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 23 2013, 07:18 AM)
1 series is ugly for me. I am in Australia so 1 series is so common like Proton in Malaysia tongue.gif

Not sure what will be the pricing in Malaysia but BMW just slashed the price so that they can compete with MB A class. 135M just dropped to $65k to pull customer from buying A250
NOt hard to check on 1 Series price...

http://www.bmw.com.my/com/en/general/downl...elpricelist.pdf

The All New BMW 1 Series
125i Sport CBU Hatch RM 238,800.00
125i M Sport CBU Hatch RM 253,800.00

still sell as luxury cars
taitianhin
post Sep 22 2013, 01:57 AM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Sep 20 2013, 08:00 PM)
err, you should know the post was 1 month ago where the price wasn't released yet

anyway, that price is slightly higher than A250 which kinda disappointing
well, found the price 2 weeks ago. n i found jap car is way cheaper...
darn our tax high like crazy
taitianhin
post Mar 24 2014, 03:35 PM

1,521 posts

not much happening here.
Anyone know where can i trade for E90 Rim?
taitianhin
post Sep 2 2014, 03:41 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 2 2014, 05:55 PM)
Totally lovely bro! And best of all you got it in Manual! Awesome
does the full manual only come in M series?
taitianhin
post Sep 3 2014, 04:45 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Sep 3 2014, 04:11 PM)
I just got back from site after 3 weeks and went for a drive before washing it down.

Gave it a solid drive to get the oil heated up and flowing. I am still waiting for the carbon pieces to arrive from my dealer (which is incidentally owned by Sime Darby Berhad tongue.gif)
It's a nice car, the only flaw being the very weird feeling steering. It takes getting used to, even if I have driven EPS cars before.

I hopped in my Evo X right after I drove the M235 and found the traditional power steering to be much more natural.
Depends on what the dealers brings in. The nearly all BMW coupes here have manual as an NCO (No Cost Option). But of course it is going the way of the dinosaur, so I grabbed one when I could.
YO...thanks for the update!!!

What is the cheapest manual type we could get now?
taitianhin
post Sep 10 2014, 07:13 PM

1,521 posts

Engine is so nicely style when it is clean. Any idea how much it cost to do that?
how about DIY? anything to use to clean to this state? smile.gif
taitianhin
post Sep 11 2014, 02:21 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Sep 11 2014, 10:01 AM)
You can easily bring it to a detailing center to do it. If you are based in Klang Valley, search on Facebook for this guy (Albert) called Pro Detailers. See his Facebook feed on how he has cleaned up recently the engine bay of the RS5.
Seems impressive....hehe..havnt really done any detailing b4..
have u done any? what does it cost for you ?
Paint correction, Flattening, r so unfamiliar to me..... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Sep 11 2014, 02:33 PM
taitianhin
post Sep 24 2014, 07:11 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Sep 24 2014, 04:02 PM)
guys, need some advice here
my friend own a bmw e60 525i. Normally he sent his car to a workshop, and recently find them charging him too much. And he ask me to find out if the price is reasonable or not.

Hope sifus here can advice the price is ok, or not? and if possible, recommend a shop nearby klang area, or klang valley.
many thanks in advance
he charge labor twice? BMW bumbung runtuh? what happen to the car b4?
taitianhin
post Sep 25 2014, 08:33 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Sep 25 2014, 01:29 PM)
alright..thanks alot guys !!!

anymore recommendation of good trusty workshops in klang valley (nearby klang)?
I did a few service at Hong Lap at Puchong. opposite Tesco. Servicing charge is ok, oil charge is nice. just sometimes u will find the spare part is a bit expensive. U got to do a few survey
taitianhin
post May 25 2015, 02:37 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(jd4eva @ May 25 2015, 01:31 PM)
all sifus, I just got myself a 2nd E60, my engine bay come out white smoke and smell like burnt oil. google and found it was valve cover gasket problem. any E60 owner have this problem? on top of that, my left parking light also found failure. may I know what is the reasonable price to fix all these? pls share reference price and workshop.

Thanks in advance
Valve cover gasket? If you mean the rubber that seal the engine cover, then yes
This rubber only has original, and it cost me RM500 excluding wokmanship for E90. I found a decent workshop for cars including my E90, i find the price reasonable too, is puchong Hong Lap

Parking light i has no Idea..

This post has been edited by taitianhin: May 25 2015, 02:37 PM
taitianhin
post May 25 2015, 04:48 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(jd4eva @ May 25 2015, 02:53 PM)
Thanks for your reply. I found one workshop quote me

1) VCG - RM 250 include workmanship
2) engine oil - RM 220 full syn
3) front parking light - depends on model.
Eurika Autocare Sdn BhdDirections
Auto Repair Shop · 3.8 km
Address: No. 9, Jalan Anggerik Vanilla P 31/P, Kota Kemuning, Shah Alam, 40460, Shah Alam, Selangor, 40460, Malaysia
Phone:+60 3-5121 1812
Thanks for the info, please let me know how much he change the light for you too
1) Original VCG?
2)I usually change my engine oil every 5000, KM , how a bout u?
taitianhin
post Aug 6 2015, 05:53 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(DanielKLProperty @ Aug 5 2015, 07:15 PM)
I check with AB Glenmarie when they are having a roadshow in BSC. They said either September or October.
I hope I got enuff $$$ to burn, which I dont foresee anytime soon sad.gif
taitianhin
post Aug 7 2015, 03:47 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(SKYjack @ Aug 6 2015, 10:44 PM)
Power is the same as both are 2.2 L. E90 will accelerate a little faster cos of lighter body. I had the E39 2.2L engine. Maintenance will be high on a used BMW. You must set aside $20K on top of sale price, if you want your Bimer to run like one!

IMO for that kind of money you are better of with a brand new 408 or Jetta. These cars come with 5year warranty. If you do the math, at the end of  5 years the Bimer would have cost a lot more, cos of yearly high maintenance. Whilst you don't spend a cent on spares with these new cars cos of 5 year warranty.

Another very big factor is performance and driving dynamics. Both these cars, although smaller engines, will blow away the Bimers, due to their high tech engines. Their turbo engines produce more power, full torque at low end which will smoke the Bimers on acceleration.

Sports tune suspension and steering feedback on the Pug is at another level, you feel like driving a sports car. Even the F30 steering feedback is not as good as the Pugs! The Jetta's steering is slighter lighter and a bit of body roll,but certainly a whole lot better than Bimers. E90 has very poor steering feedback! 

In the end, you have a fantastic ride with lower maintenance. In 5 years definitely not a hole in your pocket! Just my 2cents worth. Happy hunting!
But the both are not BMW...
taitianhin
post Sep 17 2015, 05:11 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Sep 14 2015, 05:44 PM)
What to look out when test driving a Used E39 5 Series? How's the maintenance cost like? Interested in getting my self a Manual E39.
Budget RM500 for every month for beemer maintenance
taitianhin
post Dec 31 2015, 05:28 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 29 2015, 09:15 AM)
Got my brand new, zero mileage F10 2 weeks ago. Sadly, a number of issues have cropped up:

1) Rear passenger door 'opened' slightly on its own while I was driving at 90kmph. All doors were closed properly prior to that.
2) Car jerked at traffic light stop and engine died on me
3) RPM digital display meter stopped working but was ok after restart
4) While in comfort mode, gear shifts from 1-4 jerky / not smooth
5) Need to stomp on the brakes to get desired stopping power
6) Front suspension has a 'hollow' sound when going over harder bumps.
7) A lot of brake dust on front rims
8) Driver side wiper blade is noisy / squeaky

BMW took in my car yesterday for a complete check. Got a 3 Series as a replacement. Surely not a good start to my BMW ownership.  mad.gif
3 Series as spare for your usage?

But..darm...wat with the loaded defect?
taitianhin
post Apr 26 2016, 05:55 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Apr 26 2016, 11:08 AM)
that's no problem.

What about cooling system/gearbox? Vanos issues?  hmm.gif
RM500 is backup for any future repair
Example cooling coil change, cost RM1500-2k
Air-con Compressor, RM2k-RM2.5

so u can figure it out...
taitianhin
post Jan 9 2017, 06:25 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Dec 30 2016, 01:43 AM)
Thanks man. You know how much is the average annual maintenance costs for common repairs/maintenance?
RM3K->8K maybe
RM150 for oil chg 6 times a year...= 900
RM2000 repair 3 times....so another 6-7K for repair and spare part budget

I guess sound fair

This post has been edited by taitianhin: Jan 9 2017, 06:27 PM
taitianhin
post Jan 19 2017, 05:23 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 25 2016, 05:19 PM)
You wan save cost, join FB BMW sellers of Half-cut replacement groups
You hav any recommendation group?
Thanks in advance
taitianhin
post May 11 2017, 05:38 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 10 2017, 11:45 PM)
I am planning to get a 2010/2011 E90 320D idrive. Is it worth it at rm90-80k?

My current ride is 2011 Peugeot 308thp... I am hoping that gives me the experience/expectation from continental car... service, repair cost, resale value etc. Should I be ready for any unexpected-unpleasant-worse experience if I get a used E90 320D?

Any owner can give more advice? 

* please dont be hard on me and shoot me... "if worry about money, then you not ready for bmw" or "just get a new one if you worry" because yeah, I can't afford the new one unfortunately sad.gif
How much is ur maintenance now?

Budget for a Rm500/mth(excluding normal maintenance) to avoid shocking repair cost... The rest is fine...
example. AC compressor replacement could be ard 1.6K to 2.2K
Old car legging must be change too, ard 1.2K for a pair..mayb

This post has been edited by taitianhin: May 11 2017, 05:38 PM
taitianhin
post May 16 2017, 05:18 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(clivengu @ May 11 2017, 06:31 PM)
Thanks for the budget guide... I'll say my current car maintenance.. probably about rm4k-5k per year. This year maybe will be a bit more because i just spend rm3.5k for top overhaul the engine... Other time.. rm500-rm1000 for random items. AC compressor changed during warranty period costing rm 3k+, seems like BMW compressor still cheaper? hmm.gif

May I know what is the biggest amount of repair/replacement that one can expect from the car? Timing chain broken?
For old car, water tank leakage, Engine oil leakage. each try and error fix on small component could cost from RM500->RM1500

Anyway, please budget more for run flat tyre, which is ard RM800-RM1000...well you can always go for conventional tyre

0.0550sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:42 AM