BMW Owner's League v1

dannytzh
post Jun 28 2021, 09:01 PM

Do no evil.
818 posts

Hi Bimmer sifus,

EDITED: Decided with 535i. I've just realised 328i GT in Malaysia doesn't have sunroof.

I need help to choose between 5 series and 3 series GT.

Due to budget constraints, I have come to the conclusion that to meet my personal requirements from a BMW ride that I will enjoy,
- sunroof
- ambient lighting
- can fit a bike
- digital driver screen

My shortlist is:
1. 535i GT G07 (2010-2013) N55 engine
2. 328i GT F34 (2014-2016) N20 engine

The years are based on the ones listed in Carlist.
On the 5
Pros
- (BIG+) Sunroof
- (BIG+) Electronic parking break
- (Small+) Based on 7-series chasis and nicer interior trims (it attracted 7-series users to downgrade to it in the US at that time, according to US MD)
- Elec adjusted back seats+screens
Cons
- (BIG-) 3.0 @ 8.9l/100km (I guess probably still bearable based on my driving style - I seldom rev)
- (Small-) Older means potentially more maintenance required sooner.
- Less driving related features e.g. cruise control but no brake
- Dated infotainment system, but as long as got BT I'm generally ok

On the 3
Pros
- (BIG+) 2.0 @ 6.7L/100kM
- (BIG+) Newer front styling and improve aerodynamics with the active spoiler
- Newer model so likely less maintenance required
- Newer infotainment system (but still no Apple Carplay/Android Auto)
Cons
- (BIG-) Manual parking break
- (Small-) generally 10-15K more expensive
- It's a 3 series

Really struggling to decide. Help please? Any owner please feel free to chip in on anything that I may need to be aware of with this decision.
TQ! smile.gif

This post has been edited by dannytzh: Jun 28 2021, 11:11 PM
jason18689
post Jun 28 2021, 09:18 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(dannytzh @ Jun 28 2021, 09:01 PM)
Hi Bimmer sifus,

Due to budget constraints, I have come to the conclusion that to meet my personal requirements from a BMW ride that I will enjoy,
- sunroof
- ambient lighting
- can fit a bike
- digital driver screen

My shortlist is:

On the 5
Pros
- (Small+) Elec adjusted back seats+screens
- (Small+) Based on 7-series chasis and nicer interior trims (it attracted 7-series users to downgrade to it in the US at that time, according to US MD)
- I THINK quieter cabin
Cons
- (BIG-) 3.0 @ 8.9l/100km (I guess probably still bearable based on my driving style - I seldom rev)

On the 3
Pros
Cons
- It's a 3 series

Really struggling to decide. Help please? Any owner please feel free to chip in on anything that I may need to be aware of with this decision.
TQ!  smile.gif
Based on your wording {ride that I will enjoy} the 3 lo…
The agility and power.. not forgetting to say it’s comfort.

The 5, the back passenger will be very happy. Sat before, the angle of the seat is pure bliss.

HalseyFrangipane
post Jul 2 2021, 08:18 PM

503 posts

Hi Bimmer sifus,

EDITED: Decided with 535i. I've just realised 328i GT in Malaysia doesn't have sunroof.

- sunroof
- ambient lighting
- can fit a bike
- digital driver screen

My shortlist is:

On the 5
Pros
- (BIG+) Sunroof
Cons

On the 3
Pros
Cons
- It's a 3 series

TQ!  smile.gif
Why the GT though? Maybe it's individual's preferences but the GT is really ugly.
jimmyteng18
post Jul 27 2021, 01:05 PM

669 posts

Hi sifus,

I'm planning to buy either E90 323i or 325i year 2009 to 2012. Is this worth buying since car more than 10 years.
ZzZzz...
post Jul 29 2021, 09:30 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,782 posts

do you guys break in your new car as per manual book?

ktek
post Jul 29 2021, 09:32 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jul 27 2021, 01:05 PM)
Hi sifus,
I'm planning to buy either E90 323i or 325i year 2009 to 2012. Is this worth buying since car more than 10 years.
sit how many person
ktek
post Jul 29 2021, 09:33 AM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Jul 29 2021, 09:30 AM)
do you guys break in your new car as per manual book?
basic thing to follow, drive slowly while get familiar + run in tyre & brake <<<< more important than enjin
jimmyteng18
post Jul 29 2021, 09:09 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jul 29 2021, 09:32 AM)
sit how many person
most of the time, me, driver only.
Weekends, short trip for jalan-jalan, max 3 person.
Anyway, can drive long distance at this moment.
jimmyteng18
post Jul 29 2021, 09:11 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Jul 29 2021, 09:09 PM)
most of the time, me, driver only.
Weekends, short trip for jalan-jalan, max 3 person.
Anyway, can drive long distance at this moment.
Sorry typo. I mean, anyway, can't drive long distance at this moment.

Brotherjoe
post Jul 30 2021, 10:06 AM

2,215 posts

Hi Bimmer sifus,

- sunroof
- ambient lighting
- can fit a bike
- digital driver screen

My shortlist is:

On the 5
Pros
- (BIG+) Sunroof
Cons

On the 3
Pros
Cons
- It's a 3 series

TQ!  smile.gif
I read a lot of complains on the N series engine and it has a flaw to it. My suggestion avoid this engine if possible. Go for the newer B series engine
jimmyteng18
post Aug 6 2021, 06:41 PM

669 posts

Hi sifus,
Really need sifus advise here.

HalseyFrangipane
post Aug 12 2021, 02:09 AM

503 posts

QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ Aug 6 2021, 06:41 PM)
Hi sifus,
Really need sifus advise here.

You'll get more traffic and feedback by asking in the main F&F forum than here tbh.
fish_hoo
post Aug 13 2021, 07:34 AM

158 posts

Helo sifus, need advice please
I’m considering 2010 Z4 23i with 60K mileage. Any problem should I aware of? Is the roof has any common issue? Is the N52 problem prone?

This post has been edited by fish_hoo: Aug 13 2021, 07:35 AM
zeng
post Aug 13 2021, 08:41 AM

1,810 posts

QUOTE(fish_hoo @ Aug 13 2021, 07:34 AM)
Helo sifus, need advice please
I’m considering 2010 Z4 23i with 60K mileage. Any problem should I aware of? Is the roof has any common issue? Is the N52 problem prone?
What about checking here .
Hope it helps.
fish_hoo
post Aug 17 2021, 01:08 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Aug 13 2021, 08:41 AM)
What about checking here .
Hope  it helps.
Thanks bro.
quebix
post Oct 8 2021, 02:44 PM

Gelato Director
1,237 posts

Hi guys, know where i can buy the K+Dcan OBD2 cable?

Agent001
post Oct 13 2021, 10:26 AM

400 posts

Hi all

Can ask opinion, if my car has finished it’s 5 year warranty from BMW, is it advisable to continue servicing at the BMW service centre, or to find independent workshop outside to do?

Thank you.
ktek
post Oct 13 2021, 12:30 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(Agent001 @ Oct 13 2021, 10:26 AM)
Hi all

Can ask opinion, if my car has finished it’s 5 year warranty from BMW, is it advisable to continue servicing at the BMW service centre, or to find independent workshop outside to do?

Thank you.
do u serve eat drinks at longue. on duty staff carry u to work place. if good why not.
Agent001
post Oct 13 2021, 12:52 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Oct 13 2021, 12:30 PM)
do u serve eat drinks at longue. on duty staff carry u to work place. if good why not.
Mainly asking from the point of price and whether it is worth it. Frequently heard that authorised service centres charge much more than independent workshops.

ktek
post Oct 13 2021, 08:22 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

QUOTE(Agent001 @ Oct 13 2021, 12:52 PM)
Mainly asking from the point of price and whether it is worth it. Frequently heard that authorised service centres charge much more than independent workshops.

value added fee. ppl feel worth thats why sc biz running well.
u dont need then nvm.

134 Pages « < 128 129 130 131 132 > » Top

0.0375sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:22 PM