124 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

RTS Starcraft 2 V3.0, Anticipated Launching Date July 27, 2010

Quazacolt
post May 5 2010, 02:51 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 5 2010, 02:05 PM)
Well,as people always say, Blizzard is awesome and everything they do is great.

The way Blizzard patch is already obsolete and terrible, as most companies have changed to different method of patching where the client compares the local files and the files on server. Then, download only the files needed so the the local files is the same as the server. Blizzard have so much resource and they cant do it. Worse, there is not even a cumulative patch for the first few patches for the Beta as you have to download patch 1 to 10 one by one.

If they are so great, why is the patching is so painful and slow?

Even RA3 Beta have cumulative patches for each patch released.

I couldnt find any thread that have patch 9 which is the huge patch. The small ones are still ok.
what evo already said, it downloads what it needs, and thats that. blizz just havent got to using one cumulative singular patch just to get v1's to say, v10 like they've ALWAYS done for diablo1-2, war1-3, WoW, sc1 for some reason and im sure they are prolly testing (oh, this is still the beta, right?)something out on the patching system. you'd think that it wouldnt raise questions to do something different (or in your viewpoint, obsolete and outright terrible) when they've already done what you have describe all the time for all their games.

and lets put it this way, not ALL of us are having painful and slow patching. i dont, for instance.

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(Gormaz @ May 5 2010, 02:29 PM)
Thing is, beta could actually be the good moment to test a new update tool too in my opinion smile.gif

Not at release when so many people will be trying to update their game all at the same time
oh wow someone actually understood whats the purpose of a beta test... shocking.gif

/jokes aside, yeah they are using really similiar tech thats been used for WoW, just a lil different as there arent cumulative patches yet, and/or smarter/faster/better patching compared to WoW

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:54 pm
QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 5 2010, 02:39 PM)
Wah .. so many complains about the beta, no complain abt the patch when u get the beta keys, last time complain whn u din get the beta keys ... haih!!  doh.gif
nvm we can play good enuf LOL

just enjoice our sc2 games

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: May 5 2010, 02:54 PM
MYNAMEISJASON
post May 5 2010, 03:02 PM

107 posts

They added the gigantic map editor + new maps which resulted in a larger patch, what so bad with letting it patch a little bit longer.
kianweic
post May 5 2010, 03:09 PM

Work hard, play hard.
3,809 posts

It's not the size but the speed of the download.

I gonna let the installer run again in an older PC and see what happens.

Then I gotta test it, hopefully the experience won't be as bad as on my new PC.
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 03:23 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 5 2010, 02:51 PM)
what evo already said, it downloads what it needs, and thats that. blizz just havent got to using one cumulative singular patch just to get v1's to say, v10 like they've ALWAYS done for diablo1-2, war1-3, WoW, sc1 for some reason and im sure they are prolly testing (oh, this is still the beta, right?)something out on the patching system. you'd think that it wouldnt raise questions to do something different (or in your viewpoint, obsolete and outright terrible) when they've already done what you have describe all the time for all their games.

and lets put it this way, not ALL of us are having painful and slow patching. i dont, for instance.

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:53 pm

oh wow someone actually understood whats the purpose of a beta test...  shocking.gif

/jokes aside, yeah they are using really similiar tech thats been used for WoW, just a lil different as there arent cumulative patches yet, and/or smarter/faster/better patching compared to WoW

Added on May 5, 2010, 2:54 pm

nvm we can play good enuf LOL

just enjoice our sc2 games
well i'm i'm having no problem with the current sc2 patches...
wut it does is that it download files into a hidden 'update' folder and tracks the files in it...
so u could manually download patches and dump them all inside that update folder to patch up by running the client...

QUOTE(MYNAMEISJASON @ May 5 2010, 03:02 PM)
They added the gigantic map editor + new maps which resulted in a larger patch, what so bad with letting it patch a little bit longer.
QUOTE(kianweic @ May 5 2010, 03:09 PM)

patch 9 is close to 500mb (based on the manual patch size)...
it took me around 20 minutes to patch up patch 9 (while raiding lol)...
so it depends on ur connection i guess...

This post has been edited by evofantasy: May 5 2010, 03:23 PM
XenoFr3ak
post May 5 2010, 03:31 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

Be patience laaa .. last time it took me 3 days to patch and download maps.
HaVoC
post May 5 2010, 03:38 PM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

Meh, I still can't get a map to work. Sad. The download would just stop without any error message.
TSfujkenasai
post May 5 2010, 03:38 PM

1,137 posts

Wow you all seem to have lots of problems downloading and patching the game ehh. I guess I am lucky that I do not have much problem.
omnimech
post May 5 2010, 03:55 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Ouch man. Its only 70 pounds in uk .. >_> ..
TSfujkenasai
post May 5 2010, 03:56 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(omnimech @ May 5 2010, 03:55 PM)
Ouch man. Its only 70 pounds in uk .. >_> ..
70 GBP is more expensive la.

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: May 5 2010, 03:59 PM
omnimech
post May 5 2010, 03:57 PM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Ouch man. Its only 70 pounds in uk .. >_> .. i.e. rm 350 .. sighz.
Cheesenium
post May 5 2010, 04:14 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ May 5 2010, 02:51 PM)

From what i see on the thread, there are quite a few who spent few days in patching the game which means the patching system isnt efficient for some people.I have even seen people using a 3.5MBps connection who also took like 2 hours to patch the Beta.

It's not doing what is Steam is currently doing now, Blizzard updater is downloading each individual patches and apply them one by one which is slow and inefficient. Steam does it all in one go like find whats different and download whats different to replace it. There are cases where my TF2 just have a corrupted texture, it just find an replace that texture without the need of reinstalling the whole thing. Does Blizzard Updater does anything like this?

Considering Blizzard's past reputation and how close is the game to release, this isnt forgivable at all. Seems like the same DoW2 1.0 incident gonna happen again.

I cant be spending days to patch the damn game everytime i install the game.

Exactly. The size has nothing to do with it.

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 5 2010, 03:23 PM)
wut it does is that it download files into a hidden 'update' folder and tracks the files in it...
so u could manually download patches and dump them all inside that update folder to patch up by running the client...
It took me 2 hours for Patch 9,while the earlier patches are pretty fast.
XenoFr3ak
post May 5 2010, 04:35 PM

Bazooka Joe
1,393 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 5 2010, 04:14 PM)
2 hours is consider fast enuff, it took me 1 day for patch 9.
Cheesenium
post May 5 2010, 04:36 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 5 2010, 04:35 PM)
Could be better,IMO.

1 Day to patch a game is ridiculous.
TSfujkenasai
post May 5 2010, 04:38 PM

1,137 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ May 5 2010, 04:35 PM)
LoL yeah same I downloaded it before I went to office, for that patch.

But then again patch 9 is considered a huge patch, I wonder whats the size of it. Its almost like downloading the whole SC2 beta client, I guess.

This post has been edited by fujkenasai: May 5 2010, 04:39 PM
taeru
post May 5 2010, 04:40 PM

83 posts

anyone has an extra key? lol
evofantasy
post May 5 2010, 04:45 PM

Avadion of the Enders
2,690 posts

QUOTE(fujkenasai @ May 5 2010, 04:38 PM)
LoL yeah same I downloaded it before I went to office, for that patch.

But then again patch 9 is considered a huge patch, I wonder whats the size of it. Its almost like downloading the whole SC2 beta client, I guess.
almost 500mb...
there's a 470mb file within the patch 9 manual patch...
vis.vls
post May 5 2010, 05:10 PM

17 posts

ok i am able to dl the maps.. at last.. using VPN.. anyone wants to play?
Quazacolt
post May 5 2010, 05:10 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ May 5 2010, 03:23 PM)
exactly, i didnt have probs too.

hell, i didnt even manual patch, just let it run by itself while i play WoW at the same time while spamming on chat room (lol dual screen)
HaVoC
post May 5 2010, 05:12 PM

.:Steam Cutter:.
1,192 posts

QUOTE(vis.vls @ May 5 2010, 05:10 PM)
ok i am able to dl the maps.. at last.. using VPN..  anyone wants to play?
Dang, Can you help me? I'm facing the same problem!
Quazacolt
post May 5 2010, 05:13 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 5 2010, 04:14 PM)
From what i see on the thread, there are quite a few who spent few days in patching the game which means the patching system isnt efficient for some people.I have even seen people using a 3.5MBps connection who also took like 2 hours to patch the Beta.

It's not doing what is Steam is currently doing now, Blizzard updater is downloading each individual patches and apply them one by one which is slow and inefficient. Steam does it all in one go like find whats different and download whats different to replace it. There are cases where my TF2 just have a corrupted texture, it just find an replace that texture without the need of reinstalling the whole thing. Does Blizzard Updater does anything like this?

Considering Blizzard's past reputation and how close is the game to release, this isnt forgivable at all. Seems like the same DoW2 1.0 incident gonna happen again.

I cant be spending days to patch the damn game everytime i install the game.
Exactly. The size has nothing to do with it.
FFS theres a patch thats around/over 500MB which includes a map editor that wasnt included before along with new maps etc etc.

500MB is 500MB no matter how you slice it. if you choose to be ignorant and ride on blizz's lolreputation, just go ahead. we'd rather just play the game anyways.

124 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.4454sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:09 AM