Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

purple115
post Jan 29 2011, 12:08 PM

51 posts

hi all pet papa and mama here,
I have 2 miniature schnauzer teddy and piggy wub.gif which is 9 months and 4 months..i supposely have 3 dogs but (X'mas) kena stolen on september 2009..haiz.. sad.gif

For x'mas -I feed him Regas turkey puppy bites, then lamb and rice. in his 8-10 months age, i found out he got skin problem and vets recommend me to change his dog food. and i 've change to blackwood 3000 lamb and rice, result is so so..then he kena stolen edi=(

For teddy- a white male schnauzer, i feed him blackwood and NB from young, until i found out he had abit skin irration..and im lucky the petshop recommend me a super good dog food golden eagle, previously known as eagle pack! (Holistic Salmon and oatmeal)..after i feed my teddy 1 month, very good result i see..no more skin problem,and the poopoo and weewee not smelly already..and his body odor not so strong..im happy with this product and will continue all the time =) and also, now for my little princess piggy, she is now too young to have it so i put her on addiction salmon puppy=) she is now got serious skin problem, need all sifu's help also! what shampoo should i bath her? blink.gif

check out this website for more info: http://www.goldeneaglepetfoods.com/index.html

u can pm me, i let u know which petshop can get it.
I wish all the doggys always healthy ya=) icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by purple115: Jan 29 2011, 12:14 PM
purple115
post Jan 30 2011, 06:05 PM

51 posts

thanks for ur comment divas, ya all my schnauzer got skin problems..my fren recomment me to bath them with MCLEE's medicated shampoo..but currenty im bathing them with YU'S bubble bath..
any good comments?
purple115
post Apr 30 2011, 11:48 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(ReginaJune @ Mar 15 2011, 12:44 AM)
Hi, just bought a pack of Golden Eagle (Salmon with Oatmeal favor) 2.5 KG = RM 55 for my dog. Is this brand good for dog? if okay then i will stick with it if not then i will changed it.

And any sifu here care to recommend me a good dog food with reasonable price that i should go for? appreciate and thanks.
hi, golden eagle salmon and oat is the best dog food ever to my both schnauzer. u know schnauzer are very common on skin problems like mine, but after i gave them golden eagle for 2 month their skin and coat are extremely good! their poo poo also not so smelly already biggrin.gif where is ur location ya? just to recommend, i bought the golden eagle at bkt tinggi 2 pet shop( Petrails), 2.5kg is RM50.15 only smile.gif believe me, stick on this brand. thumbup.gif
purple115
post Sep 26 2011, 12:15 PM

51 posts

Any 1 heard of http://www.sportsmanspride.net/ ?
A petshop recomment me for breeder pack. Lamb and Rice. she said all her dogs done well with this dog food form USA.
don dare to try yet coz i scare it might upset my teddy's stomach.. tongue.gif my teddy was raise by http://www.goldeneaglepetfoods.com/index.html rclxms.gif which i think is a effortable and good food for ur kids. wub.gif

This post has been edited by purple115: Sep 26 2011, 12:19 PM
purple115
post Oct 6 2011, 12:34 PM

51 posts

Hi, Want to ask, Is milk powder for Infant 0-6months (human baby) suitable for puppy 5 weeks old? im feeding them goat milk now, quite costly and im thinking to swap to cow milk.

please advise.
purple115
post Oct 7 2011, 11:33 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(sedjet @ Oct 7 2011, 01:09 AM)
Just curious. Do pups still drink milk at five weeks? I thought pups cant have milk after they weaned from their mom due to some enzime they stop producing.
I feed them Bil Jac puppy soak with goatmilk. smile.gif ya the mother refuse to feed them also coz the puppies growing teeth, byting her haha.. laugh.gif
purple115
post Jun 12 2012, 02:18 PM

51 posts

hi, any one tried First Class Hypoallergenic Dog Kibbles?
I just bought 1 pack 2kg from Pet Family, turkey and rice for my 2 year old schnauzer to try it.

purple115
post Jan 3 2013, 10:08 AM

51 posts

Dear all Papa and Mama, need help for your opinion!! icon_question.gif
My 1.5 years old white schnauzer named Teddy,all the while been feeding him Natural Balance Lamb and rice, so far so good, his stool was firm and not really strong smell..and MY BAD!! after reading all feedback and I found out that the Orijen 6 fish quite good in comment! so I decide to change him to more 'Quality' kibbles. The first 4 days I slowly change his kibbles by

1st day- 70%(NB)+30%(ORIJEN)
2nd day- 70%(NB)+30%(ORIJEN)
3th day - 50% +50%
4th day - 50% +50%
5th Day - 100% (orijen)

1st to 4th day his poop is soft but not watery yet! until the 6th day morning I found teddy Vomiteed and diarrhea all over the floor shocking.gif
Today is the 9th day and teddy still the same diarrhea-ing.. cry.gif Just bring him to vets and the vets told me he had food poisoning cause his stomach infection..poor teddy.. rclxub.gif

Anyone of u guys experience this before?
1) Or most schnauzer will have sensitive stomach?
2) Orijen 6 fish too high protein maybe Teddy cant digest?
3) my schedule of convert kibbles is Wrong?

hope all professional here will help.
Thanks!!!
purple115
post Jan 3 2013, 05:22 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Jan 3 2013, 11:15 AM)

My vet advise me when changing different source of kibbles (ie lamb to fish or one brand to another), try to change his kibbles slowly. 2 weeks instead of a week. According to her, each dog is different. A bit like playing "ma masak" So start with

Day 1 - 80% (old), 20% (new)
Day 2 - 80% (old), 20% (new) - monitor the stool, if condition ok then proceed to reduce the intake of old
Day 3 - 70% (old), 30% (new)
Day 4 - 70% (old), 30% (new)
Based on what you wrote, he couldn't really digest day 4 & 5. So try to change day 4 & 5 to day 11 & 12?? Hopefully by introducing the food slowly it will be ok. Just a rough idea. Hope you Teddy will be fine soon. Do update us
jcloh86 thanks for ur advice! thumbup.gif will try on it..But today I just bought Natural Balance Vegetarian..hope can calm down his stomach with medication..I worry my baby so much this few days.. sweat.gif
purple115
post Jan 4 2013, 10:59 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jan 3 2013, 09:01 PM)
Weird, I've been feeding my pup with Orijen puppy large and he has been having soft stool since day 1, not sure if it's because of Orijen. hmm.gif

Wonder what other quality kibbles to try?
hi, just to share mine..my teddy goes very well with natural Balance Lamb and rice.
purple115
post Jan 4 2013, 11:27 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Jan 4 2013, 11:19 AM)
Hehe.. same with mine. Lexy was on Orijen for 2 months and never once she had nice firm stool. But once I change from Orijen to Acana, her stool was much better (not very firm but firmer than Orijen). Currently, she on TOTW and her stool is firm and less smelly.

Added on January 4, 2013, 11:20 am

Good.. It's always happy to see a pup loving her food.
what brand ya TOTW? hehe.. blush.gif
purple115
post Jan 4 2013, 03:23 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jan 4 2013, 02:54 PM)
Taste of the Wild can be bought from Pet Lovers Centre? Might want to give it a try. But since I bought the 13.5kg pack of Orijen, there's still a long way to go.

I wonder if it could help a bit by mixing Orijen with another lower protein food like from Natural Balance so that the amount of Orijen per meal is less? hmm.gif
yea..I also bought 13.5kg previously..still got big big pack..this few i gave my teddy natural Balance Vegetarian..got 10 small packs tester from my petshop..so far so good also lar..now I pening lor..donno wanna let him continue vegetarian or go back to lamb and rice.. hmm.gif
purple115
post Jan 8 2013, 11:42 AM

51 posts

UPDATED
My teddy had fully recovered from stomach infection with NB lamb and Rice..Swear to myself never ever simply chnage dog food already..tongue.gif

0.0339sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:16 PM