Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

michael9413
post Jun 9 2010, 12:01 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Jun 2 2010, 12:04 AM)
Guys my dog sheds  a lot still some part bold d.

he is currently eating orijen 6 fishes..

any idea to help curb this problem?
QUOTE(sherly @ Jun 2 2010, 08:05 PM)
guys, where can I find go! or now! in penang?

My toy poodle is still eating Natural Balance Sweet Potato & Fish, still having itchy body. What other dog food can I give her with around 25% crude protein? She just run around and play in apartment, not really active.
QUOTE(karwaidotnet @ Jun 3 2010, 11:35 AM)
actually how do we know if our pups is having a genuine problematic itchy body?

i mean its norm for them to scratch/lick their body right? please guide me... notworthy.gif
for all ur problem i think similar with mine, my pup have a lot of tangles and always scratch or bite her fur/hair a lot...
the problem actually is dry skin where they are lack of Omega as been told by my groomer... so i bought a bottle of Omega pills for her and she has been eating it for 3 weeks already now less tangle and seldom bite/scratch herself already... smile.gif
all u need is buy Omega supplement for them smile.gif
cheers...

Sherly,
u need to let him out more, cammy walk outside daily morning and evening sometimes weekend i bring her to the park where she can run a lot... but make sure u train them properly b4 u unleash them, coz they will not run away smile.gif cammy will come back to me and look for me if she did not see me in the park but different story when i release her to do business during morning and evening... she so use to the road already, she will roam herself and search for a place to do her business smile.gif
dogs prefer to has some big place to roam bring him to walks also helps as the more their exercise the better... smile.gif cheers...
michael9413
post Jun 9 2010, 02:03 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

some is not enough, i give Orijen 6 Fish mix with Artemis... enough??? no, she has dry skin problem also as the groomer tell me that is the symptom scratch a lot and bite their own fur/hair... as they could not absorb all of the nutrient in the food sometimes so i feed her the omega supplement b4 food smile.gif
2ndly redish skin is not good better bring to Vet and see how... cammy had ring-worm b4, at 1st we thought only itchy or sensitive but later it does not goes off even we bath her twice a week and keep her clean... later brought her to grooming and the groomer tell me it is ring-worm luckily not widely spread but ppl can have that also (my gf kena afew spot also)... better to bring them to Vet they will check for you...
lastly try to skip the lamb canned food and see sometimes it might cause by lamb, i heard from poodles owner some of them sensitive with certain food also

yea you need to wait for 4 months or after finish the 3 vacc but i did bring out my cammy a lot b4 she finish her vacc... so it depends on ppl lo, i even bring her to grass field also to run around smile.gif

for the training sometimes you need to be very strict during it, i beat and scold her thats y she scare of me more than my gf... but after the training of some teaching i'll play with her until she become "Xiao" already haha...

*later when i go back to Penang, i can look for you also smile.gif hopefully cammy will follow me back as my gf does not allow me to bring her to penang sad.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 9 2010, 02:07 PM
michael9413
post Jun 9 2010, 03:59 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

haha thats y u need to adjust accordingly not to over feed them la...
michael9413
post Jun 9 2010, 04:55 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

that is correct they will wallop anything u give if it is tasty... my cammy can eat 2 "Kai Yun" with carrot, potatoes and some rice at 1 go but after that she will be lazy and sleepy haha... he stomach is hard and solid smile.gif
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 08:47 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

throw eukanuba away, it is junk food la... royal canine as well, get Orijen instead... maybe ur puppy is bored with the puppy food already kua, try to change different food and see mostly they will wallop all the kibbles very fast for the 1st few time...
michael9413
post Jun 10 2010, 02:25 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(kamwengng @ Jun 10 2010, 10:05 AM)
my golden retriever puppy dont like orijen also. dont know what to feed him already...
QUOTE(sherly @ Jun 10 2010, 12:39 PM)
Which floor cleaner is safe for dogs? I have been using some kind of tablets given by pet shop. I drop 1 tablet into a bottle of water, it will bubble up and dilute. Then I spray it on floor to clean up, was told that it can remove urine smell.

Not sure if she is having hot spots, all I can see is there are some tiny spots which she scratched until it bleeded then dried up and I noticed she sheds a little, i found 1 tiny furball on the floor this morning. Checked her body, can't find any hairless spot yet.
The shampoo I used is hypoallergenic shampoo from Gold Medal Pets. Yesterday, I went to bought an oatmeal shampoo and bathe her, I think it made her feel better but still scratch her body, not as severe as before though.

michael9413, I bought her omega pills and started feeding her, will continue monitoring her with my fingers crossed. You are welcome to bring your dog to Penang to socialize.  smile.gif
haha but my gf house do not welcome her coz her mother don like pets coz she don want any furs inside the house smile.gif so i duno where to put her if i come to PG...

the tiny fur ball maybe is cause by tangle i remove a quite some numbers until now coz weekly sure there will be some tangle here and there lo especially like my cammy with long furs at legs...

for urine smell u can try to look for Biscal a good biscuit to make their waste not smelly... but u need to look around as these is very hot item where stocks will be clear very fast after they arrive... just feed then one or half biscuit daily their waste will be smelliness...
michael9413
post Jun 11 2010, 08:37 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

try Orijen and Arcana... if don have then Artemis, Innova or some others... try to look at this website, this will give you more idea how good is ur dog food...
CTY also don have Orijen hmmm maybe u need to search for alternative then... look thru the list 6 or 5 or 4 star then try to search for those smile.gif

*KW is it the one near Chung Ling Air Itam???

This post has been edited by michael9413: Jun 11 2010, 10:25 AM
michael9413
post Jun 11 2010, 01:36 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

not really click the link i given above you can read more about what is good and bad about their dog
michael9413
post Jun 11 2010, 02:37 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

actually it is the best not to give them any grain at all, because they are not eating any naturally... means no rice, corn, oats and others also... it is not true to say like this "if you tell they cannot eat too many of meats or protein", y??? coz they are Carnivorous, yes they are coz their intestine is very short so that is the solid prove for it...
michael9413
post Jun 15 2010, 10:32 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

bro samquah,

i don think that is good a lot of grain there... no that good food lo... look at the ingredient,
1 Chicken Meal
2 Ground Yellow Corn
3 Ground Brown Rice
4 Pork Meal
5 Corn Germ Meal (Dry Milled)
6 Dried Beet Pulp
7 Chicken Fat (Preserved with Natural Mixed Tocopherols and Citric Acid)
8 Anchovy & Sardine Meal
9 Brewers Dried Yeast
10 Wheat Germ Meal

at least 3 grain there and u got 2 grain at the top 3, does not sounds good...

bro genjo,
skip that those food in super market is not good for pet... try to get it in pet shop instead...
michael9413
post Nov 8 2010, 06:54 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

I 'an see the ingredient of addiction also not bad... feeding my babe orijen, acana, Artemis and go!natural...
if you read the website 'dog food analysis' then u know that grain is no good for dog... so skip those food that have grain in the top 10 of the ingredient list... corn is bad for dog... try to put any kinda meat in 'meal' for lower too... the ingredient list is rank for portion order, means the higher % portion will be top... try to read the label b4 u buy... that is what we did not do now, but pratice that in the future...

0.0432sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:49 PM