Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

mavericksam
post Aug 10 2011, 09:00 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 10 2011, 06:41 AM)
with you have rm 140. Try feeding raw. Feed them once a day.
2-3% of their weight. Golden is big dog, when you keep them you should understand they have big tummy. Unless it's a mix ( smaller side)
I spend about rm250-300/ month. Yours +- rm600?
good advice. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(drakulaed @ Aug 10 2011, 12:15 AM)
lol i spend about 120-140 a week. the vet recommended mixing alpo with eukanuba. i have 2 golden retrievers who needs to be fed 2 times a day leh...
with rm140 a week, you probably could buy 800g to 1.2kg of raw chick per dog per day. It's there abouts... Just curious to how much you are feeding your dog daily. RM70 per dog per week means you are feeding them about 30kg of kibbles per dog a week? That's about 4kg a day. Are you over feeding your dogs? or did you include misc into your costs (i.e. treats and all)
mavericksam
post Aug 10 2011, 11:42 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(MsiaqweR @ Aug 10 2011, 09:22 AM)
You mean feeding my dog raw chicken/beef meat just like tat? OK or not ohh????
Yes that's okay (to answer on behalf). Just that once in a while you've got to feed some "spare parts" to them too.

Bones are essential too (that's where the calcium comes from (unless you give them milk every other day)).

Depending on your dog, ratio can be 70% meat, 20% bones and 10% spare parts (heart, gizzard and etc). some goes 60,30,10 or 75,20,5. all depends on the dog.

you adjust accordingly and skins are alright too.

this is raw feeding and there are also barf feeding which includes fibre and vege... so depends on you again. i find raw fed dogs have better teeth and you don't even need to brush them (no maintenance needed)...
mavericksam
post Aug 10 2011, 02:57 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 10 2011, 02:33 PM)
I'm on Prey model. Read Barf Thread to learn more.
It's a healthier, cheaper and more natural approach ) for dogs and cats).

Daily meal is just 2-3% of their weight. If over than this percentage meaning you're over feeding.
Barf
I think 2 - 3% is just a guide. if your dog is a healthy and active dog, then 3% may not be enough. it all depends on each individual dog. you have to feel for their bones (literally) and look at their shape. If they are always hungry, it still does mean you are under feeding them. What i'd do is that i would increase their portion till they are full and am unable to finish it. decrease the amount only if you think they are overeating based on their size. There is an obesity chart for dogs i think. You can see how their shape determines if they are over weight or under weight.

0.0221sec    0.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:42 PM