Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

drakulaed
post Aug 9 2011, 06:47 PM

117 posts

I feed my dog alpo and now i pokai. Really expensive leh... Got cheaper options or not?
drakulaed
post Aug 10 2011, 12:15 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 9 2011, 07:17 PM)
As others have mentioned Alpo is already considered a cheap dog food. It's also fairly low quality, just got 1-star rating from http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com and http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com
lol i spend about 120-140 a week. the vet recommended mixing alpo with eukanuba. i have 2 golden retrievers who needs to be fed 2 times a day leh...
drakulaed
post Aug 10 2011, 02:04 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(mavericksam @ Aug 10 2011, 09:00 AM)
good advice.  rclxms.gif
with rm140 a week, you probably could buy 800g to 1.2kg of raw chick per dog per day. It's there abouts... Just curious to how much you are feeding your dog daily. RM70 per dog per week means you are feeding them about 30kg of kibbles per dog a week? That's about 4kg a day. Are you over feeding your dogs? or did you include misc into your costs (i.e. treats and all)
yea including treats and also other stuff like raw chicken etc... for Alpo, i just buy the 20kg bag once every 2 weeks, and somehow i must say they're heavy eaters. They eat 2 times a day (600g+ a day, 3:1 ratio of Alpo:Eukanuba)

Added on August 10, 2011, 2:07 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 10 2011, 11:45 AM)
Wow, that's a lot you're feeding them. Means about 1 big bag of Alpo per week?

Let's see, adult Golden Retriever is about 29-34kg in weight. I think they need about 350-450g of dry food per day each (assuming adult size). So that means 700-900g daily for both dogs, or about 21-27kg per month. If you buy the big bag Alpo at 20kg, then it's only like 1.25 bags per month.

Are you sure you're not overfeeding your goldens?
not overfeeding. they have good appetite and are good companions too. about 600g x 2 x 2 each day. My golden retrievers weight 36kg and 38kg respectively. it's the vet's recommendation la. smile.gif

Added on August 10, 2011, 2:09 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 10 2011, 11:45 AM)
Wow, that's a lot you're feeding them. Means about 1 big bag of Alpo per week?

Let's see, adult Golden Retriever is about 29-34kg in weight. I think they need about 350-450g of dry food per day each (assuming adult size). So that means 700-900g daily for both dogs, or about 21-27kg per month. If you buy the big bag Alpo at 20kg, then it's only like 1.25 bags per month.

Are you sure you're not overfeeding your goldens?
or maybe i should stop feeding them that much and buy more human food. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by drakulaed: Aug 10 2011, 02:09 PM

0.0200sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:35 PM