Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

bchan28
post Jul 19 2010, 10:26 AM

375 posts

I just bought a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel last saturday. He is 2 and a half month cute little puppy. I am feeding him Nutriedge puppy mix with Go! Duck natural. Will it be fine for this little one to have the mix?

I am also feeding him the filtered water. Anyway how to stop him from crying at night, I scared my neighbour will complaint....

bchan28
post Jul 19 2010, 02:02 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(electron @ Jul 19 2010, 01:53 PM)
Azodyl cost about 160 for 60 capsules if i'm not mistaken. but it is not a pleasant experience feeding to a small dog.
imagine stuffing a human size capsule whole in to the mouth
if you are in penang, i can point you to where you can get it
alternatively, you can try low protein diets.
i know some go on hill's prescriptive food (A/D i think) which you need to get from vet normally.
vet will normally do test (blood/urine)  before prescribing these stuffs
the increased liver reading is probably due to medication

Added on July 19, 2010, 1:55 pm

nutriedge is ok, and it's popular too
in fact, any quality food is ok, as long as they are willing to eat it and able to process it (healthy stool, no allergy)
as for the crying, some puppy tend to do that
it'll eventually go away
btw, mind sharing where you got your CKC and the cost? looking for one
Hi there,

Thank you for the information. He is willing to eat and his stool is in good shape as well. I really hope his cry will not affect my neighbour. Pray hard. I bought this CKCS puppy from a home breeder and pay 2k for it.

bchan28
post Aug 11 2010, 11:36 AM

375 posts

Hi all,

Previously feeding my puppy with Nutriedge Puppy mix with Now! Duck formula his stool is firm and hard. And now I change his fod to Now! Puppy Grain free with Addiction Raw Dehydrated food (Venison Canberry Dinner) and his stool become much more softer. I do believe this is normal since I change his kibbles. But anybody here try the Addiction Dehydrated Food before? Any comment?

bchan28
post Oct 4 2010, 10:27 AM

375 posts

Dear all,

I need help on how to make my puppy eat more, He is not eating much as I feed him 4 spoon of kibbles a day and he can't even finish half of the food by himself. I need to hand feed and force him to eat at night. He is a 5 month old puppy and I believe he is healhty as he is running, jumping up and down every time I am there. I am feeding him Now puppy food with a mixture of Addiction Raw dehydration Summer Brushtail food. Should I change kibbles or any one of you here can advise on the issue.

Please help as I am not sure what is wrong with the puppy or the food.

bchan28
post Oct 4 2010, 05:37 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Oct 4 2010, 04:14 PM)
Omega3 & 6 not listed, it's in the Salmon Oil .....
Price for 3KG?
One of my Dog also does not like kibbles, but will eat it if she is very hungry and got nothing else to eat.
The good point of this is that my dog will never gouge on any kibbles in her bowl.
The bad point is she will only eat a bare minimum to satisfy her stomach.
This ends up her sometimes a little under weight,.....
Feeding your pup plain yogurt (low fat, if the dog is not skinny) once every 2-3 days before their meals.
Start with 1 tablespoon, and observe the stool, if it is not solid reduce the yogurt by 1 teaspoon.
Also a treat of RM5 chicken breast(without bone) from the chicken rice shop once a week as long as the dog is not overweight..
Hi Mecharojak,

Thanks for the advise, I will try to feed him some plain yogurt and see how is his reaction. Hopefully he will eat more as I think he is skinny (but groomer from pet shop said he is looking good)...I prefer cute fatty puppy...

For the chicken breat (you mean the roast chicken breast from the chicken rice shop???) Can we feed cook food like that to the pup?

Anyway..thanks for the information. Appreciated.
bchan28
post Oct 4 2010, 11:28 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ Oct 4 2010, 09:56 PM)
First of all what breed is your dog?
Secondly i wouldn't worry too much. If he is still active and running around then he is eating enough. You would be surprised how little some dogs eat. I have one Toy Poodle boy (over 1year old) who eats around 20-30 kibble pieces a day. He has more energy than any of my other dogs and is the perfect weight.
Its a really bad idea to force or hand feed your dog as you will teach them that if they don't want to eat, they will get hand fed (think about it this way, would you rather feed yourself or be fed?). If you are worried that he isn't getting enough nutrition, pick up one of the supplement pastes (nutri-cal, nutri-gel, puppy paste etc.) and give him a pea sized blob every day (i do this for my toy dogs until they are 6-8months old anyway. 
Also it is not advisable to mix traditional kibble with BARF style diets (Raw dehydrated is basically BARF). I would stick with one or the other.

All in all, just don't panic, he will eat when he needs to. Unless there is something majorly wrong (health wise) a dog will never starve itself given the choice.

sorry, didn't see this bit.

If you have a dog such as a poodle, shih-tzu, maltese or something else with a longer coat that can be clipped into a teddy bear clip, allow your groomer to create the illusion of "cute fatty puppy" with their coat. Making your dog overweight (even just a little bit) for your own aesthetical pleasure is slightly cruel and financially inadvisable (due to the health issues related with obesity in dogs).
A dog that is groomed to look 'pudgy' is always cuter than a dog that is well padded (as long as he is groomed well by a groomer who knows what they are doing.

You can feed your dog cooked food if you wish (although i would make sure he is eating enough kibble first, feeding 'human food' will often make picky dogs even more picky. I would always recommend cooking the food yourself however to ensure you know exactly what is in it and how it was prepared. If you are interested in cooking for your dog (either as a staple diet or as an occasional treat) i can pm you a list of things to avioud as well as a list of things that are actually good for dogs.
Hi Divas,

Thank you very much for all the information. My boy is a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel puppy (5 month old). As you said its better to let the puppy to eat the food rather than hand feed him. And will get those supplement for him. I think its just me the one who worry too much about his food intake and I never know Addiction Raw Dehydrated is basically BARF food (he love the food so much).

For home cook food, I will still prefer kibbles in the moment as I dun normally cook at home. But I would like to said a million thanks to you for providing me those very useful information about my puppy problem.

Thank you

rclxms.gif
bchan28
post Oct 5 2010, 09:49 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(Divas @ Oct 4 2010, 11:35 PM)
Anytime. I know it is tough. I panic about my kids as soon if they skip a meal... but you just have to learn to be strong and ignore it. Remember, sometimes you don't feel like eating one meal, there isn't really anything wrong, just not so hungry that day... dogs are the same. Sometimes they will fast for a meal or 2.

Cavaliers are very awesome dogs. But definitely don't make him chubby, they are very ugly overweight sad.gif . A Cavalier won't be thin, they are quite stocky naturally so will still look cute if the right weight. Also as his fur grows out he will look fuller. One great trick (although it is too much for some people) is to let them stay in the AC a lot of the time... we actually went as far as to install an extra AC downstairs to keep my Goldens' coats full. They are still fine when they go for their walks (early morning and early evening) and look fantastic.
Start from now I have to learn to ignore him if he is not eating again as I don't want to make myself worst later hahahah....Anyway he is sleeping in the aircond room with me during night time but day time a fan is on all the time to cool him down. From here, I heard you are feeding Taste of the Wild kibbles to your pup, how is the feed back? I am thinking to switch my kibbles (Now! puppy formula) to TOTW.

Thanks ya biggrin.gif
bchan28
post Oct 5 2010, 12:21 PM

375 posts

[quote=Divas,Oct 5 2010, 12:02 PM]
Nope sorry. I'm feeding Canidae. Thinking about bringing in stock for ToTW and then i'll probably do a trial on it with one of my sensitive kids to see how things go. I would feel safe recommending it though, i have only heard positive things about it.

Hi Divas,

Thanks. I will start to mix Now kibble with TOTW soon and see what is his reaction. Hope he will have better appetite. Really nice to talk with you here. nod.gif

This post has been edited by bchan28: Oct 5 2010, 12:23 PM
bchan28
post Oct 21 2010, 11:45 AM

375 posts

Hi ya,

I have half pack (about 1kg +) of Now! puppy kibbles to give away (without original packing and expiry date on January 2011) My puppy is not eating it at all as he will leave the above kibbles in the bowl even I mix it with Can food.

Or any suggestion where I can donate the kibbles. The Now puppy is high quality grain free kibbles and I do not want to waste it.

bchan28
post Oct 22 2010, 09:30 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Oct 21 2010, 06:00 PM)
Thanks for the info.....

bchan28
post Oct 28 2010, 10:57 PM

375 posts

Hi all.

I got a question about plain natural yogurt feed to puppy. My boy love yogurt very much, he can eat it plain or even i mix some crush tablet (supplement) he still love it so much. I tried to mix the yogurt with kibbles and he eat everything (even the kibbles he dun eat before). But is that alright to feed your puppy the kibbles with yogurt all the time?

Thanks....
bchan28
post Oct 29 2010, 01:24 PM

375 posts

[quote=mecharojak,Oct 29 2010, 12:45 PM]
If you are feeding it everyday, you can reduce the amount given, as it is a high nutrient food.
Quote > "Yogurt contains calcium which is good for the bones of your dog. But overfeeding your dog with calcium supplements is known to cause bone abnormalities in dogs. The quantity of yogurt should be 1 tsp to 1tbsp depending on the size of your dog."
http://www.buzzle.com/articles/yogurt-for-dogs.html

Thanks for the information...I am feeding him 1 tsp of yogurt mix with dog kibbles in the morning and another tsp of yogurt mix with kibbles again in the evening. I am not sure 2 tsb of yogurt a day will be too much for my boy.
\ blink.gif
bchan28
post Oct 29 2010, 01:43 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(mecharojak @ Oct 29 2010, 01:34 PM)
2tsp/day to >5kg pup is OK, IMHO.
Thanks ya....He is 4kg something now...But should be alrite..

thumbup.gif

0.0408sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:50 AM