Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand
Xai-V-iaX
Aug 5 2012, 02:18 AM
Hi all....Just got myself a 1 1/2 month old Golden Retriever.....
Any advice on the recommended kibbles for the pup.
Am thinking of getting the Orijen LBP pack for my pup. Have had recommendations to try out NutriEdge Stage 1, Blackwood 2000, Nuaram Puppy, Golden Eagle Puppy, Pro Plan Puppy Lamb & Rice. Any comments?
Any hook-ups on places that I can get em' from at good pricing (Orijen LBP). The ones I've seen online were priced at RM295 for the 13.5KG pack.
Appreciate your help here....
Xai-V-iaX
Aug 5 2012, 02:53 PM
Got the Orijen LBP for RM265 at Pet Playground just now....
Xai-V-iaX
Aug 7 2012, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(kingchin @ Aug 7 2012, 01:26 PM) Is your pup a female? I have a 3 month old male GR. Can get them to socialise or maybe if you require stud services if it is a female we can arrange to let them meet in future.  GRs are really smart and adorable! Mine is a 1.5 months old MALE bro...but nevertheless I like the idea of socializing them....atleast to get CASPER (my pup) to be more enthusiastic....
Xai-V-iaX
Aug 27 2012, 08:59 AM
QUOTE(chowyeen @ Aug 25 2012, 11:22 AM) Dear all, I am planning to adopt a 2-year old golden retriever. Can anyone share with me what do you feed the dog? Kibbles? How much is the dog food cost per month? Thank you. I am feeding my 2 month old GR ORIJEN Large Breed Puppy... There's ORIJEN Adult as well --> maybe you can consider that tho' the price is towards the higher rank...
Xai-V-iaX
Sep 14 2012, 02:13 PM
QUOTE(pippa01 @ Sep 13 2012, 09:12 PM) I am currently using nutri-source and a freind recomended eukanuba. for further information about good dog food visit here : http://www.petfood.com/Eukanuba if I'm not mistaken falls under the 6-Star rated PREMIUM dog food category. A good choice indeed if you ask me
Xai-V-iaX
Sep 14 2012, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(xDingx @ Sep 14 2012, 05:29 PM) Are you sure Eukanuba is a PREMIUM dog food?? It is one of the worse kibble brands  You can see Here for some reviews on some Eukanuba dog food. Ooops....sorry....I was referring to EVO... My mistake
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 8 2012, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 5 2012, 03:01 PM) Anyone recommend TOTW? Is it good? Its one of the few 6-Star rated kibbles around BUT am not sure how easy it is to source.... Haven't bumped onto one thus far....
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 8 2012, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(CUGN @ Oct 8 2012, 10:00 AM) trying Natural Balance Limited Ingredients (Sweet Potato + Fish).. I've read that it's quite good.. http://www.dogfoodadvisor.com/dog-food-rev...ient-diets-dry/Am giving Natural Balance Grain-Free treats for my GR....he loves it to bit.... ....so I think their kibbles wouldn't be that bad either....
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 8 2012, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 10:46 AM) There is a shop in Tanjung Tokong, Penang selling TOTW. I've been feeding my pup Orijen but it didnt work well on her so I've switch to Acana and still not really working for her. Hence, wanted to find something else for her Cool....but I haven't seen one here in KL yet. Maybe its hidden somewhere  Which ORIJEN have you been feeding your pup?
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 8 2012, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 02:01 PM) Orijen for puppy. My pup is 5 month old. Was thinking of annamet but according to the shop assistant it's for adult dog. (can feed but don't recommend). She is recommending me Natural Balance. Well my pup is just 1 week away from being 4 months old and he is being fed with Orijen Large Breed Puppy and he absolutely LOVES it!!!!! It depends at times on the breed its being fed to. Some smaller breed might have issues with Orijen due to its 'claimed' high Protein level....
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 8 2012, 04:13 PM
QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 04:03 PM) Mine is a westie-poodle. She was on Orijen Puppy for 2 months and she was itching like crazy. The doctor says it's not allergic. Then I switch to Acana. Less scratching . Not too sure if it's due to the high protein level. Poo was smelly when she was eating Orijen. Acana - smells better (still smells like poo =D ) Awesome phrase above there mate....  Anyways, it may or may not be of the Protein level IMHO.... My pup has had itch like a few weeks after going into Orijen diet....one vet told me to change the food....another told me not to worry its just an bacterial infection and prescribed him with some medications - Now, he has no more itch issues....
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 8 2012, 05:32 PM
QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 04:47 PM) Been to the docs and she said that she doesn't wanna put her on medication for the itch yet. Since it's not too serious. So am monitoring.. haha.. Do you feed your pup supplements? What breed is your pup? Mine is a soon-to-be 4 months old Golden Retriever. Food (Kibbles): Orijen LBPFood (Other): Fresh fruits like Apples, Pears & Bananas (My GR goes bananas for bananas)  Treats: Natural Balance LIT Sweet Potato and Fish Formula Treats & Lakse Kronch Salmon TreatsSupplements: Tomlyn's Nutri-Stat, Sleeky Calcium Supplement, Nutri-Vet Hip & Joint Plus Level 1 Chewables & Synoquin Capsules (Prescribed by Vet)
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 9 2012, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(eelynsoon @ Oct 8 2012, 10:22 PM) Where to get it from? The pet shops here in klang don't seem to keep this formula.. i also saw some other formulas on their website which are not available here.. Eg : Synergy Added on October 8, 2012, 10:34 pmI tried Acana, Nurtisource and Orijen Large Breed Puppy for my GSD of 4.5 months old. He didn't seem to be doing good with all these 3. Acana was the best among all the three. With Nutrisource, BAD! Orijen - BAD! His stools r extremely loose. Kinda like having diarrhea. I do not know if its the protein content that is affecting it or due to some other reason? Acana & Orijen are from the same company. AFAIK the difference between the two are from their nutritional returns and some minor ingredients.... I could be wrong here nevertheless
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 10 2012, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(newprincess @ Oct 10 2012, 09:48 AM) I got a 4.5 months Shih Tzu, previously was fed with Origen Puppy Ya, the poo is terrible smelly and soft, hard to clean it, sometime it will stick at her fur as well, have to take bath every few days So far I just fed that for 2 weeks time, but her weight was grow almost 1kg I think the protein is too high for it, so I decided to change others brand.  I think it depends on the pup's genetics itself. I don't have issues with smelly or soft stool with Orijen LBP... I still think it depends on the breed and its genetics....it suits some and not others...
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 19 2012, 09:15 AM
QUOTE(aviso @ Oct 12 2012, 10:50 PM) Any brand of dog foods which is good for helping fur growing? My puppy was infected by impetigo and i can see some bald patches. And im worried the fur will not grow again. Thanks What breed is yours?
Xai-V-iaX
Oct 25 2012, 02:36 PM
Anyone knows who is the local distributor for Nature's Variety: INSTINCT line of products here in Malaysia?
Xai-V-iaX
Jan 5 2013, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Jan 4 2013, 11:54 AM) Mind sharing how much did the TOTW cost you? My pup is ORIJEN LBP currently...considering trying out EVO and TOTW....
Xai-V-iaX
Nov 7 2014, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(kelvin555 @ Nov 6 2014, 10:23 AM) mind to share if any other sifu here know where can I buy ORIJEN dog food in 13KGs with cheaper price? location better PJ / KL area.... big thkzz  My GR was on Orjien before. I used to get em' from Pet Playground at Ara Damansara. Also available at Summer Pet & Seapark Pet Supplies at SS2. Another option that's equal/on-par with Orijen will be Taste of The Wild.
Xai-V-iaX
Jan 5 2015, 12:39 PM
QUOTE(kennypotatoes @ Dec 26 2014, 01:12 PM) no idea,, i saw from Germany, then i grap it already. LoL... but seems not bad, my dog's output seems less smelly. Is it grain free?
Xai-V-iaX
Sep 14 2016, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Informationiac @ Sep 10 2016, 03:32 PM) Is there a specific brand breeder always like to promote? I don't want to mention brand name but they always push me to get that brand when I purchase a pure bred from them. Well generally they tend to push for their house brand. Probably because they buy em' in bulk and thus get a better price for it as compared to retail.