85 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Bottom

Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

Apscen
post Aug 15 2011, 10:03 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 15 2011, 04:13 PM)
A quick survey at Dog Food Analysis shows there is only Brit Care Lamb & Rice. It have only 2 star rating. Not sure the Salmon one..

http://www.dogfoodanalysis.com/dog_food_re...hp/product/2348
That bad? After few days with Brit, my dog poop getting more solid n less smell. Dun know if it help to improved her skin problem....still observing...
daphnelky
post Aug 15 2011, 10:35 PM

QUOTE(Apscen @ Aug 15 2011, 10:03 PM)
That bad? After few days with Brit, my dog poop getting more solid n less smell. Dun know if it help to improved her skin problem....still observing...
Didn't see anything on salmon for Brit care. Maybe better than 2 star cause salmon
XiuKeong
post Aug 16 2011, 03:53 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

My dad bought the Pedigree and my pup's poo is not solid and sticky to the floor.

Will buy back Blackwood shakehead.gif
genielee_83
post Aug 16 2011, 04:36 PM

120 posts

Pedegree is rubbish.
CalvinKennel
post Aug 16 2011, 10:41 PM

68 posts

Anyone tried ProPac SuperPremium dog food b4?
XiuKeong
post Aug 16 2011, 11:27 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 16 2011, 04:36 PM)
Pedegree is  rubbish.
Agree. Now he got cirit birit in the evening.

Poo'ed 4 times sad.gif
genielee_83
post Aug 17 2011, 07:00 AM

120 posts

You can use Pedegree budget buy raw chicken (rm7.50/kg) or pork (rm7.00/kg) fr your dog. Unless it's too young.

That's what i do, transfer the food fund to real food. Now my freezer is always full. 满。
During CNY also can put sticker满 liao.
jchong
post Aug 17 2011, 08:00 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 17 2011, 07:00 AM)
You can use Pedegree budget buy raw chicken (rm7.50/kg) or pork (rm7.00/kg) fr your dog. Unless it's too young.

That's what i do, transfer the food fund to real food. Now my freezer is always full. 满。
How is your dog doing on raw meat? Is it suitable for puppies?
XiuKeong
post Aug 17 2011, 08:32 PM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(genielee_83 @ Aug 17 2011, 07:00 AM)

Mine is the dry food pack.

Just now I read the food advisor from your link. Seems like my previous dog food, Bil Jac also not good enough
genielee_83
post Aug 17 2011, 08:55 PM

120 posts

jchong, puppies after deworm and injection. I think 3 months old can start. Read BARF
for more information. It will give you crystal clear information once you're done reading rclxms.gif
liverpooluc
post Aug 18 2011, 08:47 AM

62 posts

i have been feeding my 3 yr old mixed terrier with pedigree, i should switch the food for her after reading the threads...

mind to advise any good kibble suitable for mixed terrier? n currently adopting a husky, about 8 months old, any suggestion too?

thanks.
Apscen
post Aug 18 2011, 09:14 AM

684 posts

QUOTE(daphnelky @ Aug 15 2011, 10:35 PM)
Didn't see anything on salmon for Brit care. Maybe better than 2 star cause salmon
hopefully...now i notice my dog pee less....will it related to changes of dog food? rclxub.gif
adriankhoo153
post Aug 18 2011, 09:57 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(liverpooluc @ Aug 18 2011, 08:47 AM)
i have been feeding my 3 yr old mixed terrier with pedigree, i should switch the food for her after reading the threads...

mind to advise any good kibble suitable for mixed terrier? n currently adopting a husky, about 8 months old, any suggestion too?

thanks.
Try Orijen fish.. Very good kibbles. rclxms.gif
liverpooluc
post Aug 18 2011, 10:43 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Aug 18 2011, 09:57 AM)
Try Orijen  fish.. Very good kibbles.  rclxms.gif
tks for the ideas, did u mean it is suitable for both breeds? google seach but not really to find any store in cheras selling, will check out petsmore in connaught later. 6 stars rated dog food, hope not costing me a bomb

another thing is, since my terrier already used to the same food (we do prepare chicken liver n meat for her once a month), should i mix the new kibble with the existing one or switch totally to new one?

thanks.
adriankhoo153
post Aug 18 2011, 02:29 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(liverpooluc @ Aug 18 2011, 10:43 AM)
tks for the ideas, did u mean it is suitable for both breeds? google seach but not really to find any store in cheras selling, will check out petsmore in connaught later. 6 stars rated dog food, hope not costing me a bomb

another thing is, since my terrier already used to the same food (we do prepare chicken liver n meat for her once a month), should i mix the new kibble with the existing one or switch totally to new one?

thanks.
You can easily get Orijen in Petsmore, Pet family and other petshop. 2.7KG gonna cost you RM70+.
A lil expensive. So i suggest you to take bigger pack.
If you wan a cheaper but also a good quality kibble, you can get Innova for adult which cost about RM50+. (Not Innova Evo as it's as expensive as Orijen)

U need to gradually feed your terrier by mixing the new one with old one.
For any switching to new kibbles, i always do in this manner.

70 old, 30 new - 5 days
50 old, 50 new - 5 days
30 old, 70 new - 5 days
100% new

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Aug 18 2011, 02:31 PM
ninetofive
post Aug 18 2011, 06:11 PM

http://wherearethepetfoodchampions.com/web...jen_Recall.html

Don't sound like a good food at all...
adriankhoo153
post Aug 18 2011, 08:39 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

QUOTE(ninetofive @ Aug 18 2011, 06:11 PM)
If one is so panaroid with their dog food even it was rated as 6 star in dog food analysis and dog food advisor, then perharps making ur own dog food will be the best. Feed them barf.

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Aug 18 2011, 08:41 PM
genielee_83
post Aug 18 2011, 08:46 PM

120 posts

+1
ninetofive
post Aug 18 2011, 09:24 PM

Couldn't agree more. But do your research before buying a food or starting any home meals by urself. A six star food is only a rating given by normal human beings given on its ingredients. Its by no means a universal god-written ratings given to rank a certain food. Orijen's overly high protein content is known to cause reactions in dogs, irregardless what claims are made over the internet over high quality protein don't cause anything bla bla bla. I've seen so many reactions first hand that I'm definitely not convinced bout orijen's wondrous claims.

Barf itself, without proper research, is a ticking time bomb. With proper research and knowledge, it's indeed biologically appropriate and would certainly result in a healthier happier pet, but if everyone would jump right into it, thinking they have done enough research by reading up on a few articles, then you're seriously heading for a huge medical bill. I bought over five thousand ringgit worth of books on nutrition, including university nutritional studies, veterinary nutritional studies, human nutritional studies, read a thousand articles online about feeding pets ourselves, i got books on natural health, on commercial dog food, on the bad side of commercial dog food, good side of commercial dog food, on the bad and good of feeding pets ourselves, on supplements, herbs, biological history, on wolves and their lifestyle, of food food and food, and so so many recipe books, and i am still very careful on feeding my dogs.
Someone i know tried feeding their dog barf and the dog died of protein poisoning because the overload of protein on the kidneys rendered them unable to filter and therefore causing the protein by products to flow back into the bloodstream. This is just an example of someone who thought they know what they were doing but turns out they don't.

So, be careful
liverpooluc
post Aug 19 2011, 09:20 AM

62 posts

this is useful info, erm, need to do some research for my dog food selection from now.

just bought a 2.5kg pack of Acana, (orijien is a bit expensive), look like my dogs love it.

85 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0308sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:44 PM