Dog food, Discussion of dog food type/brand

firehousefly
post Oct 8 2012, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 5 2012, 03:01 PM)
Anyone recommend TOTW? Is it good?
Found the Wellness brand in PetsWonderland in Mid Valley.
jcloh86
post Oct 8 2012, 02:01 PM

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 8 2012, 11:53 AM)
Cool....but I haven't seen one here in KL yet.

Maybe its hidden somewhere tongue.gif

Which ORIJEN have you been feeding your pup?
Orijen for puppy. My pup is 5 month old. Was thinking of annamet but according to the shop assistant it's for adult dog. (can feed but don't recommend). She is recommending me Natural Balance.
REEN YONG
post Oct 8 2012, 03:13 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 02:01 PM)
Orijen for puppy. My pup is 5 month old. Was thinking of annamet but according to the shop assistant it's for adult dog. (can feed but don't recommend). She is recommending me Natural Balance.
Normally shop will promote the brand they carry n can earn high commission. Annameat is all life stage n not many shop selling because of the price. I went to many pet shops n most of them will only said good abt the brand that they carry. I personally dont like natural balance cos they put potato as their first ingredient which i think is high in carbo low in meat. My two dogs tried before n poo a lot. This is my opinion.
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 8 2012, 03:22 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 02:01 PM)
Well my pup is just 1 week away from being 4 months old and he is being fed with Orijen Large Breed Puppy and he absolutely LOVES it!!!!!

It depends at times on the breed its being fed to. Some smaller breed might have issues with Orijen due to its 'claimed' high Protein level....
jcloh86
post Oct 8 2012, 04:03 PM

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 8 2012, 03:22 PM)
Well my pup is just 1 week away from being 4 months old and he is being fed with Orijen Large Breed Puppy and he absolutely LOVES it!!!!!

It depends at times on the breed its being fed to. Some smaller breed might have issues with Orijen due to its 'claimed' high Protein level....
Mine is a westie-poodle. She was on Orijen Puppy for 2 months and she was itching like crazy. The doctor says it's not allergic. Then I switch to Acana. Less scratching . Not too sure if it's due to the high protein level. Poo was smelly when she was eating Orijen. Acana - smells better (still smells like poo =D )
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 8 2012, 04:13 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 04:03 PM)
Mine is a westie-poodle. She was on Orijen Puppy for 2 months and she was itching like crazy. The doctor says it's not allergic. Then I switch to Acana. Less scratching . Not too sure if it's due to the high protein level. Poo was smelly when she was eating Orijen. Acana - smells better (still smells like poo =D )
Awesome phrase above there mate.... tongue.gif

Anyways, it may or may not be of the Protein level IMHO....

My pup has had itch like a few weeks after going into Orijen diet....one vet told me to change the food....another told me not to worry its just an bacterial infection and prescribed him with some medications - Now, he has no more itch issues....
jcloh86
post Oct 8 2012, 04:47 PM

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 8 2012, 04:13 PM)

My pup has had itch like a few weeks after going into Orijen diet....one vet told me to change the food....another told me not to worry its just an bacterial infection and prescribed him with some medications - Now, he has no more itch issues....
Been to the docs and she said that she doesn't wanna put her on medication for the itch yet. Since it's not too serious. So am monitoring.. haha.. Do you feed your pup supplements? What breed is your pup?

Added on October 8, 2012, 4:53 pm
QUOTE(REEN YONG @ Oct 8 2012, 03:13 PM)
Normally shop will promote the brand they carry n can earn high commission. Annameat is all life stage n not many shop selling because of the price. I went to many pet shops n most of them will only said good abt the brand that they carry. I personally dont like natural balance cos they put potato as their first ingredient which i think is high in carbo low in meat. My two dogs tried before n poo a lot. This is my opinion.
Yup.. i do agree that they promote their brand. I just keep insisting I will research and think about it. I've tried Orijen & Acana (don't know if that counts.. cos they are kinda like sister company if I'm not mistaken. But I find it harder to trust shop assistant. sweat.gif But not all is like that..

This post has been edited by jcloh86: Oct 8 2012, 04:53 PM
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 8 2012, 05:32 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 8 2012, 04:47 PM)
Been to the docs and she said that she doesn't wanna put her on medication for the itch yet. Since it's not too serious. So am monitoring.. haha..  Do you feed your pup supplements? What breed is your pup?
Mine is a soon-to-be 4 months old Golden Retriever.

Food (Kibbles): Orijen LBP

Food (Other): Fresh fruits like Apples, Pears & Bananas (My GR goes bananas for bananas) tongue.gif

Treats: Natural Balance LIT Sweet Potato and Fish Formula Treats & Lakse Kronch Salmon Treats

Supplements: Tomlyn's Nutri-Stat, Sleeky Calcium Supplement, Nutri-Vet Hip & Joint Plus Level 1 Chewables & Synoquin Capsules (Prescribed by Vet)
eelynsoon
post Oct 8 2012, 10:22 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(caninelovers @ Oct 31 2011, 03:39 PM)
Thanks for your info.
I did not notice about the 3 types of fishes included when I decided to give it a try.
I like the smells of it, and the stool looks good.
Where to get it from? The pet shops here in klang don't seem to keep this formula.. i also saw some other formulas on their website which are not available here.. Eg : Synergy

Added on October 8, 2012, 10:34 pmI tried Acana, Nurtisource and Orijen Large Breed Puppy for my GSD of 4.5 months old.

He didn't seem to be doing good with all these 3.
Acana was the best among all the three.

With Nutrisource, BAD!
Orijen - BAD!

His stools r extremely loose. Kinda like having diarrhea. I do not know if its the protein content that is affecting it or due to some other reason?

This post has been edited by eelynsoon: Oct 8 2012, 10:34 PM
jcloh86
post Oct 9 2012, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 8 2012, 05:32 PM)
Mine is a soon-to-be 4 months old Golden Retriever.

Food (Kibbles): Orijen LBP

Food (Other): Fresh fruits like Apples, Pears & Bananas (My GR goes bananas for bananas) tongue.gif

Treats: Natural Balance LIT Sweet Potato and Fish Formula Treats & Lakse Kronch Salmon Treats

Supplements: Tomlyn's Nutri-Stat, Sleeky Calcium Supplement, Nutri-Vet Hip & Joint Plus Level 1 Chewables & Synoquin Capsules (Prescribed by Vet)
Me likey fresh fruits. Haven't tested on my gal.. but gonna try that soon. I thought we can't feed dogs apples..?? (or is it the apple seed we need to be careful of??). rclxub.gif
eelynsoon
post Oct 9 2012, 01:37 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(jcloh86 @ Oct 9 2012, 12:36 PM)
Me likey fresh fruits. Haven't tested on my gal.. but gonna try that soon. I thought we can't feed dogs apples..?? (or is it the apple seed we need to be careful of??).  rclxub.gif
Its the apple's seeds

Added on October 9, 2012, 1:40 pmActually, i'm deciding between Blackwood salmon + potato and Natural Balance Alpha / Synergy for my pupGSD.

I need some comments. More info's , which are better?

This post has been edited by eelynsoon: Oct 9 2012, 01:40 PM
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 9 2012, 03:02 PM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(eelynsoon @ Oct 8 2012, 10:22 PM)
Where to get it from? The pet shops here in klang don't seem to keep this formula.. i also saw some other formulas on their website which are not available here.. Eg : Synergy

Added on October 8, 2012, 10:34 pmI tried Acana, Nurtisource and Orijen Large Breed Puppy for my GSD of 4.5 months old.

He didn't seem to be doing good with all these 3.
Acana was the best among all the three.

With Nutrisource, BAD!
Orijen - BAD!

His stools r extremely loose. Kinda like having diarrhea. I do not know if its the protein content that is affecting it or due to some other reason?
Acana & Orijen are from the same company.

AFAIK the difference between the two are from their nutritional returns and some minor ingredients....

I could be wrong here nevertheless
kueyteowlou
post Oct 9 2012, 04:15 PM

4,093 posts

QUOTE(eelynsoon @ Oct 9 2012, 01:37 PM)
Its the apple's seeds

Added on October 9, 2012, 1:40 pmActually, i'm deciding between Blackwood salmon + potato and Natural Balance Alpha / Synergy for my pupGSD.

eelyn.. GSD eat BARF 1 tongue.gif

newprincess
post Oct 10 2012, 09:48 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 8 2012, 04:13 PM)

I got a 4.5 months Shih Tzu, previously was fed with Origen Puppy nod.gif

Ya, the poo is terrible smelly and soft, hard to clean it, sometime it will stick at her fur as well, have to take bath every few days rclxub.gif

So far I just fed that for 2 weeks time, but her weight was grow almost 1kg shocking.gif

I think the protein is too high for it, so I decided to change others brand. whistling.gif

Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 10 2012, 09:54 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(newprincess @ Oct 10 2012, 09:48 AM)
I got a 4.5 months Shih Tzu, previously was fed with Origen Puppy  nod.gif

Ya, the poo is terrible smelly and soft, hard to clean it, sometime it will stick at her fur as well, have to take bath every few days  rclxub.gif

So far I just fed that for 2 weeks time, but her weight was grow almost 1kg  shocking.gif

I think the protein is too high for it, so I decided to change others brand. whistling.gif
I think it depends on the pup's genetics itself.

I don't have issues with smelly or soft stool with Orijen LBP...

I still think it depends on the breed and its genetics....it suits some and not others...
jcloh86
post Oct 10 2012, 07:09 PM

QUOTE(newprincess @ Oct 10 2012, 09:48 AM)
I got a 4.5 months Shih Tzu, previously was fed with Origen Puppy  nod.gif

Ya, the poo is terrible smelly and soft, hard to clean it, sometime it will stick at her fur as well, have to take bath every few days  rclxub.gif

So far I just fed that for 2 weeks time, but her weight was grow almost 1kg  shocking.gif

It depends on individual. I'll give you an example. My girl Lexy & my friend's pup Otis. Both of them are from the same litter. We feed them the same treats and dog food and also the same supplements.

So far, before switching to Orijen. (was on ANF - by breeder)
Lexy was 3.3kg (Poo smelly and hard) and Otis was 3.4kg (Poo smelly and soft).

After 2 months,
Lexy weights 3.9kg (Poo smelly and soft) and Otis is 4.9kg (Poo not smelly and hard).

And after changing Lexy to Acana, poo less smelly and slightly harder. Otis remain on Orijen as it seems to be working him

Added on October 10, 2012, 7:12 pm
QUOTE(eelynsoon @ Oct 9 2012, 01:37 PM)
Its the apple's seeds

Thanks for the clarification. wub.gif

This post has been edited by jcloh86: Oct 10 2012, 07:12 PM
eelynsoon
post Oct 12 2012, 07:15 PM

49 posts

So how ah? Where to get natural balance alpha trout, salmon and white fish. And is there any big packet ones?? As in 13-15kg? My pet shop told me nope only 5.6kg the biggest!

Added on October 12, 2012, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(kueyteowlou @ Oct 9 2012, 04:15 PM)
eelyn.. GSD eat BARF 1  tongue.gif
Eh kuay teow Lou..
Cannot la.. I duno where to find those big big bones... Lol.. Sumore it's raw later duno will kena bacteria infection or not.. Or viral infection from those not clean meat... Scared.. Heehe..

Added on October 12, 2012, 7:21 pm
QUOTE(Xai-V-iaX @ Oct 8 2012, 03:22 PM)

What breed is ur pup? I think GSD has got some digestive issues so their stomach a bit too sensitive.. Probably d protein is d one causing d loose n soft stools..

I tried adding rice + pumpkin the stools looked better n less soft edy.. But one thing I noticed he kinda grow longer now I'm unsure if it's due to d kibbles or it's js a coincidence that its his growing period now that makes him grow rapidly recently..

This post has been edited by eelynsoon: Oct 12 2012, 07:21 PM
aviso
post Oct 12 2012, 10:50 PM

13 posts

Any brand of dog foods which is good for helping fur growing? My puppy was infected by impetigo and i can see some bald patches. And im worried the fur will not grow again. Thanks
Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 19 2012, 09:15 AM

1,516 posts

QUOTE(aviso @ Oct 12 2012, 10:50 PM)
Any brand of dog foods which is good for helping fur growing? My puppy was infected by impetigo and i can see some bald patches. And im worried the fur will not grow again. Thanks
What breed is yours?
kingchin
post Oct 19 2012, 11:18 AM

21 posts

Good day all! smile.gif I have been feeding my GR 6 month old pup. Orijen puppy, Nature's Variety Instinct, Canidae, Acana puppy. All expensive stuff and his poop was runny..except for Canidae.

Last week he was on his last half bag of Acana pup which was giving him runny poop. Then I had to leave for work for 4 days and bought Pro Pac Lamb & Rice for pup for for my dad to feed. Switched it straight away without rationing and his poop has been nice and no more runny.

Should I continue with ProPac? It doesn't have corn and not as much meat content vs the 5 star dog food. Much cheaper and does justice to his tummy. Anyone on Pro Pac before? Thanks!

85 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:34 PM