Which MPV is the most suitable?, Please help.............

TStjaime1984
post May 3 2010, 05:53 PM, updated 16y ago

32 posts

Hi all,

I would like to buy a mpv car...seems there is so many type in the market i dont know which one to choose.
My budget is below RM100k if possible,low maintenance,low fuel,good interior and quality,sporty, powerful and got value.And the most important can fit adults and childrens coz i travel a long way back to my hometown.but if used everyday,a normal car is enough as i only have 2 children.

Please help!!!i would like to hear from those who drove this type of car.

PROTON EXORA - i dont have confident for it coz i have used 2 proton car before.Price RM6XXXX.

PERODUA ALZA - i like it but the space behind quite small and is only 1.5cc with VVTI.i dont think can support all the way back to my hometown.Price RM69XXX.

CHERY EASTER 2.0L - This is ok also,but consider it is made of china then less of confident.The interior not so nice and quality.Engine also ok 2.0L powerful and can carry the whole car.Cheap roadtax for big mpv...cheap price too onli RM79XXX.

MITSUBISHI GRANDIS - This really a good car,imported from Japan,nice interior and high quality and standard.Powerful with 2.4cc,the largest cc mpv.Everything is the best except for the price RM 162XXX.

TOYOTA WISH - I really like wish but now ppl selling car year made 2003,2005,2006,2007,2008.Is there any problem for this car.In year 2010 they selling 2005 2nd hand car or recond.When 2015,they will sell 2010 end hand car and recond too.Is already 5 years car...izzit worth the price RM105XXX(2005).I know this car jimat fuel,low maintenance,sporty and powerful too,but buying a 5 years car izzit ok?

TOYOTA AVANZA - this model also same like alza,but i prefer alza more as i like 'kereta rendah'.

HONDA FREED - This sure nice,automatic door,good interior,nice style but the most i dont like is only 6-seaters,middle empty.Price RM112XXX.

HONDA STREAM & HONDA ODDESSEY - my dream car,but really cant afford it.dont know why ppl cant but it...

ANY OTHER MPV?????????

please help me to solve this.

WaCKy-Angel
post May 3 2010, 05:55 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Cherry is not bad...my uncle owns one....

The parts are not expensive either
azrilyp
post May 3 2010, 05:58 PM

763 posts

Alphard or Vellfire..
zx7177
post May 3 2010, 05:58 PM

@mp.ZX
2,851 posts

naza rondo
nikki_5543
post May 3 2010, 06:01 PM

95 posts

try buy motortrader magazine..inside alot of choice btw can some enlighten about latest mpv and its price market. me suggest try look for honda odssey ra6 model.

This post has been edited by nikki_5543: May 3 2010, 06:01 PM
renesisx
post May 3 2010, 06:02 PM

[ K C G ]
959 posts

nissan grand livina
theanswer
post May 3 2010, 06:22 PM

1,024 posts

Naza rondo. spec quite ok considering the price. Grand livina too..but highest spec is 1.8. rondo is 2.0.
herojack41
post May 3 2010, 06:36 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ May 3 2010, 05:58 PM)
Alphard or Vellfire..
see da poking budget. or u hav eye problem blink.gif

@TS
toyota innova nod.gif
amad108
post May 3 2010, 06:37 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

how about INNOVA ?
but maybe the price a bit high side?
those imported car sure ok, its from japan n hv low mileage like 30-40k km only... the most hot selling is estima ler, dunno why, that vellfire n alphard r out of ur budget of course..
wish also nt bad, but at rear seat cant feel the aircon at all ler (i seat the last row last time), but it has good pick-up, i drive wish which it like a car, feel light to speeding...
EXORA dunno la bro, they said good, but dunno la...
[S]ignature ¾
post May 3 2010, 06:39 PM

231 posts

Toyota ESTIMA GCR 50/55 2.4
herojack41
post May 3 2010, 06:42 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ May 3 2010, 06:37 PM)
how about INNOVA ?
but maybe the price a bit high side?
those imported car sure ok, its from japan n hv low mileage like 30-40k km only... the most hot selling is estima ler, dunno why, that vellfire n alphard r  out of ur budget of course..
wish also nt bad, but at rear seat cant feel the aircon at all ler (i seat the last row last time), but it has good pick-up, i drive wish which it like a car, feel light to speeding...
EXORA dunno la bro, they said good, but dunno la...
my dad using innova for about 5 years till now

no major break down and can stuff abt 8~9 king size ppl brows.gif

amad108
post May 3 2010, 06:49 PM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

but INNOVA use van type chasis, that's why its higher compare WISH n ESTIMA...
estima even tho has 2.4cc engine, its FC it ok.. my uncle said rm80 from shah alam to terengganu (kuala terengganu) around 500km+.. but the downside its insurance sure high ler..
yanhui95
post May 3 2010, 06:54 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

toyota isis

if i'm not mistaken, there are people clearing off stocks for around rm110k for brand new
gtoforce
post May 3 2010, 07:17 PM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

nissan serena bro
been driving my dad's for 4 years and its still good
the 2006 highway star model that is
maintenance also very cheap
minyak like other mpv also and speed at 140ps its really really good
can fit 7-8 people
flip the back seat can also masuk computer table
hahahaha
adr3n
post May 3 2010, 07:17 PM

21 posts

Nissan Grand Livina, reliable, good quality, safety features are quite good, can sit 7 people, price fits your budget, etc
ShiningForce
post May 3 2010, 07:24 PM

27 posts

Lol

I would recommend Toyota Innova RM90k ~ 100k
depends on which spec u r taking

8 adults sitting inside no problem ( even the last row gt air cond vent also)

This post has been edited by ShiningForce: May 3 2010, 07:27 PM
xshiro
post May 3 2010, 07:30 PM

133 posts

u dont want to consider nissan grand livina 1.8L? decent price and power

This post has been edited by xshiro: May 3 2010, 07:30 PM
xMika
post May 3 2010, 07:34 PM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

Try Toyota Caldina GT4. Even though its all reconditioned unit from Japan, you still can pick the ones that appeal the best to you. Its 2000cc 3S-GTE turbocharged engine is one of the best toyota engines. Very very powerful 4wd. More than 200bhp. Price around RM100k~120k.

Note: Caldina's body is very low. Stable on highway !

This post has been edited by xMika: May 3 2010, 07:35 PM
GEFORCEXTREME
post May 3 2010, 07:35 PM

60 posts

Get Honda Freed, eventhough only 1.5L but quite powerful compared to others. I think even more powerful than 1.6 CPS engine? Do consider Grand Livina. But 1.5L i-Vtec even almost better than the Grand Livina's 1.6.

See the specs, but you have to really go showroom to test it out to know. It is not all about power, consider other things.
papaya2
post May 3 2010, 07:35 PM

387 posts

for me i will choose honda stream rs but the price.....u know la...
GEFORCEXTREME
post May 3 2010, 07:38 PM

60 posts

See how you decide la, for Honda Stream, maybe you can buy 2 Exora and fetch more ppl. haha...

Added on May 3, 2010, 7:42 pmYeah, the Innova too. Sit on it before, super SPACIOUS, like a big aeroplane on the road. 2.0 too, the price also not bad. Add some bodykit, change rims and its good to go.

This post has been edited by GEFORCEXTREME: May 3 2010, 07:42 PM
xshiro
post May 3 2010, 07:43 PM

133 posts

4seaters + ideas doh.gif

This post has been edited by xshiro: May 3 2010, 07:54 PM
tehoice
post May 3 2010, 07:52 PM

5,529 posts

hey ts, u missed out Nissan Grand Livina and toyota rush.

grand livina is a not bad car and could fit nicely also the price is at about your budget.

toyota rush (7 seater) the highest spec cost u 95k but with its 1.5L, u might feel bit underpower, but yes, no problem traveling at 130+- (average) on highway with full load. tried that. but the last row there might have problem to fit adult on a LONG journey, but your kids definitely no problem. behind also got air-cond vent. not bad overall the car. also look like 4WD.
Kreet543
post May 3 2010, 09:00 PM

217 posts

get a recond acu30

This post has been edited by Kreet543: May 3 2010, 09:03 PM
Vervain
post May 3 2010, 09:29 PM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Suggesting Starex royale, though some might not agree.
spaceship
post May 3 2010, 09:46 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(tjaime1984 @ May 3 2010, 05:53 PM)
Hi all,

I would like to buy a mpv car...seems there is so many type in the market i dont know which one to choose.
My budget is below RM100k if possible,low maintenance,low fuel,good interior and quality,sporty, powerful and got value.And the most important can fit adults and childrens coz i travel a long way back to my hometown.but if used everyday,a normal car is enough as i only have 2 children.

Please help!!!i would like to hear from those who drove this type of car.

PROTON EXORA - i dont have confident for it coz i have used 2 proton car before.Price RM6XXXX.

PERODUA ALZA - i like it but the space behind quite small and is only 1.5cc with VVTI.i dont think can support all the way back to my hometown.Price RM69XXX.

CHERY EASTER 2.0L - This is ok also,but consider it is made of china then less of confident.The interior not so nice and quality.Engine also ok 2.0L powerful and can carry the whole car.Cheap roadtax for big mpv...cheap price too onli RM79XXX.

MITSUBISHI GRANDIS - This really a good car,imported from Japan,nice interior and high quality and standard.Powerful with 2.4cc,the largest cc mpv.Everything is the best except for the price RM 162XXX.

TOYOTA WISH - I really like wish but now ppl selling car year made 2003,2005,2006,2007,2008.Is there any problem for this car.In year 2010 they selling 2005 2nd hand car or recond.When 2015,they will sell 2010 end hand car and recond too.Is already 5 years car...izzit worth the price RM105XXX(2005).I know this car jimat fuel,low maintenance,sporty and powerful too,but buying a 5 years car izzit ok?

TOYOTA AVANZA - this model also same like alza,but i prefer alza more as i like 'kereta rendah'.

HONDA FREED - This sure nice,automatic door,good interior,nice style but the most i dont like is only 6-seaters,middle empty.Price RM112XXX.

HONDA STREAM & HONDA ODDESSEY - my dream car,but really cant afford it.dont know why ppl cant but it...
ANY OTHER MPV?????????

please help me to solve this.

you must be kidding wat do u mean cant support
imperialrealcs
post May 3 2010, 09:55 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ May 3 2010, 07:34 PM)
Try Toyota Caldina GT4. Even though its all reconditioned unit from Japan, you still can pick the ones that appeal the best to you. Its 2000cc 3S-GTE turbocharged engine is one of the best toyota engines. Very very powerful 4wd. More than 200bhp. Price around RM100k~120k.

Note: Caldina's body is very low. Stable on highway !
bro, u know how to differentiate between station wagon and mpv? try stuffing 7 ppl in caldina doh.gif
cheras123
post May 3 2010, 10:12 PM

31 posts

nissan grand livina or toyota innova suit ur budget....

Added on May 3, 2010, 10:12 pmnissan grand livina or toyota innova suit ur budget....

This post has been edited by cheras123: May 3 2010, 10:12 PM
MazeLoL
post May 3 2010, 11:09 PM

847 posts

i will recommend Toyota Wish cause as i know toyota engine is very low maintainese..
i not sure on wish..but i comfirm my vios.
Engine really tahan and rev until 6k also no problem..xD
rsliew
post May 3 2010, 11:13 PM

174 posts

I would suggest Chery Easter or Toyota Wish, for the elegant look and the powerful engine. smile.gif
imperialrealcs
post May 4 2010, 12:06 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ May 3 2010, 11:09 PM)
i will recommend Toyota Wish cause as i know toyota engine is very low maintainese..
all the car in my house; proton, toyota, honda, perodua, nissan rev up to 7k and engine hardly give problem.. ur point is?
gtoforce
post May 4 2010, 12:34 AM

SPAM AND BECOME A SENIOR MEMBER
2,967 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 4 2010, 12:06 AM)
all the car in my house; proton, toyota, honda, perodua, nissan rev up to 7k and engine hardly give problem.. ur point is?
+1
u shud add innokom and atos all can rev up to 7k
theanswer
post May 4 2010, 08:17 AM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(amad108 @ May 3 2010, 06:49 PM)
but INNOVA use van type chasis, that's why its higher compare WISH n ESTIMA...
estima even tho has 2.4cc engine, its FC it ok.. my uncle said rm80 from shah alam to terengganu (kuala terengganu) around 500km+.. but the downside its insurance sure high ler..
Ya estima 2.4 the fc quite ok. drive estime 2.4 once in Swak..but the a bit sluggish la..heavy car. smile.gif

Added on May 4, 2010, 8:20 am
QUOTE(tehoice @ May 3 2010, 07:52 PM)
hey ts, u missed out Nissan Grand Livina and toyota rush.

grand livina is a not bad car and could fit nicely also the price is at about your budget.

toyota rush (7 seater) the highest spec cost u 95k but with its 1.5L, u might feel bit underpower, but yes, no problem traveling at 130+- (average) on highway with full load. tried that. but the last row there might have problem to fit adult on a LONG journey, but your kids definitely no problem. behind also got air-cond vent. not bad overall the car. also look like 4WD.
yeap..technically speaking, rush can be considered as mpv too since no 4wd system and taken straight from avanza. but the interior quality a bit bland..even nautica is better since nautica is cbu unit(but dont buy nautica..hehehe).

This post has been edited by theanswer: May 4 2010, 08:20 AM
sonic_cd
post May 4 2010, 09:24 AM

Friendship Is Magic
19,042 posts

QUOTE(MazeLoL @ May 3 2010, 11:09 PM)
depends on the engine which is in the wish ....
TStjaime1984
post May 4 2010, 10:05 AM

32 posts

Thanks for all the reply..i got consider Toyota innova but my husband dont like high car.Livina is in my list too, but i heard some ppl say that is underpower and not so sporty.

fyi,i travel from KUANTAN to PENANG each year.the journey takes about 10 hours if fast.Can u imagine how it feels if stuck in a sardine tin car with 4-5 adults and 2 kids?Thats y i need a good spec with a/cond at behind and enough space for the luagage too.

Thanks for all the details....how about chery easter 2.0L.

Can i know where to ask Honda ISIS?
biggie
post May 4 2010, 10:38 AM

1,291 posts

i will not get honda freed as it is truly ugly.

If you want to save money and you want the space then exora is the one for you.

If you have the money and want some luxury then go for stream/caldina. Maintenance also expensive for these cars.

If you want the space and luxury go for Alphard or Starex.

I will not recommend cherry over exora as the space and power not that significant and problem you wil face is more or less the same.

I also will not recommend Avanza as it is yesterday item.
xMika
post May 4 2010, 10:49 AM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 3 2010, 09:55 PM)
bro, u know how to differentiate between station wagon and mpv? try stuffing 7 ppl in caldina doh.gif
I just giving suggestion ma ... TS got say must fit 7-people mie sad.gif caldina is 5 seater i know
sphiroth
post May 4 2010, 10:50 AM

2,804 posts

Exora. But if not mistaken Exora turbo will come out at the end of this year/early next year.
TStjaime1984
post May 4 2010, 11:52 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(yanhui95 @ May 3 2010, 06:54 PM)
toyota isis

if i'm not mistaken, there are people clearing off stocks for around rm110k for brand new
Hi there,mind tell me where to look for it...i really like it...
kaizou
post May 4 2010, 12:31 PM

21 posts

Just wondering. where did u guys get that low maintenance/cheap spare part for honda/toyota. just my exp... the old city (2 past generation) vs old iswara...both year 90+ car. bumper price. city = 1k+ but iswara 100+ only. and that just the bumper price. not even include paint job.
i wonder bout wish/stream spare parts... moneyflies.gif grumble.gif
xMika
post May 4 2010, 01:31 PM

我爱中島美嘉
1,553 posts

QUOTE(kaizou @ May 4 2010, 12:31 PM)
Just wondering. where did u guys get that low maintenance/cheap spare part for honda/toyota. just my exp... the old city (2 past generation) vs old iswara...both year 90+ car. bumper price. city = 1k+ but iswara 100+ only. and that just the bumper price. not even include paint job.
i wonder bout wish/stream spare parts...  moneyflies.gif  grumble.gif
You kena cekik darah izit ? sweat.gif
ssyy
post May 4 2010, 01:46 PM

446 posts

below 100K? if u want big mpv under 100K, go for estima yr 2000-2002. but mostly under 100k r those 3000cc which means higher roadtax i think. or toyota ipsum 2.4 yr 06 sells below 90K. IPSUM

or other continental MPV such as peugoet 807, citroen c8 or fiat ulysse yr 04-06. can also look out for honda stream 2.0

or... naza ria if u can stand da FC n dated look tongue.gif

brand new under 100k wont give u a large mpv. among all, i think GL 1.8 is quite good n worth buying. need more headroom, exora.
kaizou
post May 4 2010, 03:44 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ May 4 2010, 01:31 PM)
You kena cekik darah izit ?  sweat.gif
how i wish that's the case. well, happy car shopping. dun believe 100% all these hearsay. test it urself. and go ask the spare-part shop urself.
believe me or not...older car spare-part way2 much expensize than the newer one. chop-shop gonna close door in 2 years time (2012 right?). and they'll capitalize kaw2 before they RIP whistling.gif

as per ur requirement...i'd go for exora...innova...livina. Woman/girl shouldnt buy 2nd hand car. just picture urself by the roadside wif family @ alone due to breakdown. just follow the car manual, u should be ok. cool2.gif
imperialrealcs
post May 4 2010, 11:59 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(xMika @ May 4 2010, 10:49 AM)
I just giving suggestion ma ... TS got say must fit 7-people mie sad.gif caldina is 5 seater i know
why need mpv if dont wan 7 seater rofl
TStjaime1984
post May 5 2010, 09:18 AM

32 posts

Anyone can help me find TOYOTA ISIS??????????

I know is imported and not much ppl driving it too....i found its sped nice and good engine...

PLEASE HELP ME IF ANYONE KNOWS WHERE TO GET IT FROM!!!!!
ssyy
post May 5 2010, 09:34 AM

446 posts

toyota isis

get da platana edition or else yr isis will look like grand livina.
TStjaime1984
post May 5 2010, 10:29 AM

32 posts

i found dy is at kajang.They selling Toyota isis and wish and edix too...but car manufacturer is 2005 brand new but the price RM123900.00 for 2.0cc.Engine all same with wish,D4 VVTi engine but brand new wish got 4 disc brake meanwhile isis got 2 disc brake only...

I found here at my place kuantan, there is one owner would like to sell it,car manufacturer on 2007/2008 like that,
mileage about 70000km but selling at rm125000.00(nego).Only 1.8cc.

For ur opinion which one should i take??

PLEASE HELP...

Cinta Laura
post May 5 2010, 01:58 PM

nothing last forever
946 posts

buy 2 or 3 kancil

0.0225sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:52 PM