Hello TTT, I am a fond RES keeper. Seems like there is few people keeping RES here. I find RES the most colorful of all turtle varieties, luckily it is also the cheapest. Anybody else RES-ing here?
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5
Mar 17 2011, 03:45 PM
52 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hello TTT, I am a fond RES keeper. Seems like there is few people keeping RES here. I find RES the most colorful of all turtle varieties, luckily it is also the cheapest. Anybody else RES-ing here?
Mar 18 2011, 12:58 PM
Mar 19 2011, 10:28 PM
Mar 22 2011, 12:04 PM
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Mar 20 2011, 04:53 AM) Thanks for the heads-up, i checked out this new law:Wildlife Conservation 61 PART IX GENERAL Controlled species 117. (1) No person shall keep, sell, purchase, import or export any controlled species specified in the Fifth Schedule. (2) Any person who contravenes subsection (1) commits an offence and shall, on conviction, be liable to a fine not exceeding thirty thousand ringgit or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding one year or to both. FIFTH SCHEDULE [section 3, 117] CONTROLLED SPECIES CLASS REPTILIA (REPTILES) Boiga irregularis Brown Tree Snake Trachemys scripta elegans Red-Eared Slider Crotalus spp. Rattle Snake Sistrurus spp. Pigmy Rattle Snake Dendroaspis polylepis Mamba So I guess it's illegal now; but it is being sold everywhere in pet shops, plenty of fines to collect i guess. Is there any way to obtain a license to keep my RES? |
Mar 23 2011, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Mar 22 2011, 08:52 PM) you would need to declare them with the department of wildlife before the end of june. Ok sounds fair, will visit the dept soon and declare my RES, thanks a lot guyz for the info; i had no freaking idea got such law... LOLsince there are no provisions for normal permits, permission for keeping them is most likely granted through special permission letter. (much like the special permission under act 686). |
Mar 25 2011, 02:27 PM
I think it's a good things they enforce, coz i know got many RES die under ignorant/irresponsible keepers...
Mar 30 2011, 09:20 AM
QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 29 2011, 10:25 AM) I don't have any heat bulb or UVB, it is expensive ? Below RM15 maybe I can afford. Bro I bought my exo-terra Sun Glo bulb at less than RM15, at a pet store in a shopping mall.Btw, how do you put your heat bulb ? DIY ? Suggest you go buy exo-terra bulbs, not the cheapo ones... my turtle really love it coz it's damn hot, until my computer mouse nearby also feels hot, damn effective |
Apr 1 2011, 08:55 AM
Apr 2 2011, 01:23 AM
QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 1 2011, 02:41 PM) mine very very long..imagine when i was form 3 it was so tiny, now i am middle 20's and its this big, and dunno male/female ...summore pandai listen to instruction.. Wow... listen to instructions too, means this pet is similar to Oscar/Arowana etc with a personality... cool. Am starting to bond with my RES too, at first scared of me, but now can play with him daily. Having a pet sure is enjoyable... oh yea, from the photo i'd say it's a female, coz male should have long claws (kinda like wolverine) X)cos at night it will walk around the bathroom, when we open door, he/she wants to come out.. then i will say " eeehh, no going out arr, go back inside"..then it will automatic u-turn & go back in & wont go nearby the bathroom door |
Apr 2 2011, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:00 PM) hmm, female huh? But from young i didnt trim her nails at all till Now..when young she is naughty, around smaller size, when i take bath she will walk near me and sit there to get the shower water, then when i am not realized, she will snap me with her mouth >_> aftermath my leg got a 'v' shape wound Yep... check out this article http://www.redearslider.com/anatomy.htmlIt details the notable traits of male and female RES |
Apr 3 2011, 12:16 PM
Hello everyone, my RES has developed an ear abscess on the left side of its head; just noticed it today (a bump on the left side).
Can anybody here recommend a good vet doctor to perform surgery for me? Advice greatly appreciated, thanks Added on April 4, 2011, 12:55 pm QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 2 2011, 10:39 PM) abt 40 years if kept ideally... This post has been edited by suprafire: Apr 4 2011, 12:55 PM |
Feb 16 2012, 11:11 AM
Mar 22 2012, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(wKkaY @ Mar 17 2012, 06:02 PM) question, my RES has a lot of these "flakes"... any idea where they come from and if it's a concern? they've been having them since forever but i never asked about it before. Hi fellow RES-keeper [attachmentid=2742348] The flakes are shedded skin, means your RES is growing and is completely normal, no worries. My RES periodically sheds massive amounts of skin too. Oh btw do put an elevated platform for your RES to climb out of the water and dry itself completely. Prolonged submersion in water is not natural for RES and may cause continued skin shedding. They need to dry and bask in direct sunlight (or similar UV light source) for optimum health. This post has been edited by suprafire: Mar 22 2012, 08:54 AM |
Mar 30 2012, 11:05 AM
Apr 23 2013, 10:57 AM
QUOTE(static @ May 14 2010, 11:37 PM) Anybody here with RES feed their sliders meat? I occasionally feed them cooked chicken, just a small piece, 5 sen size, every 2 weeks to 3 weeks. Also vegs like carrots, etc. And their regular food is the pellets. i feed mine pellets, dried worms, shrimp, squid bone, insects & raw kangkung... been 2.5 years on this diet.Or just feed them pellets? seems to work well... here's a pic ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0405sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:40 AM |