I need help here.. my 2 and a half months old baby tortoise fall sick. I think she is sick. She's not eating anything for 2 days already unlike the baby male tortoise. How? please help me
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5
Jun 20 2010, 03:07 PM
483 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Hi all,
I need help here.. my 2 and a half months old baby tortoise fall sick. I think she is sick. She's not eating anything for 2 days already unlike the baby male tortoise. How? please help me |
Jun 20 2010, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(slackerz @ Jun 20 2010, 03:09 PM) if i have sulcata,long time ago i already register it..they give me 'borang',but when i ask about Star,that is the answer..so,what use to isi borang anymore?they already inform me,surrender the star tortoise..im still new here,i dun have any history yet.. Her size is slightly smaller than this image I got from the net. She's a tortoise or turtle ahh?> < .. Her face very dry, basically not doing anything..awhile ago, i tried to force feeding her with a plastic spoon but she's still not eating. Once in awhile I'll wet her with water using my cotton-bud and now she's currently on top of a few pieces of cotton (she's on m bed currently). Erm, does pet shop have medicine? is she dying? thanksAdded on June 20, 2010, 3:12 pm do u let her sunbath?2 and half month?wow,u know the exact age..u breed them?tortoise or turtle?any sign of watery eyes,bubbling nose?maybe u can post picture,than somebody here can help u.. ![]() Added on June 20, 2010, 3:28 pmshe's playing with bubble in her mouth & her eyes are always close This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jun 20 2010, 03:28 PM |
Jun 20 2010, 05:02 PM
QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jun 20 2010, 04:23 PM) err... do they even have a water setup to live in? those are turtles, i'm kind of at a lost when you mentioned that they are dry. yes they do.. but they like to be on the rocks most of the time..and only during meal time, they'll go down into the water but recently, my female turtle is not eating anything.. Her head is weak..even one of her eyes cannot open? She used to be very active .. If I feed her food to her mouth, how many pallets should I give? She hasn't been eating for 2 days. Added on June 20, 2010, 5:04 pmcan someone let me know how many pallets maximum? i fed 4 just now ( some would overflow out from her mouth) This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jun 20 2010, 05:04 PM |
Jun 20 2010, 05:33 PM
oh okok thanks.
Added on June 20, 2010, 5:48 pm QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jun 20 2010, 05:29 PM) stoppp!! RES could not swallow properly out of water, they have fixed tongue. put her in water now - she might choke to death! ok thanks again.. put it in quarantine, raise the water temperature to 30 celcius, give some liquid electrolyte, hope for the best. This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jun 20 2010, 06:01 PM |
Jun 20 2010, 11:49 PM
Added on June 20, 2010, 11:51 pm QUOTE(vivtch @ Jun 20 2010, 11:27 PM) Hi, just want to share... Mine I put in a mini aquarium with rocks that's all.. there's no lightings.. > < ..Most lightly I'll bring her to work tomorrow to keep watch her..I have mine having the same symptons (closed & swollen eyes, bubbling, not eating) about 3 months ago. At that time, that turtle has been with me for 8 months (from a hatchling of 1.5" size). ![]() ![]() I soaked s/he in slightly salted lukewarm water twice a day, for about 10mins each time. I kept the basking light on to maintain the temperature. Took about a week for the eyes to be back to normal, then the appetite came back. Took longer (almost a month) for the bubbling to be totally gone. I am noob too, not sure whether those were the correct things I should do. But, somehow I managed to get s/he recovered. Thank god s/he is back to normal now. And, hope your little will recover soon. P/S: And as camillenoir advised, you must quarantine the sick one from others so that your other guys will not get infected. Added on June 20, 2010, 11:54 pmbtw why the salt? thanks.. This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jun 20 2010, 11:54 PM |
Jun 21 2010, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(vivtch @ Jun 21 2010, 12:21 AM) Quoted from redearslider.com vivtch thank you so much for the effort.. and the rest too... thanks a lot.. I just feed her to her mouth and put her in warm water tonight.. Placed her on top of a soft vegetable leaf and below the leaf I place cottons, which means the amount of water is very little due to her head is very weak to lift up (she can't even move much Various types of injury or infection can cause a turtle's eyes to be closed or swollen. Dehydration, ear abscesses, chlorine/chloramines, scratches, bacterial infection, trauma, poor water conditions and poor nutrition are readily causes. Furthermore, this is a potential symptom of a Vitamin A deficiency (Hypovitaminosis A), metabolic bone disease or respiratory infection (RI). The sensitivity of the eyes allows it to be an early detector of other inflictions. All of these conditions can be serious and unrelated; offering Vitamin A will have no effect if RI is present. The delay in proper treatment may even cause greater harm. Consider swollen eyes as a symptom of a greater disease. If other symptoms exist or form, then immediate medical care is required. If your RES consistently rub their eyes after a water change, you may suspect high levels of chlorine or chloramines. The use of an aquarium water conditioner may help ease the situation. Home remedies for closed eyes may be small amounts of Vitamin A drops or the application of cod-liver oil onto the eyelids. Try to see if the turtle will open its eyes when dry docked. It is, however, best to seek the help of a qualified vet if there are other symptoms, the condition does not improve, or there is no explanation for the cause. Turtles may refuse to eat if they are unable to see. This can cause an onset of other serious medical conditions. I once read that if bacterial infection is the cause, then can use salt to help fighting the infection as salt has disinfecting ability. If you can read chinese, here is some info.... http://gui.abang.com/od/siyang/a/baiyanbing.htm As for the bubbling, it could be the onset of RI (Respiratory Infections). Reading from redearslider.com Respiratory infections (RI) are common and deadly illnesses that affect many captive turtles. It is a contagious illness that can spread to other turtles and often requires medical attention. Improper basking and water temperatures as well as exposure to drafts and breezes greatly increase the chances of contracting RI. There are varying degrees of RI, including pneumonia, and the symptoms may also differ. The most obvious symptom that can signal RI is if a RES is listing. Listing refers to swimming in an irregular manner, such as swimming in circles, unevenly or lopsided and even swimming upside down. Listing is caused by fluid in the lungs; more specifically, if fluid exists in one lung or there is more fluid in one lung than the other. Your RES requires immediate veterinary assistance if they exhibit this symptom. They may have RI but not this symptom. The sooner that they are examined, the better the chance they can recover. They would likely be administered Baytril or another anti-infective. A vitamin injection, antibiotics and an x-ray may also be used or suggested. There are other possible symptoms that can signal RI, especially if they occur frequently. These may include breathing difficulties, coughing, sneezing, open mouth, yawning, wheezing, lethargy, loss of appetite, mucus from the nose (runny) or mouth and bubbling at the nose and mouth. If your RES exhibits any of these symptoms, then raising temperatures, quarantine and a water change would be the immediate actions to take. Ambient air temperature and water temperature should be raised 10 degrees F. Eliminate any drafts and cold air around the tank. Pneumonia may develop which in many cases is fatal. If your RES continues to exhibit a symptom or develops more, then consult with a qualified vet immediately. If you dont have basking lighting, then you better find ways to raise the water temperature. Hope the above helps. Good luck. P/S: I find this useful...... http://www.redearslider.com/index_health.html I'll take your advice to add lil salt ..and see what I can buy at pet shop tomorrow. Btw, my healthy turtle (the baby male) is active moving around but he opens his mouth constantly and is also playing with bubble in his mouth.. is he falling sick too? I placed him in warm water too.. thanks again |
Jun 22 2010, 11:22 PM
hello all.. my baby turtle is still in very weak condition
She's not eating and for the past 2 days, I've been force feeding her but today, she's totally not allowing me to open up her mouth This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jun 22 2010, 11:22 PM |
Jun 23 2010, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(vivtch @ Jun 23 2010, 04:34 PM) If I were you, I would find ways to treat the symptons, one of them is to get the living conditions correct, first. I would not keep finding ways to force feed her. It is not saying that eating is not important. If she recovered, then she would start eating again on her own. If she was still ill, eventhough you force feed, she might not digest what you gave. I did what you told.. but anyway, she's dead now Have you tried what we suggested to you? Raising the temperature being the most important. If her symptons were not treated and not improving, chances are she might be dying soon. thank you all for your effort.. thanks really~ |
Jul 1 2010, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(vivtch @ Jun 23 2010, 09:37 PM) I wish to own a Horse.. anyone knows how do I go about with this? sorry if I am in the wrong thread, just for once. This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jul 1 2010, 11:22 PM |
Jul 3 2010, 02:38 PM
QUOTE(danny94 @ Jul 2 2010, 03:04 AM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Sorry to say this, you want too much. . . » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « you don't know me danny boy Added on July 3, 2010, 2:43 pm QUOTE(nabesh @ Jul 2 2010, 08:47 PM) hye guys, my baby turtle hasn't eat for 5 days. im very worried and afraid something bad would happen. furthermore, his eye is shut and swallowed. his shell is also becoming soft. ive already put some anti fungus in his water. but still no changes. just now, i exposed him to direct sunlight and mix the water with cod oil cos it is high in Vitamin A. can anyone help me? mine was like yours.. and finally it died This post has been edited by g r a p e k e y: Jul 3 2010, 02:45 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0239sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:56 PM |