1,008 posts

From Kopitiam

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y0A77rohcyg...player_embedded

This post has been edited by auhckw: May 19 2010, 03:59 PM
auhckw
post Jun 12 2010, 08:56 AM

1,008 posts

Sigh... This makes it heart ache. So many years punya pet have to let go.

So where to surrender?
auhckw
post Jun 12 2010, 09:09 AM

1,008 posts

I may be wrong, but isn't this like having pirated movies at home?

Can these people actually raid our home? Let's say they ring on bell, we go quickly hide the animals, will they turn our whole house upside down, or will they just storm into our home? What rights do they have to do that? They need to get a search permit, get the police, etc etc.

So is the new law really targeting/scaring us or just mainly to traders which is much easier to catch?
auhckw
post Jun 15 2010, 06:09 PM

1,008 posts

Yes, but we need a kepala kura kura to take lead, then we ikut belakang.

Been thinking how to settle my tortoises. Sakit hati to let go cause few years with me already... sob sob.
auhckw
post Jun 17 2010, 04:45 PM

1,008 posts

U guys plan to surrender or hide hide...???
auhckw
post Jun 17 2010, 06:08 PM

1,008 posts

FRIM big enough or not?
http://www.frim.gov.my/
auhckw
post Jun 20 2010, 12:49 PM

1,008 posts

So while do we that process if verifying, ask someone inside the house to quickly go hide the tortoise. Maybe in the ceiling.
auhckw
post Jun 21 2010, 04:27 PM

1,008 posts

>>>During the grace period, private owners who have in their possession CITES-listed species that were attained before the enforcement of Intesa may apply for a special permission letter from the relevant authorities starting from Feb 17 to June 28, 2010.

So meaning star and radiated ok boh?

Well.. we all can sama sama bring our tortoise/turtle go there and declare.. but if they wan to rampas... kami sama sama jerit jerit...

Chances are higher they going to confiscate if you go alone, but if we go in a group then at least more people to argue.

Added on June 21, 2010, 4:28 pmWhatever it is, chances are high that a lot of ppl will not declare or pretend don't know such law.

I tak baca surat khabar punya orang...

This post has been edited by auhckw: Jun 21 2010, 04:28 PM
auhckw
post Jun 21 2010, 05:14 PM

1,008 posts

Do we need to bring our pet along? or just go there register?

If just go there register, then senang... declare, but put address kat neighbor punya rumah. If got operasi, neighbor rumah kena terbalik.

Added on June 21, 2010, 5:15 pmIf follow IC address also no prob.. that wan kat hometown, they can feel free to drive there to visit. Nothing to hide there.

This post has been edited by auhckw: Jun 21 2010, 05:15 PM
auhckw
post Jun 24 2010, 04:40 PM

1,008 posts

4 more days. 2 more working days.

I wonder will they extend?
auhckw
post Jun 28 2010, 05:08 PM

1,008 posts

I have let go my star tortoise...

auhckw
post Jul 21 2010, 09:14 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(SheNightOwl @ Jul 21 2010, 08:39 AM)
Hi.. I'm new in this forum. I've been reading all the topic about TTT in this forum, I can see lots of member a big fans of star tortoise. I have some but none of them still a baby ..  I've got them 8 years ago .. so all of them grown up already. Right now I don't put them in terrarium anymore just let them run free around the house and garden. Star is not my favorite, I'm more Radiata fan. Because star not as pretty and cute when they grow old. I read about sudden death, and don't know why. maybe I can share some of my experience. I have 3 star and 5 Radiata and 1 box turtle. I have their picture and I will post it soon (after I figure it out how hehehhehehe) . I've got Bearded Dragon too (not a baby anymore too )

Oya about Okra or lady finger, it's ok to feed your tortoise with Okra but it has a high protein, it will cause your tortoise pyramiding fast.

Ask me anything I hope I can contribute in this forum smile.gif
As much as you liked them... did you get permit for your stars and radiata?
auhckw
post Jul 22 2010, 07:39 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(SheNightOwl @ Jul 22 2010, 03:21 AM)
In my country Istar and Radiata don't need permit. we've got plenty here. A few month ago my Istar had hatch 5 hatchling from 6 egg. I gave them to the zoo. I one of WWF member and it sad to see rare animal being in the black market.. You can find Yniphora (the rarest among tortoise) here (T T). Hope when my Radiata reach age of 10 (1,5 years from now) I can breading them too. Wish me luck smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:12 am

For me there is a different. Istar are more sensitive than Radiata. The humidity and temperature must be accurate. Istar are easily got lung disease than radiata. I always afraid if a newbie bought an Istar (even Istar are more cheaper but their more fragile than Radiata). With Radiata if they got runny nose I can easily gave them garamycin Drop (Gentamicin sulfate) but not to Istar, I have to treat them like a baby. With the right heat Radiata will be fine, but baby/ hatchling Istar humadity is very crucial and they got stress easily. (Istar Also can't stand high dose drugs they can easily overdose)

Someone post about how to force feeding a tortoise, well I tell you it's not pretty. We have to blend the food and open their mouth with a spoon, but you can not doing it too hard because it can crack their mouth (ouch!!) I used pipet instead of spoon. But if their nostril are block They wont survive either. so you have to pump it it out.

Istar more easily got stressed, Radiata more well adjust to a new environment. Istar more picky with their food. Radiata will eat everything.

Is your Istar sleeping all day. please check her eyes if it runny and swollen it mean she got flue or lung problems. If not that can be because he stress out.

Their environment very crucial. 1. Terrarium : don't use fish Aquarium because it's more humid than reptile terrarium (shorter version than Fish) 2. Bedding : Calsiumsand is a big No no they can eat it and got stomach blocked. news paper .. well You have to change it everyday because if they got wet by water, humidity will rise (lung prob.) I use mix of activated carbon, ziolit sand (wash it first) with small rock (krikil, I called here don't know in english  blush.gif ) and I put a rubber carpet with hole (like anti-slip carpet) above the small rock mixture... Why, because Ziolit sand and activated carbon will will neutralized acid (from TTT pee) so TTT wont got poisoned with acid steam. And it will reduce the humid also.

Treatment for carapace : Use an natural ointment, don't use chemical. I use Kamilosan Ointment (this ointment used by breast feeding mother, the ingredients are honey from flower. How to know natural ointment and chemical ointment: put it in the water if the oil have a rainbow effect it contain chemical.

Well I have to reminded you, I'm no expert. I'm just a have them for quite sometimes  blush.gif I don't know what information needed for this forum. Here we don't have a vet specialize for Tortoise and reptile that's why me and my friends keep browsing and share information about care sheet. Sometimes care sheet from European country or America can not be used here in Asian country.

Hope my information help, ask me anytime ... Love to know there are people like and care for TTT  smile.gif

Added on July 22, 2010, 4:30 amTesting photo

this is my today radiata with my son

Wow.. nice info... and nice photo. So big (i mean the tortoise)... looking forward more more photos smile.gif
auhckw
post Jul 23 2010, 02:32 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Jul 23 2010, 02:22 PM)
lol 90k. back in 2008, it was around 3k-4k. i've posted some pics in TTT version 3.

anyway, those breeders who are still intentionally breeding this kind of monstrosities are f*cking irresponsible.
I saw those that intentionally breed turtle with 8 figure, but 2 headed? How to intentionally breed?
auhckw
post Jul 23 2010, 02:37 PM

1,008 posts

Hundreds Of Malagasy Tortoises Seized In Malaysia
Posted on July 17, 2010
http://envdevmalaysia.wordpress.com/2010/0...ed-in-malaysia/

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 16 July 2010 – Malaysian Customs Department officers on Wednesday foiled another attempt to smuggle hundreds of Critically Endangered Madagascar tortoises into Malaysia and arrested two women in whose bags, the tortoises were hidden.

The Malagasy women had filled two bags with 369 Radiated Tortoises Astrochelys radiata and five Ploughshare Tortoises Astrochelys yniphora. Apart from the tortoises, the duo had also hidden 47 Tomato Frogs Dyscophus antongilii and several chameleons in their luggage.

This is the second case in just over a month involving the smuggling of these rare tortoises into Malaysia In early June, Customs officers at the Kuala Lumpur International Airport, discovered 285 Radiated Tortoises, 14 Spider Tortoises Pyxis arachnoids and a Ploughshare Tortoise in two unclaimed suitcases that also contained a stash of drugs. No arrests were made in that incident.

The reptiles and amphibians seized in both cases have been handed over to the Department of Wildlife and National Parks (Perhilitan).

Perhilitan Director-General Datuk Abd. Rasid Samsudin told press that the two suspects were being investigated under Section 10(A) of Malaysia’s International Trade in Endangered Species Act 2008, which came into force this month.

This section of the law provides for a total fine of up to MYR 1 million or a maximum jail sentence of seven years, or both, if a person is convicted of importing or exporting any scheduled species without a permit.

These cases confirm links between criminal elements in Southeast Asia and Madagascar. TRAFFIC Southeast Asia urges enforcement agencies within the ASEAN-WEN to collaborate in shutting these syndicates down, especially in international airports, as these are truly the hubs of the trade.

Investigations to find the masterminds behind the trade in Madagascar’s tortoises in Southeast Asia should be initiated. It is these people, and those that continue to buy these illegal animals that are driving them towards extinction.

The second seizure of Madagascar tortoises comes hot on the heels of several Perhilitan successes this month.

“Malaysia’s enforcement officers are to be congratulated on their crackdown on wildlife crime, which is sending a strong signal to those involved in the illicit trade that crime doesn’t pay,” said James Compton, Programme Director of TRAFFIC’s Asia-Pacific Programme.

On 11 July, Perhilitan’s Wildlife Crime Unit (WCU) raided the premises of a flea market trader in the state of Selangor and seized several wildlife trophies including five Tiger claws, the casks and beaks of two Rhinoceros Hornbills, Sambar and Barking Deer antlers, bags and shoes made of python and cobra skins and 96 items made of elephant ivory.

On 13 July , the WCU and Malaysian Police raided a car workshop in Kuala Lumpur and discovered over 600 birds, many of them protected under local legislation and/or by international conventions, including three Straw-headed Bulbuls Pycnonotus zeylanicus a Blue-and-Yellow Macaw Ara ararauna, nine Sulphur-crested Cockatoos Cacatua galerita, three Palm Cockatoos Probosciger aterrimus and a pair of Twelve-wired Bird of Paradise Seleucidis melanoleucus.

Two men linked to this case are still at large, police told press on Tuesday when announcing the seizure.
auhckw
post Jul 26 2010, 05:06 PM

1,008 posts

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UmzSpU7aE5s
auhckw
post Jul 27 2010, 11:07 AM

1,008 posts

That turtle looks like those turtles in temples
auhckw
post Jul 27 2010, 01:10 PM

1,008 posts

A lot of creative indoor setup for tortoise:
http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=4941

Outdoor setup:
http://www.shelledwarriors.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=4920

This post has been edited by auhckw: Jul 27 2010, 01:48 PM
auhckw
post Jul 28 2010, 02:49 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Blutangskink @ Jul 28 2010, 08:57 AM)
You can always buy from registered seller or shop, they have license to sale tortoise, and makesure keep the receipt.

If you only buy 1 or 2 as pet then it's look like pets...if you buy over 10 or 20 evenyou have license, sure Perhilitan keep on eye on you.

Perhilitan OK if you don't do anything wrong...!!
Do you know which shop/seller has a lot of licensed tortoise for sale?

Also how sure are we that the receipt is valid and Perhilitan ppl wont buat kacau?
auhckw
post Jul 28 2010, 04:05 PM

1,008 posts

Why is Perhilitan not responding?
http://www.malaysiakini.com/letters/137923

Sean Whyte
Jul 21, 10
12:40pm

Much has ben written about the proposed new law offering greater protection to wild animals, particularly those in captivity.

On the face of it the new law holds much to look forward to. Things can only improve. But, wait a minute.

What makes anyone think things will improve from even the low standard of animal welfare already existing in Malaysia? If our experience is anything to go by, nothing much, if anything, will change for the better and animals will continue to be trafficked and abused right under the noses of enforcement officials.

The existing Protection of Wildlife Act 1972 provides the Department for Wildlife and National Parks (Perhilitan) with ample opportunity to clamp down on illegal wildlife trading and the abuse of animals in zoos. It does neither.

Even the highly critical National Geographic magazine report in January of this year failed to prod Perhilitan into action, possibly because Perhilitan itself was openly exposed as being at best incompetent, at worst, very sympathetic to those who break the law.

Since January of this year, Nature Alert has filed no less than six detailed, critical reports on conditions in zoos in Malaysia. None have been acted upon.

We have sought help from the Public Complaints Bureau who on the face of it whilst supportive, they have been unsuccessful in persuading Perhilitan to respond to the reports and additional criticisms of how they operate.

Dozens of people have reported their concerns about Perhilitan to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC), who, worryingly, seemingly have failed to investigate the reports. If MACC cannot be trusted, who in government can?

Minister Douglas Embas has been kept fully aware of the growing public concern regarding Perhilitan but he also refuses to respond to complaints. One can only wonder why.

How does this all bode for the future? Not good. In fact, it looks very bad for wildlife, particularly those animals and birds unfortunate to be already incarcerated in zoos and wild animal parks.

If Perhilitan will not enforce even the existing wildlife law (and it does not), what hope is there the department would even consider enforcing a new law?

All the evidence to date suggests it will be 'business as usual' for the illegal wildlife traders and zoos – sometimes one and the same thing.

A sad prospect for those Malaysians who do care and international visitors who often find the sight of animals clearly suffering in zoos to be very upsetting.

0.0475sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 12:31 PM