134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

vivtch
post Sep 28 2010, 07:31 PM

QUOTE(static @ Sep 28 2010, 01:36 PM)
The far right one, seems like shell rot/fungus? Why is the color so mouldy?
I also a bit worry about this one because the carapace colour is quite light green even greyish with black patches. But it is hard (not soft at all), both carapace and plastron. And those black patches are just pattern, not fungus, not soft spots.

Left one is the one

He/she is 6.9cm.

That's why I wanna ask whether RES comes with many variations in colour.

TScamillenoir
post Sep 28 2010, 07:40 PM

373 posts

no worries vivtch. RES do come in plenty of colors and patterns. not to mention all the morphs.

btw awhile ago the market had been flooded with yellow eared RES (no red pigments).
vivtch
post Sep 29 2010, 05:44 AM

QUOTE(camillenoir @ Sep 28 2010, 07:40 PM)
no worries vivtch. RES do come in plenty of colors and patterns. not to mention all the morphs.

btw awhile ago the market had been flooded with yellow eared RES (no red pigments).
Thanks, cami.

However, I just realised yesterday night that the light colour could be of some other reasons. This is what I found out. When he/she is totally dry, the carapace looks like this.

I got he/she from pet shop on Sunday, he/she is in a tank with a few hatchlings and one 3.3” guy (which I took as well). He/she is at 2.7” SCL.

I kept he/she alone in shallow water (just 2” water depth) for quarantine & observation purpose before putting together with my existing 2. He/she is walking (literally) fine as yet to have chance to see he/she swims, eating fine but slower when compared to the 3.3” one, pooing fine too. Carapace & plastron are hard, eyes are clear, nose is clear. When out of water, he/she does explore around but of course at the end look for hiding spot. He/she looks active to me except this weird whitish stuff on the carapace. Plastron is normal. The white stuff cannot be scratched off. It doesn't look like fungus. Suspect mineral deposit?

Since I just got him/her, I don’t know how he/she was kept previously.

Just wanna ask:-
1. Is this whitish stuff harmful to him/her?
2. Will it get worse?
3. How can I remove it?
4. How should I keep he/she for the time being? Dry dock or in water? I currently reduce the water to only 0.5” depth.

Thanks a lot for any help/advice.
viv

TScamillenoir
post Sep 29 2010, 07:52 AM

373 posts

owh, i don't believe that i can finitely distinguish between mineral deposit and shell fungus on res if you ask me doh.gif (maybe others can, not me)

anyway, this is (an alternative) method to find out if it is mineral deposit. try putting on some vinegar on one of the smaller scutes, leave it for a while and scrub it off with a toothbrush or something. repeat the process for a few times, let the scute dry and see if there is any difference. mineral deposits could potentially come off using this method. yeah, this is hard work but would save you the time and effort needed for other types of treatment, which could require weeks. plus, you would know that it is just mineral deposit and not fungus.

the other treatments are of course the normal betadine - ointment - dry docking method or the acriflavine (spelling?) method. medications for the former can be obtained from pharmacies while the latter could be obtained from aquariums/fish shop.

kenn91
post Sep 29 2010, 10:22 PM

121 posts

Star tortoise can mix with other species like leopard tortoise?

static
post Sep 30 2010, 12:20 AM

782 posts

vivtch, try to read this forum link http://www.redearslider.com/forum/viewtopi...=fungus#p269436

Seems like your case smile.gif

JonYeap
post Sep 30 2010, 12:28 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

star tortoise are know to be shy when young.
how do u make it not shy?
everytime human gets near it, it enters its shell.
hardly come out when human is nearby.
what should be done?
Azazel
post Sep 30 2010, 12:48 AM

You guys got nice RES! Mine all like taik LOL!
TScamillenoir
post Sep 30 2010, 07:25 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Sep 28 2010, 01:07 PM)
dis will complicate things further...sigh...
well they issue permit for keepers aka pet lovers ? i dun see anything wrong wit dat...
with no one to validate the papers for the moment (misliah is out), we could've gone to hell and back and they'd still be no signs of anything.

and i'm wondering what would've happened to those special permission that she had signed earlier? still hold any value or would they be revoked? heheheeheehe.

QUOTE(Azazel @ Sep 27 2010, 09:35 AM)
What goes around comes around. Padan muka! Hahaha

Perhilitan: Kau dah terkencing ke belum? If not, please do so before the MACC officer throw you out the window. LOL!
she's still being paid full salary and pension... outta taxpayer's money. and farid's gonna takeover as deputy DG. yeehaaa
kenn91
post Sep 30 2010, 08:54 PM

121 posts

BABY STAR CAN ADAPT TO OUR OUTSIDE ENVIRONMENT WITH PROPER SHADING AND SO ON? EVEN DURING RAINY DAYS???
SAMPERTH
post Sep 30 2010, 10:02 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(kenn91 @ Sep 30 2010, 09:54 PM)
BABY STAR CAN ADAPT TO OUR OUTSIDE ENVIRONMENT WITH PROPER SHADING AND SO ON? EVEN DURING RAINY DAYS???
Not now but can be " trained" over the years to be used to our humid condition YES !!

Even adult can get used to it and stayed outdoors 24/7 most of the time with proper shading and maybe a heat source (especially during prolong raining non-stop for a few days ) when the ground dont get a chance to become dry !!
JonYeap
post Sep 30 2010, 10:26 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

how to make it less shy? always hiding in the shell really boring
SAMPERTH
post Oct 1 2010, 05:28 AM

517 posts

QUOTE(JonYeap @ Sep 30 2010, 11:26 PM)
how to make it less shy? always hiding in the shell really boring
Takes time !! But some are more shy and thus need more time !!
JonYeap
post Oct 1 2010, 10:00 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hehe okok. will try handfeed everyday
atok194
post Oct 1 2010, 05:03 PM

26 posts

Just got my Snapping Turtle today.but i cant see many people bela here..
Blutangskink
post Oct 1 2010, 05:44 PM

What Bela mean ?
atok194
post Oct 1 2010, 06:54 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Blutangskink @ Oct 1 2010, 05:44 PM)
What Bela mean ?
Bela = raise.

lol.its so funny to see the turtle open his mouth.
kenn91
post Oct 2 2010, 12:14 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Oct 1 2010, 05:28 AM)
Takes time !! But some are more shy and thus need more time !!
Thanks. My adult is already used to the weather. Even likes sleeping in the rain. LOL. No RNS visible. So I assume it is okay. Has been out for a month+. Now training the juveniles. have 2 shelters for them for emergency. lol.
zackho
post Oct 3 2010, 12:29 AM

52 posts

any1 selling star tortoise??below rm150....email me if got.. zack_ho123@Hotmail.com
atok194
post Oct 3 2010, 02:43 PM

26 posts

anyone can suggest me what to feed my AST?all my feeder fish are dead within 3 minutes. -.-"..i still dont know why..but my AST look stable..

134 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0342sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:15 PM