Gosh.. see how long have u been into this hobby.. Finally ive found a real 'otai' in this field..
If ur PNTs start reproducing, u can make lot of profits there Mr Sam. I tell u, if i found baby PNTs here in my place, i dare to buy a whole lot of them in bulk. Because i know the demand will be very high.
Only went serious after 2000 , not that long really !!
Gosh.. see how long have u been into this hobby.. Finally ive found a real 'otai' in this field..
If ur PNTs start reproducing, u can make lot of profits there Mr Sam. I tell u, if i found baby PNTs here in my place, i dare to buy a whole lot of them in bulk. Because i know the demand will be very high.
Profit from pnt they don't command high price when in season - at most RM 100 plus minus !!
There are many other sp that worth lots more as they hatch - both tortoise and turtle alike especially in morph form !!
I know. But i always hv this thought in mind, that he might want to come out to dry surface sometimes. But maybe that was just my thought, he might not even want it if i provide..
How big do u think the pond should be, so that i can keep a few of PNTs together? Like, maybe another 2 females?
Like i always tell my friends - as big as you can afford !! But just 10' by 10' by 3' deep is good for half a dozen adults !!
Even the space that enormous, how do they avoid aggression?
Also, that amount of water needs serious filtration system
Visual barriers thru underwater hides/caves ?
If just a few turtle , filtration is easy as their water requirements not as needy as in some fishes . Their bio load output even thou big but not as frequent as fishes !!
Mr.Sam, do u think i should put some sands or substrates in my turtle tank? Cuz i think he's not happy with current situation, based on amount of food he took, not as much as he used to
I do have a layer of fine sand at the bottom for them to play with - when they are younger in the glass or fiberglass tank the layer is thicker , from time to time they do bury themselves like softshell turtle@ labi labi or stingray !
I know, cuz my pnts also bury themselves in the sands when theyre younger (in my old aquarium). Problem now is, how to prevent the sands from entering the water pump? I'm using the one like pond water pump, which absorbs water from main tank, not from sump tank.
Also, should i use heater to warm the water? I never used one before, and the turtles seem ok with it..
As for pump try raise it by using bricks or use overflow system - over flow the water into another before pumping into filter !
My pnt don't seems bothered by cooler or warmer water so I think they can do without heater ( if use heater please coverup with protector - all turtle like to chew at shinny stuff ie glass )
About the pump vs sands conflict, i'll try to put the pump in a small plastic ware with holes in the upper part (pic below), so that the sands wont be sucked in, hopefully..
As for container method I don't think workable as when the turtle swim around the container the sand will still get mess up and end up inside the pump ( pump life get reduce or should I say the impeller )
Since u want try the container why not get a bigger one - maybe 1 - 1.5 ft tall so water can flow in from top into the container that house the pump ( do weigh the whole thing down as as water got suck out of the container the whole thing will try to float !!
Cheers
Added on December 7, 2012, 7:56 pmOne down side of my suggestion is maybe - depending on container used may take up some space n so less swimming room for your PNT
Cheers
This post has been edited by SAMPERTH: Dec 7 2012, 07:56 PM
Sam, it's good to know the little part you've done to save the species...
QUOTE(akuning @ Dec 14 2012, 11:54 AM)
u are crazy
mind share to us your story of sea turtle?
Not on a regular basis but i do release some if they are big enough or in number safe enough ( group of 10-12 per release ) How i get them i tell story another day Lol
Hi Sam, just to ask....i remember i saw dun know from where that Malaysia did ban keeping all kind of tortoise or turtle... do you have the source of it? i saw someone wants to release the tortoise to the wild at malaysia.... would like to let them know the news..
Our country do regulate most if not all chelonian sp thru importation and special permits to keep !! But how many go on to apply for their existing pets when law was implemented few years back ? Sorry I don't have the source !
Looks like ive to admit that my interest is all on full aquatic turtles, like PNT or sea turtles. Or rather, should i say, my knowledge is very limited? LOOOL
U keeping all 4 sps in that tank? :unbelievable:
NO lah just doing water change for a whole row of enclosure thus take 1 of similar size turtle for picture taking !! I don't trust my PNT with other sp !!