Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

antzz
post Dec 7 2012, 02:31 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 7 2012, 01:14 PM)
As for pump try raise it by using bricks or use overflow system - over flow the water into another before pumping into filter !

My pnt don't seems bothered by cooler or warmer water so I think they can do without heater ( if use heater please coverup with protector - all turtle like to chew at shinny stuff ie glass )
Thanks for the advice, bro. If thats what u think, then maybe my turt will do good without heater. He did good without heater for more than 4 years without heater, afterall..

I think he's trying to adapt to new condition, new tank and all. Also, the smell from fiber filter box is very strong. Maybe thats the thing that annoys him now. Even afer about 2 weeks of running (and yes, i already did the washing job before operating), the smell still strong sweat.gif

Pic of the filter box :

About the pump vs sands conflict, i'll try to put the pump in a small plastic ware with holes in the upper part (pic below), so that the sands wont be sucked in, hopefully..

antzz
post Dec 7 2012, 08:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 7 2012, 07:53 PM)
As for container method I don't think workable as when the turtle swim around the container the sand will still get mess up and end up inside the pump ( pump life get reduce or should I say the impeller )

Since u want try the container why not get a bigger one - maybe 1 - 1.5 ft tall so water can flow in from top into the container that house the pump ( do weigh the whole thing down as as water got suck out of the container the whole thing will try to float !!
This evening i put some white sands, coral chips, marble eggs and stones (those were used in previous aquarium setup). And my turtle seemed very happy about it! biggrin.gif Shouldnt be a surprise actually, because he had been living with that kind of substrates from babyhood.

Since i still dont have a taller container, i just put the pump into that small container with holes. Everything looks ok, cuz the sands are not really that much in quantity that can cover the whole tank base.

Fly looked happy and examined his 'old toys' right away! The most important thing is, i think it will be easier for him to eat sinking flakes in sands, than trying to 'catch' them in slippery bare base tank.

Bare tank :

Old white sands + stones + coral chips + marble eggs

Pump in small container. May change the container later.

Comments from sifus are most welcomed notworthy.gif

Added on December 9, 2012, 1:28 pmTurtle ponds idea from the net :

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 9 2012, 01:28 PM
antzz
post Dec 13 2012, 07:42 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 13 2012, 12:17 PM)
[attachmentid=3203621]
Mr Sam, what species of turtle is that?

BTW i changed the previous small container with a bigger one (too big this time, but is better), with marble eggs to weigh it down laugh.gif

antzz
post Dec 13 2012, 10:17 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 13 2012, 09:15 PM)
Wanna guess ? Theres only few sp of sea turtle found in our Ocean !!
Whoa! u hv even THAT in keeping? and ure selling? shocking.gif

err.. thinking of large space n all.. maybe not now sweat.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 13 2012, 10:19 PM
antzz
post Dec 14 2012, 12:44 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 14 2012, 11:54 AM)
Not on a regular basis but i do release some if they are big enough or in number safe enough ( group of 10-12 per release ) How i get them i tell story another day Lol
Hail a saviour notworthy.gif

Maybe u should tell us ur interesting stories one day, we'll be waiting for that Mr Sam. Anyway its an honour even to have u this thread rclxms.gif
antzz
post Dec 14 2012, 08:19 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 14 2012, 07:03 PM)

A common one !!
To hv such wonderful creatures as pets, for me its like a dream come true biggrin.gif But its sure not easy as the maintenance must be very costly. Not many ppl can keep exotic animals such as tigers, crocs, and rare species of monkey, for instance.

Is it okay to keep them in single place/ pond? Dont they show aggression as in PNT's case?
antzz
post Dec 16 2012, 02:26 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 16 2012, 01:27 PM)

Wanna try name ( species wise ) whats in the picture posted ?
The right one looks like a PNT. The others IDK, hv no idea smile.gif

Are they all yours?
antzz
post Dec 16 2012, 06:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 16 2012, 03:26 PM)
Only 1/4 right ? The other 3 are our local sp try search and fill in the blanks !!

Yes , all mine ! That guppy tank can only hold 4 if not I could have added other species .

I think beside 2 sea turtle sp   I have all the local ( as in whole of Malaysia )chelonian sp be it turtle or tortoise or terrapin or soft-shell LoL
Looks like ive to admit that my interest is all on full aquatic turtles, like PNT or sea turtles. Or rather, should i say, my knowledge is very limited? LOOOL

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 16 2012, 07:13 PM
antzz
post Dec 16 2012, 07:16 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Dec 16 2012, 07:13 PM)
NO lah just doing water change for a whole row of enclosure thus take 1 of similar size turtle for picture taking !! I don't trust my PNT with other sp !!
U hv quite numbers of PNT rite? Ive always wonder how to differenciate male and female ones, except for the tail.. But could one tell by just looking from a distance?
antzz
post Dec 17 2012, 07:17 PM

115 posts

When i feed my PNT veggies, they often float on the water surface. I read that PNT usually graze / eat veggies on the bottom. Should i tie the veggies down to a rock? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 17 2012, 07:18 PM
antzz
post Dec 18 2012, 07:23 PM

115 posts

Just snapped few shots

Petting it

antzz
post Dec 19 2012, 11:23 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(akuning @ Dec 19 2012, 10:19 AM)
i saw my friend's PNT keep biting each others tail's part shell....why they so bad want to do like this blink.gif
PNTs are very hard to keep in company, as they're aggressive towards their own kind, even to other turtle species. I sold one of mine as soon as she didnt fit to enter her hiding barrel cave. Come to think again, i shouldnt let go of her. I really missed that gal sad.gif

* PS : ur fren should separate them apart, or provide some kind of hiding place. Or else its gonna be an all day continous bully.

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 19 2012, 11:25 AM
antzz
post Dec 20 2012, 11:51 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 19 2012, 08:26 PM)
Just sharing.. =]
hmmm... cant seem to attach file... will update later...  blush.gif
Yes do it. Will be waiting smile.gif

Added on December 22, 2012, 10:22 pmNow that its rainy all day here, we get cloudy water source (but very cold indeed). Fly's tank was all cloudy after WC. Few shots to share :

He always raised his head after realizing me approaching..

And gently swim for food biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Dec 22 2012, 10:22 PM
antzz
post Dec 24 2012, 03:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 24 2012, 01:45 PM)

there you go... biggrin.gif
Nice torts + great camera & voila! U got great imaging result! thumbup.gif

How much u got them cuties for?
antzz
post Dec 24 2012, 09:45 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 24 2012, 06:54 PM)
2.5" only
Mind to share how the whole enclosure looks like? brows.gif
antzz
post Dec 25 2012, 06:19 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(ggMing @ Dec 24 2012, 10:38 PM)
just changed the substrate.. also, i took out the hiding box coz they never once hide inside..

i use artificial plants (boston fern) because i like them and also for them to hide underneath it if they feel like it...
theres a water bowl on the right but im not sure they drink from it.. but they do soak themselves in it if i did not soak them for 2 days..
i normally soak them so that they will poo and pee thus making the enclosure cleaner..

Great job there man.. Congrats! thumbup.gif

Hv u named them, yet? Anyway, do keep us with updates.
antzz
post Jan 3 2013, 08:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jan 3 2013, 06:57 PM)

My biggest Sulcata with month-old baby !!
Gigantic! How big is he? And how old?
antzz
post Jan 4 2013, 12:46 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Jan 4 2013, 06:07 AM)
About 24" Male and about 8 yrs with me - got him as an ex-pet at maybe 2 yrs old !! 
Weight over 30kg

SO maybe he is about 10 plus minus .

Sire-d at least 300 hatchlings this few years and still going strong !!
Bolded part. Thats part of the story. I know such a great monster must have stories to tell. And special characteristics as well. I was hoping u could tell more about him notworthy.gif
antzz
post Jan 11 2013, 12:00 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 11 2013, 02:57 AM)
Is this ur type of Egyptian?

Must be cute. I'd really like to see it very much nod.gif

This post has been edited by antzz: Jan 11 2013, 12:11 PM
antzz
post Jan 20 2013, 09:23 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(kyox88 @ Jan 20 2013, 09:05 PM)
indeed..scare cannot jaga them when i'm away during holiday  sad.gif
How long usually u leave for holiday? Most turts and torts can endure long fasting periods. Also can hv automatic feeders nowadays. So i think should be no problem.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0446sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:57 PM