134 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V5

TScamillenoir
post Mar 30 2011, 11:26 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(suprafire @ Mar 30 2011, 09:20 AM)
Bro I bought my exo-terra Sun Glo bulb at less than RM15, at a pet store in a shopping mall.
Suggest you go buy exo-terra bulbs, not the cheapo ones...
my turtle really love it coz it's damn hot, until my computer mouse nearby also feels hot, damn effective smile.gif
there are no research whatsoever that proves pricier heat bulbs are practically better than cheap bulbs. they are only better on paper, and on features that don't really count in terms of heating. the only ones promoting expensive heat bulbs are the company itself and of course, sellers.

if you're implying that items outside of the enclosures are effected by the heat, your setup probably had ineffective temperature gradient (high end-low end), which could be more dangerous that underheating. get a couple of thermometers measure those stuff.

we had successfully raised turtles for years using generic cheap incandescent bulbs. and like sam said, higher wattage always generate more heat, so you can opt to play with the setup using that equation instead.

BenSow
post Mar 31 2011, 12:22 AM

Awaiting OREO
2,716 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 27 2011, 10:09 PM)
My Terrapin still not eating and floating even I changed the water regularly. Someone knows how to continuously maintain the water temperature ?
when my tort kena i separeted him and lowered the water level so he can get heat for surrounding air.. be careful though you dont want a draft to blow and make him cold again..
vivtch
post Mar 31 2011, 02:31 PM

Has anyone declared their RES yet and get the special permission?

yeelin04
post Mar 31 2011, 10:16 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

Been with us since i am form 4 ...ahahaahahaaaa

This post has been edited by yeelin04: Mar 31 2011, 11:07 PM
TScamillenoir
post Apr 1 2011, 08:37 AM

373 posts

QUOTE(vivtch @ Mar 31 2011, 02:31 PM)
Has anyone declared their RES yet and get the special permission?
right now, every application for licenses, permits, and etc. from the Department of Wildlife had been put on hold pending the transitional provision of Act 716. they would only start issuing in July, right now they only issue out receipts/proofs of application.

anyway, since they had not fully sorted out problems regarding applications made under Act 686 (in which applications were made between 9 months to more than a year ago), i guess our applications would take a (long) while to be processed.
suprafire
post Apr 1 2011, 08:55 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 31 2011, 10:16 PM)

Wow beautiful... can't wait for mine to be this big smile.gif
yeelin04
post Apr 1 2011, 02:41 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(suprafire @ Apr 1 2011, 08:55 AM)
Wow beautiful... can't wait for mine to be this big smile.gif
mine very very long..imagine when i was form 3 it was so tiny, now i am middle 20's and its this big, and dunno male/female ...summore pandai listen to instruction..

cos at night it will walk around the bathroom, when we open door, he/she wants to come out.. then i will say " eeehh, no going out arr, go back inside"..then it will automatic u-turn & go back in & wont go nearby the bathroom door sweat.gif laugh.gif
suprafire
post Apr 2 2011, 01:23 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 1 2011, 02:41 PM)
mine very very long..imagine when i was form 3 it was so tiny, now i am middle 20's and its this big, and dunno male/female ...summore pandai listen to instruction..

cos at night it will walk around the bathroom, when we open door, he/she wants to come out.. then i will say " eeehh, no going out arr, go back inside"..then it will automatic u-turn & go back in & wont go nearby the bathroom door  sweat.gif  laugh.gif
Wow... listen to instructions too, means this pet is similar to Oscar/Arowana etc with a personality... cool. Am starting to bond with my RES too, at first scared of me, but now can play with him daily. Having a pet sure is enjoyable... oh yea, from the photo i'd say it's a female, coz male should have long claws (kinda like wolverine) X)
yeelin04
post Apr 2 2011, 01:00 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(suprafire @ Apr 2 2011, 01:23 AM)
Wow... listen to instructions too, means this pet is similar to Oscar/Arowana etc with a personality... cool. Am starting to bond with my RES too, at first scared of me, but now can play with him daily. Having a pet sure is enjoyable... oh yea, from the photo i'd say it's a female, coz male should have long claws (kinda like wolverine) X)
hmm, female huh? But from young i didnt trim her nails at all till Now..when young she is naughty, around smaller size, when i take bath she will walk near me and sit there to get the shower water, then when i am not realized, she will snap me with her mouth >_> aftermath my leg got a 'v' shape wound doh.gif
suprafire
post Apr 2 2011, 03:06 PM

52 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 2 2011, 01:00 PM)
hmm, female huh? But from young i didnt trim her nails at all till Now..when young she is naughty, around smaller size, when i take bath she will walk near me and sit there to get the shower water, then when i am not realized, she will snap me with her mouth >_> aftermath my leg got a 'v' shape wound doh.gif
Yep... check out this article http://www.redearslider.com/anatomy.html
It details the notable traits of male and female RES smile.gif
yeelin04
post Apr 2 2011, 10:39 PM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(suprafire @ Apr 2 2011, 03:06 PM)
Yep... check out this article http://www.redearslider.com/anatomy.html
It details the notable traits of male and female RES smile.gif
arigato...but how long can she live?? hmm.gif
suprafire
post Apr 3 2011, 12:16 PM

52 posts

Hello everyone, my RES has developed an ear abscess on the left side of its head; just noticed it today (a bump on the left side).
Can anybody here recommend a good vet doctor to perform surgery for me?
Advice greatly appreciated, thanks smile.gif

Added on April 4, 2011, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Apr 2 2011, 10:39 PM)
arigato...but how long can she live??  hmm.gif
abt 40 years if kept ideally... smile.gif

This post has been edited by suprafire: Apr 4 2011, 12:55 PM
iminuru
post Apr 5 2011, 04:19 AM

Tortoises lovers, someone's selling Mazuri Tortoise Food @ Pets Store.. good news for us =)
SUSsuperTB
post Apr 7 2011, 11:58 PM

109 posts

hi

i want adopt tortoise

but what the diff. tortoise, terapin, labi labi, tuntung??

do special permit do adopt them?
yeelin04
post Apr 8 2011, 12:06 AM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(suprafire @ Apr 3 2011, 12:16 PM)
abt 40 years if kept ideally... smile.gif
wow so many yrs..how to see my tortise how old? and what do you feed your tortise?
Prince of Darkness
post Apr 8 2011, 09:20 AM

Is it a must to deworm all tortise?

This post has been edited by Prince of Darkness: Mar 27 2012, 07:30 PM
CreepyCrawly
post Apr 19 2011, 03:50 PM

248 posts

Sorry if this Q is repeated,
Jus wonder how to sex a radi ?
SAMPERTH
post Apr 19 2011, 10:40 PM

517 posts

QUOTE(CreepyCrawly @ Apr 19 2011, 04:50 PM)

Sorry if this Q is repeated,
Jus wonder how to sex a radi ?
Same as most other breed of chelonian - M with longer tailwhile F with shorter tail !! But radi are known to be tricky till big ie 10 or so inch if not larger !!
kennt0312
post Apr 19 2011, 11:48 PM

443 posts

QUOTE(yeelin04 @ Mar 31 2011, 10:16 PM)

i think to buy this type, but worry when it grow up & the size bigger dont know how to keep them as my house dont have enough space for big aqua/pond. haiz, think to rear a turtle since quite long ago but keep dont dare to buy.

This post has been edited by kennt0312: Apr 19 2011, 11:50 PM
yeelin04
post Apr 20 2011, 12:32 AM

✈ Look at all my stars ✈
3,116 posts

QUOTE(kennt0312 @ Apr 19 2011, 11:48 PM)
i think to buy this type, but worry when it grow up & the size bigger dont know how to keep them as my house dont have enough space for big aqua/pond. haiz, think to rear a turtle since quite long ago but keep dont dare to buy.
we let her down on the bathroom floor the whole night, she roams n sleep there only...then morning just put her inside a pond with water smile.gif

she prefers on the bathroom floor, climb on top n eat kangkung all the time biggrin.gif

134 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:04 PM