2011 Hyundai Avante/Elantra

NiCkY
post Aug 28 2010, 10:08 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(miet @ Jul 26 2010, 07:41 PM)
Common sense lah OK.  The trend is the whichever model that is released later will be better becos newer tech,etc..
let say 1 or 2 years after this avante is launched,another new model comes out,ppl sure say thsi avante no good liao...aiyo..common
haha, same thing like a lot forte fan boy bash other cars being having a lot goodies... lol... not to mention that forte release later than others also? whistling.gif

Added on August 28, 2010, 10:16 am
QUOTE(juzagenius @ Jul 28 2010, 10:58 PM)
this is like preventing good cars coming into malaysia..
but if they do, it will end up like a stripped naked malaysian version ford fiesta, pathetic!

malaysian brands are not making a difference, its BORING! 100 types of edition/face-lift and $hit
that's why ppl want non-national cars, NAP cannot stop people..
look at korean cars! p1 and p2 should stop producing funny cars already wink.gif

dumba$$!

Added on July 28, 2010, 11:01 pmon topic,

grrr.. this car is 1.6L but produces 140ps!
+ 6spd transmission!
smexy wink.gif
if the fiesta didnt get stripped, the price will higher than others, hard to sell...

just like vios e spec, base car price is 56K, plus excise duty and tax 23K, plus 2K for insurance, become 81K...
why we still need to pay 23K for gov? and now they slowly stop subsidizing the ron97 petrol, on the other way round, they should slowly cut down the excise duty... let ppl hav cheaper car and expensive petrol, not expensive petrol and expensive car...
the excise duty should around 15%, not 40-50% of the car price...

damn love our gov and nap... bravo malaysia!

This post has been edited by NiCkY: Aug 28 2010, 06:30 PM
NiCkY
post Oct 6 2011, 12:10 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Oct 3 2011, 02:34 PM)
Every month, 500-600 Fortes are registered in the country. This compares favorably to Civic, Altis and even City (each of these three cars sells about the same amount every month). Msian mentality has already changed, bro. Even faster than anticipated.

What other changes do you want SD and Naza to make? Sell at cost price? There's nothing wrong with their selling prices at the moment. Unless and until the govt completely removes the protectionist policies, right now it's as good as it gets. Pls don't demand too much unless you want the company to lingkup because not enough profit margins.

If that happens, you may have paid less when buying your new Elantra or Forte but the price you actually pay is a bankrupt principle and super depreciation for your ride. I'm sure you won't want that, right? Remember what happened to Chevrolet and Renault last time?
u sure city sell around the amount that u mentioned every month? whistling.gif why YTD sales (till august) for forte is 3971 and city is 8608? even month august itself for forte is 501 and city is 806, 300 cars different per month is not a big deal? dun forget honda still in recovery from their full production . sweat.gif
not to mention since u compare city and forte, mostly due to pricing, why not add in vios? YTD sales (till august) 20031 and august 3215.
sometimes is hard to compared forte sales to others. if based on same segment, altis and civic is a lot more expensive, but 3 of them YTD result still abang adik.
if based on pricing, since forte should whack those city and vios sales, but is still not up to there YET.
vios sales seems increase a lot, normally they doing 2K+ per month, maybe many buyers cant wait for city due to slow production and changed their mind to vios, i dun see big leap jump from forte sales, still maintain around 500 cars +- per month for sometimes.

no doubt avante looks nice, and since i in jb, can always saw sg avante passing by. if the price is right, will be good buy. but this will kill forte sales, mostly... sweat.gif
later naza slash price to fight back? whistling.gif
NiCkY
post Oct 6 2011, 12:37 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Oct 6 2011, 12:24 AM)
lol avante selling for 100k+ in sg!!dafak
sg COE increase a lot from 2008 till now, if u monitor their growth...

totally different than malaysia, where by, selling price in malaysia is determine by manufacture/distributor and most important "kena lulus" by our lovely minister and gov... doh.gif

edited: i still remember once i read a sg newspaper back in 2008, when the time COE was quite cheap, there's few AP civic type R selling for 99K+- SGD.
deng! if malaysia 99K get a used civic 1.8 or 2.0.

This post has been edited by NiCkY: Oct 6 2011, 12:44 AM
NiCkY
post Oct 6 2011, 10:53 AM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(gregy @ Oct 6 2011, 04:22 AM)
If you bother to look at MAA figures, you'll find that in June of this year, 499 Citys were sold compared to 590 Fortes. Then in July 544 Citys against 488 Fortes. For August, 806 Citys against 500 Fortes. The fact that a Korean make can trade blows with a hot favorite goes to show how the tide is changing. At this point, the word on the street is that Naza simply do not have the capacity to supply enough cars. Do you hear of any City buyers clamouring for stocks? Let's wait for Sept figures to see if the Aug sales for City was just a one-off fluke or indeed they are recovering.

And it's not that fair to compare YTD at this point. The 6-speed Forte only started deliveries after CNY. Before that they were trying to clear the old 4-speeder. Before CNY there is usually a big jump in sales due to many ppl wanting to own new cars for the festive season. I was also trying to get my Forte 2.0 b4 CNY but no stocks were available.

Why do you say that only Honda is recovering? You mean Toyota wasn't affected at all? Before the Forte, Korean cars were normally doing 30-100 cars a month. That was already considered a big deal. Look at them now, knocking on the heels of the bread and butter Jap cars. Also, many buyers who consider alternative cars other than T and H would also have considered the other Jap makes like Nissan, Suzuki, Mazda and also Euro brands like Pug and Ford. As far as those brands go, the Kia Forte has practically wiped the floor with them. Hyundai Elantra is bound to create a stir but it won't be at the expense of the cheaper Kia Forte. You also need to take into account the majority of buyers are more conservative, hence Toyota consistently outguns Honda. The same may happen with the Hyundai/Kia story too. Just like the Sonata, ya it looks futuristic and all, but a mere 100 cars a month (give or take)? Many ppl predicted that it would kill the Camry and Accord but lo and behold, that didn't happen.

Also, let's look at the macro side of things.

In 2009, 537,000 vehicles were sold. 29,387 Vios, 19,722 City.

In 2010, 605,000 vehicles were sold, 33,674 Vios, 19,944 City.

In 2011, 297,203 vehicles were sold between Jan-Jun, 16,816 Vios, 7,802 City.

Even before the tsunami hit, City was already losing ground while the Vios went up in sync with the number of cars sold (roughly 12.6%, from 2009-2010). Based on those figures, it is safe to say that the Vios' sales will be roughly status quo compared to last year. Where's that "increase a lot" that you were talking about?

This tells me that most ppl who buy the Vios are conservative folks who wouldn't consider anything else unless it's also a Toyota. Honda is slowly slipping in popularity, while the Koreans are definitely making headway.

I'm not trying to stir the hornet's nest here, merely looking at facts and figures.
dude, if u compare those month especially after tsunami hit for honda is it fair enough? even they on full production, they still lack of stock(as always), not to mention when the time production is effected by tsunami, which is badly hit for them. for those owners who booked in july, some of their cars will be deliver by this month, means they still waiting for it. waiting list for honda city during tsunami is around 3 to 4 months, does this problem will favor to others model or not? u judge.

Is up to you how to compare, but i would not take this year seriously to judge for city or others japanese cars is it falling or not. And tsunami did effected toyota as well, but they recovered faster than honda.

back to the figure, is good that u hav vios and city YTD result for 2010, where's forte? let me add in for u,
for 2010, total 5209 sold, average per month is 434.
compare to 2011 YTD (august)
total 3971 and average per month is 496.

I dun see any major jump for forte sales until today, as u claim that "Msian mentality has already changed". doh.gif

btw, next year, volkswagen will hit into market seriously. japanese brand will suffer or not? time will tell. unless not because of forte as u said change malaysian mentality.
NiCkY
post Oct 6 2011, 07:15 PM

The POWER Of Dream(tm)
2,383 posts

QUOTE(turbocharged @ Oct 6 2011, 05:45 PM)
i can assure you SD cannot match naza price, naza forte is ckd price.

Added on October 6, 2011, 5:51 pm
if you understand mathematic,

forte is about 4000 now, vios is 20,000, and city is 8000. ( YTD until august, from you guys)

look at forte sales, its now 20% of vios, or 50% of city.

if you ever enter a meeting, with figures above, and tell ppl the forte is not significant, then .....good for you, you have a lot to learn. ( in reality, you'll either get fired, or no promotion)

you're not smart to quote 2009 and 2010 figure, because thats the year kia/hyundai started to show new design, and it need to gain momentum.

2012 will be even better for kia/hyundai.

and inspira is in, to take a cut, its YTD is aout 8000. and insight, 3000( another 1000 to go).

and peugeot 308.
Wow, since u said reality, does is there any reason cause short fall for t and h? disasterhappen can't be foresee, hence is up to u take this into it or not. your numbers can makeu happy and jumping around, but next year still able to?

Haha, get fired? lol
u hav a lot nice figure to compare how great forte is, dun be llike a class dumb student ,without realise what happen to your enemy. wait till next year when they get back their foot, and u pray for ur result.

I not anti korean, hence i using Korean phone, and its nicer than apple, lol...
For automotive , Korean still lack a bit, still not hav enough influence to our market. the only big thing coming is ckd vw.

Good luck "pro", rip for ur idol... Lol

This post has been edited by NiCkY: Oct 6 2011, 07:18 PM

0.0426sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:45 PM