Damaged car number plate, one number missing

TSVeda
post Apr 30 2010, 08:27 AM, updated 14y ago

650 posts

Guys,

My front car number plate was damaged recently during a downpour. Part of the plate and one of the numbers fell off.

I'll like to ask:
1. Is it an offence to drive around with a missing number on the front car number plate? If so, how much are the summons?

2. Where can I replace the number plate? Any car workshop also can? How much does it cost?

Kindly advise notworthy.gif
SiuYi
post Apr 30 2010, 08:32 AM

*Squeeck!*
4,560 posts

1. yes. er..normally they wont summon u, but will warn u.if ur bad luck, they will ask for kopi. however if its JPJ, u better be ready.

2. any accessories shop which provide car plate services. a digit will not cost more than rm5.
Damonzero
post Apr 30 2010, 08:41 AM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

Shouldnt be a big problem. My fren once drive without rear number plate for 1 month. Police just give warning.

You can go to any acc shop to do it, its relatively cheap or DIY it at hardware shop or ACE hardware.
Liuism
post Apr 30 2010, 12:10 PM

1,866 posts

QUOTE(SiuYi @ Apr 30 2010, 08:32 AM)
1. yes. er..normally they wont summon u, but will warn u.if ur bad luck, they will ask for kopi. however if its JPJ, u better be ready.

2. any accessories shop which provide car plate services. a digit will not cost more than rm5.
Follow as suggested above..
but like what SiuYi said, bribery is the worst
mADmAN
post Apr 30 2010, 12:29 PM

10,515 posts

i once drove into a roadblock without front number plate....it fell off and i didnt notice...

luckily i had that aluminium backing/housing thing...so they saw the double sided tape on it and know that it fell off...so they just took down my details in a book and ask me to jalan

just go to practically any car accesory shop and they should be able to do it for u.
JackX
post Apr 30 2010, 01:11 PM

2,732 posts

QUOTE(Veda @ Apr 30 2010, 08:27 AM)
Guys,

My front car number plate was damaged recently during a downpour. Part of the plate and one of the numbers fell off.

I'll like to ask:
1. Is it an offence to drive around with a missing number on the front car number plate? If so, how much are the summons?

2. Where can I replace the number plate? Any car workshop also can? How much does it cost?

Kindly advise  notworthy.gif
Cost about RM15 for 1 side.. front and back around RM30. tongue.gif

Good luck with replacing bro, make sure u check some of the shop lazy the edges not smooth.
ceo684
post Apr 30 2010, 04:05 PM

Component Burner
11,545 posts

u can get 10 bucks per piece if u shop around.
rcracer
post Apr 30 2010, 05:03 PM

?????
3,743 posts

You can also buy just the number only, no need to get a whole new plate, dunno how much but definately cheaper than getting a new plate.

should be able to get at hardware stores
tehoice
post Apr 30 2010, 05:57 PM

5,403 posts

just change the whole number plate lar, easily available at RM15 (max) at any accessory shop...
TSVeda
post May 1 2010, 12:22 AM

650 posts

Thank you for the help, everyone. Appreciate it.

Part of the plate broke off too, so I'll have to replace the whole plate.

siew14
post Jan 9 2014, 12:15 AM

838 posts

hello,

how much does it cost to replace the whole plate, including the car plate frame as well. I still have the number/alphabet with me though.

wayfeel
post Jan 9 2014, 01:03 AM

Member of Elite Negotiators xD
2,114 posts

haiya...one number only rm1.60...sai mm sai open one thread for it biggrin.gif mr trollface

This post has been edited by wayfeel: Jan 9 2014, 01:04 AM
mivecwira
post Jan 9 2014, 09:24 AM

use liquid paper and write back the missing no la...at least gt the no there, if u want to save some...

saw many old folks did that with their car o bike. Some of then even use plain paper or cardboard to substitute the plate..haha

my cheap 2 cents tho.
iamspaceship
post Jan 11 2019, 03:58 PM

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by iamspaceship: Apr 23 2021, 12:05 PM
kons
post Jan 11 2019, 04:13 PM

Конс
6,142 posts

i always report car with missing number to aduanjpj.

so far i think i sent more than 1000 pics to them already
jameslow
post Jan 12 2019, 12:16 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Jan 11 2019, 04:13 PM)
i always report car with missing number to aduanjpj.

so far i think i sent more than 1000 pics to them already
Any idea so far is there any action taken by enforcement?

0.0196sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:39 AM