Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

Shazlee69
post Jun 23 2010, 02:10 PM

Okay guys, why don't we use some plain english.. After reading all these, I feel like I'm going to build a satellite for NASA with 90% unknown terms you guys use.

However I'm loving the knowledge you guys are sharing.. Just don't leave us (the not average) so far behind. We are learning, we'll be there soon. wink.gif

Anyway some of us really need a plain english answer to some of these major concerns:-

1) Is it possible to get rid completely of TM D-Link Router DIR-615

Meaning:- FiberHome(White box) --> Own router (D-Link DIR-825 or Belkin N1 vision, etc,) ---> PC & IPTV

If not what are the requirements to make it work?

2) I also believe you guys also mentioned about VLAN, meaning fo we have to get a router for that has this feature? Can you list few available options?

3) Also, some of the method shown that we still need to use TM D-Link router, making it as a bridge and then connect it to our own router. Why is this?

4) Can someone guide us the possible way to use internet and IPTV together by getting rid of TM D-Link router. Steps with gui abit, so we know what to set what not to set.

Thank you SIFUS.

Added on June 23, 2010, 2:41 pmAlso i forgot to mention,

5) If we want to use POE switch, who should connect to who now? Mind elaborate to us on how to do so? U see, if we cant simplify this to a single or easier connecting method, it means we have to use 4 devices................... (Horror case for my IP camera side business)

FiberHome (white box) ---> TM D-Link router ----> Our own router ---> POE switch.

This is crazy.. I'm starting to hate TM net or telecom, limiting that limiting this, block that block this, no freedom at all...

This post has been edited by Shazlee69: Jun 23 2010, 02:41 PM
Shazlee69
post Jun 24 2010, 01:57 PM

rizvanrp, thanks alot for the answers. I think the best way not is still to use tmnet damn router as a bridge and connect it to our own. I just simply hate how telekom monoply things in their business. You see, the limit here and there, but we are paying at a big amount for the service. So it's not just the customer they control and spin like a ball.. they're closing helthy competition in the market especially for other organization to compete with them. It's been like that since we were using dial-up. You see, one disadvantage for us is we couldnt get the extra more. No competition means... no reduce in price... no rapid improvement to compete... no rise in technology. So it's not flexibility, customer satifaction, or user-friendly they are trying to captive us, it's making us stuck by spinning the ball in a fixed whole. It's like the will spin, it will just spin there. That's why if there is a way i can throw their stuff, hell i will. I'm not a technical guy, i'm more on business and analysis. So this is just my thought.

Anyway bro, if you've found a way later on or new method connectiong the Unifi, update and guide us inside your web-page.

Added on June 24, 2010, 2:07 pmnot to mention their services are very very poor. customer service or whatever, some of them are really slow or really dumb to even use basic common sense.

just to share with you, they drilled a hole in my living hall to bring in the fiber cable from outside to inside. to add it more... it's in the middle of my living hall at center between my sofa and tv. I was speechless when i got back, i wanted to explode but knowing luckly i'm moving out in a couple of months to my new hse. Also, knowing how dumb they can be just made me realize they are not worth it to waste my enerrgy for. Dont tell me they dont have enough money to send those installer for a proper training and proper installation guideline. Common sense bro, will you drill a hole in your damn living room in the middle of one side where it's damn visible? that's not stupid, that's already way beyond stupid. Sorry technician, no offense.. I'm just shooting live bullets to telekom and their crony.

This post has been edited by Shazlee69: Jun 24 2010, 02:07 PM

0.0426sec    0.80    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:55 AM