Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

PGGTrader
post May 27 2010, 07:56 PM

39 posts

Hi guys, I am interested to apply for the Unifi, but not sure which package to go for.
I would like to get the 10Mbps package but i have a question, is there a different on speed to overseas server (other than local Malaysia Based server) with the 5Mbps package ? I remember i read somewhere that the speed to overseas server range from a few hundred KB to around 2 Mbps only, if that is the case then subscribing to the 10Mbps seems to be not so worth it, since the faster speed is only for connection to local server. I also remember reading somewhere on this topic that Unifi is giving 1 month free, is it true ? Thanks in advance.

ps : Just to ask you guys for your personal opinion, should i apply for unifi now (any problem ? like i remember when i apply for streamyx when it first came out, it was hell... and TM was simply charging me ridiculous amount when i subscribed to RM 88 package) or should i wait ? (i am staying in subang and am currently covered, so not a problem with coverage area)
PGGTrader
post Jun 3 2010, 04:38 PM

39 posts

Hi Rizvanrp. 1st of all, thank you for your effort which helped so many of us.

I was reading your site : http://unifi.athena.my/index.php?option=co...id=50&Itemid=62
about FTTH wiring, which i have a few questions :

because i am getting my Unifi installed on this coming Sunday, so i am trying to figure out the best way to install it.
According to your pic, you only have a small termination box which convert the 'Black' cable directly from the phone pole / FTTH box to the 'White' cable with socket connector which connect directly to the Fiberhome unit.
But...
I just went to my sister's house which they were installing Unifi for her today, her setup require the 'Black' cable from the phone pole / FTTH Box outside her house to be terminated at a Fiber Termination Box (which is a medium size white box slightly bigger than the one in your pic) on the outside wall of her house and then a 'white' cable with orange wording come out from it and go inside the house. They then connect this 'White' cable with orange wording to the Fiber Wall Socket (which i think looks like the one from your pic) and come out with the 'White' cable with socket connector to the Fiberhome unit. Is this a must ? or i can ask them to just directly do like yours and install without the Medium Size Fiber Termination Box outside my house ?

Thanks in advance !

Ps : Sorry forgot to mention, i am living in a double storey terrace house. The FTTH box is behind my house (back alley) on top of the Phone Pole.

This post has been edited by PGGTrader: Jun 3 2010, 04:39 PM
PGGTrader
post Jun 3 2010, 06:25 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rogue @ Jun 3 2010, 05:25 PM)
Their fiber splitters if I recall it. My setup in two-half-story house was quite simple, I simply ask them to bypass splitter, pull directly from FTTH box on phone poll straight into Fiberhome modem. The distance wasn't far from poll to my house btw. Some installers will give you either white or black fiber cable. I see no difference in it accept for the colouring. Perhaps I'm wrong.

I had the chance to see a Unifi installation for BIZ5. The installation was similar to your sisters setup accept the phone poll FTTH box = FTTH box mounted on the wall of the building. We ask them to bypass the splitters but they said they can't coz the wires aren't long enough to pull into the building unit. LoL.. So basically their going through 2 splitters > fiberhome modem.

Signal strength is important as well. The lower the better. Please ask the installers this when they setup.
Thanks Rogue, for the info. But what do they mean when they say the wires aren't long enough to pull into the building ? then thru the splitter they still need to pull the wire into the building right ? Weird...

I did talk to them just now during install, they told me they pull the Black cable into the Fiber Termination Box then change to white cable because the Black cable is for outdoor use and cannot bend much, while the white cable is slightly less sensitive when you bend it, so it is more suitable for indoor use when u pull thru corner and conceal it in the plastic wire casing. What i didn't know was the 'Black' outdoor cable can be pulled straight into the FiberWall Socket directly without using the white cable. Btw, when u mention that you have the 'Black' outdoor cable pull straight into the Fiberhome Modem, you mean u still go thru the FiberWall Splitter like rizvanrp pic right ?

Thanks again.

ps : Anyone has any similar / different setup / experience please do share.

This post has been edited by PGGTrader: Jun 3 2010, 06:26 PM
PGGTrader
post Jun 5 2010, 06:30 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(warlove3 @ Jun 5 2010, 04:51 PM)
currently waiting for UniFi to be implement in Seri Petaling, going for Biz5 as i don't need IPTV and of course the unlimited bandwidth =D
Just for your info, you can subscribe to VIP5 1st, then later if you decide to upgrade to Biz5 (when they start implementing the caps) you can call Unifi and upgrade it, you will lose your ipTV but there is no penalty if you upgrade, and the contract remain the same (means 24 months from the day you subscribe to Unifi, not the day you upgrade) but downgrade they will charge RM 100 (for now) and will have your contract reset and re-start from the day you downgrade. I called and asked them twice already, so it is a reliable info. (but i am not sure will you need to surrender your ipTV Set Top Box if you upgrade to Biz5)

PGGTrader
post Jun 8 2010, 02:54 PM

39 posts

Hey guys, i just got my Unifi VIP5 installed.
I am currently getting Download Speed of 4783 Kbps and Upload Speed of 6347 Kbps on Unifi's SpeedTest
Mind sharing your speed ?

ps : Anyway to improve the speed ? (Legal way of course)
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 12:15 PM

39 posts

Hi Rizvanrp, may i ask is there a possibility that Unifi will let us use our own router in the future without the need of using their DIR-615 as a VLAN Bridge ? i am planning to get a Simultaneous Dual Band Router now and use DIR-615 as a VLAN bridge but afraid later if TM allow us to use our own router w/o DIR-615 as VLAN bridge, my Simultaneous Dual Band Router might not be compatible. (It will be a waste of money to buy a new router then... as i believe the Simultaneous Dual Band Router is not cheap...Any recommendation for Simultaneous Dual Band Router ?)

Thanks in advance.

ps : The DIR-615 TM Provide really do suck big time... please do advice so i can have some idea on what to do.

I am on VIP5, FTTH not VDSL2 and i need the ipTV.

This post has been edited by PGGTrader: Jun 10 2010, 12:17 PM
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 12:22 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 12:18 PM)
If TM allows you to use your own router w/o DIR-615 as a VLAN bridge in the future, why would your dual band router not be compatible anymore?

The problem right now is that they've made it so you need the DIR-615 to push your PPPoE traffic from the dual band router onto a special VLAN in order for it to connect. If they ever make it so that its not needed, you will just need to remove the DIR-615 and it will still work.

This is however.. unlikely to happen. They've already ordered the DIR-615 from D-Link and its required to access the IPTV network.
Thanks for the info, so i guess i should just proceed to get my new router, really can't stand the DIR-615.
Can you please recommend me a good simultaneous dual band router that has a very good firewall / security ? I am doing a lot of work on sensitive info and need my network to be very secure from the internet and WiFi.
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 12:35 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 12:27 PM)
I can't really recommend a good dual band router since what I normally do is setup a wired router + firewall (pfsense running on an old laptop).. wire that into a switch and from the switch I wire it into a wireless access point (wifi g/n/whatever). This way, all my components are separated and I have much better security and control over my network.

You can look at : http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/component/o...art/Itemid,189/

.. if you're looking for some high performance all-in-one wifi routers.
Thanks, Looks like my best bet is D-Link Xtreme N Dual Band Gigabit Router (DIR-825 (A1) or
What's your view on D-Link Vs LinkSys Vs Belkin Vs Netgear ?

I was previously using 3Com ADSL All in One + 3Com Gigaswitch 5. Was working for 4 years very well and never give me any problem. But now my 3Com ADSL All in One cannot be used with DIR-615 anymore...
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 12:51 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 12:45 PM)
I would rate Linksys the highest, then netgear/dlink.. and belkin would be the worst IMO. Never had any firmware issues with Linksys.

Right now I'm on pfSense and its pretty much impossible to overload it with this 20/20mbps connection. Running @ 10 days of uptime with no network downtime despite its 9000+ connection bittorrent load.
Thanks ! Of course i am not able to setup anything close to yours, i will never use anywhere close to that load. My VIP5 is only for my own use only (Even for only 1 person use i can't stand the TM's DIR-615)

BTW, is the firewall (SPI + NAT) good enough on the DIR-615 ? If the Dual Band Router too expensive then maybe i will continue to use the DIR-615 if the security / firewall is good enough till someone release a better dual band router in the future.
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 01:00 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 12:56 PM)
In terms of NAT routing performance, the DIR-615 does lock up occasionally. People complain about the wifi signal because its really weak. Someone even had their DIR-615 constantly dropping wifi connections and breaking his VPN links. Then the port forwarding doesn't seem to work properly for some users either. Then there's the SSH daemon which cannot be shut off from LAN access and a 15 session max limit on the HTTP server. Connecting to the web UI on the dir-615 15 times simultaneously will cause its http server to lock up temporarily. I mean.. if thats the state of the other features on the router I can't really be sure what to expect from the SPI firewall lol
Hahaha... Got your point. I guess i better go get a new router ASAP. Seriously no idea what to get.
Just done some read up on 5Ghz Band, seems not able to support longer range then a few meter.
Perhaps i should just get a decent replacement with strong firewall will do. My concern is only security.
Anything to recommend me on that ?

Thanks !

Added on June 10, 2010, 1:03 pm
QUOTE(kengsim @ Jun 10 2010, 12:59 PM)
Knowing TM, I suppose someone made a deal with D-Link and ordered a few containers of it; needless to say, possibly a bunch of people 'benefited' from this. So we users are stuck with this solution until they finish their stock. The more complicated it is, the more devices it involves and the more money it'll generate. Guess why our HSBB costs RM11bil to implement...

I'm pretty happy with my DIR-655 so I might use your custom router method and keep this. But I'll see how the DIR-615 performs first. I don't really need Wireless-N since my whole house is Ethernet-cabled with Gigabit switches in more than 1 room. I also have a Linksys WRT-610N lying around somewhere so I might use that. But I hate the shape... cannot stack so that's even more clutter on my table.

*sigh* blink.gif  rclxub.gif  vmad.gif
Well, i think it is quite a good router according to some reviews.
Perhaps on your stacking problem, you can think about getting an accessories from IKEA ?
It only cost me RM 19, i am using it now. It is a Small Rack slightly bigger than the router so you can put something else on top.
Just a suggestion.

This post has been edited by PGGTrader: Jun 10 2010, 01:03 PM
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 01:18 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 10 2010, 01:12 PM)
In terms of security, home routers normally only offer SPI firewalls. They normally come with some simple rules to detect port scanners, block ICMP packets along with various VPN protocols and prevent fake LAN IPs from sending data in through the WAN interface. This combined with NAT gives your home network a decent level of security. As long as you don't misconfigure your router or setup port forwarding to services on your internal network which are insecure.. you should be fine.

Corporations which are using Unifibiz with static IP addressing will normally go with a hardware firewall/router combination. They need features such as connection logging, intrusion detection, etc. Home users can afford to just disconnect + reconnect their PPPoE connection if anyone tries to target them.

Nowadays, you're more likely to get 'attacked' by downloading a program with a password stealer attached to it.. this is something a basic software firewall such as Comodo or ZoneAlarm can protect you from.
Thanks for the explanation. I am currently using Norton Internet Security 2010 and combined with the router's firewall, i guess i should be safe enough ?
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 04:39 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jun 10 2010, 04:16 PM)
if u plan to get dir825, can try out the B1 version coz A1 cannot flash with dd-wrt but B1 can. however, the performance of B1 seems lower a bit than A1.
u can have a look on netgear wndr3700 too.. dd-wrt compatible too
Thanks, how about LinkSys WRT610N v2? Is it available in Low Yat ? Anyone has any idea how much it cost ?
Netgear WNDR 3700 seems like a good choice too... So is D-Link DIR-825 / 855....

Only if i can get some info on price and availability in Low Yat....
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 07:08 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jun 10 2010, 05:29 PM)
dir825 around rm370
wndr3700 rm5xx
linksys donno
Thanks for the info. It's of much help.
May i know which company is selling WNDR3700 ? i have looked up and down on all the price list but can't find anyone selling it.
Mind sharing ? Thanks.
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 11:25 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ionrage @ Jun 10 2010, 10:19 PM)
Mebbe we should all bulk together and order the WNDR3700, that is for those who want one. See if can get good discount
Yeah, i second that. Anyone else interested ? Btw, who is organize the bulk ?
PGGTrader
post Jun 10 2010, 11:51 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jun 10 2010, 11:41 PM)
i asked them before, with 10 units also is rm500
BTW if i saw ur post a week before, I might be the organizer since last week I plan to bulk order from overseas and i open the bulk, but after that i found local is more cheaper compare to overseas so i close the bulk, but now im consider dir825 already which is cheaper + performance less than wndr3700 a bit only but dd-wrt is much more stable with dir825, external antenna which I can replace with more high gain antenna later on, also the bonus is lifetime warranty by dlink, netgear only 2 years.
I see. Thanks for the info. How much is it if only buy 1 unit of WNDR3700 ? It is one to one exchange Warranty ?
PGGTrader
post Jun 11 2010, 01:22 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ Jun 10 2010, 11:57 PM)
One of the forumer here buy 1 unit for rm535, i'm not sure about the warranty though.. but i think its not one to one like belkin n dlink..
Thanks for the info, I guess if RM 535 and warranty not so good then might as well get LinkSys WRT-610N, saw the price list someone is selling at RM 599. But still most reviews favour WNRT-3700......

So it is still WRT-610N Vs WNRT-3700 Vs DIR-825
Anyone has any idea where to get DIR-855 ? Price ?

This post has been edited by PGGTrader: Jun 11 2010, 02:50 AM
PGGTrader
post Jun 14 2010, 07:38 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Lucas @ Jun 14 2010, 07:04 PM)
I think we are entitled to get full access of the router. They cant jst lock us out like that.

BTW, went to TM point to terminate my HomeLine + screamX. They wont allow me to terminate it until 30 June 2010............

I asked why, they say need to wait until UniFi billing date starts, which is 1st July 2010.

Then i ask, i wanna terminate homeline+screamx, whats the relation with UniFi? They could not answer me.

Which means, if i have Homeline + Screamx, but dont hv UniFi, i can terminate anytime, but once i subscribed to Unifi, i could only terminate it on 30 June 2010....
Fully agreed. TM is just trying to take us for a ride. Look at what they are doing to us... We don't even have full access to our router and they even loaded a SSH Deamon in our router (according to rizvanrp). This is an invasion of privacy. How could they plan a back door in the hardware without the user's consent and even tried to hide it until rizvanrp discovered it. I am sure this would have brought about a big legal case and class action in other country, but what to do, we live in Malaysia.

For your info, if you have been using your Streamyx account for over 24 Months (Contract Period), you should be able to terminate it anytime, at least that's what i did. I got my Unifi on early June and terminated my Streamyx 2 days after. The reason they do not let you terminate might be that your 24 Months contract with Streamyx is still in force and Unifi will not start charging till July 10, that's why they don't allow you to terminate. But if you are sure you have already passed the Streamyx contract period, i would advice you to call TM again (Dial 100 on TM Landline), if they still refuse to terminate your streamyx, you better contact CfM or MCMC ASAP.

ps : Since TM No longer let user access the router, and the DIR-615 given is using a custom FW, what if something happen to the DIR-615 after 1 year warranty period ? Can we copy and load the FW from TM's DIR-615 and restore it to a DIR-615 we buy at computer shop ? Even if we are allowed to do that, what happen when DIR-615 is no longer on the market after 2 years or so ? What will happen then ?

This post has been edited by PGGTrader: Jun 14 2010, 10:38 PM
PGGTrader
post Jun 21 2010, 05:15 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(mox123 @ Jun 21 2010, 12:53 PM)
Thanks bro.....will try it out once I got the netgear router :-)
Hi Mox123, may i know where are you getting the WNDR3700 and what's the price ?
I am interested to get one but was quoted RM 555. Also there is a new WNDR37AV Listed on Netgear website, so i might be waiting for that.
PGGTrader
post Jun 21 2010, 06:23 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(mox123 @ Jun 21 2010, 06:10 PM)
I'm still searching lah,seems a lot of shop don't carry netgear products. I wonder why and some shops even told me is a lousy brand lah.

Btw, can u tell me where u find it?
Kaira Technologies (M) Sdn Bhd
Suite 4.01, 4th Floor,Block A, Dataran Hamodal,
Lot No 4, Jalan Bersatu 13/4,Section 13,
46200 Petaling Jaya,Selangor Darul Ehsan, Malaysia
Tel: +603-7955 3669
Fax: +603-7957 3669

Sales contact
Name:Dexter Chong
Email: dexter@kairaglobal.com
Tel: +603-7955 3669
Mobile: +6012-241 0977

Got it from http://www.netgear.com.sg/Home/Internation...ibutionMal.aspx

They seems to be the only one in Malaysia to carry WNDR3700, but no stock need to order also.
If you are interested perhaps can organize a bulk ?
PGGTrader
post Jun 21 2010, 09:36 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(mox123 @ Jun 21 2010, 09:08 PM)
Thanks bro, you're one of those kind persons who wld answer my idiot question  thumbup.gif

Yup, I might want to order one......but just wonder why this brand cannot be found in those retail shops.....is this brand ok? Might want to "GOOGLE" a bit first  tongue.gif
Hey bro, no worry. Sometime i ask some noob question too, i am sure we all do sometime.
WNDR3700 is not without its short coming, it definitely is not the "Ultimate" Simultaneous Dual Band Router if that is what you are looking for, but according to smallnetbuilder.com it is one of the better one out there, of course at a price. If you are not looking for Simultaneous Dual Band then you will have more choices.

I think the reason retail store do not carry it is because NetGear is not really into Retail Market in Malaysia and RM 535 for a consumer grade router is really a bit expensive, not much of people is willing to pay such price for a router when competitive product is much less than RM 400 such as the D-Link DIR-825, not to mention those cheap Draft n router such as D-Link DIR-615 can be had for less than RM 150.

Moogle Stiltzkin, thanks for the input, but sometime it is not just the max simultaneous connections that matters, there is a lot more in a router that needs to be taken into consideration, if you look at smallnetbuilder.net review, WNDR3700 is stlll the reference model for its category and sometime people might be looking at a specific feature such as simultaneous dual band, gigabit LAN, strong wireless signal or fast wireless transfer speed. Just my 2 cents worth.

0.0801sec    0.51    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:52 AM