8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 14 2010, 08:41 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(special920 @ Jun 14 2010, 08:37 PM)
i use streamyx and surprisingly it managed to get to the website so i call the unifi call center and lodge a report.
They told me i am not the only one facing this kind of problem.
I could access both websites though hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 14 2010, 08:48 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jun 14 2010, 08:43 PM)
Works fine here. I'm using google dns though, dunno if that's related.
I'm using the screamyx shitty dns hmm.gif work.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 15 2010, 06:23 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(totally_skint @ Jun 14 2010, 09:49 PM)
It's censored.
I use google dns
That's why they call it "snail mail" tongue.gif
What do you mean censored ?? ( i haven't come across anything censored for me so far :/ )

I thought it was insecure to do online banking if you use any other dns than your own ISPs hmm.gif ?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 15 2010, 06:32 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 15 2010, 06:28 PM)
@moogle

TM applies DNS blackhole-ing on certain political and *ahem* websites on their own DNS servers.. as in the site will resolve to 127.0.0.1 if you use their DNS. I used to use OpenDNS but I switched to Google DNS because its faster (5ms latency > 250ms) and doesn't have those annoying ads when you mistype a URL.

TM's DNS server is also rather unstable at times for some reason..
Ah i see. Well would i be able to safely do my internet banking using google public dns or is that insecure hmm.gif ???

And hm isn't it illegal to black hole other political websites (non-terrorists ones anyway) ??? Oh nevermind, we are in boleh land shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 15 2010, 06:33 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 15 2010, 08:07 PM

4,470 posts

You might want to be careful which DNS server you use, a malicious one may direct you to a phishing which looks and feels like your e-banking site instead of the real one.

OpenDNS is pretty much trusted and aye-okay, but the annoying google redirection is another issue..

Google Open DNS redirection a risk for internet banking :/ ??

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 15 2010, 08:11 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 15 2010, 08:34 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 15 2010, 08:19 PM)
@moogle

Nope
Thx notworthy.gif

@kengsim

I can see where you are coming from. But without sharing tips to circumvent these unfair policies (not to abuse mind), tmnut will be thinking they can walk all over us the consumer just because we don't put up a fight.

Tmnut has been watching this thread and it's a shame they refuse to acknowledge their users would like to use their own router without being forced down our throats to use their crappy router for no other reason except tmnut are bullies rolleyes.gif

It's just sad such a company who is a cash cow monopoly can't even be a little considerate for such a small thing. Yes the security issue which Riv has explained in depth is worrisome, but that isn't the only issue, as the ability to use our own router is quite a big issue which tmnut is just turning a blind eye and try not to talk about. Kinda like how our politicians don't talk about problems they wish to ignore and hope they blow over (French Submarines and sickeningly high commissions for doing nothing really COUGH COUGH !!!!)

I don't know of any other company that goes out of their way to piss off their customers for no good reason except that they are cocky and they can do it with disregard. That is tmnut for you doh.gif

Tomorrow i'm getting Unifi, so hopefully i can use Riv's guide to block out any remote tampering so any future policy won't screw me over if they decide to force update firmware remotely shakehead.gif I just feel sorry for the other people who will only be able to get Unifi at a much later date.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 15 2010, 08:51 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 15 2010, 09:26 PM

4,470 posts

[quote=prasys,Jun 15 2010, 09:05 PM]riv said it already , you dont have to worry much on your part. The router has a non volatile memory area the ROM and NVRAM as well , basically its going to revert back to its factory settings when you do a hard reset. Heck even PDA does this , and a lot of other gadgets. For TM to change things , they would have to program it in a new firmware - I doubt they are going to do this . So basically you're good to go.

Dont worry Moogle , well just like the iDevices , there will be always a loophole. Its just matter of having the right person to discover it and sharing it with the rest of the people.

[/quote]

I hope so.... i'm just a non technical consumer living off the scraps the senseis riv and others care to share. Without that i would be screwed laugh.gif

My router just shipped too ;_; if the fix doesn't work, that would be one expensive paper weight hehe.

[quote][quote=rizvanrp,Jun 15 2010, 08:59 PM]
I don't even have TR-069 running.. using a custom router at the moment. Been this way for over a month now smile.gif

EDIT: They should just give the whole locking-the-user out thing a bloody rest. Even if people opt to use their own hardware, most of them will use the DIR-615 as a VLAN bridge. TM's happy, dlink's happy, user's happy.

[/quote]

Don't forget the cronies too laugh.gif Sell dlink dir-615, crony get $$ profit rolleyes.gif 6 figures commission shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 15 2010, 09:39 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 15 2010, 11:13 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 15 2010, 11:04 PM)
You get a 2GB email account with a different pass than the PPPoE.. then there's the 5 digit 'password' for the VOIP line, might be the voice mailbox or something. Have to call them and ask for it if they didn't give you the install slip biggrin.gif
Is it true that the tmnut unifi email has lots of spam??

My screaymx one does, so that is why i never bother using it laugh.gif (tmnut seem to give your email address to third party advertisers to make $$$ )

Also when gmail offers so much space, i don't know why people bother use isp email hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 16 2010, 02:32 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 01:58 PM

4,470 posts

Ok everyone, i finally subscribed to Unifi 10mb. I tried to change my mind and ask them we wanted 20mb instead, but they refused to do it because they gave the excuse they will have to reschedule to another date for them to do it if i wanted 20mb instead.

Kinda ridiculous as i did give them a few days notice about my intention to switch from 10mb to 20mb.

The only good news was, Rivzan's accounts for both admin and operator were still working. The admin however was using blank password hm...

Anyway i disabled all the nasty admin stuff tongue.gif

Wireless worked, but when i changed the pin and network key, the wireless broke.... anyway they reset it for me, but kinda wondering why it did that hm.....

Homeplug they say doesn't work for the IPTV, not sure why they said this :/

This is my speedtest using their speedometer thingy
http://www.unifi.my/unifi/index.php?option...d=75&Itemid=269

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

As you can see, it is no where near 10mb for both download/upload. According to them there is something wrong at the internet center or some such thing. They didn't give any eta when this will be resolved. But seeing as i am not being charged yet i can't complain much, so i will wait a few days and see if it improve, if not, i'll have to report to disunify to find out when it will be fixed rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 16 2010, 02:02 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 02:13 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 16 2010, 02:11 PM)
@moogle

homeprug may not work cause of IPTV quality issues, and that speedtest server seems to be capped at 5mbps tops

@cannavaro & andydemarco

Google DNS unblocks most sites but some have a HTTP level filter on them (totally drops all HTTP traffic), need to use an SSH SOCKS proxy/VPN for that as even a http proxy will not work

---

DC++ HUB WHEN ?! drool.gif
The homeplug should work fine (i saw it work earlier).

I just noticed they unplugged my homeplug and attached it to the power strip !!!!! no wonder then it couldn't work doh.gif

I told them not to do that, lul.
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 02:42 PM

4,470 posts

Riv,

I noticed a problem though regarding wireless. I changed the network key as well as the pin, and save/reboot router. After that the wireless did not work as before.

I'm using the dir-615 for my main router for now until my ESR-9850 arrive ._.;

Before i try to change the default network key again, any tips ???

I'm also having issues trying to setup wireless to my other desktop.

Fiberhome > DIR-615 > PC A desktop

DIR-655 > PC B desktop

PC C laptop

So far wireless to the laptop works since it has its own internal wireless thingy in the motherboard.

As for pc b however, it's connected by ethernet to the DIR-655 and set to wireless N. How do i get that to connect to the DIR-615 using wireless :/ ?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 02:50 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 16 2010, 02:47 PM)
@mewgle

Check the wireless settings on the PC.. make sure its not attempting to use the same key or something after you've changed it on the router. Never had this issue before. Try changing the wifi network SSID too after you change the key perhaps?

Uh, whats the dir-655 plugged into besides PC B? If it's not plugged into anything and you want it to connect to the DIR-615 wifi network, it has to have dd-wrt + set on wifi client mode + placed on a different subnet than 192.168.0.0/24. Complicated setup brah.. just get a wifi adapter for PC B or something.

@andydemarco

I think its after 30th July? You can only cancel your streamyx then.. they won't let you terminate it now cause you'll be getting free internet access..
Oh so need dd-wrt to do that, i see.

Is the feature to do that called AP repeater ???

Yes if i can't figure this out, i may just get a wifi N usb stick instead (simplicity).
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 06:02 PM

4,470 posts

Uh.... is fax supported by Unifi ??? I'm expecting some important faxes to come through but uh, how to set up fax maxhine for Unifi :/ ?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 09:29 PM

4,470 posts

My torrent peaked at 700 kb/sec ish :[ sigh

The router holding it back :{
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 09:36 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Jun 16 2010, 09:34 PM)
Try downloading Windows 7 directly from Microsoft and see if you can get full speed.
I always get mostly full speed from their servers. I've posted the video before.
Ok i will give it a try.

But i did also check using unifi's own speedometer but my supposed 10mb is no where near there :[

I'll try arrange a 20mb upgrade soon and see if that fixes it laugh.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 16 2010, 09:45 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(Lucas @ Jun 16 2010, 09:36 PM)
Any special settings on your utorrent?
utorrent 2.0.3 beta

Port forwarding : custom port 655xx

Maximum upload: 398 kbps (should always be 80% of your total upload, however my speed is unstable :/ i get my upload speed figure from speedtest.net then get 80% from that )

Global maximum number of connections: 200 (this could be a wrong setting since i've upgraded to 10mb :/ and also i need to change router which support better max simultaneous connections)

Maximum number of connected peers per torrent: 150 (this could be a wrong setting since i've upgraded to 10mb :/ and also i need to change router which support better max simultaneous connections)

Number of uploads per torrent: (this could be a wrong setting since i've upgraded to 10mb :/ and also i need to change router which support better max simultaneous connections)

enable dht network

enable dht for new torrents

enable local peer discovery

enable bandwidth management

enable udp tracker support

ask tracker for scrape information

enable peer exchange

Protocol encryption outgoing: disabled

allow incoming legacy connections

queuing (max active torrents, max number of active downloads 3 each)

bt.transp_disposition: 255

net.max_halfopen: 80

peer.lazy_bitfield: true

I don't think my torrent settings are perfectly configured doh.gif Not bothered to try tweaking until my ESR-9850 has arrived.

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 17 2010, 02:19 AM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Jun 17 2010, 02:09 AM)
Powah of Unifi

1MBbps = around 8Mbps with that little seeders and peers
Dayum.

[attachmentid=1631137]
What is your utorrent settings, and are you using your own router with Riv's method ? hmm.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 17 2010, 07:34 PM

4,470 posts

Riv helped me setup my utorrent.

Damn fast 1 MB/s

The max i got was 1.1 MB/s

For megaupload premium using Jdownloader

1.14 MB/s

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 18 2010, 04:03 AM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 17 2010, 10:00 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(Lucas @ Jun 17 2010, 09:11 PM)
wow, that is fast. Lots of H264 flac..

possible to reveal the settings here?

Here you go nod.gif The settings i used for the Unifi hardware they gave me which was Fiberhome modem > DIR-615 router as the main router AP > my desktop pc connected via ethernet rj45 cable not wireless

Utorrent unifi settings for 10mb

Utorrent version 2.0.3 beta build 20091

max global connections: 2k

torrent connections 1k

upload slots: 4

BT encryption set to Enabled + allow legacy connections (so you can get the most amount of peer connections)

Portforward: 60xxx (the xxx replaced by any digit you prefer e.g. 60983 or something. I did not use UPNP. I manually portforwarded on the DIR-615 and rebooted the router. I tested that the portforward worked, using the utorrent > setup guide, untick bandwidth test, only use network test. If it works it is green. Do not save after you do the test lulz. )

bt.transp_disposition: 31

max_halfopen: 50

Anyway after saving all the settings, i close utorrent application (not minimized. I actually shut down the program). Then i start it back up to make the new settings load nod.gif

Hope that helped.

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 17 2010, 10:06 PM
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 17 2010, 10:54 PM

4,470 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 17 2010, 05:52 PM)
@soul

What's your IP? Some of you think that because speedtest.net chose Indonesia as your closest server, that you have an Indonesian IP. That's not true.

Get you IP from whatismyip.com/org and check it against the apnic.net database.

inetnum:      110.159.0.0 - 110.159.255.255
netname:      ADSLSTREAMYX
descr:        CORE IP DEVELOPMENT,
descr:        TELEKOM MALAYSIA BERHAD
admin-c:      SM135-AP
tech-c:       EAK2-AP

As far as I know, all Unifi users so far have been put on 110.159.x.x and this entire range is a Malaysian IP range. But some sites think that Indonesia/East Malaysia is closer to this range so they select Indo as your speedtest server.. no **** your speedtest will be slow.

And yes, the Indo server (PT Telekomunikasi) which it defaults to (yellow star) has terrible connectivity.

These are my own Unifi speedtests.. as you can see its the ISP field which matters because it tells you what ISP/IP range you're on. The server field is what server you're running the speed test against. When I change between MY/Indo server, the 'server' field changes but the ISP field remains the same.

Don't simply make reports if you don't understand what you're looking at, lol

This is an issue with the GeoIP database speedtest is using, not your line. There's nothing to fix here :/
Is the tmnut unifi speedometer reliable for testing speed ??? I'm not sure whether i should report to complain about speed not being 10mb on their speedometer. What do you think :/

Yes my ip same range as yours showing from indonesia rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 17 2010, 11:04 PM

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0841sec    0.61    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:31 AM