110 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

rizvanrp
post May 23 2010, 05:58 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(clh406 @ May 23 2010, 05:32 PM)
Hi guys,

Just installed the VIP10 package. Read the earlier threads and realised the router supplied is pretty inferior. The router is downstairs and my study upstairs has a poor reception unlike the previous Linksys router where I had a decent signal.

To solve the problem, I went ahead and got a couple of home plugs (Aztech) from Harvey Norman. The home plugs are a hit and miss experience. Some wall sockets are ok while some no signal at all. This could be due to the internal wiring quality issues.

My question is whether I can plug the upstairs home plug into the existing unused router? I tried and the laptop upstairs could detect the router signals but the internet connection from Unifi cannot go through. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
go harvey norman go~

Yes, you can use your old linksys wireless router as a wifi access point for unifi. Just log into the linksys admin page, disable the DHCP server, save the settings + restart. Then connect a cable from your Linksys router LAN port (note LAN, not WAN/Internet) into one of the dir-615 BLUE lan ports (not the yellow WAN or red IPTV).. you can then just connect to it via wifi and you should be able to browse the net using Unifi.

If you cant do a direct connection from DIR-615 <--> Linksys, you can also do a DIR-615 <--> Homeplug <--> Homeplug <--> Linksys. Should work fine as long as you disable the DHCP in the Linksys and your homeplugs can connect to each other. As long as the DHCP server is running, it will always tell whatever devices you connect to it to use the Linksys as the default gateway and not the Unifi router.. hence you not being able to go online.

Another thing to take note of is that the DIR-615 is configured at 192.168.0.1/255.255.255.0 by default. If your Linksys is using the same IP (192.168.0.1), make sure you change it to something else like 192.168.0.2 or you'll have an IP conflict between the two routers. Change the IP of the Linksys before you disable the DHCP server if this is the case.

Remember to take note of the Linksys IP and subnet mask cause you'll have to manually set it the next time you want to access its config page (since the DHCP server is disabled).

---

Just for the record, my TMnet provided DIR-615 w/dd-wrt just died last night sad.gif. It got fried during a power fluctuation, I'm using an old laptop with pfSense at the moment and it works great with Unifi. Snort IDS, transparent SQUID caching proxy, 100000 connection state table wub.gif

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 23 2010, 05:59 PM
cannavaro
post May 23 2010, 06:45 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ May 23 2010, 05:58 PM)
Just for the record, my TMnet provided DIR-615 w/dd-wrt just died last night sad.gif. It got fried during a power fluctuation, I'm using an old laptop with pfSense at the moment and it works great with Unifi. Snort IDS, transparent SQUID caching proxy, 100000 connection state table wub.gif
I guess that means you're gonna get back your iptv... laugh.gif
clh406
post May 23 2010, 10:10 PM

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ May 23 2010, 05:58 PM)
go harvey norman go~

Yes, you can use your old linksys wireless router as a wifi access point for unifi. Just log into the linksys admin page, disable the DHCP server, save the settings + restart. Then connect a cable from your Linksys router LAN port (note LAN, not WAN/Internet) into one of the dir-615 BLUE lan ports (not the yellow WAN or red IPTV).. you can then just connect to it via wifi and you should be able to browse the net using Unifi.

If you cant do a direct connection from DIR-615 <--> Linksys, you can also do a DIR-615 <--> Homeplug <--> Homeplug <--> Linksys. Should work fine as long as you disable the DHCP in the Linksys and your homeplugs can connect to each other. As long as the DHCP server is running, it will always tell whatever devices you connect to it to use the Linksys as the default gateway and not the Unifi router.. hence you not being able to go online.

Another thing to take note of is that the DIR-615 is configured at 192.168.0.1/255.255.255.0 by default. If your Linksys is using the same IP (192.168.0.1), make sure you change it to something else like 192.168.0.2 or you'll have an IP conflict between the two routers. Change the IP of the Linksys before you disable the DHCP server if this is the case.

Remember to take note of the Linksys IP and subnet mask cause you'll have to manually set it the next time you want to access its config page (since the DHCP server is disabled).

---

hey thanks a lot! works like a charm now altho' some speed is sacrificed via the power lines, it is still better than not having a signal upstairs, i did the DIR-615 <--> Homeplug <--> Homeplug <--> Linksys method. cheers!
HiT-AbLe
post May 23 2010, 10:31 PM

866 posts

This evening I got a gift from TM, it's small Unifi box which's contained few manuals for Unifi and one TM key chain. Well the box is quite nice, but those items are useless for me.

Anyone got it already?
cshong
post May 23 2010, 10:59 PM

3,927 posts

Dear HSBB users,

Do you face slow down these few days or today?
heizad
post May 23 2010, 11:31 PM

~ Harimau Malaya ~
1,743 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ May 23 2010, 10:31 PM)
This evening I got a gift from TM, it's small Unifi box which's contained few manuals for Unifi and one TM key chain. Well the box is quite nice, but those items are useless for me.

Anyone got it already?
sent by which courier company coz my house received a memo from a courier company saying there's a parcel for our house...
brian12988
post May 24 2010, 12:49 AM

1,263 posts

Just wanted to ask, how is TM VoD like? u buy the shows online? mind giving me screen shots..pls..icon_question.gif
rizvanrp
post May 24 2010, 12:49 AM

195 posts

QUOTE(cshong @ May 23 2010, 10:59 PM)
Dear HSBB users,

Do you face slow down these few days or today?
HTTP is pretty slow today for some reason. KL speedtests showing 500ms+ lat but 10mbps up/down, BT is fine though
StanleYz
post May 24 2010, 09:52 AM

TM team spotted at SS26 Taman Mayang Jaya,its laying cable now
OKLY
post May 24 2010, 09:57 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(StanleYz @ May 24 2010, 09:52 AM)
TM team spotted at SS26 Taman Mayang Jaya,its laying cable now
Hoho that's actually quite near my place, probably they'll come by in the next few days. biggrin.gif
StanleYz
post May 24 2010, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 24 2010, 09:57 AM)
Hoho that's actually quite near my place, probably they'll come by in the next few days. biggrin.gif
U stay near where? I stay at SS24/26 Taman Megah and very near there.
Gh-x
post May 24 2010, 11:29 AM

475 posts

Guys,
I am wondering if you guys have try to Skype Video conference in HD with each other and how was the result?
allsick
post May 24 2010, 03:30 PM

116 posts

Connection is really slow atm in Subang, streaming is bad.
busbos
post May 24 2010, 04:37 PM

353 posts

finally TM has installed the FTTH box at the telephone pole just behind my house at Section 18 Shah Alam
but dont know when i can subscribe unifi
rogue
post May 24 2010, 04:56 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(HiT-AbLe @ May 23 2010, 10:31 PM)

Anyone got it already?
Got mine awhile ago tongue.gif
tweiyang11
post May 24 2010, 09:56 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(busbos @ May 24 2010, 04:37 PM)
finally TM has installed the FTTH box at the telephone pole just behind my house at Section 18 Shah Alam
but dont know when i can subscribe unifi
which jalan?
stasio
post May 24 2010, 11:39 PM

18,504 posts

White FTTH box in P.Jaya Sec.12 already 1 week,but available will be in July.
squall0833
post May 24 2010, 11:52 PM

1,473 posts

ah dam you lucky guys,

more unifi, hahaha,

apply it right now, and enjoy biggrin.gif
bobbobagan
post May 25 2010, 12:05 AM

20 posts

Are they bringing Unifi to Cyberjaya? It said something about the multimedia super corridor and I think I saw some TM workers doing maintenace on the main road outside my condo.

I wish it was cheaper though, its friggen expensive. Can buy without IPTV or not? I already have astro lah...
nouruddines
post May 25 2010, 01:33 AM

236 posts

any news at puchong?darn why my father choose puchong to live~

110 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 > » Top

0.0634sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:32 PM