110 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

kangaxx
post May 8 2010, 08:18 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(teksoon @ May 8 2010, 08:15 PM)
i think the iptv in the future will have more better channels eg. sports channel, better keep it
i obtain my tv shows elsewhere nowadays. now with unifi i can 'obtain' them faster whistling.gif

eh for dd-wrt you basically use a software to boost your wireless signal?
sounds like magic!
teksoon
post May 8 2010, 08:55 PM

my speedtest just screwed up sad.gif

BlackHawling
post May 8 2010, 09:31 PM

15 posts

Took a long time to test @ speedtest now... do u guys have this problem?
like the download takes 10x longer than usual?

ywkwy
post May 8 2010, 09:37 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(kangaxx @ May 8 2010, 08:18 PM)
i obtain my tv shows elsewhere nowadays. now with unifi i can 'obtain' them faster  whistling.gif
eh for dd-wrt you basically use a software to boost your wireless signal?
sounds like magic!
dd-wrt is firmware.. u need to flash dd-wrt firmware into router that tm give u..
rizvanrp
post May 8 2010, 10:42 PM

195 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1368715/+1960

Read there and beyond for dd-wrt on the TM router. But yeah, you will have to throw away your IPTV access along with the chances of ever reflashing back to stock firmware (unless TM decides to release their firmware to the public).

TX power boost is awesome. 71mW feels like the stock value for the d-link modem, pretty weak and has trouble passing through a lot of materials. Turning it up to 130mW+ makes it much more usable.

This post has been edited by rizvanrp: May 8 2010, 10:44 PM
ywkwy
post May 8 2010, 11:54 PM

868 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ May 8 2010, 10:42 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1368715/+1960

Read there and beyond for dd-wrt on the TM router. But yeah, you will have to throw away your IPTV access along with the chances of ever reflashing back to stock firmware (unless TM decides to release their firmware to the public).

TX power boost is awesome. 71mW feels like the stock value for the d-link modem, pretty weak and has trouble passing through a lot of materials. Turning it up to 130mW+ makes it much more usable.
it is impossible for dd-wrt to make it work at the same time for both the internet and iptv?
kangaxx
post May 8 2010, 11:56 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(ywkwy @ May 8 2010, 09:37 PM)
dd-wrt is firmware.. u need to flash dd-wrt firmware into router that tm give u..
wow

thanks for the heads up.

another victory for LYN forum! rclxms.gif
Maxieos
post May 9 2010, 12:15 AM

3,754 posts

so you guys running hsbb can stream well compare to streamyx ?
If streamyx run slow on this stream movie , will hsbb run fast ?
OKLY
post May 9 2010, 02:11 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ May 9 2010, 12:15 AM)
so you guys running hsbb can stream well compare to streamyx ?
If streamyx run slow on this stream movie , will hsbb run fast ?
Most of them are getting good speeds streaming video sites such as YouTube. This is for now and what will come in the future will not be known. smile.gif
Maxieos
post May 9 2010, 04:16 PM

3,754 posts

QUOTE(yongkailoon @ May 9 2010, 02:11 AM)
Most of them are getting good speeds streaming video sites such as YouTube. This is for now and what will come in the future will not be known. smile.gif
Really ! , pity me , now streaming video running 1-3 kb loading all the time everyday.I really have no hope to watch this video. dont know whether you guys can really watch it smoothly.
sheep
post May 10 2010, 11:01 AM

338 posts

QUOTE(tweiyang11 @ May 2 2010, 07:03 PM)
hmm.. can we share a multifunction printer (printer + scanner)?? eg: HP Photosmart C4480 printer??

i know the printer function will work but how about the scanner??? i heard the Dlink shareport software is able to do scanning also.. is that true?
Yes, As far as I know most of them are compatible.

Only a Small number is incompatible.
eddie_lim
post May 11 2010, 03:38 PM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

I think some expert here said that Unify provide a router that is VLAN-ed, normal router won't be able to use unify line unless using the Dlink router.

Did anyone here ever install a PC with 4-5 network cards, dump a linux, configure the VLAN and test the internet?

rizvanrp
post May 11 2010, 06:47 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(eddie_lim @ May 11 2010, 03:38 PM)
I think some expert here said that Unify provide a router that is VLAN-ed, normal router won't be able to use unify line unless using the Dlink router.

Did anyone here ever install a PC with 4-5 network cards, dump a linux, configure the VLAN and test the internet?
Standard pppoe dialer in linux and freebsd will work with the Fiberhome modem directly without the need for the dlink. Just load the 8021q vlan module, set up the VLAN interface (ID 500) then have the pppoe configuration file dial through the VLAN interface.

Don't need to have 4+ NICs to analyze traffic la, just 1 NIC + Wireshark (linux) + a hub tongue.gif

Corporate unifibiz users have it worse anyway.. checked out a unifibiz setup yesterday. The static PPPoE on the dlink is so messed up ._.
jounin
post May 11 2010, 07:04 PM

66 posts

yay got my unifi yesterday ... dl files like orang gila now hahahaha
Sting Ray
post May 11 2010, 07:13 PM

153 posts

Any expert can advise me what causes and how to solve this problem.

I just recently installed the VIP10 package at home and my wife is using it to work from home. she connects to company network via VPN and the problem is that after some time (ranging from 20 minutes, 30 minutes to around 1 hour) the VPN will disconnect with this message "Secure VPN connection terminated locally by the Client. Reason 412: The remote peer is no longer responding". she then has to manually reconnect before later it is disconnected again. the wireless signal strength is either good or very good and hence it is not due to lost connection. I also changed the wireless channel but the problem still persists.

Previously when she was using streamyx there is no problem whatsoever i.e. the VPN can stay connected for the whole day. I used D-Link DSL-G604T modem router for streamyx.

Is this due to the DIR-615 configuration or is it because of the VPN setting ? if it is VPN setting then why there was no problem connecting via streamyx ? I'm a dummy in this technical thing and your help is highly appreciated.
rizvanrp
post May 11 2010, 09:48 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(Sting Ray @ May 11 2010, 07:13 PM)
Any expert can advise me what causes and how to solve this problem.

I just recently installed the VIP10 package at home and my wife is using it to work from home. she connects to company network via VPN and the problem is that after some time (ranging from 20 minutes, 30 minutes to around 1 hour) the VPN will disconnect with this message "Secure VPN connection terminated locally by the Client. Reason 412: The remote peer is no longer responding". she then has to manually reconnect before later it is disconnected again. the wireless signal strength is either good or very good and hence it is not due to lost connection. I also changed the wireless channel but the problem still persists.

Previously when she was using streamyx there is no problem whatsoever i.e. the VPN can stay connected for the whole day. I used D-Link DSL-G604T modem router for streamyx.

Is this due to the DIR-615 configuration or is it because of the VPN setting ? if it is VPN setting then why there was no problem connecting via streamyx ? I'm a dummy in this technical thing and your help is highly appreciated.
This kind of issue can be caused by numerous things. It can be the Unifi routing to your company's network, connection and firewall settings on your Unifi Dlink router (which you have extremely limited access to unless you reflash to dd-wrt), type of VPN protocol being used, etc. It's hard to say just based on what you've mentioned sad.gif

VPN settings should not have to be altered just because you're using Unifi or Streamyx. If I had to guess I'd put the blame on the DIR-615 .. maybe you can try using a wired connection ?
Arlington
post May 12 2010, 03:18 AM

25 posts

Anyone know why IPTV freezes so much?

Do you think it's the box? router? internet fluctuations? The freeze never happens on the pay per view stuff.

It's getting really annoying having to switch channels all the time to kickstart the feed.

rclxub.gif
azwan92
post May 12 2010, 09:25 AM

358 posts

if you got problems on iPTV, tell TM, they will try to fix it. wink.gif
Sting Ray
post May 12 2010, 09:54 AM

153 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ May 11 2010, 09:48 PM)
This kind of issue can be caused by numerous things. It can be the Unifi routing to your company's network, connection and firewall settings on your Unifi Dlink router (which you have extremely limited access to unless you reflash to dd-wrt), type of VPN protocol being used, etc. It's hard to say just based on what you've mentioned sad.gif

VPN settings should not have to be altered just because you're using Unifi or Streamyx. If I had to guess I'd put the blame on the DIR-615 .. maybe you can try using a wired connection ?
Thanks rizvanrp. My wife is using Cisco VPN ver 4.8.01.0300 and XP Professional SP3 and like what you said I also think it is the problem with DIR-615 as she has never faced this problem before when she used streamyx at my parents' and also in-laws' house during balik kampung. is there any other setting that I can change in DIR-615 to test ? I already change the wireless mode to B/G only but it doesn't solve the problem.

Will try to use wired connection today to test but she still need to use wireless as her "office" is at upstairs but the router is in the lviing room. if I can confirm the problem is coming from DIR-615 I will complain to Unifi.
eddie_lim
post May 12 2010, 10:00 AM

You Never Walk Alone
4,024 posts

Hi rizvanrp,

yes, if you were mentioning about the DIR-615, you use back DIR-615 and u enjoy the both IPTV and ur broadband connection and the VOIP services, as i read through all the posts, if you'd flash to DD-WRT, u lost the VOIP & IPTV, this is not what we all want rite?

So in the case of limitation of DIR-615 and DD-WRT, why not we dump a linux box, with extra LAN cards (since PCI lan is cheap!) and setup the VLANs ourself, in linux, everything is configurable.

110 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0606sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:23 PM