110 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadbrand Thread V5, Still, NO cap 4 all unifi packages 4 now

Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 24 2010, 09:47 PM

4,456 posts

my site working now doh.gif

http://mognet.no-ip.info

Had to update firmware because cpu was overloaded lulz biggrin.gif

So anyway you must be asking what is the relevance for my site and unifi.

Well i'm trying to prove whether unifi can honestly host your own website while you continue to download stuff e.g. torrent, xdcc or megaupload simultaneously. If it can't do that, then it's a uber fail.

Many Japanese host sites from their own connection by the way.

Still testing it out, but so far it's looking good. But as soon as they enforce cap, i may need to take the site off since upload is taken into account for total bandwidth usage doh.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 25 2010, 12:37 AM
gr2000
post Jun 24 2010, 11:04 PM

<Enter a personal message>
873 posts

anyone has this problem where the internet stops working all of a sudden?

it's Connected but can't load anything..after a few minutes it starts working again...and after awhile it stops...

has been going on since the first day i installed it (early june)
h03tn4d
post Jun 25 2010, 12:32 AM

288 posts

hey guys wanan check,

if you use the VOBB, whats the phone number u get? a new one?
or you will be able to keep the existing no. like for eg now my no. is
+603-56332153 (do i get the same one ?)

anyone tested it out ? how isit?

and for the IPTV... how good isit so far? i mean in terms for the local channels. clear? smooth?

thanks hope to hear from u guys
dr3nchippo
post Jun 25 2010, 12:42 AM

QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Jun 25 2010, 12:32 AM)
hey guys wanan check,

if you use the VOBB, whats the phone number u get? a new one?
or you will be able to keep the existing no. like for eg now my no. is
+603-56332153 (do i get the same one ?)

anyone tested it out ? how isit?

and for the IPTV... how good isit so far? i mean in terms for the local channels. clear? smooth?

thanks hope to hear from u guys
u meant VoIP right?? nope u get a new number and caller ID service thrown in as well..
as for the IPTV, cant really say much, rarely watch it anyway.. maybe its just me but i think Tm's local channel is a lil bit sharper..

ur planning to subscribe anytime soon?? a couple of my neighbors subscribed this month, i see TM's van practically once every week..
so much for boycotting huh?? hahahaha laugh.gif
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 25 2010, 12:46 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Jun 25 2010, 12:42 AM)
u meant VoIP right?? nope u get a new number and caller ID service thrown in as well..
as for the IPTV, cant really say much, rarely watch it anyway.. maybe its just me but i think Tm's local channel is a lil bit sharper..

ur planning to subscribe anytime soon?? a couple of my neighbors subscribed this month, i see TM's van practically once every week..
so much for boycotting huh?? hahahaha  laugh.gif
What neighbourhood is that?

I think i am the only one here. Got like 2-3 others but their a bit further away from me hmm.gif
prasys
post Jun 25 2010, 12:50 AM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

Eventually people will give in and just register. You dont have much of a choice anyway. Once its avaliable in my area , I would gladly jump the ship. You know why , its because of the symmetrical speed. 10Mbps both ways is amazing. You could host your own mini server and run your own site. I am running my own site currently but then streamyx' upload is not the greatest.

@Moogle Stiltzkin - You should run phpSysInfo , something like what I do
http://prasys.homeunix.org/phpsysinfo/. Anyway I gotta get up and running, my very own small blog about server and the ability to access my Intranet from the world outside. Gotta secure up first tongue.gif
h03tn4d
post Jun 25 2010, 01:03 AM

288 posts

well yea they have been visiting but after giving some thoughts its quite okay la.... since they put it in a way that RM88 streamyx + RM25 phone rental... which is almost RM115... and another RM30 like that can get the Unifi VIP5...

but the problem now would be the phone number lor.... aiyo 20years plus using the same number how to change.... dam sad lor
dr3nchippo
post Jun 25 2010, 01:09 AM

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Jun 25 2010, 12:46 AM)
What neighbourhood is that?

I think i am the only one here. Got like 2-3 others but their a bit further away from me  hmm.gif
sec 19 pj, using the TTDI interchange btw.. at first there was 3 beta-testers in our are.. soon after the launching, few other houses subscribed as well..
i know this cause before this all wireless network in my area was b/g.. after launching, 60% of 'em are "N" networks.. plus the fact that i see tm's van quite often here.. hahaha

QUOTE(h03tn4d @ Jun 25 2010, 01:03 AM)
well yea they have been visiting but after giving some thoughts its quite okay la.... since they put it in a way that RM88 streamyx + RM25 phone rental... which is almost RM115... and another RM30 like that can get the Unifi VIP5...

but the problem now would be the phone number lor.... aiyo 20years plus using the same number how to change.... dam sad lor
u still get to keep ur old number, though u still have to pay for the RM25 rental.. so it's rm149+rm25 monthly.. or maybe u can ask TM to migrate ur number to the VoIP package??
but if i were u, i'd just keep the old "traditional" number.. until they can provide us with the battery pack for the modem, i doubt that VoIP would work in a blackout..

This post has been edited by dr3nchippo: Jun 25 2010, 01:17 AM
MunDsuM
post Jun 25 2010, 01:31 AM

239 posts

How is Unifi treating you guys? Anybody care to share your thought on the new HSBB so far?
Moogle Stiltzkin
post Jun 25 2010, 02:11 AM

4,456 posts

QUOTE(prasys @ Jun 25 2010, 12:50 AM)
Eventually people will give in and just register. You dont have much of a choice anyway. Once its avaliable in my area , I would gladly jump the ship. You know why , its because of the symmetrical speed. 10Mbps both ways is amazing. You could host your own mini server and run your own site. I am running my own site currently but then streamyx' upload is not the greatest.

@Moogle Stiltzkin - You should run phpSysInfo  , something like what I do
http://prasys.homeunix.org/phpsysinfo/. Anyway I gotta get up and running, my very own small blog about server and the ability to access my Intranet from the world outside. Gotta secure up first tongue.gif
Exactly. I think the most important thing about Unifi is the possibility of home servers.

But that is only if they don't go ahead with their ridiculous capping policy.

But for now..... it is possible doh.gif question is for how long. Yeah Riv helped me get my server up and running again biggrin.gif

@MunDsuM

5mb unifi = people who download from rapidshare/megaupload free subscriber mode. No point getting better speed if your download sources are those sorts of free file sharing sites.

10mb unifi = for people that want to download fast and share with 4 or more users. The upload is nice for a mini web server, but the bandwidth for torrent and mini server may conflict :/ meaning not enough to do both. On 10mb i spend more time thinking what to download because i download too fast shocking.gif Power users wouldn't be too saddened only having 10mb instead of 20mb, especially when considering the price.

20mb unifi = expensive and honestly i don't think people need this speed at this price, not unless your planning to webhost from your unifi like i am.

But at the end of the day, you must not forget about the cap they may later enforce. If you believe the malaysian consumer will make enough complaints/waves for them to revise or remove the cap entirely, and your ok with paying for the sickening high premium price for ftth broadband, sign up. if not don't cauz it's a risk and it's pricey doh.gif

I was on 1mb for a long time even when 4mb was available. The truth of matter is, tmnut has been a monopoly since independence day and till now and onwards. So i wouldn't hold my breath any longer sticking to 1mb. Just vote for new government when you get the chance. That is the only way there will be any change rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Jun 25 2010, 02:12 AM
Gh-x
post Jun 25 2010, 09:01 AM

475 posts

Moogle: i have register as a user of your site but i can't login.
chaos32
post Jun 25 2010, 09:47 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Jun 24 2010, 05:47 PM)
Lol, 4 hours ago.. someone who claims they're from TM gives me a call, states my full name and asks me if I'm a Unifi subscriber. I say yeah and then they inform me that they want to replace my 'remote'. I'm like okay ..

2 hours later, some random guy (in plain clothes and a non TM vehicle) shows up at my doorstep with a brand new IPTV set top box remote control and hands it to me.. then asks me to pass him my old remote control or he can't give me the new one. Since I have no idea what the heck is going on and can't be bothered about IPTV, I just pass him the remote and he hands me a brand new, identical IPTV set top box remote control and asks me to sign a form confirming that he's delivered it to me.

So I'm just in a 'what the **** just happened' state at the moment :/ Called Unifi tech support and they have no idea about this either. Yay for random IPTV STB remote control deliveries. I wonder if they're going to give me a second Fiberhome unit next :3

UPDATE : Oooh, it seems like some of the buttons on the previous IPTV remote are defective. Guess some of you guys will be getting a call from TM soon biggrin.gif
Yeah I got the same call and as another user commented, it's from a mobile number. Scary!! more so since Unifi guys don't seem to know head or tail about. They really should send us a email at least. doh.gif
SeanWong
post Jun 25 2010, 09:50 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Jun 25 2010, 01:09 AM)

u still get to keep ur old number, though u still have to pay for the RM25 rental.. so it's rm149+rm25 monthly.. or maybe u can ask TM to migrate ur number to the VoIP package??
but if i were u, i'd just keep the old "traditional" number.. until they can provide us with the battery pack for the modem, i doubt that VoIP would work in a blackout..
huh? icon_question.gif

Can anyone (esp those current unifi subscribers) confirm the bolded part of above post?

The RM149 (VIP5 pack) is NOT INCLUDING phone rental? i thought this unifi package is bundle like those streamyx combo deal (i.e. 140 for 4Mbps including phone rental - one off for every month)...no? rclxub.gif

since i won't use the phone call at all as my whole family have their own cell phone...
PGGTrader
post Jun 25 2010, 10:15 AM

39 posts

Hey guys, i am on VIP5 and seriously other than Rapidshare downloads / HTTP downloads, i don't find the speed of surfing web pages faster than streamyx 1Mb. Sometime i find loading of web page is even slower than 1Mb Streamyx. Are you guys experiencing the same thing or just me ?

dr3nchippo
post Jun 25 2010, 10:18 AM

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Jun 25 2010, 09:50 AM)
huh? icon_question.gif

Can anyone (esp those current unifi subscribers) confirm the bolded part of above post?

The RM149 (VIP5 pack) is NOT INCLUDING phone rental? i thought this unifi package is bundle like those streamyx combo deal (i.e. 140 for 4Mbps including phone rental - one off for every month)...no? rclxub.gif

since i won't use the phone call at all as my whole family have their own cell phone...
u got it wrong dude, the previous guy asked as to whether or not he could keep his old number (copper line telephone).. yes he can, he has to pay RM25 monthly phone rental (not VoIP)..

RM149 is for VIP5 package.. bundled with that package is IPTV service, high-speed internet and VoIP.. unifi uses fiber optic, doesnt rely on ur existing copper wiring.. do note however that the VoIP service with unifi is not 100% free.. calls to TM landlines are free.. 10sen/min to other providers (including cellphone) and normal IDD rates for oversea calls..
post Jun 25 2010, 10:18 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(SeanWong @ Jun 25 2010, 09:50 AM)
huh? icon_question.gif

1. For the bold part, yep I confirmed it is that way.
Because the Telekom phone rental isn't related to Unifi at all. Or simply say: Telekom phone line != Unifi phone line.

Unifi gives u a new "phone line" over IP, that's why u will get a new phone number. This new phone line is free (no rental fee).
So, if you discard your old phone line, you will NOT need to pay the RM25 rental fee (but you get a new free phone line).

This post has been edited by ***********: Jun 25 2010, 10:21 AM
SeanWong
post Jun 25 2010, 10:29 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(dr3nchippo @ Jun 25 2010, 10:18 AM)
u got it wrong dude, the previous guy asked as to whether or not he could keep his old number (copper line telephone).. yes he can, he has to pay RM25 monthly phone rental (not VoIP)..

RM149 is for VIP5 package.. bundled with that package is IPTV service, high-speed internet and VoIP.. unifi uses fiber optic, doesnt rely on ur existing copper wiring.. do note however that the VoIP service with unifi is not 100% free.. calls to TM landlines are free.. 10sen/min to other providers (including cellphone) and normal IDD rates for oversea calls..
QUOTE(*********** @ Jun 25 2010, 10:18 AM)
1. For the bold part, yep I confirmed it is that way.
Because the Telekom phone rental isn't related to Unifi at all. Or simply say: Telekom phone line != Unifi phone line.

Unifi gives u a new "phone line" over IP, that's why u will get a new phone number. This new phone line is free (no rental fee).
So, if you discard your old phone line, you will NOT need to pay the RM25 rental fee (but you get a new free phone line).
oh thanks guys for your heads up notworthy.gif

now i'm relief and hope my side can get unifi service as per the schedule (Q3 2010). keep it finger cross icon_idea.gif
blacktubi
post Jun 25 2010, 11:27 AM

-
8,401 posts

Hi guys, did FAX works in Unifi voip?
En_Chor
post Jun 25 2010, 11:54 AM

42 posts

Anyone using VIP5, and playing World of Warcraft? Just want to know how's the ping like. Thanks.
post Jun 25 2010, 12:01 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jun 25 2010, 11:27 AM)
Hi guys, did FAX works in Unifi voip?
AFAIK, Fax wont work with unifi voip.

110 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0440sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:29 PM