Garmin vs Papago

greyPJ
post Oct 27 2010, 11:14 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(cloudhenri @ Oct 27 2010, 11:10 AM)
It oni take 1-3 second outdoor n <10 seconds indoor with window nearby to get satellite signal lock.
with or without agps?

Added on October 27, 2010, 11:16 amand does it have lane assist feature in garmin asus fon?

This post has been edited by greyPJ: Oct 27 2010, 11:16 AM
greyPJ
post Oct 28 2010, 11:25 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(cloudhenri @ Oct 27 2010, 11:19 AM)
without AGPS.  I don't subscribe to data package.
you dont need data package to use agps.

try go to:

Start>Settings>system>enhanced GPS set both options to disable

without agps see if it locks this fast.
greyPJ
post Oct 28 2010, 11:59 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(cloudhenri @ Oct 28 2010, 11:46 AM)
Probably can't be deactivated huh?! 
this review says that it can be deactivated in garmin itself.
"The AGPS option can be turned on and off as per users liking, though if you have a data plan, it doesn't hurt to leave it on."
http://vr-zone.com/print/garmin-asus-nuvif...eview/8752.html

should be in navigation>gps

greyPJ
post Oct 28 2010, 12:48 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(cloudhenri @ Oct 28 2010, 12:15 PM)
hmmmm ... still nothing .. unless the "Auto Update" and "GPS Data Update" are related to the AGPS ... These features need connection to the internet.  I disable it and only update it using wifi.
Or you are talking about "location updates" in the "connected services"?  This feature needs the internet too.

If these are AGPS services, then I have disable all of them.  icon_rolleyes.gif
i am also not sure about location updates.

i think now the best way to determine is to take out the simcard and let the phone in offline mode.

go to a new location, if it can still get lock outside under 5 sec, it rocks.

Added on October 28, 2010, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(dwijadas @ Oct 28 2010, 12:31 PM)

Finally if you buying dedicated GPS device, buy most cheap Garmin model. Trust me you dont need those fancy feature that makes you to pay 1k+
there is one garmin gps that i like, cost rm900++ few month ago, it is not about the feature but its' size, really slim.

This post has been edited by greyPJ: Oct 28 2010, 12:50 PM
greyPJ
post Jan 13 2011, 11:01 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Jan 13 2011, 10:45 AM)
I just bought the WayWay Q5033 yesterday. Not related to Garmin but it is from M3 Asia too (same as Papago). It costs RM599. I tested the route back to my house. It located the street but didn't take me to my doorstep.

It's quite fast (going through menus). Too bad I can't change the voice. It's white. 5". Has a multimedia player. It found the satellite quite fast.

I wonder whether I should have just bought the Garmin 1250. 'Cos it's cheaper.

I wonder if Garmin can take me to my doorstep.
yes garmin can.

your wayway is running wince? then you can install garmin in it.
greyPJ
post Jan 13 2011, 05:42 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(pigduck @ Jan 13 2011, 05:31 PM)
REally? I can install Garmin on it? How? I think it's running WinCE. I have the media player and everything.
try google and see, im also not sure, but wince should be able to install garmin papago etc...
greyPJ
post Jan 13 2011, 08:10 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(elvis. @ Jan 13 2011, 07:07 PM)
WINCE ?
yes
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&ie=ISO-...G=Google+Search
greyPJ
post Feb 13 2012, 01:49 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(kenshin9880 @ Feb 13 2012, 10:40 AM)
support u..........seem like i need to consider papago instead of garmin liao. XD

thx for ur info la.

icon_rolleyes.gif
that papago using mfm map, garmin use other map, thats why la. nothing to do with gps.
greyPJ
post Aug 27 2012, 08:37 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Aug 27 2012, 06:14 PM)
I'm using waze right now. Free gps applications.
Shows real time traffic. That's the most important things which is not available in other gps yet.
police block, accident, etc.. very useful.
can ping chicks too.
greyPJ
post Aug 28 2012, 10:54 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Aug 27 2012, 10:26 PM)
hi can show me link to the hardware that ure using ? can show real time police block also ? how to ping chicks ? hehe
what askar said^
it is all in the sw

0.0246sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:15 PM